DETAILED ACTION
This office action response to the communication filed on 03/08/2023.
Claims 1-20, are presented for examination.
Claims 21-30 are cancelled.
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (lDSs) submitted on February 04, 2026; and August 13, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-13, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SINHA et al. (International Publication No. WO2020198256A1, hereinafter "D1''), in view of Rahman et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20150189554 A1), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a method performed by a wireless device for handling communication with a network node ([see, [0006], methods for detecting and predicting faults in an industrial process automation system]),
the wireless device being connected to an industrial device in an industrial environment and the wireless device being in communication with the network node using a communication circuitry ([see, [0012, 0028], and Fig. 1, the monitoring system to run a process that builds a network topology for the nodes in the industrial plant, the network topology establishing a hierarchy for the nodes in the industrial plant]),
said communication circuitry comprising a plurality of components interconnected for communicating with the network node ([see, [0030-0032], and Fig. 1, wherein the industrial plant diagnostic system 120, different components to identify the component failures that interconnected for communicating with the network node through the industrial plant monitor 130]),
the method comprising:
detecting occurrence of a failure event in the communication circuitry ([see, [0007, 0032], wherein detecting faults in industrial process automation systems, identify component failures, estimate time until failure, raise alarms for the failures, and determine likely root cause of the failures]);
identifying at least one component of the plurality of components causing the failure event ([see, [0007, 0032], identify probable component failures, estimate time until failure, raise alarms for the failures, and determine likely root cause of the failures]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: determining at least another component from the plurality of components, to handle the communication with the network node; and enabling the at least another component for the communication with the network node.
However, D2 discloses determining at least another component (i.e., handover to another component), from the plurality of components, to handle the communication with the network node ([see, [0016, 0025, 0050], and Fig. 7, wherein monitor components, monitor component can be configured to identify a handover failure (or abnormalities that could lead to a handover failure) associated with component]); and
enabling the at least another component (which means keep enabling the communication with the network node) for the communication with the network node ([see, [0016, 0025, 0050], and Fig. 7:712, wherein monitor components, monitor component can be configured to identify a handover failure (or abnormalities that could lead to a handover failure) associated with component, and enabling the communication path can be rerouted via the alternate communication path prior to dropping a network data connection]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide identify a handover failure results improve facilitates handover resolution that optimize space usage or enhance performance of user equipment (D2, [0086]).
As per Claim 15, D1 discloses an apparatus of a wireless device for handling communication with a network node([see, [0006], methods for detecting and predicting faults in an industrial process automation system]),
the wireless device being connected to an industrial device in an industrial environment and the wireless device being in communication with the network node using a communication circuitry, ([see, [0012, 0028], and Fig. 1, the monitoring system to run a process that builds a network topology for the nodes in the industrial plant, the network topology establishing a hierarchy for the nodes in the industrial plant]),
said communication circuitry comprising a plurality of components interconnected for communicating with the network node ([see, [0030-0032], and Fig. 1, wherein the industrial plant diagnostic system 120, different components to identify the component failures that interconnected for communicating with the network node through the industrial plant monitor 130]),
the apparatus comprising controlling circuitry configured to cause:
detection of occurrence of a failure event in the communication circuitry ([see, [0007, 0032], wherein detecting faults in industrial process automation systems, identify component failures, estimate time until failure, raise alarms for the failures, and determine likely root cause of the failures]);
identification of at least one component of the plurality of components causing the failure event ([see, [0007, 0032], identify probable component failures, estimate time until failure, raise alarms for the failures, and determine likely root cause of the failures]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: determination of at least another component from the plurality of components, to handle the communication with the network node; and enabling of the at least another component for the communication with the network node.
However, D2 discloses determination of at least another component from the plurality of components, to handle the communication with the network node ([see, [0016, 0025, 0050], and Fig. 7, wherein monitor components, monitor component can be configured to identify a handover failure (or abnormalities that could lead to a handover failure) associated with component]); and
enabling the at least another component (which means keep enabling the communication with the network node) for the communication with the network node ([see, [0016, 0025, 0050], and Fig. 7:712, wherein monitor components, monitor component can be configured to identify a handover failure (or abnormalities that could lead to a handover failure) associated with component, and enabling the communication path can be rerouted via the alternate communication path prior to dropping a network data connection]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide identify a handover failure results improve facilitates handover resolution that optimize space usage or enhance performance of user equipment (D2, [0086]).
As per Claims 2, 16, D1 further discloses wherein the plurality of components comprises a first set of components and a second set of components ([see, [0061], components including a set of components that includes the system memory to the processing unit]).
As per Claims 4, 18, D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the second set of components comprises radio frequency (RF) components ([see, [0065], the radio frequency (RF) components , such as a set of antennas 1012 (e.g., smart antennas) disclosed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide identify a handover failure results improve facilitates handover resolution that optimize space usage or enhance performance of user equipment (D2, [0086]).
