DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
3. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claims 1, 3, 4:
An ion optical element
In claims 2, 3
A relay member
The corresponding structure in the disclosure for an “ion optical element” is taken to include any element that can control behavior of ions, such as a quadrupole mass filter, an ion guide, an ion lens, an ion trap, a deflector, or a reflector (according to [0020] in the instant specification).
The corresponding structure in the disclosure for a “relay member” is taken to include a block with holes drilled in the main body through which a cable can pass and be secured (according to [0032] in the instant specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over by Blessing (US 6239429) in view of “Customized, 12 inch Cube Vacuum Chamber, Front Loading, with USB, and Wire Vacuum Feedthrough”, retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dJQYVtKnAiA, published 09/02/2020 [hereinafter Sanatron], further in view of Durham, Jerry. "Splicing NM Cable in Walls and Other Concealed Spaces." National Electrical Code, 3 Nov. 2020 [hereinafter Durham].
7. Regarding claim 1:
Blessing teaches a mass spectrometer (col 1 lines 5-10 teaches quadrupole mass spectrometer) comprising:
a chamber forming a vacuum chamber (col 2 lines 55-67 teaches a vacuum chamber);
an ion optical element arranged along an ion optical axis in the chamber (The ion optical element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to include any element that can control behavior of ions, such as a quadrupole mass filter, an ion guide, an ion lens, an ion trap, a deflector, or a reflector. col 3 lines 48-67 and col 4 lines 1-14 teaches a quadruple mass filter that focuses the ions selected by the mass filter. Col 5 lines 31-35 teaches that the retainer block 101 has a central axis of symmetry 103 that defines the central axis of the entire quadrupole mass analyzer);
a power supply line for supplying power to the ion optical element from a power source arranged outside the chamber (col 6 lines 1-12 teaches an external power supply that drives the filter assembly. As shown in fig. 2a the filter assembly establishes electrical communication via conductive pin 203a, 203b. Although fig. 2a shows 203c, it actually means 203a); and
a cable connecting the power supply line and the ion optical element (col 3 lines 48-67 and col 4 lines 1-14 teaches electrical connection with RF lead 202a/202b, that in turn connects to a conductive pin 203a, 203b, which extends through the vacuum feed-through 204),
Blessing fails to teach that wherein an opening is formed in at least a portion of wall surfaces of the chamber, excluding upper and lower surfaces, through which the ion optical element can be inserted and removed in and from the chamber and a side lid is provided to cover the opening.
Sanatron teaches a vacuum chamber with a side door that covers an opening formed in at least a portion of wall surfaces of the chamber through. Any element can enter the chamber through the opening and be connected to the feedthrough line (see Sanatron at timestamp 0:20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blessing’s vacuum chamber to include an opening and a door that covers the opening through which any element can be inserted and removed, as taught by Sanatron. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to provide easy access to the interior of the vacuum chamber and connect and disconnect an element from the feedthrough line as suggested by Sanatron.
Blessing in view of Sanatron does not specifically note that wherein a connecting position between the power supply line and the cable and a connecting position between the ion optical element and the cable are set at positions that allow the cable to be removed from the opening with the ion optical element housed in the chamber.
Durham teaches introducing splicing cable connecting different wires to provide access to concealed or hard-to-reach space (pg.1 and pg. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blessing in view of Sanatron, to introduce a splicing cable, as taught by Durham, to connect RF lead 202a and 202b at different connection points for easy access to concealed space. Then, the splicing cable can be taken out of the chamber from the opening as taught in Sanatron. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to give the users the ability to connect electrical circuits to access concealed spaces for maintenance and repair (Durham pg. 1 and pg. 3).
8. Regarding claim 4:
The modified invention above teaches the mass spectrometer as claimed in claim 1. Blessing in view of Sanatron fails to teach that wherein the cable is connected to the ion optical element and the power supply line by a detachable connector.
Durham teaches a detachable connector (pg. 3 teaches NM cable wire splice kit with connector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blessing in view of Sanatron, to introduce a splicing cable and connect different wires with a connector, as taught by Durham. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to allow for accessing and rewiring concealed cables for maintenance and repair (Durham pg. 3-4).
9. Regarding claim 5:
The modified invention above teaches the mass spectrometer as claimed in claim 1. Blessing further teaches that wherein the power supply is disposed adjacent to the chamber outside the chamber (col 6 lines 1-12 teaches that conductive pin 203a, 203b extends through the vacuum feed-through 204, thereby facilitating electrical communication between the rods and an external power supply that drives the filter assembly).
