DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DiMaio et al. (US 2019/0231460).
Regarding claim 1, DiMaio discloses a computer-assisted system comprising:
a repositionable structure system 104, the repositionable structure system comprising a plurality of links 146A-F coupled by a plurality of joints 148A-F (Fig. 2A, section 0083); and
a control unit 300 communicably coupled to the repositionable structure system (Fig. 3, Section 0102), wherein the control unit is configured to:
determine a target pose of a system portion of the computer-assisted system, the target pose of the system portion comprising at least one parameter selected from the group consisting of: a target position of the system portion and a target orientation of the system portion (section 0032-0033, 0101, 0137),
determine a current pose of the system portion, the current pose of the system portion comprising at least one parameter selected from the group consisting of: a current position of the system portion and a current orientation of the system portion (Section 0137),
determine a motion for the repositionable structure system based on a difference between the target pose and the current pose, the motion including a first component in a first direction (section 0029, 0137),
determine a partitioning of the first component into a plurality of partitions, wherein a first partition of the plurality of partitions is associated with a first joint set of the plurality of joints (Section 0168), and a second partition of the plurality of partitions is associated with a second joint set of the plurality of joints, the first joint set differing from the second joint set (section 0169), and
cause a first movement of the first joint set to achieve the first partition and a second movement of the second joint set to achieve the second partition (Section 0168-0169).
Regarding claim 2, DiMaio discloses the computer-assisted system of claim 1, wherein:
the computer-assisted system 302 further comprises a sensor system 306 configured to capture sensor data of an operating environment containing the repositionable structure system (Fig. 3); and
the control unit 300 is further configured to:
determine an object pose of an object portion of an object in the operating environment based on the sensor data, the object pose of the object portion comprising at least one parameter (Fig. 3, section 0029, 0137) selected from the group consisting of:
a position of the object portion and an orientation of the object portion (Section 0137); and
to determine the target pose, the control unit is configured to use the object pose (0032-0033, 0101, 0137).
Regarding claim 4, DiMaio discloses the computer-assisted system of claim 1, wherein:
to cause the first movement and the second movement, the control unit is configured to perform at least one action selected from the group consisting of:
command an actuator system to move the first joint set and the second joint set (section 0138);
output a first prompt perceivable by an operator of the computer-assisted system, the first prompt prompting the operator to move the first joint set to achieve the first partition (section 0168); and
output a second prompt perceivable by the operator, the second prompt prompting the operator to move the second joint set to achieve the second partition (Section 0169).
Regarding claim 5, DiMaio discloses the computer-assisted system of claim 1, wherein:
the first joint set consists of a single joint of the plurality of joints 148A-F (Fig. 2A, sections 0083-0084); or
the second joint set 142A-C comprises multiple joints of the plurality of joints (Fig.2A, sections 0081-0082).
Regarding claim 6, DiMaio discloses the computer-assisted system of claim 1, wherein:
to determine the partitioning of the first component into the plurality of partitions, the control unit is configured to:
determine a set of constraints associated with moving the system portion in the first direction (section 0137); and
determine the partitioning based on the set of constraints (section 0167-0169).
Regarding claim 7, DiMaio discloses the computer-assisted system of claim 6, wherein to determine the partitioning based on the set of constraints, the control unit is configured to:
compute one or more values of one or more cost functions associated with one or more partitioning candidates that satisfy the set of constraints (Section 0154); and
select the partitioning based on the one or more values (Section 0168-0169);
wherein the one or more cost functions comprise at least one cost function selected from the group consisting of:
a cost function associated with a displacement of a joint of the first joint set or the second joint set to a center of a range of motion associated with the joint (Section 0137, 0154);
a cost function associated with a manipulability of a link of the plurality of links (Section0137, 0154); and
a cost function associated with a bandwidth of a joint of the first joint set or the second joint set (section 0137, 0154).
Regarding claim 9, DiMaio discloses the computer-assisted system of claim 6, wherein to determine the partitioning based on the set of constraints, the control unit is configured to:
determine that no partitioning candidates satisfy the set of constraints (section 0168-0169); and
output a notification perceivable by an operator, the notification notifying the operator of an error or prompting the operator to change at least one constraint in the set of constraints (section 0155, 0162).
Regarding claim 11, DiMaio discloses the computer-assisted system of claim 6, wherein the set of constraints comprises at least one constraint selected from the group consisting of:
an average of a plurality of constraints, a least restrictive constraint of the plurality of constraints, and a most restrictive constraint of the plurality of constraints (section 0137); and
wherein different constraints of the plurality of constraints are associated with different system portions of the computer-assisted system (section 0233).
Regarding claim 12, DiMaio discloses the computer-assisted system of claim 1, wherein
the target pose of the system portion is a pose that separates an object pose of an object in an operating environment containing the repositionable structure system from the system portion by a target separation (section 0032-0033),
the target separation comprising a target linear displacement or a target angular displacement (Section 0222).
Regarding claim 13, DiMaio discloses the computer-assisted system of claim 12, wherein the control unit is further configured to determine or modify the target separation based on at least one parameter selected from the group consisting of:
an environmental feature of an operating environment containing the repositionable structure system (Fig. 2A, section 0080);
an operating mode of the computer-assisted system (Fig. 3, section 0102);
an operating condition of the computer-assisted system (Fig. 3);
a status of an operator of the computer-assisted system (Fig. 3, section 0103); and
an automatically determined operator preference (section 0103).
Regarding claim 15, DiMaio discloses the computer-assisted system of claim 1, wherein to cause the first movement of the first joint set to achieve the first partition, the control unit is configured to: determine a speed based on at least parameter (section 0096) selected from the group consisting of:
a displacement from the system portion to an object portion of an object in the operating environment (section 0097),
a speed at which the system portion is moving towards the object portion, a type of the object (section 0096), and
an automatically-determined operator preference (section 0103); and
control the first joint set to move one or more links of the plurality of links based on the determined speed (section 0096-0097).
