Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 16 are objected to because of the following:
Claim 1 recites “an axis” for each of the adjusting rings and should be “ the axis” for the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring since the rings are aligned on a same axis.
Claim 8 recites “claim1” and should include a space to recite “claim 1”.
Claim 16 does not end in a period and should include a period at the end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 8 recites “at least one of the threads…configured in a helical manner” which does not appear to further limit the subject matter because threads inherently are helical. Threads are helical/spiral in order to turn and fasten to each other.
Claim 14 fails to further limit the subject matter for similar reasons above for claim 8.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wallace et al. (US 2021/0293336 A1, hereinafter “Wallace”).
In regard to claim 1, Wallace discloses an assembly (Fig. 1 shows an assembly) for aligning a first pipeline with a second pipeline (Fig. 1, the assembly shown is at least for joining two pipelines), the assembly comprising:
a first pipeline end included with the first pipeline (Fig. 1, a first pipeline end of the first pipeline is connected at 16 of 12), the first pipeline end having a first adjusting ring (Fig. 1, the part 12 defines at least a first adjusting ring which the first pipeline end has) which has a cut-out extending along an axis (Fig. 1, inner bore surface of 12 defines a cut-out extending along a longitudinal axis of 12 similar to applicant’s invention), around which cut-out a ring material extends in a circumferential direction (Fig. 1, 12 is ring-shaped, therefore, can be defined as at least a cut-out of a ring material extending in a circumferential direction),
a second pipeline end included with the second pipeline (Fig. 1, the second pipeline has a second pipeline end attached opposite the first pipeline end), the second pipeline end having a second adjusting ring (See image below, the second pipeline end has the indicated second adjusting ring by connection with the indicated third adjusting ring) which has a cut-out extending along the axis (See image below, indicated second adjusting ring has a cut-out extending along the axis), around which cut-out a ring material extends in a circumferential direction (See image below, the second adjusting has a cut-out which defines a ring material extending in the circumferential direction),
wherein the first adjusting ring has a first abutment face (See image below indicated first abutment face of the first adjusting ring),
wherein the second adjusting ring has a second abutment face (See image below, the second adjusting ring has a second abutment face),
wherein the first abutment face of the first adjusting ring is arranged opposite and in contact with the second abutment face of the second adjusting ring (See image below, the first and second abutment faces contact with each other and arranged opposite of each other), characterized in that the first abutment face forms a surface of a spherical disk (See image below, the first abutment face forms a surface of a spherical disk similar to applicant’s invention),
wherein the second abutment face forms a surface of the spherical disk which is configured in a complementary manner to the surface of the first abutment face (See image below, indicated second abutment face forms a surface of the spherical disk which is complementary to the surface of the first abutment face),
wherein a third adjusting ring is arranged between the second adjusting ring and the second pipeline end of the second pipeline (See image below, indicated third adjusting ring is between the second adjusting ring and the second pipeline end since it is the third adjusting ring joining the second pipeline end to the second adjusting ring similar to applicant’s invention), said third adjusting ring having a cut-out extending along the axis (See image below, third adjusting ring has a longitudinal bore defining a cut-out extending along the axis), around which cut-out a ring material extends along a circumferential direction (See image below, third adjusting ring is ring-shaped which defines a ring material extends along a circumferential direction), wherein the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring are configured to be displaceable relative to one another (See image below, third and second adjusting rings are displaceable relative to each other by a threaded connection),
wherein the second adjusting ring has a thread, wherein the third adjusting ring has a thread, and wherein the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring are connected together via the threads (See image below, second and third adjusting rings have complementary threads) such that the second adjusting ring is completely interposed between the third adjusting ring and the first adjusting ring (See image below, the second adjusting ring is interposed completely axially between the third adjusting ring and the first adjusting ring), and
wherein the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring are configured to be displaceable relative to one another by at least one of the threads (See image below, the second and third adjusting rings are displaceable relative to one another by at least one their complementary threads), and an inner surface of the third adjusting ring directly contacts an outer surface of the second adjusting ring (See image below, an inner surface at the internal threads of the third adjusting ring directly contacts an outer surface of the second adjusting ring at the external threads of the second adjusting ring similar to applicant’s invention).
In regard to claim 2, Wallace discloses the assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first adjusting ring is configured integrally with the first pipeline (See image above for claim 1, the first adjusting ring can be reasonably interpreted as at least configured to integrally connect to the first pipeline by threads to form an integral connection for transferring fluid).
In regard to claim 3, Wallace discloses the assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first adjusting ring is configured as a separate adjusting ring which can be connected to the first pipeline (See image above for claim 1, the first adjusting ring is separate which can be connected to the first pipeline by threads).
In regard to claim 4, Wallace discloses the assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the third adjusting ring is configured integrally with the second pipeline (See image above for claim 1, the third adjusting ring can be reasonably interpreted as at least configured to integrally connect to the second pipeline by threads to form an integral connection for transferring fluid).
