CTNF 18/838,597 CTNF 79590 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 2. Claims 1, 2, 5-12, and 22 recite limitations such as “performing one or more operational tasks based on whether the UE meets the one or more ARCP conditions…” which leads the claim to be interpreted as having contingent limitations (see MPEP 2111.04). Therefore, it is the understanding of the Examiner, that the broadest reasonable interpretation of claims having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 3. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA 4. Claim s 1-19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Cui et al. (US 2023/0284057) . Regarding claim 1, Cui et al. discloses a method performed by a user equipment, (UE), for a wireless access network, the method comprising: determining whether the UE meets one or more adjusted reference signal, RS, occasion-channel reception resource proximity (ARCP) conditions (wherein the condition is all configured measurement occasions (RSOs) for a first frequency carrier overlap a measurement gap (MG) configured for the frequency range (RG) of the first frequency carrier (channel reception resource) as disclosed in sections 0011 and 0135; or the condition is the target SSB fully contained in the UE’s active BWP as disclosed in sections 0103-0105) for an RS occasion (RSO) and a channel reception resource (CRR); and performing one or more operational tasks (applying a carrier-specific scaling factor (CSSF) to adjust measurement time as disclosed in sections 0011 and 0135) based on whether the UE meets the one or more ARCP conditions (as disclosed in sections 0011, 0103-0105, 0125, and 0135) for the RSO and the CRR, wherein performing the one or more operational tasks comprises adapting at least one measurement scaling factor (CSSF as disclosed in section 0011, 0105, 0125, and 0135) to a measurement time to extend the measurement time (as disclosed in section 0125). Regarding claim 2, Cui et al. discloses performing one or more operational tasks (applying CSSF as disclosed in section 0011, 0105, 0125, and 0135) based on whether the UE meets the one or more ARCP conditions for the RSO and the CRR when multiple RSOs (all configured measurement (SMTC) occasions as disclosed in sections 011, 0125, and 0135) are configured. Regarding claim 3, Cui et al. discloses wherein determining whether the UE (408) meets the one or more ARCP conditions for the RSO and the CRR comprises determining whether the UE meets the one or more ARCP conditions for the RSO and the CRR based on one or more rules (wherein the rule is all configured measurement (SMTC) occasions overlapping a measurement gap configuration as disclosed in sections 0011, 0125, and 0135; or the rule is the target SSB fully contained in the UE’s active BWP as disclosed in section 0103). Regarding claim 4, Cui et al. discloses the one or more ARCP conditions comprise: a condition that the RSO (measurement occasions) overlaps or partially overlaps the CRR (measurement gap (MG) configured for the frequency range (RG) of the first frequency carrier) in time (as disclosed in sections 0011, 0125, and 0135). Regarding claim 5, Cui et al. discloses performing at least one of a second set of operational tasks if the UE meets the one or more ARCP conditions for the RSO and the CRR (by applying a carrier-specific scaling factor (CSSF) to adjust measurement time as disclosed in sections 0011 and 0135). Regarding claim 6, Cui et al. discloses the second set of operational tasks comprises: transmitting information about an adjustment of the RSO to a network node (UE indicating the measurement gap is needed to measure other frequency carriers which allows the network to configure the CSSF as disclosed in section 0125); and transmitting information that the one or more ARCP conditions (indication there is no need for a measurement gap (MG) for a particular target frequency when all SMTC occasions fully overlap the measurement gap window as disclosed in section 0125) are met for the RSO and the CRR to the network node. Regarding claim 7, Cui et al. discloses the first set of operational tasks comprises: performing or continuing to perform measurements (by measuring only one measurement occasion without measurement gap per time instance as disclosed in section 0105) during the RSO even if the RSO is adjusted. Regarding claim 8, Cui et al. discloses the second set of operational tasks further comprises extending a measurement time of measurements which the UE cannot perform in one or more adjusted RSOs (by configuring the CSSF to increase the total measurement time as disclosed in section 0125). Regarding claim 9, Cui et al. discloses receiving or monitoring the one or more channels during the CRR comprises receiving (within RRC signaling as disclosed in section 0088) paging or receiving System Information (information regarding measurement gaps as disclosed in section 0088). Regarding claims 10 and 11, Cui et al. discloses the UE obtains the first set of operational tasks or the second set of operational tasks based on one or more rules (see section 0088), wherein the rule is the UE receives information (through RRC signaling as disclosed in section 0088) regarding measurement gaps (SI) even if the adjusted or shifted RSO is partially of fully overlapping with the SI reception occasion. Regarding claim 12, Cui et al. discloses the adjusted or shifted RSO comprises a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Measurement Timing Configuration (SMTC) occasion (as disclosed in section 0087). Regarding claim 13, Cui et al. discloses the SI (information regarding measurement gaps as disclosed in section 0088) comprises other System Information Block, SIB (see section 0088, wherein it is the understanding of the Examiner that RRC signaling provides system information (blocks)). Regarding claim 14, Cui et al. discloses the wireless access network is an Non-Terrestrial Network, NTN (see section 0007, cellular network). Regarding claim 15, Cui et al. discloses a user equipment(UE), as disclosed in Fig. 3, comprising: transmitter circuitry (blocks 330 and 335); and processing circuitry (block 302) associated with the transmitter circuitry, the processing circuitry configured to cause the UE to perform the method of claim 1 (the rejection of which is applicable hereto. Regarding claims 16-19, the claimed UE includes limitations corresponding to the above rejection of claims 3-6, the rejection of which is applicable hereto. Regarding claim 22, Cui et al. discloses performing one or more operational tasks (applying CSSF as disclosed in section 0011, 0105, 0125, and 0135) based on whether the UE meets the one or more ARCP conditions for the RSO and the CRR when multiple RSOs (all configured measurement (SMTC) occasions as disclosed in sections 011, 0125, and 0135) are configured. Conclusion 5. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CURTIS B ODOM whose telephone number is (571)272-3046. The examiner can normally be reached 8-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hannah S Wang can be reached at (571)-272-9018. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CURTIS B ODOM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 May 26, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/838,597 Page 2 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/838,597 Page 3 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/838,597 Page 4 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/838,597 Page 5 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/838,597 Page 6 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/838,597 Page 7 Art Unit: 2631