Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/06/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 16 are objected to because of the following:
Claim 1 recites “an axis” for each of the adjusting rings and should be “ the axis” for the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring since the rings are aligned on a same axis.
Claim 8 recites “claim1” and should include a space to recite “claim 1”.
Claim 16 does not end in a period and should include a period at the end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 8 recites “at least one of the threads…configured in a helical manner” which does not appear to further limit the subject matter because threads inherently are helical. Threads are helical/spiral in order to turn and fasten to each other.
Claim 14 fails to further limit the subject matter for similar reasons above for claim 8.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asahi Organic Chem Ind Co Ltd (JP 2009014011 A, hereinafter “Asahi”).
In regard to claim 1, Asahi discloses an assembly (Fig. 5 shows an assembly) for aligning a first pipeline with a second pipeline (See image below, shown assembly at least aligns the indicated first pipeline with a second pipeline to define a fluid pathway),
a first pipeline end included with the first pipeline (See image below, indicated first pipeline has at least an end for inserting into a socket of the first adjusting ring), the first pipeline end having a first adjusting ring (See image below, indicated first adjusting ring has the first pipeline end) which has a cut-out extending along an axis (See image below, the first adjusting ring has a longitudinal bore which defines a cut-out extending along a longitudinal axis of the fluid flow), around which cut-out a ring material extends in a circumferential direction (See image below, the cut-out of the indicated first adjusting ring defines its shape which extends in a circumferential direction),
a second pipeline end included with the second pipeline (See image below, indicated second pipeline has a second pipeline end that can fit within the third adjusting ring and the second adjusting ring since it is slidable), the second pipeline end having a second adjusting ring (See image below, the second pipeline end can be reasonably interpreted as having the indicated second adjusting ring since it is connected via the third adjusting ring and can slide to be radially within the second adjusting ring) which has a cut-out extending along the axis (See image below, indicated second adjusting ring defines a cut-out by its longitudinal bore), around which cut-out a ring material extends in a circumferential direction (See image below, the cut-out of the second adjusting ring extends in circumferential direction to define the shape of the second adjusting ring),
wherein the first adjusting ring has a first abutment face (See image below, indicated first abutment face),
wherein the second adjusting ring has a second abutment face (See image below, indicated second abutment face),
wherein the first abutment face of the first adjusting ring is arranged opposite and in contact with the second abutment face of the second adjusting ring (See image below, the first and second abutment faces are in contact with each other), characterized in that the first abutment face forms a surface of a spherical disk (See image below, indicated first abutment face forms a spherical disk),
wherein the second abutment face forms a surface of the spherical disk which is configured in a complementary manner to the surface of the first abutment face (See image below, indicated second abutment face forms a complementary surface of the spherical disk surface of the first abutment face since the second abutment face is also a spherical surface),
wherein a third adjusting ring is arranged between the second adjusting ring and the second pipeline end of the second pipeline (See image below, indicated third adjusting ring is arranged between the second adjusting ring and the second pipeline end), said third adjusting ring having a cut-out extending along the axis (See image below, the third adjusting ring has a cut-out define by its longitudinal bore which extends along a longitudinal axis of the fluid flow), around which cut-out a ring material extends along a circumferential direction (See image below, the cut-out of the third adjusting ring defines the shape of the third adjusting ring which extends along a circumferential direction), wherein the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring are configured to be displaceable relative to one another (See image below, the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring are configured to be displaceable relative to one another by the threaded connection between the two),
wherein the second adjusting ring has a thread, wherein the third adjusting ring has a thread, and wherein the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring are connected together via the threads (See image below, the second and third adjusting rings have complementary threads that connect to each other) such that the second adjusting ring is completely interposed between the third adjusting ring and the first adjusting ring (See image below, the second adjusting ring is completely interposed between the third adjusting ring and the first adjusting ring such that the axially-most ends of the second adjusting ring are axially between at least one end of the first adjusting ring and at least one end of the third adjusting ring), and
wherein the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring are configured to be displaceable relative to one another by at least one of the threads (See image below, the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring are displaceable relative to one another by at least one their threads).
In regard to claim 2, Asahi discloses the assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first adjusting ring is configured integrally with the first pipeline (Fig. 5 and see image above for claim 1, the first adjusting ring is configured integrally with the first pipeline such that the first pipeline is inserted into the first adjusting ring to integrally form a fluid pathway).
In regard to claim 3, Asahi discloses the assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first adjusting ring is configured as a separate adjusting ring which can be connected to the first pipeline (Fig. 5 and see image above for claim 1, the first adjusting ring is configured as a separate adjusting ring that can be connected to the first pipeline through the indicated socket for the first pipeline end).
