Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17 and 19 use indication (i.e. s110, s120, s210, s220, 800, 810, 820, 830, 1000, 1010, 1020, 1030 etc.) which should be removed from the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 18 and 20 recite “A computer readable storage medium having computer program instructions…”. The Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of a claimed “computer program instruction”, when read in light of the specification and as interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art, may cover both statutory and non-statutory embodiments. In particular, “computer program instruction” can sometimes be broadly interpreted as a product (machine and/or article of manufacture) as well as other non-statutory embodiments (software per se and/or transitory forms of signal transmission). Therefore, with the broadest reasonable interpretation, the computer program product claimed may be non-statutory embodiments embraces subject matter that is not eligible for patent protection and therefore is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No US 2024/0080737 to Park et al. (hereinafter Park) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2023/0403593 to Hong et al. (hereinafter Hong)
As to claims 1, 16, 17, 18, 19 and 20, Park discloses a method at a network node for configuring a terminal node with a measurement configuration of a type of reference signal in a Non-Terrestrial Network, NTN, the measurement configuration comprises at least one of a Synchronization Signal Block, SSB, Measurement Time Configuration, SMTC configuration, and a Measurement Gap, MG, configuration, the method comprising:
determining (s110) the measurement configuration based on an occupied time length of SMTC or MG in one measurement periodicity being not higher than a threshold (Park; [0290]-[0293]; [0295] Fig.20: S2004 shows and discloses the NTN network may configure multiple SMTCs. For example, the NTN network may configure multiple SMTCs, such as an SMTC for the time interval t0 to t1 and an SMTC for the time interval t2 to t3. In other words, the NTN network may configure an increased SMTC window when the magnitude of the delay difference between the NTN network (e.g., a serving satellite) and another satellite is below a threshold, and multiple SMTCs when the magnitude of the delay difference is above the threshold. The NTN network may configure multiple SMTC/MG or an increased SMTC window. The NTN network may transmit information about the multiple SMTC/MG configuration or the increased SMTC window to the NTN UE);
informing (s120) the terminal node of the determined measurement configuration (Park; Fig.20; [0290]-[0293]; [0295]-[0296] shows and discloses the NTN network may configure multiple SMTC/MG or an increased SMTC window. The NTN network may transmit information about the multiple SMTC/MG configuration or the increased SMTC window to the NTN UE. The NTN network may include the information about the multiple SMTC/MG or the increased SMTC window within the message sent in step S2003. In step S2005, the NTN UE may perform measurements)
Park discloses receiving SMTC/MG by a terminal and performs measurement. Park fails to disclose wherein determined measurement configuration to be used for performing a measurement procedure of the type of reference signal. However, Hong discloses
informing (s120) the terminal node of the determined measurement configuration to be used for performing a measurement procedure of the type of reference signal (Hong; Abstract; [0039] discloses the MGL is configured to the terminal device, such that the terminal device, based on the MGL included in the measurement gap, measures the reference signal for the neighboring cell).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to make a decision based on the reference signal of the neighboring cell.
As to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Park-Hong discloses wherein determining the measurement configuration further comprises:
determining the measurement configuration by taking satellite types in the NTN into account (Park; [0289]-[0295]).
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Park-Hong discloses wherein determining the measurement configuration by taking satellite types into account comprises selecting different scaling factors of the measurement procedure corresponding to the measurement configuration for different types of satellites (Park; [0289]-[0295]).
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Park-Hong discloses wherein determining the measurement configuration further comprises:
determining the measurement configuration based on a number of satellites for which reference signals of the type are measured within one SMTC periodicity, wherein for Low Earth Orbit, LEO, satellites the number of satellites for which reference signals of the type are measured within one SMTC periodicity is less than that for Geostationary Earth Orbit, GEO, satellites (Park; [0289]-[0295]; [0154]).
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Park-Hong discloses wherein determining the measurement configuration further comprises: determining the measurement configuration based on a number of SMTCs the terminal node is capable of supporting (Park; [0290]-[0295] In NTN, the UE may receive SSB such as SSB signal from satellite 1: t=t0 to t1 SSB signal from satellite 2: t=t1 to t2. In this case, the NTN network may configure an increased SMTC window for t0 to t2. In other words, the increased SMTC window here may be an increased SMTC window for measuring the SSB signal of satellite 1 (e.g., including the time interval from t0 to t1). Alternatively, the UE may receive the SSB signal of satellite 1: t=t0 to t1 and the UE may receive the SSB signal of satellite 2: t=t2 to t3. In this case, the NTN network may configure multiple SMTCs. For example, the NTN network may configure multiple SMTCs, such as an SMTC for the time interval t0 to t1 and an SMTC for the time interval t2 to t3).
As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Park-Hong discloses wherein the measurement configuration comprises a SMTC configuration comprising at least one of:
SMTC periodicity;
SMTC length in time or duration (Park; [0187]-[0188];[0293] discloses SMTC window corresponding to SMTC length in time or duration. Here Park is applied for the 2nd alternative);
SMTC offset; and
number of SMTC in one measurement periodicity.
As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Park-Hong discloses wherein the measurement configuration comprises a measurement gap configuration comprising at least one of:
MG periodicity;
MG length in time or duration (HONG; [0039] discloses measurement gap length (MGL). Here Hong is applied for the 2nd alternative); and
MG offset.
