DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: coupling interface (Claim 16); optical component (Claim 16), positioning element (Claim 23); orientation means (Claim 27).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the orientation means (Claim 27; no reference number in the figures) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17, 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eklin et al. (2004/0051866).
Claim 16
Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) an exchangeable spark unit (Fig. 6, Ref. 601) for an optical emission spectrometer (Para. 0001, 0042-0043), comprising: a sample carrier (Ref. 5, Ref. 502; end of the shielding tube) defining a sample plane (sample plane would be the perpendicular area at the end of shielding tube Ref. 502) for positioning a sample (Fig. 1, Ref. 102) to be analyzed (Fig. 2, Ref. 207), said sample carrier having an aperture (Fig. 5, Ref. 502, shielding tube creates an aperture); an electrode (Fig. 5, Ref. 501) arranged in a distance to the sample plane (distance between Ref. 501 and the end of Ref. 502) in the region of the aperture (Fig. 5, Ref. 502 shielding tube creating an aperture) such that a spark can be generated between the electrode (Fig. 5, Ref. 501) and a sample (Fig. 1, Ref. 102) positioned in the sample plane for emitting light (Para. 0002-0003); and, a coupling interface (Fig. 5, Ref. 510) for mechanically coupling the exchangeable spark unit (Fig. 6, Ref. 601) with the optical emission spectrometer (See Fig. 6; Para. 0043), wherein the exchangeable spark unit (Fig. 6, Ref. 601) further comprises an optical component (Fig. 6, Ref. 509) for influencing the emitted light (Para. 0040-0042).
Claim 17
Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) discloses the exchangeable spark unit comprises a mirror as the optical component (See Fig. 1, Ref. 106).
Claim 26
Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) discloses the exchangeable spark unit (Fig. 6, Ref. 601) comprises fixing means (Fig. 5, Ref. 510; attachment means) for mechanically fixing the exchangeable spark unit (Fig. 6, Ref. 601) to an optical emission spectrometer in a mechanically coupled state (Para. 0042), in particular including one or more screws, and/or that the exchangeable spark unit comprises a positioning pin or a receiving space for receiving a positioning pin for positioning the exchangeable spark unit with respect to the optical emission spectrometer (Fig. 5, Ref. 510; attachment means acts like positioning pin for attaching the attachment head; para. 0042-0043).
Claim 27
Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) discloses the exchangeable spark unit (Fig. 6, Ref. 601) comprises an orientation means (See Fig. 5, flat surface that runs across between Ref. 510) to reach a defined angular orientation (attaching Ref. 601 will define an angular orientation) between the exchangeable spark unit (Fig. 6, Ref. 601) and the spectrometer when in a mechanically coupled state (Para. 0043).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-20, 24-25, 28-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eklin et al. (2004/0051866).
Claim 18
Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) discloses the claimed invention except for the exchangeable spark unit includes a first hollow space for light to pass from the spark to be generated to the mirror and a second hollow space for light to pass from the mirror towards a light outlet of the exchangeable spark unit, wherein an angle a between a longitudinal extension of the first hollow space and a longitudinal extension of the second hollow space is between 45 and 120 degrees, in particular between 90 and 110 degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) with angle alignments listed above since it was well known in the art that different angles are necessary to separate the emitted light into its components and therefore optimize the signal-to-noise ratio for accurate measurements. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 19-20
Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) discloses the claimed invention except for the mirror is configured to reflect incident light having an angle between 5 and 20 degrees with respect to the sample plane and/or that the mirror is arranged such that light reflected by the mirror runs essentially vertically downwards. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) with the mirror angles listed above since it was well known in the art that mirror angles are crucial for efficient light collection, precise focusing, proper alignment of the optical path, therefore providing optimal spectral resolution. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 24-25
Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) discloses the claimed invention except for the exchangeable spark unit comprises a gas inlet arranged in the second hollow space; the exchangeable spark unit comprises a gas outlet arranged in a third hollow space through which the electrode extends. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) with gas inlet/outlets since it was well known in the art that strategically positioning inlets and outlets around the electrode and sample help manage the spark chamber atmosphere and sample residue, therefore maintaining analytical accuracy and instrument longevity. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 28
Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) discloses the claimed invention except for the sample carrier is made from an electrically conductive material and comprises an electrical contact for applying an electrical potential to the sample positioned on the sample carrier via the sample carrier. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) with electrically conductive material and applying electrical potential to the sample since it was well known in the art that that using electrically conductive material helps facilitate the electrical discharge and the electrical potential acts as the primary energy source to transform a solid sample into light-emitting plasma, therefore making it necessary for analysis. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 29
Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) discloses the claimed invention except for an optical emission spectrometer, in particular a Czerny-Turner spectrometer, wherein the optical emission spectrometer comprises a coupling interface to which the coupling interface of the exchangeable spark unit can be mechanically coupled. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) with a Czerny-Turner spectrometer since it was well known in the art that such spectrometer serves critical functions regarding the electrode-sample interface, therefore providing efficient light collection and collimation and aberration correction for better resolution. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 30-31
Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) discloses the claimed invention except for detecting the distance between the electrode and the sample plane and, if the distance deviates from a desired distance, adjusting a mounting position of the electrode; detecting a height of the exchangeable spark unit and, if the height deviates from a desired height, adjusting the height of the exchangeable spark unit. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) with detecting a distance or height of the electrode or exchangeable spark unit since it was well known in the art that monitoring or adjusting distance or height of the electrode or spark unit is critical for ensuring measurement reproducibility, accuracy, and efficiency, therefore preventing short circuits and atmosphere contamination. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) in view of DOMINICK et al. (2021/0285820).
Claim 21
Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show the exchangeable spark unit comprises a window for allowing light to pass towards the optical emission spectrometer while closing a hollow space for light to pass through the exchangeable spark unit. DOMINICK et al. (2021/0285820) shows that it is known to provide the exchangeable spark unit (Fig. 1, Ref. 10) comprises a window (Fig. 1, Ref. 30) for allowing light to pass towards the optical emission spectrometer while closing a hollow space for light to pass through the exchangeable spark unit (Fig. 1, Ref. 10) for a spark emission spectrometer with separable spark chamber. It would have been obvious to combine the device of Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) with the window of DOMINICK et al. (2021/0285820) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of allowing light of the relevant wavelength to pass through to the detector and therefore protecting the sensitive internal optics from the sample and the potential harsh environment in the sample chamber.
Claim 22
Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) and DOMINICK et al. (2021/0285820) discloses the claimed invention except for the window is configured as a further optical component, in particular as a filter that allows only a part of the incident light to be passed to the optical emission spectrometer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) and DOMINICK et al. (2021/0285820) with filter window since it was well known in the art that using a filter window will isolate specific wavelengths emitted by the sample and blocking intense background light, therefore improving the signal-to-noise ratio and enhancing spectral resolution. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known
Claim 23
Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show a bearing surface and the exchangeable spark unit comprises a positioning element for positioning the bearing surface in the exchangeable spark unit such that the distance between the electrode and the sample plane is determined by the positioning element. DOMINICK et al. (2021/0285820) shows that it is known to provide a bearing surface (Fig. 1, Ref. 12) and the exchangeable spark unit (Fig. 1, Ref. 10) comprises a positioning element (Fig. 1, Ref. 13) for positioning the bearing surface (Fig. 1, Ref. 12) in the exchangeable spark unit (Fig. 1, Ref. 10) such that the distance between the electrode (Fig. 1, Ref. 13) and the sample plane is determined by the positioning element (Fig. 1, Ref. 13) for a spark emission spectrometer with spark chamber. It would have been obvious to combine the device of Eklin et al. (2004/0051866) with the bearing surface and positioning element of DOMINICK et al. (2021/0285820) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing a stable repeatable high-energy discharge that vaporizes and excites atoms consistently, therefore minimizing losses and ensures consistent atomization/excitation.
/MICHAEL P STAFIRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877 January 8, 2026