DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 9, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 6 of claim 8, line 11 of claim 9, and line 11 of claim 11: Please clarify what “it” is referring to in next communication.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hershey et al. (US 2018/0063674, cited by the applicant).
Re claim 1: Hershey teaches an antenna system (10) for operating in an industrial environment comprising a plurality of industrial devices, each industrial device being connected to a user equipment (UE) (2, 24, 26, 28, 30, 32)0), the antenna system comprising an antenna (12); and a support for supporting the antenna in an elevated position in relation to ground and facing towards the ground (figs. 1 and 2), wherein the antenna being adapted for generating beams towards the ground for communicating with the UE (paragraphs 0018, 0019) (see figs. 1-4; paragraphs 0017-0027).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hershey in view of Tran et al. (US 10694399, cited by the applicant).
The teachings of Hershey have been discussed above.
Although, Hershey teaches the antenna system having supports, he fairly suggests that the support is drone, air ballon, or floating tool.
However, Tran teaches a cellular antenna system comprising a tower (106) having an antenna mount (113), drones or air ballon, or floating tool (fig. 2K) and a beamformer (150) receiving a baseband symbol (s) serving as a baseband processing component being in communication with the antenna (154) using one of the anchored wires or an optical fiber, of the support or external to the support (fig. 2G) (see figs. 2F, 2G, and 2K; col. 40, lines 41-37; col. 44, lines 45-63; col. 58, lines 21-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Tran to the teachings of Hershey in order to provide improved communication by elevating antennas avoiding obstacles between the antenna and user devices. Also, such modification would improve communication capabilities by steering the beam patterns toward user device using the beamforming device.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hershey as modified by Crockett et al. (US 2024/0014549).
The teachings of Hershey have been discussed above.
Although, Hershey teaches the antenna system having supports, he fairly suggests that the support comprising a motion sensor.
However, Crockett teaches a positioning device (100) comprising a motion sensor (112) detecting motion of the antenna (102) (see figs. 1 and 2; paragraphs 0017-0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Crockett to the teachings of Hershey in order to calculate the composite motion of the antenna.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hershey as modified by Tran as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Tong et al. (US 2023/0420839).
The teachings of Hershey/Tran have been discussed above.
Although, Hershey/Tran teaches the antenna system having the baseband (BB) processing component, they fairly suggest that the support comprising an antenna rail.
However, Tong teaches an antenna assembly (20) also serving as a support comprising an antenna rail (22), an antenna (21) being slidable along the antenna rail for shifting the antenna from a first location (fig. 7) to a second location (fig. 8) within the premise (see figs. 3-8; paragraphs 0064-0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Tong to the teachings of Hershey/Tran in order to expand antenna coverage by shifting the antenna.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-14 are allowed.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of prior art teaches the antenna system further comprises a processor arranged to communicate with at least one motion sensor equipped with the antenna pole and to determine whether there is a motion of the antenna; and while it is determined that there is a motion of the antenna, receive an indication for moving the beams generated by the antenna as set forth in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al. (US 2022/0344798) teaches an antenna device and Hall (US 10050449) teaches wireless rail antenna.
/SEUNG H LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876