DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 06/10/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-8 are currently examined on the merits.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 281, 282, 381, 382, 310, 320, 330, 340, 350, 355, 370, 380, 400, 420, 430, 450, 455, 480, 481, 482. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “A method of producing single crystal AIN … causing deposition of single crystal AIN … causing deposition of the single crystal AlN...” which should read “A method of producing single crystal AIN … causing deposition of the single crystal AIN … causing the deposition of the single crystal AlN ...”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The recited in claim 2 “…when activity of Al in the melt when a reaction for formation of the single crystal A1N expressed by formula (A), shown below:
is taken to be
…
…” constitutes an indefinite subject matter. It is not clear what activity of Al means, what
and
mean. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claim 2 are not readily ascertainable. Clarification and/or correction are/is required. Claims 3 and 4 are rejected because they depend on claim 2.
The recited in claim 4 “…heating the high-temperature portion to a temperature of higher than To and lower than T₀+30 K…” constitutes an indefinite subject matter. Parent claim 3 already recites “heating the high-temperature portion to a temperature of T0+30 K or higher;” It is not clear whether heating the high-temperature portion to a temperature of higher than T0 and lower than T₀+30 K or heating the high-temperature portion to a temperature of T0+30 K or higher is performed. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claim 4 are not readily ascertainable. Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
The recited in claim 7 “… (10-12) planes of the C-plane single crystal AIN…” constitutes an indefinite subject matter. It is known that C-plane single crystal AlN is represented by (0001); It is not clear what “(10-12) planes of the C-plane single crystal AIN” means. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claim 7 are not readily ascertainable. Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshihisa et al (JP 2006306638 A, machine translation, “Yoshihisa”).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshihisa teaches a method of producing single crystal AIN comprising a melt formation step of heating and melting an alloy containing Al/raw material to form a solution/melt of the alloy (abstract, 0033, 0038, 0044); and a growing/ deposition step of cooling a portion of the melt and providing a temperature gradient in the melt/solution while causing deposition of single crystal AIN (abstract, 0024, 0034), wherein in the deposition step, a nitrogen-containing gas is brought into contact with a high-temperature portion of the melt/solution (0011, 0013, 0021, 0024, 0036), and a single crystal AIN seed crystal or a substrate for crystal growth is held in a low-temperature portion of the melt (abstract, 0011, 0017, 0021, 0024, 0026, 0031, 0034, 0036, 0042, claims 1 and 7), so as to continue to take nitrogen (from nitrides disintegrates/decomposition at the high temperature portion) into the melt in the high-temperature portion while causing deposition of the single crystal AlN on the AIN seed crystal or the substrate and continuous growth of the single crystal AlN in the low-temperature portion (Fig 2, abstract, 0013, 0014, 0023, 0024, 0039).
Regarding claim 8, Yoshihisa teaches that the alloy containing Al is a Ni-Al alloy (abstract).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshihisa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Masayoshi et al (JP 2019194133 A, machine translation, “Masayoshi”).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshihisa teaches a same/similar process of producing single crystal AlN as addressed above, and further teaches the nitrogen-containing gas (atmospheric nitrogen gas and/or nitrogen disintegrated from nitrides) (0011, 0023), and a temperature of growth of the single crystal AlN (0024). Therefore, it would be reasonably expected that when activity of Al in the melt when a reaction for formation of the single crystal A1N expressed by formula (A), shown below:
is taken to be
, an equilibrium constant of formula (A) is taken to be K, the Boltzmann constant is taken to be k, absolute temperature is taken to be T, and partial pressure of N₂ of the nitrogen-containing gas during deposition is taken to be PN2, and when a temperature at which driving force µ of growth of the single crystal A1N expressed by formula (B), shown below: [Math. 1]
