DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to Application 18/837,775 filed 08/12/2024 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-9, 13, 14 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 10-12, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hammarwall et al (US 2015/0236,772 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hammarwall teaches an apparatus (Hammarwall: Fig. 4; UE 415), comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program instructions, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program instructions are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive a downlink configuration for a beam selection procedure (Hammarwall: Fig. 4; [0045], UE receives a configuration from a network about selection a beam for recommendation);
receive an indication to use a signal in the beam selection procedure, wherein the signal is targeted at a user equipment other than the apparatus, wherein the apparatus and the user equipment are served by a same beam or by similar beams (Hammarwall: Fig. 4; [0038], [0044]-[0045], UE 415 receives energy from network node 400 that is serving UE 405/another UE; UE 405 and UE 415 receive the same beam B as shown in Fig. 4);
receive the signal, wherein the signal is transmitted on a beam corresponding to the same beam or one of the similar beams; and perform the beam selection procedure based on measurements of the signal (Hammarwall: Fig. 4; [0044]-[0045], UE 415 performs interference measurement of beam B and report a beam for recommendation).
Regarding claim 2, Hammarwall teaches wherein the indication is received with the downlink configuration or wherein the indication is received after the downlink configuration (Hammarwall: Fig. 4; [0044]-[0045], UE 415 receives instruction from the network node to make a beam recommendation).
Regarding claim 4, Hammarwall teaches wherein the downlink configuration comprises at least one of: a physical downlink shared channel configuration (Hammarwall: Fig. 4; [0044]-[0045], [0062], UE 415 measures energy od data transmitted to UE 405); parameters of a specific ongoing semi-persistent scheduling transmission on a serving beam; or parameters of a shared configuration.
Regarding claim 10, Hammarwall teaches wherein the at least one memory and the computer program instructions are further configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to: report a success status of the beam selection procedure to the network after using the signal (Hammarwall: Fig. 4; [0044]-[0045] UE report beam recommendation to the network node).
Regarding claim 11, Hammarwall teaches an apparatus (Hammarwall: Fig. 4; network node 400), comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program instructions, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program instructions are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
determine a user equipment to perform a beam selection procedure, wherein the beam selection procedure is to be performed using a signal targeted at another user equipment, wherein the user equipment and the another user equipment are served by a same beam or by similar beams (Hammarwall: Fig. 4; [0038], [0044]-[0045], UE 415 receives energy from network node 400 that is serving UE 405/another UE; UE 405 and UE 415 receive the same beam B as shown in Fig. 4);
send a downlink configuration for the beam selection procedure to the user equipment (Hammarwall: Fig. 4; [0045], UE receives a configuration from a network about selection a beam for recommendation);
send an indication to the user equipment to use the signal to perform the beam selection procedure; and send the signal using a beam corresponds to the same beam or one of the similar beams (Hammarwall: Fig. 4; [0044]-[0045], UE 415 performs interference measurement of beam B and report a beam for recommendation based on indication from the network node).
Regarding claim 12, Hammarwall teaches wherein the indication is sent with the downlink configuration or wherein the indication is sent after the downlink configuration (Hammarwall: Fig. 4; [0044]-[0045], UE 415 receives instruction from the network node to make a beam recommendation).
Regarding claim 15, Hammarwall teaches wherein the at least one memory and the computer program instructions are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to: receive reports of beams that are received through a similar path to a serving beam, wherein the determining that the user equipment is to perform the beam selection procedure is based on the reports (Hammarwall: Fig. 4; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 20, Hammarwall teaches A method, comprising:
receiving, at a user equipment, a downlink configuration for a beam selection procedure (Hammarwall: Fig. 4; [0045], UE receives a configuration from a network about selection a beam for recommendation);
receiving, at the user equipment, an indication to use a signal in the beam selection procedure, wherein the signal is targeted at another user equipment, wherein the user equipment and the another user equipment are served by a same beam or by similar beams (Hammarwall: Fig. 4; [0038], [0044]-[0045], UE 415 receives energy from network node 400 that is serving UE 405/another UE; UE 405 and UE 415 receive the same beam B as shown in Fig. 4);
receiving the signal by the user equipment, wherein the signal is transmitted on a beam corresponding to the same beam or one of the similar beams; and performing, by the user equipment, the beam selection procedure based on measurements of the signal (Hammarwall: Fig. 4; [0044]-[0045], UE 415 performs interference measurement of beam B and report a beam for recommendation).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478