DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s communication (or preliminary’s amendment) filed on 08/14/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-25 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/14/2024 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
If applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.97 to disclose the same.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 08/14/2024 are accepted as part of the formal application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 20210305718), hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 1,
Li discloses an antenna system (a base station antenna 100, Fig 4A) comprising:
a dual-polarized radiating element (a radiating element 122, Fig 4A) extending generally in a first direction (a first direction in x-direction, Fig 4A) parallel or substantially parallel to a reflector (a reflector 112, Fig 4A) of the antenna system;
a feeding structure (a feed stalk 310v, Fig 4A) extending generally in a second direction (a second direction in y-direction, Fig 4A) having a component perpendicular to the reflector of the antenna system (Fig 4A), wherein the feeding structure is spaced apart, in relation to the first direction, from a center portion (a center portion 122c, Fig15A) of the dual-polarized radiating element;
a coupling feeding line (a segment 3131, Fig 4A) electrically coupling the center portion of the dual-polarized radiating element with the feeding structure for feeding an electrical signal via the feeding structure through the coupling feeding line to the center portion of the dual-polarized radiating element (Fig 4A); and
a dielectric substrate (a printed circuit board 1122, Fig 15A) at least partially extending parallel to the first direction (Fig 15A),
wherein the dual-polarized radiating element is at least partially arranged on a first side of the dielectric substrate (on a top side SDTOP of the printed circuit board 1122, Fig 15A),
wherein the coupling feeding line is at least partially arranged on one or both of the first side and a second side of the dielectric substrate (a bottom side SDBOT of the circuit board, Fig 15A), wherein the first side faces towards a direction opposite to a direction towards which the second side faces (Fig 15A).
Li does not explicitly teach the radiating element 122 (the dual-polarized radiating element) is configured to emit an electromagnetic wave.
However, Li teaches that the “operating wavelength” refers to the wavelength corresponding to the center frequency of the operating frequency band of the radiating element 122 (paragraph [0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a dual-polarized radiating element being configured to emit an electromagnetic wave in Li, in order to provide improved isolation between the radiating elements.
[AltContent: textbox (y)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (x)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Li (US 20210305718))]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (U-shape )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (SDBOT)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (SDTOP)][AltContent: textbox (Li (US 20210305718))]
Regarding claim 2,
Li as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Li does not explicitly teach at least 70%, preferably at least 80%, more preferably at least 90% of a length of the coupling feeding line extends parallel to the first direction.
However, Li teaches the feed stalk 310′″ can be configured to have the first end portion 311 to project inwardly relative to a side wall 100s of the base station antenna 100 (Fig 4C, paragraph [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use at least 70%, preferably at least 80%, more preferably at least 90% of a length of a coupling feeding line extending parallel to a first direction in Li as modified, in order to provide improved isolation between the radiating elements.
Regarding claim 4,
Li as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Li teaches a distance (a distance D, Fig 4C), in a direction perpendicular to the reflector of the antenna system, between the coupling feeding line and a plane in which the dual-polarized radiating element extends.
Li does not explicitly teach the distance D equals to or is less than 1/20 of a wavelength of the electromagnetic wave.
However, Li teaches the second angled segment 313.sub.2 can extend at an angle β.sub.3 that is about 90 degrees from the first angled segment 313.sub.1 to be perpendicular to the reflector 112 and substantially parallel to the vertical segment 310v (Fig 4A; paragraph [0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a distance, in a direction perpendicular to a reflector of an antenna system, between a coupling feeding line and a plane in which a dual-polarized radiating element extending in Li as modified, in order to provide improved isolation between the radiating elements.
[AltContent: textbox (D)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Li (US 20210305718))]
Regarding claim 5,
Li as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Li teaches the second direction is perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to the reflector of the antenna system (Fig 4A).
Regarding claim 6,
Li as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Li teaches the coupling feeding line extends, in the first direction, at least from an edge portion of the dielectric substrate to the center portion of the radiating element (Fig 4A).
Regarding claim 14,
Li as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Li teaches the dual-polarized radiating element comprises a corrugated structure (a U-shape structure, Fig 15A).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 20210305718), hereinafter Li, in view of Lee et al (US 20150207235), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 15,
Li as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Li does not teach one or more stubs or lines arranged on the dielectric substrate, wherein the one or more stubs or lines extend at least in the center portion of the dual-polarized radiating element.