(B) has a value of 0 is taken to be T0, a temperature of the high-temperature portion is set as higher than T0 and a temperature of the low-temperature portion is set as not lower than a temperature of a liquidus of the alloy and lower than T0, because a same/similar method/process is expected to produce same/similar results/effects. It is axiomatic that one who performs the steps of the known process must necessarily produce all of its advantages. Furthermore, Masayoshi teaches a method of producing aluminum nitride crystal, wherein when activity of Al in the melt when a reaction for formation of the single crystal A1N expressed by formula (A), shown below:
is taken to be
, an equilibrium constant of formula (A) is taken to be K, the Boltzmann constant is taken to be k, absolute temperature is taken to be T, and partial pressure of N₂ of the nitrogen-containing gas during deposition is taken to be PN2, and when a temperature at which driving force µ of growth of the single crystal A1N expressed by formula (B), shown below: [Math. 1]
(B) has a value of 0 is taken to be T0, a temperature of the high-temperature portion is set as higher than T0 and a temperature of the low-temperature portion is set as not lower than a temperature of a liquidus of the alloy and lower than T0 (0014-0017, 0023-0029, and claims 1-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Yoshihisa per teachings of Masayoshi in order to produce aluminum nitride crystal capable of preventing penetration dislocation, misfit dislocation, and deformation from occurring in a crystal (Masayoshi abstract). Furthermore, it is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art, In re Cooper and Foley 1943 C.D. 357, 553 O.G. 177; 57 USPQ 117, Taklatwalla v. Marburg, 620 O.G. 685, 1949 C.D. 77, and In re Pilling, 403 O.G. 513, 44 F(2) 878, 1931 C.D. 75. It is also well established that Nor can one patent "a novel and useful mathematical formula," Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 585, 198 USPQ 193, 195 (1978).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshihisa/Masayoshi teaches that the melt formation step includes a high-temperature heating step of heating the high-temperature portion to a temperature of T0+30 K or higher (Masayoshi fig 1, 0017, 0028 and claim 5). Further it is well-established that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshihisa/Masayoshi teaches that the melt formation step includes a low-temperature heating step of, after the high-temperature heating step, heating the high-temperature portion to a temperature of higher than T0 and lower than T₀+30 K (Masayoshi figure 1). In general, the transposition of process steps or the splitting of one step into two, where the processes are substantially identical or equivalent in terms of function, manner and result, was held not to patentably distinguish the process (e.g., Exparte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. Pat. App. 1959). See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(C). Further, it is well-established that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshihisa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fukuyama et al (US 20130187170 A1, “Fukuyama”).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshihisa teaches the temperature gradient being provided in the melt and bringing the holder into contact with the melt in the deposition step as addressed above, and further teaches a support jig (holder) that holds the single crystal AIN seed crystal or the substrate for crystal growth (0027, 0032, 0034, 0037, 0039, 0043), but does not explicitly teach the holder including a cooling mechanism. However, Fukuyama teaches a method of producing aluminum nitride, wherein seed substrate attached to a gas introducing pipe (cooling mechanism) is brought into contact with the melt in a growth/ deposition step and a temperature gradient is formed (fig 3, 0044). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Yoshihisa per teachings of Fukuyama in order to provide AlN crystal having good quality at a reduced cost (Fukuyama abstract, 0001, 0010, 0013, 0044).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshihisa teaches the seed/substrate is sapphire or SiC coated with AlN films crystal growth (0017), but does not explicitly teach the substrate being an AIN template substrate having single crystal A1N epitaxially grown on single crystal sapphire. However, Fukuyama teaches a method of producing aluminum nitride, wherein seed substrate comprises AlN on sapphire (0035, 0050-0053). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Yoshihisa per teachings of Fukuyama in order to provide AlN crystal having good quality at a reduced cost (Fukuyama abstract, 0001, 0010, 0013, 0035). Further, it is well-established that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Also see MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 7, Yoshihisa/Fukuyama teaches the AIN template substrate is an AIN template substate having C-plane single crystal AIN epitaxially grown on C-plane single crystal sapphire, and an X-ray rocking curve for (10-12) planes of the C-plane single crystal AIN has a full width at half maximum of 300 arcsec or less (0048, 0054-0058)
Conclusion
/HUA QI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714