DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-15, 17, 19-21 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (USPN 11,729,782).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: receiving a configuration related to sounding reference signal resources comprising a first sounding reference signal resource group and a second sounding reference signal resource group, wherein the first sounding reference signal resource group is associated to a first waveform and the second sounding reference signal resource group is associated to a second waveform different from the first waveform [Col. 9, line 17 – Col. 10, line 31, SRS resource sets are associated with different transmission resources which are different waveform whether they are beams or different signals].
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Zhang teaches receiving an indication related to an applicable waveform for transmission [Col. 9, line 17 – Col. 10, line 31]; and transmitting at least one transmission with at least one resource comprised in the first sounding reference signal resource group if the applicable waveform is the first waveform [Col. 9, line 17 – Col. 10, line 31]; or transmitting at least one transmission with at least one resource comprised in the second sounding reference signal resource group if the applicable waveform is the second waveform [Col. 9, line 17 – Col. 10, line 31].
Regarding claims 4 and 20, Zhang teaches determining that the first sounding reference signal resource group is active for transmission if the first waveform is indicated as the applicable waveform [Col. 9, line 17 – Col. 10, line 31]; or determining that the second sounding reference signal resource group is active for transmission if the second waveform is indicated as the applicable waveform [Col. 9, line 17 – Col. 10, line 31].
Regarding claims 5 and 21, Zhang teaches the indication indicates whether the at least one resource is comprised in the first sounding reference signal resource group or in the second sounding reference signal resource group [Col. 9, line 17 – Col. 10, line 31]; and the apparatus is caused to perform: determining that the first sounding reference signal resource group is active for transmission and the first waveform is the applicable waveform if the indicated at least one resource is comprised in the first sounding reference signal resource group [Col. 9, line 17 – Col. 10, line 31]; or determining that the second sounding reference signal resource group is active and the second waveform is the applicable waveform if the indicated at least one resource is comprised in the second sounding reference signal resource group [Col. 9, line 17 – Col. 10, line 31].
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches the sounding reference signal resources are configured as a single resource set comprising the first sounding reference signal resource group and the second sounding reference signal resource group, wherein the first sounding reference signal resource group is a first resource subset and the second reference signal resource group is a second resource subset, wherein the first resource subset is associated to the first waveform and the second resource subset is associated to the second waveform [Col. 9, line 17 – Col. 10, line 31].
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches the sounding reference signal resources comprised in the first sounding reference signal resource group comprise or are associated with parameters corresponding to the first waveform [Col. 9, line 17 – Col. 10, line 31]; and the sounding reference signal resources comprised in the second sounding reference signal resource group comprise or are associated with parameters corresponding to the second waveform [Col. 9, line 17 – Col. 10, line 31].
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches the sounding reference signal resources comprise or are associated with parameters corresponding to the first waveform and the second waveform such that a parameter includes a first value corresponding to the first waveform and a second value corresponding to the second waveform, wherein the apparatus is configured to apply the first value if the first waveform is the applicable waveform [Col. 9, line 17 – Col. 10, line 31]; or the apparatus is configured to apply the second value if the second waveform is the applicable waveform [Col. 9, line 17 – Col. 10, line 31].
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches the parameters comprise or are related to, at least, one or more of: time domain allocation; frequency domain allocation; bandwidth related parameters; sequence related parameters; power related parameters; time bundling related parameters; SRS repetition parameters; partial-sounding-across-frequency parameters; number of ports [Col. 9, line 17 – Col. 10, line 31].
Regarding claims 12 and 28, Zhang teaches receiving power control elements configured for the first waveform and the second waveform; and determining the power control elements for transmission based on the applicable waveform [Col. 9, line 42 – Col. 10, line 2].
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches the indicated waveform is applicable after a predetermined time period [Col. 9, line 17 – Col. 10, line 2].
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches the indicated waveform is applicable during a predetermined time period [Col. 9, line 17 – Col. 10, line 2].
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches the indicated waveform is applicable until receiving an indication related to a change of the waveform [Col. 10, lines 32-56].
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a user equipment from a network node, a configuration related to sounding reference signal resources comprising a first sounding reference signal resource group and a second sounding reference signal resource group, wherein the first sounding reference signal resource group is associated to a first waveform and the second sounding reference signal resource group is associated to a second waveform different from the first waveform [Col. 9, line 17 – Col. 10, line 31, SRS resource sets are associated with different transmission resources which are different waveform whether they are beams or different signals].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (USPN 11,729,782) in view of Khoshnevisan (USPN 11,737,112).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches an apparatus as discussed in rejection of claim 1.
However, Zhang does not teach the first waveform is discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing, DFT-S-OFDM, and the second waveform is cyclic prefix orthogonal frequency division multiplexing, CP-OFDM.
Khoshnevisan teaches teach the first waveform is discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing, DFT-S-OFDM, and the second waveform is cyclic prefix orthogonal frequency division multiplexing, CP-OFDM [Col. 23, lines 5-14].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use DFT-S-OFDM and CP-OFDM waveforms so that single stream transmissions can be done with power savings.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jiang et al. (USPN 12,439,403) teaches transmitting a configuration by a network node and comprising orthogonal code sequences for a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource. Each of the orthogonal code sequence is configured for L adjacent SRS symbols within the SRS resource where L is a length of each of the orthogonal code sequences and L and A are positive integers. A configuration is received by wireless device from network node and comprises orthogonal code sequences for SRS resource.
Yang et al. (US-PGPUB 2024/0267186) teaches receiving a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set configuration that indicates a first set of parameters from a network entity. The processor receives a second SRS resource set configuration with a same usage as the first SRS resource set configuration that indicates a second set of parameters, where a subset of parameters is different between the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters. The same usage between the first SRS resource set configuration and the second SRS resource configuration is a codebook usage.
Zhou et al. (USPN 11,722,369) teaches receiving a configuration of sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets for SRS transmission from a base station via a downlink control information (DCI) or a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE). An indication of an update of parameters is received via the DCI or the MAC-CE for the SRS resource sets. The update is applied to SRS transmissions, where the parameters comprise a non-zero power channel state information reference signal identification (NZP CSI-RS ID) associated with the resource set.
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464