Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 and 9-20 are pending and are presented for this examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 08/12/2024 and 05/15/2025 and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Instant claim 1 recites average heat temperature rise rate R during a heating process of a first annealing performed on the steel sheet after the hot rolling satisfies Expression (1) without requiring the minimum and maximum Tc-Te. Without the minimum and maximum Tc-Te, R can be in any range. For example, if Tc-Te is positive, R >=5. If Tc-Te<= - 100, R can be in the negative territory. When R is in the negative territory, it is unclear how a heating process of a first annealing is possible as negative R would suggest a cooling process rather than heating process as claimed.
It is further unclear whether the heating process of a first annealing performed on the steel sheet after the hot rolling is a valid step in the instant claimed process. If it is, applicant is required to recite such heating process in a positively recited step.
Because of lack of the minimum and maximum Tc-Te which dictates the value of R, instant claim 1 renders indefinite.
As a result of rejected claim 1, all dependent claims are also rejected under the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 10, 13-14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’325 (JPH07224325A) in view of JP’537 (JP2002105537A).
As for 1-2, 4, 10, 13-14, 16 and 18, JP’325 discloses a method of manufacturing grain oriented silicon steel sheet, comprising:
Heating a slab of 215 mm having an ingredient composition comprising C 0.06%, Si 3.2%, Mn 0.07%, Se 0.018%, Al 0.03% and N 0.0065% with the remaining being Fe and unavoidable impurities, [0037]
The step of heating the slab comprises:
Heating the slab to 1200 C
Reducing the heated slab in width by 140 mm from both sides
Horizontal reduction rolling the width reduced slab since width reduction resulting in a slab with dog-bone shape [0013]. Hence, horizonal reduction rolling is expected to flatten the dog bone shape caused by the width reduction.
Reheating the horizontal reduction rolled slab to 1420 C, and holding the reheated slab at 1300 C or high for 45 minutes
Rough rolling the slab followed by finish rolling [0039], which reads on claimed hot rolling the steel slab
Cold rolling to a thickness of 0.6 mm from 2.2 mm thick hot rolled slab. Hence, instant claims 4, 10 required cold rolling step that includes performing one cold rolling step at a total rolling reduction in range of 50-92% is met.
Decarburization annealing which reads on claim 1 required primary recrystallization annealing
Applying an annealing separation agent to the surface of the steel sheet
Finish annealing the annealing separation agent applied steel sheet [0039]
With respect to instant claims 1 required Expression (1), it is not given patentable distinction over prior art because of lack of minimum and maximum Tc-Te for the reason set forth in 1122nd paragraph of claim 1 above. Second, MPEP 2144.05(III)(A): “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical.” Here, applicant’s attorney refers to unexpected results from the claimed formulation, however, no showing of such results are made.
Note MPEP 716.01(c): “The arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965}. Examples of attorney statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration include statements regarding unexpected results, commercial success, solution of a long-felt need, inoperability of the prior art, invention before the date of the reference, and allegations that the author(s) of the prior art derived the disclosed subject matter from the inventor or at least one joint inventor.”
JP’537 discloses a similar process of manufacturing grain oriented steel sheet comprising similar steps as recited in instant claim 1. JP’537 explicitly discloses hot rolled sheet annealing between 800-1200 C ([0038]) since it is necessary to coarse the crystalline structure to a certain size or large for obtaining the strength of the grains. Hot rolled sheet annealing 800-1200 C reads on instant claim 1 required 700-900 C during a heating process of a first annealing performed on the steel sheet after the hot rolling.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, at the time the invention is made, to apply hot rolled steel sheet annealing as suggested by JP’537, in the process of JP’325 as JP’537 teaches hot rolled sheet annealing between 800-1200 C is necessary to coarse the crystalline structure to a certain size or large for obtaining the strength of the grains.
As for claims 13-14, 16 and 18, JP’537 discloses Cr 0.01-0.5% which meets claimed Group A with Cr.
As for claim 2, JP’325 discloses in the manufacture of grain-oriented silicon steel sheets, it is important that both inhibitor strength and microstructure are uniform in the width direction. However, in actual manufacturing processes, it is difficult to prevent temperature drops at the slab edges. In other words, as is clear from Figure 2(c), which shows various evaluations in the slab width direction during secondary recrystallization, heating the slab creates a temperature gradient in its width direction, making it difficult to achieve uniform temperature-dependent inhibitor strength.[0022]
That is, JP’325 suggests uniform heating rate of the widthwise central portion and widthwise edge portion of the steel sheet, which suggests Re=Rc. Hence, Re=Rc meets claimed Re>=Rc.
Claim(s) 3, 9, 11-12, 15, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’325 (JPH07224325A) in view of JP’537 (JP2002105537A) and Fukushima (NPL document “Recent Technological Progress in High Speed Continuous Annealing” from IDS 05/15/2025).
As for claims 3 and 9, Fukushima discloses that amount of deformation increases in proportion to the maximum temperature difference between the edge and center in the width direction (Figure 22) That is, Fukushima evidences instant claimed Tc-TC is a result effective variable to be minimized between 0-100 C as illustrated in Figure 22 below such that the smaller the difference, the less deformation. Tc-TC between 0-100 C meets instant claimed Expression (3).
If a particular parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable, then the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said parameter might be characterized as routine experimentation.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have minimized the result-effective variable of Tc-TC as evidenced by Fukushima in the process of primary reference in order to achieve a desired property as disclosed by reference xx. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
With respect to Expression (4), It is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art, in re Cooper and Foley 1943 C.D. 357, 553 O.G. 177; 57 USPQ 117, Taklatwalla v. Marburg, 620 O.G. 685, 1949 C.D. 77, and In re Pilling, 403 O.G. 513, 44 F(2) 878, 1931 C.D. 75. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the selection of the proportions of elements would appear to require no more than routine investigation by those ordinary skilled in the art. In re Austin, et al., 149 USPQ 685, 688.
MPEP 2144.05(III)(A): “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical.” Here, applicant’s attorney refers to unexpected results from the claimed formulation, however, no showing of such results are made.
Note MPEP 716.01(c): “The arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965}. Examples of attorney statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration include statements regarding unexpected results, commercial success, solution of a long-felt need, inoperability of the prior art, invention before the date of the reference, and allegations that the author(s) of the prior art derived the disclosed subject matter from the inventor or at least one joint inventor.”
In the instant case, using Tc-Te between 0-100 C, Re-RC is expected to be close to 0.
Hence, instant claim 3 Expression (4) is met.
As for claims 11-12, 15, 17 and 19-20, they are rejected for the same reason set forth in rejection of claims 10 and 13 above.
Conclusion
/JENNY R WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733