As to claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Park-Hong discloses wherein determining (s110) the measurement configuration comprises:
selecting one or more measurement configuration from a group of measurement configurations (Park; [0289]-[0295]), and
wherein informing (s120) the terminal node of the determined measurement configuration comprises:
informing the terminal node of the one or more selected measurement configurations (Park; [0289]-[0295]).
As to claim 12, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Park-Hong discloses further comprising:
receiving capability information reported from the terminal node, indicating a capability of the terminal node with respect to a number of SMTCs that can be dealt with in the measurement procedure (Park; [0289]-[0295]); and
wherein determining (s110) the measurement configuration comprises determining the measurement configuration by taking the reported capability information into account (Park; [0289]-[0295]).
As to claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Park-Hong discloses further comprising:
receiving configuration information on the measurement configuration reported from the terminal node (Park; [0289]-[0295]); and
wherein determining (s110) the measurement configuration comprises updating the measurement configuration by taking the reported configuration information into account (Park; [0289]-[0295]).
As to claim 14, the rejection of claim 13 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Park-Hong discloses wherein the configuration information is an indication of a measurement configuration of the type of reference signal or an indication of a configuration parameter included in a measurement configuration of the type of reference signal (Hong; [0039]-[0040] discloses reference signal of neighboring cell corresponding to measurement configuration of the type of reference signal. Here Hong is applied for the 1st alternative)
As to claim 15, the rejection of claim 13 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Park-Hong discloses wherein determining (s110) the measurement configuration further comprises:
updating the measurement configuration in response to receiving information related to the measurement configuration from the terminal node (Park Fig.20; [0279]; [0289]-[0295]).
Claims 5-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No US 2024/0080737 to Park et al. (hereinafter Park) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2023/0403593 to Hong et al. (hereinafter Hong) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2023/0224025 to Lin et al. (hereinafter Lin)
As to claim 5, Park-Hong discloses overlapping SMTCs. Park-Hong fails to disclose applying a scaling factor to measurement period of the measurement procedure corresponding to the measurement configuration if two SMTC partially overlap and the satellites for which reference signals of the type are in the overlapped SMTCs have Doppler shift. However, Lin discloses wherein determining the measurement configuration further comprises:
applying a scaling factor to measurement period of the measurement procedure corresponding to the measurement configuration if two SMTC partially overlap and the satellites for which reference signals of the type are in the overlapped SMTCs have Doppler shift (Lin; [0037] discloses the UE may determine the scaling factor according to some other parameters. The parameters may comprise, for example but not limited to, at least one of a number of SMTC occasions within or outside a measurement gap, a number of SMTCs configured, a UE capability on support of number for SMTCs, a number of SMTCs overlapped in the time domain, a number of SSBs to be measured overlapped in the time domain, a number of satellite measurement occasions within or outside a measurement gap, a number of satellites to be measured, and a number of measurement cell groups overlapped in time domain. The number of measurement cell groups may be defied/determined by at least one of cells/beams transmitted within the same SMTC, cells/beams transmitted for the same satellite, cells/beams with similar or the same timing/Doppler shifts, cells/beams belonging to the same satellite, and cells/beams having similar or the same ephemeras information. Serving cells/beams and neighboring cells/beams may belong to different measurement cell groups. The scaling/sharing factor may be determined according to any single parameter or a combination of multiple parameters mentioned above. The scaling/sharing factor may be used to scale up the measurement period for the neighboring cells and/or the serving cells)
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to use the limited resources in an effective way.
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Park-Hong-Lin discloses wherein different scaling factors are applied for different degree of overlapping between two SMTCs (Lin; [0037] discloses the UE may determine the scaling factor according to some other parameters. The parameters may comprise, for example but not limited to, at least one of a number of SMTC occasions within or outside a measurement gap, a number of SMTCs configured, a UE capability on support of number for SMTCs, a number of SMTCs overlapped in the time domain, a number of SSBs to be measured overlapped in the time domain, a number of satellite measurement occasions within or outside a measurement gap, a number of satellites to be measured, and a number of measurement cell groups overlapped in time domain).
As to claim 8, Park-Hong discloses overlapping SMTCs. Park-Hong fails to disclose applying a scaling factor to measurement period of the measurement procedure corresponding to the measurement configuration based on a number of SMTCs in one measurement periodicity. However, Lin discloses wherein determining the measurement configuration further comprises:
applying a scaling factor to measurement period of the measurement procedure corresponding to the measurement configuration based on a number of SMTCs in one measurement periodicity (Lin; [0037] discloses the UE may determine the scaling factor according to some other parameters. The parameters may comprise, for example but not limited to, at least one of a number of SMTC occasions within or outside a measurement gap, a number of SMTCs configured, a UE capability on support of number for SMTCs, a number of SMTCs overlapped in the time domain, a number of SSBs to be measured overlapped in the time domain, a number of satellite measurement occasions within or outside a measurement gap, a number of satellites to be measured, and a number of measurement cell groups overlapped in time domain. The number of measurement cell groups may be defied/determined by at least one of cells/beams transmitted within the same SMTC, cells/beams transmitted for the same satellite, cells/beams with similar or the same timing/Doppler shifts, cells/beams belonging to the same satellite, and cells/beams having similar or the same ephemeras information. Serving cells/beams and neighboring cells/beams may belong to different measurement cell groups. The scaling/sharing factor may be determined according to any single parameter or a combination of multiple parameters mentioned above. The scaling/sharing factor may be used to scale up the measurement period for the neighboring cells and/or the serving cells).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to use the limited resources in an effective way.
Conclusion
/FAISAL CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478