DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is recites the limitation "the feeding line", however, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (CN109301472A) in view of Long et al. (US 20210249789).
Regarding claim 1:
Jin et al. disclose an antenna system (in Figs. 1-2) comprising: a radiating element (6) configured to emit an electromagnetic wave having a first polarization (Para. 0005, Lines 6-8); and a feeding structure (the feeding element through 13) comprising a first splitter (the metal element through layer 3) for splitting an electrical signal into a first electrical signal (couple to the first slot, 7) and a second electrical signal (couple to the second slot, 7 along the metal layers in 2), wherein the feeding structure (the feeding element through 13) is coupled to the radiating element (6), and wherein the feeding structure (the feeding element through 13) is configured to: provide, via a first electrical coupling (through the first slot) of the feeding structure (the feeding element through 13), the first electrical signal (couple to the first slot, 7) to a first end portion (adjacent the first slot) of the radiating element (6), provide, via a second electrical coupling (through the second slot) of the feeding structure (the feeding element through 13), the second electrical signal (couple to the second slot, 7 along the metal layers in 2) to a second end portion (adjacent the second slot) of the radiating element (6), wherein the first end portion (adjacent the first slot) is different from the second end portion (adjacent the second slot), and wherein the second electrical coupling (through the second slot) is arranged in the antenna system (as in Figs. 1-2) at least partially on a side of the radiating element (6) which faces towards a reflector (the metal element through layer 4) of the antenna system (as in Figs. 1-2).
Jin et al. are silent on that shift a phase of the second electrical signal relative to the first electrical signal prior to said providing of the second electrical signal to the second end portion of the radiating element.
Long et al. disclose shifting a phase of the second electrical signal relative to the first electrical signal prior to said providing of the second electrical signal to the second end portion of the radiating element (Para. 0009, Lines 1-2; Para. 0040, Lines 22-27).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement as taught by Long et al. into the device of Jin et al. for the benefit of providing electrical isolation to the polarization to improve performance of the vertically polarized antenna improve low-frequency matching (Para. 0013, Lines 1-6; Para. 0045, Lines 5-12).
Regarding claim 3:
Jin et al. are silent on that the feeding structure is configured to shift the phase of the second electrical signal relative to the first electrical signal by 180 degrees or approximately 180 degrees prior to said providing of the second electrical signal to the second end portion of the radiating element.
Long et al. disclose the feeding structure (in Figs. 3-4) is configured to shift the phase of the second electrical signal relative to the first electrical signal by 180 degrees or approximately 180 degrees prior to said providing of the second electrical signal to the second end portion of the radiating element (Para. 0009, Lines 1-5; Para. 0040, Lines 22-27).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feeding structure configured to shift the phase of the second electrical signal relative to the first electrical signal by 180 degrees or approximately 180 degrees prior to said providing of the second electrical signal to the second end portion of the radiating element as taught Long et al. into the device of Jin et al. for benefit of providing electrical isolation to the polarization to improve performance of the vertically polarized antenna improve low-frequency matching (Para. 0013, Lines 1-6; Para. 0045, Lines 5-12).
Regarding claim 5:
Jin et al. are silent on that a first capacitive coupling element, arranged between the first splitter and the first end portion of the radiating element, for providing the first electrical signal from the first splitter to the first end portion of the radiating element, and a second capacitive coupling element, arranged between the first splitter and the second end portion of the radiating element, for providing the second electrical signal from the first splitter to the second end portion of the radiating element.
Long et al. disclose a first capacitive coupling element (via 42), arranged between the first splitter (51) and the first end portion of the radiating element (40), for providing the first electrical signal from the first splitter (51) to the first end portion of the radiating element (40; Para. 0040, Lines 18-20), and a second capacitive coupling element (via 42), arranged between the first splitter (51) and the second end portion of the radiating element (40), for providing the second electrical signal from the first splitter (51) to the second end portion of the radiating element (40; Para. 0040, Lines 18-20).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a first capacitive coupling element, arranged between the first splitter and the first end portion of the radiating element, for providing the first electrical signal from the first splitter to the first end portion of the radiating element, and a second capacitive coupling element, arranged between the first splitter and the second end portion of the radiating element, for providing the second electrical signal from the first splitter to the second end portion of the radiating element as taught by Long et al. into the device of Jin et al. for the benefit of providing electrical isolation to the polarization to improve performance of the vertically polarized antenna improve low-frequency matching (Para. 0013, Lines 1-6; Para. 0045, Lines 5-12).