However, Lee teaches an antenna system (a polarization antenna 100, Fig 1) comprises a dual-polarized radiating element (a radiating element 120, Fig 1; paragraph [0037]), wherein one or more stubs (stubs 123, Fig 1) or lines arranged on a dielectric substrate (a dielectric substrate 110, Fig 1) extend at least in a center portion 121c, Fig 1) of the dual-polarized radiating element.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one or more stubs or lines arranged on a dielectric substrate, wherein the one or more stubs or lines extending at least in a center portion of a dual-polarized radiating element in Li as modified, as taught by Lee, in order to provide a dual polarization antenna generating dual polarized waves having similar radiation patterns as well as a high polarization isolation (low cross polarization) characteristic.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (121c999)][AltContent: textbox (Lee (US 20150207235))]
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 20210305718), hereinafter Li, in view of Biglarbegian et al (US 20240357734), hereinafter Biglarbegian.
Regarding claim 23,
Li as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Li does not teach the coupling feeding line comprises a loop structure.
However, Biglarbegian teaches an antenna system (an antenna structure AS, Fig 4) comprises a coupling feeding line (a feed line structure includes feed lines 78A and 78B, Fig 5) comprises a loop structure (a conductive trace 62, Fig 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a coupling feeding line comprising a loop structure in Li as modified, as taught by Biglarbegian, in order to enhance signal reception for electromagnetic wave communication.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (AS)][AltContent: textbox (Biglarbegian (US 20240357734))]
[AltContent: textbox (Biglarbegian (US 20240357734))]
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 20210305718), hereinafter Li, in view of Ohira et al (US 20220271433), hereinafter Ohira.
Regarding claim 25,
Li as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Li does not teach the feeding structure comprises a low-pass filter.
However, Ohira teaches an antenna system (an antenna module 100, Fig 2) comprises a feeding structure (feeding lines 141 and 142, Fig 3) comprises a low-pass filter a filter device 105 (Fig 3; paragraph [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a feeding structure comprising a low-pass filter in Li as modified, as taught by Ohira, in order to provide an antenna module having a reduced size and improved antenna characteristics.
[AltContent: textbox (Ohira (US 20220271433))]
[AltContent: textbox (Ohira (US 20220271433))]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8, 10-13, 16-18, 20-21 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “a printed-circuit board arranged on the dielectric substrate, and wherein the dual-polarized radiating element and the coupling feeding line are comprised in the printed-circuit board”.
Regarding claim 8, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “one or more metallic parts of the dual-polarized radiating element serve as a ground for the coupling feeding line; and an extension shape of the coupling feeding line in the first direction is at least partially identical to an extension shape of the dual-polarized radiating element in the first direction”.
Regarding claim 10, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the coupling feeding line comprises two lines running generally parallel to each other, wherein a first line of the two lines is arranged on the first side of the dielectric substrate, wherein a second line of the two lines is arranged on the second side of the dielectric substrate, and wherein the two lines connect with each other at an end portion of the feeding structure”.
Regarding claim 11, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the feeding structure comprises a first feeding structure and a second feeding structure for providing electrical signals to the dual-polarized radiating element for emission of electromagnetic waves with two different polarizations, wherein the antenna system further comprises one or more dielectric support structures coupled to the first feeding structure and the second feeding structure to support the first feeding structure and the second feeding structure, and wherein the first feeding structure and the second feeding structure are spaced apart from each other by a distance equal to or greater than 0.2 times a wavelength of the electromagnetic waves emittable by the dual-polarized radiating element”.
Regarding claim 12, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “a dielectric bridge support structure bridging over at least a portion of the reflector of the antenna system, wherein the antenna system comprises two said dual-polarized radiating elements, and wherein a first one of the dual-polarized radiating elements is arranged on a first end portion of the dielectric bridge support structure (418), wherein a second one of the dual-polarized radiating elements is arranged on a second end portion of the dielectric bridge support structure, and wherein the first end portion of the dielectric bridge support structure is opposite or substantially opposite to the second end portion of the dielectric bridge support structure”.
Dependent claim 13 is considered to be allowable by virtue of their dependencies on claim 12.
Regarding claim 16, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “a width of the coupling feeding line varies along its length between a coupling of the coupling feeding line to the center portion of the dual-polarized radiating element and a coupling of the coupling feeding line to the feeding structure”.
Regarding claim 17, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the feeding structure is arranged at an edge portion of the dielectric substrate, wherein the dual-polarized radiating element comprises four loops arranged, on the dielectric substrate, generally symmetrically around the center portion of the dual-polarized radiating element, wherein a first loop and a second loop form a first dipole arm of the dual-polarized radiating element, and wherein a third loop and a fourth loop form a second dipole arm of the dual-polarized radiating element”.
Dependent claims 18 and 20-21 are considered to be allowable by virtue of its dependency on claim 17.
Regarding claim 24, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “one or more second dual-polarized radiating elements arranged, in relation to a direction perpendicular to the first direction, at least partially between the reflector of the antenna system and the dual-polarized radiating element, wherein the one or more second radiating elements are configured to emit electromagnetic waves having frequencies which are higher than a frequency of the electromagnetic wave emittable by the dual-polarized radiating element”.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845