Regarding claim 20, DiMaio discloses the computer-assisted system of claim 1 wherein
to cause the first movement and the second movement, the control unit is configured to:
simultaneously cause the first movement and the second movement (Section 0089).
Regarding claim 22, DiMaio discloses a method for controlling a repositionable structure system comprising
plurality of links coupled by a plurality of joints (Fig. 2A), the method comprising:
determining a target pose of a system portion of a computer-assisted system, the target pose of the system portion comprising at least one parameter (section 0032-0033, 0101, 0137) selected from the group consisting of:
a target position of the system portion and a target orientation of the system portion (section 0032-0033, 0101, 0137);
determining a current pose of the system portion, the current pose of the system portion (Section 0137) comprising at least one parameter selected from the group consisting of:
a current position of the system portion and a current orientation of the system portion (Section 0137);
determining a motion for the repositionable structure system based on a difference between the target pose and the current pose, the motion including a first component in a first direction (section 0029, 0137);
determining a partitioning of the first component into a plurality of partitions, wherein a first partition of the plurality of partitions is associated with a first joint set of the plurality of joints, and a second partition of the plurality of partitions is associated with a second joint set of the plurality of joints, the first joint set differing from the second joint set (Section 0168-0169); and
causing a first movement of the first joint set to achieve the first partition and a second movement of the second joint set to achieve the second partition (section 0168-0169).
Regarding claim 25 DiMaio discloses the method of claim 22, wherein causing the first movement and the second movement comprises performing at least one action selected from the group consisting of:
commanding an actuator system to move the first joint set and the second joint set (section 0138);
outputting a first prompt perceivable by an operator of the computer-assisted system, the first prompt prompting the operator to move the first joint set to achieve the first partition; and outputting a second prompt perceivable by the operator, the second prompt prompting the operator to move the second joint set to achieve the second partition (section 0168-0169).
Regarding claim 26, DiMaio discloses the method of claim 22, wherein
the first joint set consists of a single joint of the plurality of joints 148A-F (Fig. 2A, sections 0083-0084); or
the second joint set 142A-C comprises multiple joints of the plurality of joints (Fig.2A, sections 0081-0082).
Regarding claim 27, DiMaio discloses the method of claim 22, wherein determining the partitioning of the first component into the plurality of partitions comprises:
determine a set of constraints associated with moving the system portion in the first direction (section 0137); and
determine the partitioning based on the set of constraints (section 0167-0169).
Regarding claim 28, DiMaio discloses the method of claim 27, wherein determining the partitioning based on the set of constraints comprises:
compute one or more values of one or more cost functions associated with one or more partitioning candidates that satisfy the set of constraints (Section 0154); and
select the partitioning based on the one or more values (Section 0168-0169);
wherein the one or more cost functions comprise at least one cost function selected from the group consisting of:
a cost function associated with a displacement of a joint of the first joint set or the second joint set to a center of a range of motion associated with the joint (Section 0137, 0154);
a cost function associated with a manipulability of a link of the plurality of links (Section0137, 0154); and
a cost function associated with a bandwidth of a joint of the first joint set or the second joint set (section 0137, 0154).
Regarding claim 32, DiMaio discloses the method of claim 27, wherein the set of constraints comprises at least one constraint selected from the group consisting of:
an average of a plurality of constraints, a least restrictive constraint of the plurality of constraints, and a most restrictive constraint of the plurality of constraints (section 0137); and
different constraints of the plurality of constraints are associated with different system portions of the computer-assisted system (section 0233).
Regarding claim 33, DiMaio discloses the method of claim 22, wherein
the target pose of the system portion is a pose that separates an object pose of an object in an operating environment containing the repositionable structure system from the system portion by a target separation (section 0032-0033),
the target separation comprising a target linear displacement or a target angular displacement (Section 0222).
an environmental feature of an operating environment containing the repositionable structure system (Fig. 2A, section 0080);
an operating mode of the computer-assisted system (Fig. 3, section 0102);
an operating condition of the computer-assisted system (Fig. 3);
a status of an operator of the computer-assisted system (Fig. 3, section 0103); and
an automatically determined operator preference (section 0103).
Regarding claim 43, DiMaio discloses One or more non-transitory machine-readable media comprising a plurality of machine-readable instructions which when executed by one or more processors are adapted to cause the one or more processors to perform a method for
a repositionable structure system 104, the repositionable structure system comprising a plurality of links 146A-F coupled by a plurality of joints 148A-F (Fig. 2A, section 0083); and
a control unit 300 communicably coupled to the repositionable structure system (Fig. 3, Section 0102), wherein the control unit is configured to:
determine a target pose of a system portion of the computer-assisted system, the target pose of the system portion comprising at least one parameter selected from the group consisting of: a target position of the system portion and a target orientation of the system portion (section 0032-0033, 0101, 0137),
determine a current pose of the system portion, the current pose of the system portion comprising at least one parameter selected from the group consisting of: a current position of the system portion and a current orientation of the system portion (Section 0137),
determine a motion for the repositionable structure system based on a difference between the target pose and the current pose, the motion including a first component in a first direction (section 0029, 0137),
determine a partitioning of the first component into a plurality of partitions, wherein a first partition of the plurality of partitions is associated with a first joint set of the plurality of joints (Section 0168), and a second partition of the plurality of partitions is associated with a second joint set of the plurality of joints, the first joint set differing from the second joint set (section 0169), and
cause a first movement of the first joint set to achieve the first partition and a second movement of the second joint set to achieve the second partition (Section 0168-0169).
Conclusion
/JON ERIC C MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/J.C.M/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796