Regarding claim 6:
Jin et al. disclose the first splitter is a T-splitter (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7:
Jin et al. are silent on that the feeding structure comprises a first feeding line which is arranged in the feeding structure to provide the electrical signal to the first splitter, and wherein the first feeding line comprises a first winding structure; and the second electrical coupling comprises a second feeding line which couples an output of the first splitter with the second end portion of the radiating element, and wherein the second feeding line comprises a second winding structure.
Long et al. disclose the feeding structure (in Figs. 3 and 4) comprises a first feeding line (the line splitting from 50 into the top slots, 42) which is arranged in the feeding structure (in Fig. 4) to provide the electrical signal to the first splitter (splitting into the top slots, 42), and wherein the first feeding line (50) comprises a first winding structure (defined by the winding, 51); and the second electrical coupling (along the bottom slots, 42) comprises a second feeding line (the line splitting from 50 into the bottom slots, 42) which couples an output of the first splitter (splitting into the bottom slots, 42) with the second end portion of the radiating element (40), and wherein the second feeding line (the line splitting from 50 into the bottom slots, 42) comprises a second winding structure (defined by the winding, 51 in the bottom slot, 42).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feeding structure comprises a first feeding line which is arranged in the feeding structure to provide the electrical signal to the first splitter, and wherein the first feeding line comprises a first winding structure; and the second electrical coupling comprises a second feeding line which couples an output of the first splitter with the second end portion of the radiating element, and wherein the second feeding line comprises a second winding structure providing electrical isolation to the polarization to improve performance of the vertically polarized antenna improve low-frequency matching (Para. 0013, Lines 1-6; Para. 0045, Lines 5-12).
Regarding claim 9:
Jin as modified are silent on that the radiating element comprises a third winding structure which couples the first splitter with the first end portion of the radiating element.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design consideration to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the third winding structure coupled to the first splitter for providing phase shifting to improve the bandwidth in the signals.
Regarding claim 15:
Jin et al. disclose the second electrical coupling (through the second slot) is sandwiched between a ground structure (4) and the radiating element (6); and a shape of the ground structure mates with a shape of the radiating element (See Fig. 1).
Claims 2, 10-11 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (CN109301472A) in view of Long et al. (US 20210249789) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Dean et al. (US 20130214982).
Regarding claim 2:
Jin as modified are silent on that the radiating element comprises a dual-polarized cross dipole comprising two dipole arms which are arranged orthogonal with respect to each other, wherein the feeding structure is coupled to a first dipole arm of the two dipole arms, wherein the first end portion of the radiating element comprises a first end portion of the first dipole arm and the second end portion of the radiating element comprises a second end portion of the first dipole arm, and wherein the first end portion of the first dipole arm is opposite to the second end portion of the first dipole arm.
Dean et al. disclose (in Figs. 3A-3B, 4 and 5A-5B) the radiating element (disposed on 400) comprises a dual-polarized cross dipole (See Fig. 4; Para. 0005, Lines 1-3) comprising two dipole arms (410-420 and 415-425) which are arranged orthogonal with respect to each other (See Fig. 4), wherein the feeding structure (540) is coupled to a first dipole arm (410-420) of the two dipole arms (410-420 and 415-425), wherein the first end portion of the radiating element (disposed on 400) comprises a first end portion of the first dipole arm (410-420) and the second end portion of the radiating element (disposed on 400) comprises a second end portion of the first dipole arm (410-420), and wherein the first end portion of the first dipole arm is opposite to the second end portion of the first dipole arm (410-420; See Fig. 4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the radiating element comprises a dual-polarized cross dipole comprising two dipole arms which are arranged orthogonal with respect to each other, wherein the feeding structure is coupled to a first dipole arm of the two dipole arms, wherein the first end portion of the radiating element comprises a first end portion of the first dipole arm and the second end portion of the radiating element comprises a second end portion of the first dipole arm, and wherein the first end portion of the first dipole arm is opposite to the second end portion of the first dipole arm as taught by Dean et al. into the modified device of Jin for the benefit of improving both radiation patterns and radiated efficiency (Para. 0034, Lines 21-22).
Regarding claim 10:
Jin as modified are silent on that the first dipole arm is configured to emit the electromagnetic wave having the first polarization and a second dipole arm of the two dipole arms is configured to emit an electromagnetic wave having a second polarization, wherein the first polarization is orthogonal to the second polarization.
