DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 03/20/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-8 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II. III, and IV, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/20/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju Ki Kang et al (KR 101696814, here after Kang), further in view of T. A. Schaedler et al, Science 18(2011) vol 334, 962-965, here after Schaedler, and Ju Ki Kang et al (KR 101707138, here after Kang-2).
Claim 1 is rejected. Schaedler teaches forming a low density 3-D cellular structure as shock energy damping layer (impact absorption) [abstract, fig. 1], comprising applying a composition (photo monomer) for forming an impact absorption layer on top of a substrate [fig. 1];
(c) placing a photomask (40) on top of the composition layer [fig. 1];
(d) irradiating UV parallel light onto the photomask from two directions at an
angle greater than 0° and less than 90° with respect to a plane perpendicular to an exposure plane so that an impact absorption layer skeletal support is cured in parallel with the angle of the parallel light [fig. 1, step A and B]; and obviously
(e) removing the photomask. Schaedler does not teach step b, and step c. Kang teaches a method for forming a three-dimensionally shaped low density cellular material [page 2, Background Art lines 1-2] using UV parallel light in a multilayered laminated structure, comprising:
(a) applying a composition (110) for forming an impact absorption layer on top of a substrate[S10];
(b) forming a layer (32, ultraviolet ray transmitting plate) on top of the composition;
(c) placing a photomask (40) on top of the polymer layer [fig. 4 S10];
(d) irradiating UV parallel light onto the photomask from two directions at an
angle greater than 0° and less than 90° with respect to a plane perpendicular to an exposure plane so that an impact absorption layer skeletal support (122) is cured in parallel with the angle of the parallel light [S10, S20 page 3 last paragraph]; and
(e) removing the photomask[S20] and irradiating UV light having a lower intensity than that of the UV parallel light( knowing the maximum penetration achieved when radiation is perpendicular to surface, while oblique angles increase reflection and decreases penetration depth, the intensity of UV parallel light should be higher than the perpendicular UV light to penetrate the layer) to form a buffering portion (112) around the skeletal support, thereby completing a three-dimensionally shaped layer [S30B page 6 paragraph 5-6]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Schaedler and have method of Kang with having a resin layer, because it makes the structure more flexible and stronger. Kang does not teach the ultraviolet ray transmitting plate (32) is polymer. Kang-2 teaches a method of making a low density 3-D cellular structure [abstract, page 2 Background-Art lines 1-2], and apply liquid photosensitive resin to the upper and lower ultraviolet transmitting plate then curing [page 5 last 4 lines]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Schaedler and Kang and have the ultraviolet transmitting plate coated with a polymer(resin), because it is suitable way to make a low density 3-D cellular structure.
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718