DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bae et al. (KR 20110026901 A, citations made hereinafter to the English machine translation filed by Applicant on 8/17/2026), cited by Applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 8/17/2026.
Regarding claim 1, Bae teaches, in Fig. 8, a light-emitting display device (200; pg. 5, last 10 lines) comprising:
a base material (211) having a light source (212) mounted thereon (pg. 7, lines 1-5 of para. 2); and
a foam layer (230) that transmits and diffuses light from the light source (212) (pg. 10, last 3 lines) and has at least a portion of the light source (212) embedded therein (see Fig. 9; wherein the Instant Application defines the foam layer as a resin layer (para. 0041)).
Regarding claim 2, Bae further teaches, in Fig. 8, a skin layer (250; pg. 13, last 5 lines of para. 1) that transmits light from the light source (212), wherein the foam layer (230) is provided between the skin layer (250) and the base material (211) (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3, Bae further teaches, in Fig. 8, at least one layer of a printed layer (layer of 231; pg. 12, first 5 lines of para. 2) and a printed film layer (light blocking sheet 271 with printed light shielding pattern 271a; pg. 20, lines 5-15), provided between the skin layer (250) and the foam layer (230) (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 4, Bae further teaches, in Fig. 8, that the printed layer (231) is formed by printing the surface of at least one layer of the foam layer and the skin layer (pg. 12, first 5 lines of para. 2; 231 is formed by printing the foam layer 230).
Regarding claim 6, Bae further teaches, in Fig. 8, a light control layer (271/271a; pg. 10 and first two lines of pg. 11; under broadest reasonable interpretation, 271/271a is a light control layer because it controls which part of the light incident from light source 212 is transmitted or reflected downwards, and thus controls the brightness of the display device) provided between the skin layer (250) and the base material (211) (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 8, Bae further teaches the base material (211) and the foam layer (230) are formed into a three-dimensional shape (see Figs. 1 and 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (KR 20110026901 A, citations made hereinafter to the English machine translation filed by Applicant on 8/17/2026), cited by Applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 8/17/2026, in view of Yueh et al. (US 20220186912).
Regarding claim 5, Bae teaches the limitations of claim 2. Bae does not teach a transparent conductive layer provided between the skin layer and the base material.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yueh teaches, in Fig. 2, a transparent conductive layer (E2, provided between the skin layer (140, [0037]) and the base material (110, [0028]), in order to control the state of light control layer 130 while allowing light to transmit through ([0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light-emitting display device of Bae with the transparent conductive layer of Yueh, in order to control the state of a light control layer while allowing light to transmit through ([0037]).
Regarding claim 7, Bae teaches the limitations of claim 1. Bae does not explicitly teach that the base material is a flexible substrate.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yueh teaches that the base material (110, [0028]) is a flexible substrate ([0028]), in order to provide a display device that “can provide more convenient information transmission or image display” ([0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light-emitting display device of Bae with the flexible substrate of Yueh, in order to provide a display device that “can provide more convenient information transmission or image display” ([0003]).
Conclusion
/ERIKA H SON/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893