Dean et al. disclose (in Fig. 4) the first dipole arm (410-420) is configured to emit the electromagnetic wave having the first polarization and a second dipole arm (415-425) of the two dipole arms (400) is configured to emit an electromagnetic wave having a second polarization, wherein the first polarization is orthogonal to the second polarization (See Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 45-50).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first dipole arm is configured to emit the electromagnetic wave having the first polarization and a second dipole arm of the two dipole arms is configured to emit an electromagnetic wave having a second polarization, wherein the first polarization is orthogonal to the second polarization as taught by Dean et al. into the modified device of Jin for the benefit of improving both radiation patterns and radiated efficiency (Para. 0034, Lines 21-22).
Regarding claim 11:
Jin as modified are silent on that the feeding structure comprises a second splitter for splitting an electrical signal into a third electrical signal and a fourth electrical signal, wherein the feeding structure is coupled to the second dipole arm, and wherein the feeding structure is configured to: provide, via a third electrical coupling of the feeding structure, the third electrical signal to a first end portion of the second dipole arm, provide, via a fourth electrical coupling of the feeding structure, the fourth electrical signal to a second end portion of the second dipole arm, wherein the first end portion of the second dipole arm is opposite to the second end portion of the second dipole arm, and wherein the fourth electrical coupling is arranged in the antenna system at least partially on the side of the dual-polarized cross dipole which faces towards the reflector of the antenna system, and shift a phase of the fourth electrical signal relative to the third electrical signal prior to said providing of the fourth electrical signal to the second end portion of the second dipole arm.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design consideration to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the feeding structure comprising the second splitter for splitting an electrical signal into a third electrical signal and a fourth electrical signal similar to the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal from the structure of the first splitter to feed the cross-dipole antenna for achieving a dual polarization mode. Furthermore, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Regarding claim 24:
Jin as modified disclose the feeding structure (the feeding element through 13) form a microstrip structure with the radiating element (6; Para. 0044, Lines 1-2).
Jin as modified are silent on that the second electrical coupling is arranged between the radiating element and the reflector in a distance of less than 0.1 of a wavelength of the electromagnetic wave to the radiating element.
Dean et al. disclose the second electrical coupling (330) is arranged between the radiating element (350) and the reflector (310) in a distance of less than 0.1 of a wavelength (320, defined by the distance between the radiating element, 350 and the reflector, 310) of the electromagnetic wave to the radiating element (350; Para. 0028, Lines 6-8).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the second electrical coupling is arranged between the radiating element and the reflector in a distance of less than 0.1 of a wavelength of the electromagnetic wave to the radiating element as taught by Dean et al. into the modified device of Jin for the benefit of improving both radiation patterns and radiated efficiency (Para. 0028, Lines 15-16).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (CN109301472A) in view of Long et al. (US 20210249789) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Feller (US 20200278454).
Regarding claim 4:
Jin as modified are silent on that the feeding structure comprises one or more of an analogue phase-shifter and a delay line for shifting the phase of the second electrical signal relative to the first electrical signal prior to said providing of the second electrical signal to the second end portion of the radiating element.
Feller discloses (in Figs. 7 and 8) the feeding structure (6) comprises an analogue phase-shifter for shifting the phase of the second electrical signal (at 180 degree) relative to the first electrical signal (at 0 degree) prior to said providing of the second electrical signal (at 180 degree) to the second end portion of the radiating element (4; Para. 0026, Lines 6-8).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feeding structure comprises one or more of an analogue phase-shifter and a delay line for shifting the phase of the second electrical signal relative to the first electrical signal prior to said providing of the second electrical signal to the second end portion of the radiating element as taught by Feller into the modified device of Jin for the benefit providing higher radiation resistance for easier impedance match, providing a wider bandwidth, and permitting higher operating efficiency for the overall antenna (Para. 0028, Lines 18-20).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (CN109301472A) in view of Long et al. (US 20210249789) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Kokkinos (US 20140327591).
Regarding claims 12 and 13:
Jin as modified are silent on that comprising a decoupling device arranged at least partially between a first portion of the first dipole arm and a second portion of the second dipole arm as required by claim 12; and a height of the decoupling device is between 0.1λ and 0.5λ, wherein λ is a wavelength of the electromagnetic waves having the first and second polarizations, respectively as required by claim 13.