As per Claims 5, 19, D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the step of determining at least another component from the plurality of components ([see, [0016, 0025, 0050], and Fig. 7), to handle the communication with the network node comprising:
identifying whether the failure has been occurred in any component from the first set of components or the second set of components ([see, [0016, 0025, 0050], and Fig. 7, wherein monitor components, identify a handover failure (or abnormalities that could lead to a handover failure) associated with component]);
when it is identified that the failure has been occurred in any of the components in the first set of components, selecting at least another component from the first set of components ([see, [0016, 0025, 0050], and Fig. 7:712, wherein monitor components, monitor component can be configured to identify a handover failure (or abnormalities that could lead to a handover failure) associated with component, and enabling the communication path can be rerouted via the alternate communication path prior to dropping a network data connection]); and
when it is identified that the failure has been occurred in any of the components in the second set of components, selecting at least another component from the second set of components ([see, [0016, 0025, 0050], and Fig. 7:712, enabling the communication path can be rerouted via the alternate communication path prior to dropping a network data connection]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide identify a handover failure results improve facilitates handover resolution that optimize space usage or enhance performance of user equipment (D2, [0086]).
As per Claims 6, 20, D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses any of the preceding claims, further comprising transmitting information to the network node when the failure has been occurred in any component in the plurality of components ([see, [0016, 0025, 0050], and Fig. 7, determine or detect evidence of handover failure occurrences, monitor component 102 can identify the failure and provide failure notification 110]), the information comprising one or more of:
an indication to indicate the failure in any of components in the first set of components or the second set of components ([see, [0016], monitor component a failure notification, identify a handover failure (or abnormalities that could lead to a handover failure) associated with a particular components, a handover failure, the monitor component can therefore generate a failure notification, including relevant information relating to the handover failure]);
a level of synchronicity among the first set of components;
parameters associated with the second set of components ([see, [0029], parameters associated with abnormalities associated with such network elements (e.g., often eNB 120) involved in handover procedure 108 as well as actual handover failures 106]); and an indication to indicate that the at least another component has been enabled for the communication with the network node ([see, [0016, 0025, 0050], and Fig. 7:712, enabling the communication path can be rerouted via the alternate communication path prior to dropping a network data connection]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide identify a handover failure results improve facilitates handover resolution that optimize space usage or enhance performance of user equipment (D2, [0086]).
As per Claim 7, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 6, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the parameters associated with the second set of components comprises one or more of:
information related to one or more antennas ([see, [0016], monitor component can therefore generate a failure notification, including relevant information relating to the handover failure]);
position information of the one or more antennas; and delay information associated with feeders of the one or more antennas.
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide identify a handover failure results improve facilitates handover resolution that optimize space usage or enhance performance of user equipment (D2, [0086]).
As per Claim 8, D1 discloses a method performed by a network node for handling communication with a wireless device ([see, [0038], and Fig. 4, a network topology 400 for the DCS 100 that is built by the industrial plant monitor 130]),
the wireless device being connected to an industrial device in an industrial environment and the network node being in communication with the wireless device through at least one component of a communication circuitry ([see, [0012], the monitoring system to run a process that builds a network topology for the nodes in the industrial plant, the network topology establishing a hierarchy for the nodes in the industrial plant]),
said communication circuitry comprising a plurality of components interconnected for communicating with the network node ([see, [0030-0032], and Fig. 1, wherein the industrial plant diagnostic system 120, different components to identify the component failures that interconnected for communicating with the network node through the industrial plant monitor 130]),
the method comprising:
receiving, from the wireless device, information ([see, [0057, 0032], wherein detecting and predicting faults in an industrial process automation system, identify probable component failures, estimate time until failure, raise alarms for the failures]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: information comprising an indication indicating at least another component from the plurality of components being enabled (permitted) for communicating with the wireless device; and controlling the communication with the wireless device in accordance with the information indicating at least one other component enabled for communicating with the wireless device.
However, D2 discloses information comprising an indication indicating at least another component from the plurality of components (which means keep enabling the communication with the network node) being enabled (permitted) for communicating with the wireless device ([see, [0016, 0025, 0050], and Fig. 7:712, wherein monitor components, monitor component can be configured to identify a handover failure (or abnormalities that could lead to a handover failure) associated with component, and enabling the communication path can be rerouted via the alternate communication path prior to dropping a network data connection]); and
controlling the communication with the wireless device in accordance with the information indicating at least one other component enabled for communicating (i.e., handover to another component), with the wireless device ([see, [0016, 0025, 0050], and Fig. 7, wherein monitor components, monitor component can be configured to identify a handover failure (or abnormalities that could lead to a handover failure) associated with component]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide identify a handover failure results improve facilitates handover resolution that optimize space usage or enhance performance of user equipment (D2, [0086]).
