DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10-15, 20, 23-24, 26, 28, 30-33 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “adapted to control” which is vague if it, in fact, controls the relaying characteristic. Claim 26 recites similar language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 11, 23, 26, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abedini et al. US 20210235501.
Regarding claim 1, A computer implemented method performed in a network node the method comprising configuring an advanced antenna system (communication system, Figure 1), AAS, of the network node to generate a relay antenna beam associated with transmission to and from a repeater node (millimeter wave repeater, Figure 1, element 110d) of the network node (base station, element 110a), the method further comprising generating at least two different first synchronization signals, and transmitting the at least two different first synchronization signals via the relay antenna beam towards the repeater node (the gNB may transmit SSBs and/or SI using different TX beam forms during respective SSBs, SS0, SS1, SSN-1, etc., the MMW repeater may relay SSBs and/or SI from the gNB by transmitting any received SSBs and/or SI from the gNB using TX beam form during the SSB SSN-1, thereby relaying such SSBs and/or SI using TX beam form, para. 0092).
Regarding claim 3, The method according to claim 1,further comprising configuring the repeater node with a first configuration parameter prior to transmitting the at least two different first synchronization signals via the relay antenna beam, where the first configuration parameter is adapted to control a relaying characteristic of the repeater node (a gNB may generate and send a RACH configuration message to an MMW repeater, the RACH configuration message may indicate two or more different RX beam sweep configurations, para. 0039, an MMW repeater may use two TX beams to forward two different SSBs, the MMW repeater may receive a RACH configuration message indicating a first configuration and a second configuration for the RX beams to be used on the ROs associated with the first SSB and the second SSB, para. 0041).
Regarding claim 11, The method according to claim 1, where the repeater node is a reconfigurable intelligent surface, RIS, or a network controlled repeater node (a relay is a millimeter wave (MMW) repeater, a network computing device such as a gNB) may control the beams used by an MMW repeater for relaying RACH messages, para. 0042)
Regarding claim 20, A computer implemented method performed in a repeater node, the method comprising receiving at least two different first synchronization signals from a network node configured with a relay antenna beam, and configuring a first relaying characteristic of the repeater node to forward the received first synchronization signals differently from the repeater node (a gNB may generate and send a RACH configuration message to an MMW repeater, the RACH configuration message may indicate two or more different RX beam sweep configurations, para. 0039).
Regarding claim 23, The method according to claim 20, comprising receiving at least two different second synchronization signals from the relay antenna beam of the network node and configuring a second relaying characteristic of the repeater node to forward the received second synchronization signals differently from the repeater node (an MMW repeater may use two TX beams to forward two different SSBs, the MMW repeater may receive a RACH configuration message indicating a first configuration and a second configuration for the RX beams to be used on the ROs associated with the first SSB and the second SSB, para. 0041).
Regarding claim 26, The method according to claim 20, wherein the method comprises: adapting the first and/or second relaying characteristic in dependence of a random access frame structure of the network node, and/or adapting the first and/or second relaying characteristic in dependence of an uplink, UL, format of the network node (the RACH configuration message may indicate the RX beam the MMW repeater is to use for receiving the SSB from the gNB), the TX beam the MMW repeater is to use for relaying the SSB, the two or more different RX beam sweep configurations for the ROs, and/or one or more TX beams the MMW repeater is to use for sending any received RACH message 1 back to the gNB, the RACH configuration message may control beamforming on the uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) between the gNB) and the MMW repeater and beamforming on the UL and DL between the MMW repeater and UE computing devices during RACH procedures, para. 0104).
Claim 30 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. US 20230171675.
Regarding claim 31, a computer implemented method performed in a repeater node (smart repeater, Figure 9), the method comprising configuring an antenna system of the repeater node to receive a radio signal from a network node, evaluating a signal quality metric for at least two candidate antenna beams of the antenna system, and selecting a preferred antenna beam out of the at least two candidate antenna beams for communication with the network node (the smart repeater may receive N beams of SSB 1 to SSB N from the base station, measure the received signal strength of each beam, acquire the SSB index in the beam having the highest received signal strength, and feeds back the SSB index to the base station, the base station may receive the SSB index having the highest received signal strength at the smart repeater, the base station may recognize the beam carrying the corresponding SSB index as the best beam, the smart repeater may repeatedly perform the process of searching for the best beam at regular intervals, para. 0088).