In regard to claim 5, Wallace discloses the assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the third adjusting ring is configured as a separate adjusting ring which can be connected to the second pipeline (See image above for claim 1, the third adjusting ring is separate which can be connected to the second pipeline by threads).
In regard to claim 7, Wallace discloses the assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one of the threads comprises a thread turn which extends over 360˚ in the circumferential direction (See image above for claim 1, both threads of the second and third adjusting rings extend over 360˚ in the circumferential direction as shown).
In regard to claim 8, Wallace discloses the assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one of the threads comprises a thread turn that is configured in a helical manner (See image above for claim 1, both threads have thread turns configured in a helical manner since they are threads).
In regard to claim 9, Wallace discloses a method for aligning a first pipeline with a second pipeline (Fig. 1, assembly shown is for aligning a first pipeline with a second pipeline similar to applicant’s invention), wherein the first pipeline is configured with a first adjusting ring on a first pipeline end, wherein the second pipeline is configured with a second adjusting ring on a second pipeline end,
wherein the first adjusting ring has a first abutment face, wherein the second adjusting ring has a second abutment face, the method comprising:
arranging the first abutment face of the first adjusting ring opposite and in contact with the second abutment face of the second adjusting ring, wherein the first abutment face forms a surface of a spherical disk,
configuring the second abutment face forms a surface of the spherical disk in a complementary manner to the surface of the first abutment face (See claim 1 above for the same features of “wherein the first pipeline is configured with a first adjusting ring…of the first abutment face”);
compensating for an angular offset between the first pipeline relative to the second pipeline by a displacement of the first adjusting ring relative to the second adjusting ring along the surface of the spherical disk (See image above for claim 1, the spherical contact between the first adjusting ring and the second adjusting ring allow for compensation of an angular offset between the first pipeline and the second pipeline), wherein the second pipeline is configured with a third adjusting ring (See image above for claim 1, indicated third adjusting ring); and
arranging the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring to be in contact with one another (See image above for claim 1, contact between the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring), wherein the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring are configured to be displaceable relative to one another (See image above for claim 1, displaceable by complementary threads),
wherein the second adjusting ring has a thread, wherein the third adjusting ring has a thread, and wherein the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring are connected together via the threads such that the second adjusting ring is completely interposed between the third adjusting ring and the first adjusting ring (See claim 1 above for the same features that require “the second adjusting ring has a thread…the first adjusting ring”) and an inner surface of the third adjusting ring directly contacts an outer surface of the second adjusting ring (See image above for claim 1, an inner surface of the internal threads of the third adjusting ring is in direct contact with an outer surface at the external threads of the second adjusting ring), and
wherein the second adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring are configured to be displaceable relative to one another by at least one of the threads (See claim 1 above for the same features that require “wherein the second adjusting ring…the threads”).
In regard to claim 10, Wallace discloses the method as claimed in claim 9, wherein a seal is arranged between the first adjusting ring and the second adjusting ring in a circumferential direction (Fig. 1, at least one seal at 28 between the first adjusting ring and the second adjusting ring).
In regard to claim 11, Wallace discloses the method as claimed in claim 9, wherein after a rotation the first adjusting ring is joined to the second adjusting ring by a material connection (Fig. 1, the first and second adjusting rings can rotate with one another similar to applicant’s invention by spherical contact which also defines a material connection).
In regard to claim 13, Wallace discloses the method as claimed in claim 9, wherein the thread is configured with a thread turn which extends over 360˚ in a circumferential direction (See claim 7 above for the same reasons).
In regard to claim 14, Wallace discloses the method as claimed in claim 9, wherein the thread is configured in a helical manner (See claim 8 above for the same reasons).
In regard to claim 15, Wallace discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second adjusting ring has a rear abutment face at end opposite the second abutment face (See image below, indicated rear abutment face is at an end opposite the second abutment face), the rear abutment face facing a third abutment face of the third adjusting ring (See image below, the third adjusting ring has an inner surface portion defining the indicated third abutment face such that the rear abutment face faces the third abutment face), and wherein the second and rear abutment faces of the second adjusting ring are completely interposed between the first adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring (See image below, the second and rear abutment faces of the second adjusting ring are completely interposed axially between the first adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring).
In regard to claim 16, Wallace discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the second adjusting ring has a rear abutment face at end opposite the second abutment face, the rear abutment face facing a third abutment face of the third adjusting ring, and wherein the second and rear abutment faces of the second adjusting ring are completely interposed between the first adjusting ring and the third adjusting ring (See claim 15 above for the same reasons).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/17/2026 have been fully considered with respect to the claim objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112, however, applicant failed to correct all the claims objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112. Therefore, the claim objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 remain outstanding.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/17/2026 have been fully considered with respect to claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-16 but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See the updated rejection that includes the prior art Wallace that discloses all the features of claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-16.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679