Kokkinos discloses (in Figs. 2 and 3) comprising a decoupling device (60) arranged at least partially between a first portion of the first dipole arm (20 to the right) and a second portion of the second dipole arm (20 to the left); a height (defined as g; Para. 0056, Lines 7-11) of the decoupling device (60) is between 0.1λ and 0.5λ (being 0.25 λ), wherein λ is a wavelength of the electromagnetic waves (Para. 0056, Lines 11-14) having the first and second polarizations, respectively (Para. 0039, Lines 1-3).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the decoupling device arranged at least partially between a first portion of the first dipole arm and a second portion of the second dipole arm and the decoupling device is between 0.1λ and 0.5λ as taught by Kokkinos into the modified device of Jin for the benefit of providing effective decoupling between closely located antennas with a minimized conductive wall structure to reduce the coupling that would otherwise occur with a minimal weight structure (Para. 0019, Lines 7-11).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (CN109301472A) in view of Long et al. (US 20210249789) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Mirmozafari et al. (US 20190140364).
Regarding claim 17:
Jin as modified are silent on that the first feeding line for providing the electrical signal to the first splitter is sandwiched between two shielding structures.
Mirmozafari et al. disclose (in Figs. 2 and 7) the first feeding line (Balun) for providing the electrical signal to the first splitter is sandwiched between two shielding structures (83 and 84).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first feeding line for providing the electrical signal to the first splitter is sandwiched between two shielding structures as taught by Mirmozafari et al. into the modified device of Jin for the benefit of providing high isolation between ports (Para. 0039, Lines 2-3) to improve the performance of the CPPAR, individually excited elements such as a linear array of the crossed-dipole antennas as described herein can be used (Para. 0087, Lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 18:
Jin et al. disclose the first feeding line (the feeding element through 13, along 10), extends generally perpendicularly to a direction in which the radiating element (6) extends (See Fig. 1).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (CN109301472A) in view of Long et al. (US 20210249789) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Tang et al. (US 20210242603).
Regarding claim 21:
Jin as modified are silent on that one or more of the first feeding line for providing the electrical signal to the first splitter, the first electrical coupling, and the second electrical coupling comprise a low-pass filter.
Tang et al. disclose implementing a low-pass filter feeding line of the dipole arm (Para. 0059, Lines 1-6).
Accordingly, it would have been an obvious matter of design consideration to implement the low-pass filter into the feeding line as contemplated by Tang et al. for the benefit of suppressing currents at frequencies within both the first and second frequency bands to improve the RF performance of the antenna system (Para. 0084, Lines 9-10) especially since such design consideration would have been knowledge within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art, thereby suggesting the obviousness of the design consideration.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (CN109301472A) in view of Long et al. (US 20210249789) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20210391657).
Regarding claim 23:
Jin as modified are silent on that further comprising one or more second radiators arranged between a reflector of the antenna system and the radiating element, wherein the one or more second radiators are configured to emit electromagnetic waves having frequencies which are higher than a frequency of the electromagnetic wave emittable by the radiating element.
Chen et al. disclose further comprising (in Figs. 1A and 1B) one or more second radiators (120) arranged between a reflector (160) of the antenna system (100) and the radiating element (130), wherein the one or more second radiators (120) are configured to emit electromagnetic waves having frequencies which are higher than a frequency of the electromagnetic wave emittable by the radiating element (130; Para. 0005, Lines 9-13).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement one or more second radiators arranged between a reflector of the antenna system and the radiating element, wherein the one or more second radiators are configured to emit electromagnetic waves having frequencies which are higher than a frequency of the electromagnetic wave emittable by the radiating element as taught by Chen et al. into the modified device of Jin for the benefit of providing a multi-band antenna system to emit electromagnetic radiation within a first frequency band and a second frequency band (Para. 0008, Lines 1-5).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (CN109301472A) in view of Long et al. (US 20210249789) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Dean et al. (US 20130214982).
Regarding claim 24:
Jin as modified the second coupling is formed as a microstrip structure with the radiating element (6; Para. 0044, Lines 1-2).
Jin as modified are silent on that the second electrical coupling is arranged between the radiating element and the reflector in a distance of less than 0.1 of a wavelength of the electromagnetic wave to the radiating element.
Dean et al. disclose (in Figs. 3A-3B, 4 and 5A-5B) the second electrical coupling (330) is arranged between the radiating element (350) and the reflector (310) in a distance of less than 0.1 of a wavelength (defined by the distance between the radiating element, 350 and the reflector, 310) of the electromagnetic wave to the radiating element (350; Para. 0028, Lines 6-8).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the second electrical coupling is arranged between the radiating element and the reflector in a distance of less than 0.1 of a wavelength of the electromagnetic wave to the radiating element as taught by Dean et al. into the modified device of Jin for the benefit of improving both radiation patterns and radiated efficiency (Para. 0028, Lines 15-16).
Conclusion
/BAMIDELE A IMMANUEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845