DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of the response filed on March 05, 2026, which has been entered in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hershey et al. (US 2018/0063674, of the record).
Re claim 1: Hershey teaches an antenna system (10) for operating in an industrial environment comprising a plurality of industrial devices, each industrial device being connected to a user equipment (UE) (20, 24, 26, 28, 30, 32), the antenna system comprising an antenna (12); and a support for supporting the antenna in an elevated position in relation to ground and facing towards the ground (figs. 1 and 2), wherein the antenna being adapted for generating beams towards the ground for communicating with the UE (paragraphs 0018, 0019) (see figs. 1-4; paragraphs 0017-0027).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hershey in view of Tran et al. (US 10694399, of the record).
The teachings of Hershey have been discussed above.
Although, Hershey teaches the antenna system having supports, he fairly suggests that the support is drone, air ballon, or floating tool.
However, Tran teaches a cellular antenna system comprising a tower (106) having an antenna mount (113), drones or air ballon, or floating tool (fig. 2K) and a beamformer (150) receiving a baseband symbol (s) serving as a baseband processing component being in communication with the antenna (154) using one of the anchored wires or an optical fiber, of the support or external to the support (fig. 2G) (see figs. 2F, 2G, and 2K; col. 40, lines 41-37; col. 44, lines 45-63; col. 58, lines 21-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Tran to the teachings of Hershey in order to provide improved communication by elevating antennas avoiding obstacles between the antenna and user devices. Also, such modification would improve communication capabilities by steering the beam patterns toward user device using the beamforming device.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hershey as modified by Crockett et al. (US 2024/0014549, of the record).
The teachings of Hershey have been discussed above.
Although, Hershey teaches the antenna system having supports, he fairly suggests that the support comprising a motion sensor.
However, Crockett teaches a positioning device (100) comprising a motion sensor (112) detecting motion of the antenna (102) (see figs. 1 and 2; paragraphs 0017-0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Crockett to the teachings of Hershey in order to calculate the composite motion of the antenna.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hershey as modified by Tran as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Tong et al. (US 2023/0420839, of the record).
The teachings of Hershey/Tran have been discussed above.
Although, Hershey/Tran teaches the antenna system having the baseband (BB) processing component, they fairly suggest that the support comprising an antenna rail.
However, Tong teaches an antenna assembly (20) also serving as a support comprising an antenna rail (22), an antenna (21) being slidable along the antenna rail for shifting the antenna from a first location (fig. 7) to a second location (fig. 8) within the premise (see figs. 3-8; paragraphs 0064-0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Tong to the teachings of Hershey/Tran in order to expand antenna coverage by shifting the antenna.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-14 are allowed.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of prior art teaches the antenna system further comprises a processor arranged to communicate with at least one motion sensor equipped with the antenna pole and to determine whether there is a motion of the antenna; and while it is determined that there is a motion of the antenna, receive an indication for moving the beams generated by the antenna as set forth in the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments rely on language solely recited in preamble recitations in claim(s) each industrial device being connected to a user equipment (UE). When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “UE associated with industrial devices” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
In response to the applicant’s argument that “…Hershey fails to teach at least, for example, the feature of “a support for supporting the antenna in an elevated position in relation to ground and facing towards the ground, wherein the antenna being adapted for generating beams towards the ground for communicating with the UE.” as recited in independent claim 1” (see page 8, last paragraph of Remarks). The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant wherein Hershey teaches a controller (64) coupled to the antenna (12) and generating beams (16) toward stations (14) such as work desks where the wireless communication units (20) are located as shown in figures 1 and 2. Accordingly, given its broadest reasonable interpretation, the teachings of Hershey meet the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEUNG H LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876