In regard to claim 4, Asahi discloses the assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the third adjusting ring is configured integrally with the second pipeline (See image above for claim 1, the third adjusting ring is configured integrally with the second pipeline to form an integral fluid connection to define a fluid pathway).
In regard to claim 5, Asahi discloses the assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the third adjusting ring is configured as a separate adjusting ring which can be connected to the second pipeline (See image above for claim 1, the third adjusting ring is configured as a separate adjusting ring that can be connected to the second pipeline such that the second pipeline fits within the third adjusting ring).
In regard to claim 7, Asahi discloses the assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one of the threads comprises a thread turn which extends over 360˚ in the circumferential direction (See image above for claim 1, the threads of the first and second adjusting ring have multiple revolutions, therefore, comprises a thread turn which extends over 360˚ in the circumferential direction).
In regard to claim 8, Asahi discloses the assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one of the threads comprises a thread turn that is configured in a helical manner (See image above for claim 1, the threads of the first and second adjusting ring are typical threads, therefore, the threads comprise a thread turn that is configured in a helical manner).
In regard to claim 9, Asahi discloses a method for aligning a first pipeline with a second pipeline (See image above for claim 1, indicated first and second pipelines), wherein the first pipeline is configured with a first adjusting ring on a first pipeline end, wherein the second pipeline is configured with a second adjusting ring on a second pipeline end,
wherein the first adjusting ring has a first abutment face, wherein the second adjusting ring has a second abutment face, the method comprising:
arranging the first abutment face of the first adjusting ring opposite and in contact with the second abutment face of the second adjusting ring, wherein the first abutment face forms a surface of a spherical disk,
configuring the second abutment face forms a surface of the spherical disk in a complementary manner to the surface of the first abutment face (See claim 1 above for the same features of “wherein the first pipeline is configured with a first adjusting ring…of the first abutment face”);
compensating for an angular offset between the first pipeline relative to the second pipeline by a displacement of the first adjusting ring relative to the second adjusting ring along the surface of the spherical disk (See image above for claim 1, the spherical contact between the first adjusting ring and the second adjusting ring allow for compensation of an angular offset between the first pipeline and the second pipeline), wherein the second pipeline is configured with a third adjusting ring (See image above for claim 1, indicated third adjusting ring); and
arranging the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring to be in contact with one another (See image above for claim 1, contact between the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring), wherein the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring are configured to be displaceable relative to one another (See image above for claim 1, displaceable by complementary threads),
wherein the second adjusting ring has a thread, wherein the third adjusting ring has a thread, and wherein the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring are connected together via the threads such that the second adjusting ring is completely interposed between the third adjusting ring and the first adjusting ring (See claim 1 above for the same features that require “the second adjusting ring has a thread…the first adjusting ring”), and
wherein the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring are configured to be displaceable relative to one another by at least one of the threads (See claim 1 above for the same features that require “wherein the second adjusting ring…the threads”).
In regard to claim 10, Asahi discloses the method as claimed in claim 9, wherein a seal is arranged between the first adjusting ring and the second adjusting ring in a circumferential direction (See image above for claim 1, gasket between the first and second adjusting ring defines a seal in a circumferential direction).
In regard to claim 11, Asahi discloses the method as claimed in claim 9, wherein after a rotation the first adjusting ring is joined to the second adjusting ring by a material connection (See image above for claim 1, spherical contact between the indicated first and second adjusting rings define at least a rotation and a material connection by contact).
In regard to claim 13, Asahi discloses the method as claimed in claim 9, wherein the thread is configured with a thread turn which extends over 360˚ in a circumferential direction (See claim 7 above for the same reasons).
In regard to claim 14, Asahi discloses the method as claimed in claim 9, wherein the thread is configured in a helical manner (See claim 8 above for the same reasons).
In regard to claim 15, Asahi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second adjusting ring has a rear abutment face at end opposite the second abutment face (See image below, indicated rear abutment face opposite the second abutment face), the rear abutment face facing a third abutment face of the third adjusting ring (See image below, the rear abutment face facing an indicated third abutment face of the third adjusting ring), and wherein the second and rear abutment faces of the second adjusting ring are completely interposed between the first adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring (See image below, the second and rear abutment faces of the second adjusting ring are completely interposed between the first adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring because the second and rear abutment faces do not extend axially beyond the first and third adjusting rings).
In regard to claim 16, Asahi discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the second adjusting ring has a rear abutment face at end opposite the second abutment face, the rear abutment face facing a third abutment face of the third adjusting ring, and wherein the second and rear abutment faces of the second adjusting ring are completely interposed between the first adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring (See claim 15 above for the same reasons).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/28/2026 have been fully considered with respect to claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-16 but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See the updated rejection that relies upon the prior art Asahi that discloses all the features of claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-16.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679