As per Claim 9, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 8, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the information further comprising comprises one or more of:
a level of synchronicity between each component among a first set of components of the plurality of components; and
parameters associated with a second set of components of the plurality of components ([see, [0029], parameters associated with abnormalities associated with such network elements (e.g., often eNB 120) involved in handover procedure 108 as well as actual handover failures 106]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide identify a handover failure results improve facilitates handover resolution that optimize space usage or enhance performance of user equipment (D2, [0086]).
As per Claim 10, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 9, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the parameters associated with the second set of components comprise one or more of:
information related to one or more antennas ([see, [0016], monitor component can therefore generate a failure notification, including relevant information relating to the handover failure]);
position information of the one or more antennas; and delay information associated with feeders of the one or more antennas.
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide identify a handover failure results improve facilitates handover resolution that optimize space usage or enhance performance of user equipment (D2, [0086]).
As per Claim 11, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 8, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the step of controlling the communication with the wireless device comprises:
controlling one or more control parameters related to the communication with the wireless device in accordance with the received information from the wireless device ([see, [0016], monitor component can therefore generate a failure notification, including relevant information relating to the handover failure]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide identify a handover failure results improve facilitates handover resolution that optimize space usage or enhance performance of user equipment (D2, [0086]).
As per Claim 12, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to the claim 11, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the one or more control parameters comprises information related to one or more of:
states of one or more control loops associated with the communication;
status of Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request(HARQ), HARQ process;
channel (i.e., degraded air interface) between the wireless device and the network node ([see, [0033], monitor component 102 can identify handover failure 106 based upon a degraded air interface (e.g., eUTRAN) between UE (e.g., UE 306 and/or 308) and either source eNB 302 or target eNB 304]);
interference in the channel ([see, [0033], wherein the handover failure, degraded air interface (e.g., eUTRAN) between UE and either source eNB 302 or target eNB 304]);
beamforming measurements; rank and precoding for Multiple-Input Multiple-Output(MIMO), MIMO and/or multiple transmission and reception points (Multi-TRP), Multi-TRP operation;
power control ([see, [0037], monitor component 102 can identify failing eNB 402 based upon a degraded air interface between UE and failing eNB 402 or based upon a buffer overflow condition or a packet loss condition associate with failing eNB 402]); and inner loop and outer loop link adaptation.
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide identify a handover failure results improve facilitates handover resolution that optimize space usage or enhance performance of user equipment (D2, [0086]).
As per Claim 13, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 8, and D1 further discloses wherein the step of controlling the communication with the wireless device further comprises:
detecting occurrence of a failure event at the network node ([see, [0007, 0032], wherein detecting faults in industrial process automation systems, identify component failures, estimate time until failure, raise alarms for the failures, and determine likely root cause of the failures]). D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses determining another network node for handling the communication with the wireless device ([see, [0016, 0025, 0050], and Fig. 7:712, wherein monitor components, monitor component can be configured to identify a handover failure (or abnormalities that could lead to a handover failure) associated with component, and enabling the communication path can be rerouted via the alternate communication path prior to dropping a network data connection]); and
transmitting at least one context parameter to another network node (lOSb) for handling the communication with the wireless device ([see, [0034-0037, 0050], and Fig. 7, wherein identify handover failure 106 and transmit failure notification 110 to routing component 112, instruct MME 114 to interact with home subscriber server (HSS), monitor component 102 can identify failing eNB 402 based upon a degraded air interface between UE and failing eNB 402, select an alternative communication path 116 upon receipt of a LTE handover request associated with failing eNB]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide identify a handover failure results improve facilitates handover resolution that optimize space usage or enhance performance of user equipment (D2, [0086]).
Claims 3, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of Krishnaswamy et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20210243839 A1), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 3, 17, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the first set of components comprises baseband (BB) processing components.
However, D3 discloses wherein the first set of components comprises baseband (BB) processing components ([see, [0110], and fig. 1-2, a first device or component (or set of devices or components) includes a baseband controller]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide baseband controller results improve the analysis of the overall performance of the system (D3, [0065]).
As per Claim 14, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 9, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the second set of components comprises radio frequency (RF) components ([see, [0065], the radio frequency (RF) components , such as a set of antennas 1012 (e.g., smart antennas) disclosed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide identify a handover failure results improve facilitates handover resolution that optimize space usage or enhance performance of user equipment (D2, [0086]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the first set of components comprises a plurality of baseband (BB) processing components.
However, D3 discloses wherein the first set of components comprises a plurality of baseband (BB) processing components ([see, [0110], and fig. 1-2, a first device or component (or set of devices or components) includes a baseband controller]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide baseband controller results improve the analysis of the overall performance of the system (D3, [0065]).
Conclusion
/BERHANU D BELETE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418