Blessing fails to teach that the power supply is disposed not at a surface side in which the opening is formed.
Sanatron teaches a vacuum chamber where the opening and the wiring connections are on opposite sides (see Sanatron at timestamp 0:20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Blessing in view of Sanatron to include that the power supply is disposed not at a surface side in which the opening is formed. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to allow access to the interior of the chamber without disturbing other wiring components of the vacuum system.
10. Regarding claim 6:
The modified invention above teaches the mass spectrometer as claimed in claim 1. Blessing fails to teach that wherein a portion where the power supply line penetrates the wall surface of the chamber is formed at a position other than a surface side where the opening is formed.
Sanatron teaches a vacuum chamber where the opening and the wiring connections are on opposite sides (see Sanatron at timestamp 0:20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Blessing in view of Sanatron to include that wherein a portion where the power supply line penetrates the wall surface of the chamber is formed at a position other than a surface side where the opening is formed. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to allow access to the interior of the chamber without disturbing other wiring components of the vacuum system.
11. Regarding claim 7:
The modified invention above teaches the mass spectrometer as claimed in claim 1. Blessing further teaches that wherein the ion optical element is a quadrupole mass filter (col 5 lines 22-25, fig. 2 teach a quadrupole mass analyzer).
12. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over by Blessing in view of Sanatron, further in view of Durham, further in view of Steiner (US 20140054457).
13. Regarding claim 2:
The modified invention above teaches the mass spectrometer as claimed in claim 1. Blessing further teaches that wherein the power supply line has a separate cable connecting a connector penetrating the wall surface of the chamber (col 3 lines 48-67 and col 4 lines 1-14 teaches electrical connection with RF lead 202a/202b, that in turn connects to a conductive pin 203a, 203b, which extends through the vacuum feed-through 204. The RF leads 202a and 202b are separate components from the conductive pins 203a and 203b).
Blessing in view of Sanatron, further in view of Durham fails to teach a relay member disposed within the chamber.
However, Steiner teaches a relay member disposed within the chamber (the relay member is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to include a block with holes drilled in the main body through which a cable can be secured. [0004] teaches that the wires 108 connect to a flexible circuit board 114 in the vacuum environment. The flexible circuit board 114 is equivalent to the block that can secure a cable because the flexible circuit board performs the same function in substantially the same way and produces substantially the same result. From flex board 114, RF energy is then distributed to the various rods 116 of the quadrupole mass filter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blessing in view of Sanatron, further in view of Durham to include the flexible circuit board, as taught by Steiner, in a vacuum chamber. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to allow for a flexible configuration of freestanding wires to distribute energy to the various rods of the quadrupole mass filter (Steiner [0004]).
14. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over by Blessing in view of Sanatron, further in view of Durham, further in view of Steiner, further in view of Rig (US 4050770).
15. Regarding claim 3:
The modified invention above teaches the mass spectrometer as claimed in claim 2. Blessing in view of Sanatron, further in view of Durham, further in view of Steiner fails to teach that wherein the relay member is disposed between the ion optical element and the opening.
Rigo teaches placing the block that maintains the connection of wires towards the opening of the accessible side (col 2 lines 27-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blessing in view of Sanatron, further in view of Durham, further in view of Steiner to place the relay member towards the accessible side, as taught by Rigo, and between the opening and the ion optical element. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification so that one can easily access the joints and perioded inspected them for maintenance (Rigo col 2 lines 27-34).
16. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over by Blessing in view of Sanatron, further in view of Durham, further in view of Remes (US 20170370889).
17. Regarding claim 8:
The modified invention above teaches the mass spectrometer as claimed in claim 1. Blessing in view of Sanatron, further in view of Durham does not specifically teach that wherein the mass spectrometer is a mass spectrometer that analyzes a sample supplied from a liquid chromatograph or a gas chromatograph.
Remes teaches mass spectrometry coupled with a chromatographic separation technique such as liquid chromatography or gas chromatograph ([0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blessing in view of Sanatron, further in view of Durham, to couple the mass spectrometer as taught by Blessing with liquid chromatograph or gas chromatograph. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification due to LC-GC’s widespread application and its sensitivity, selectivity, and throughput (Durham [0002]).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LARRY LI whose telephone number is (571) 272-5043. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30am-4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Kim can be reached at (571) 272-2293. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LARRY LI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881