Regarding claim 32, The method according to claim 31, comprising receiving information related to the repeater node, where the antenna system of the repeater node is at least partly configured based on the received information (the base station may inform the smart repeater and the terminal in advance that the beams with the first N initial SSBs are transmitted to the smart repeater and the beams with the latter M SSBs are transmitted to the terminal via the smart repeater, the base station may include information about N and M in a MIB or SIB broadcast toward the smart repeater and the terminal, para. 0103).
Regarding claim 33, The method according to claim 31, wherein the method comprises: evaluating the at least two candidate antenna beams based on a beam management procedure involving a wireless device served via the repeater node and/or evaluating the at least two candidate antenna beams based on a received signal power and/or based on a measured signal-to-noise and interference ratio, SINR (the smart repeater may receive N beams of SSB 1 to SSB N from the base station, measure the received signal strength of each beam, acquire the SSB index in the beam having the highest received signal strength, and feeds back the SSB index to the base station, the base station may receive the SSB index having the highest received signal strength at the smart repeater, the base station may recognize the beam carrying the corresponding SSB index as the best beam, the smart repeater may repeatedly perform the process of searching for the best beam at regular intervals, para. 0088).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6,10, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Abedini et al. US 20210135734 (hereinafter Abedini II).
Regarding claim 4, The method according to claim 3, Abedini does not expressly disclose where the relaying characteristic of the repeater node comprises any of: a relaying angle, a relaying direction, a relaying beam width, an amplification setting, an antenna pattern of the repeater device and/or a time instant and/or periodicity during which the first configuration parameter should be applied. Abedini II discloses a base station (BS) to configure initial sweeping with one or more repeaters. For example, a BS may determine a sweeping configuration based on any combination of measurement reports from the repeater and/or received information on the capabilities or category of the repeater. Abedini II discloses a sweep module is configured to receive from a base station system information that includes sweep configuration, based on which the sweep module 408 may configure the beam directions and/or other parameters to receive initial sweep from a base station, para. 0071. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Abedini to include Abedini II’s sweep configuration including beam directions and other parameters. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to enable and provide efficient overhead in beam sweep initialization procedures and/or optimizing beam sweep patterns, para. 0001.
Regarding claim 6, The method according to claim 1, Abedini discloses as shown above generating at least two different second synchronization signals, and transmitting the at least two different second synchronization signals via the relay antenna beam towards the repeater node. Abedini does not expressly disclose wherein the method further comprises: receiving a message at the network node from a wireless device via the relay antenna beam, wherein the message is indicative of a radio link quality between the network node and the wireless device via the repeater node.
Abedini II discloses additional parameters that may be used by the gNB in determining sweeping configuration may further include measurement reports, they can include reports from one or more repeaters and the reports may include one or more measurements of downlink signals from the gNB, uplink measurements from UEs, para. 0089. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Abedini to include Abedini II’s sweep configuration including beam directions and other parameters. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to enable and provide efficient overhead in beam sweep initialization procedures and/or optimizing beam sweep patterns, para. 0001.
Regarding claim 10, The method according to claim 6, Abedini does not disclose wherein the message received from the wireless device comprises a beam failure recovery request, BFRQ, message or a beam report message. Abedini II discloses additional parameters that may be used by the gNB in determining sweeping configuration may further include measurement reports, they can include reports from one or more repeaters and the reports may include one or more measurements of downlink signals from the gNB, uplink measurements from UEs, para. 0089. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Abedini to include Abedini II’s sweep configuration including beam directions and other parameters. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to enable and provide efficient overhead in beam sweep initialization procedures and/or optimizing beam sweep patterns, para. 0001.
Claim 24 is rejected under the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 12-15, 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MELANIE JAGANNATHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468