DETAILED ACTION
Claims 18-32 are pending. Claims 1-17 and 33-34 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/15/2024 and 12/23/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-20, 23, 29-30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carlson et al. (EP 3745597, Carlson hereinafter, cited on IDS dated 12/23/2025).
As to claim 18: Carlson discloses a method performed by a network device capable of acting as a precision time protocol, PTP, master, the network device comprising or connectable with a global navigation satellite system, GNSS, receiver for receiving a pulse timing signal (see at least paragraphs [003] and [0012], a time reference system that utilizes a computer network precision time protocol (PTP) to propagate a precision time reference signal (e.g., a 1 PPS signal from a GPS receiver or GNSS receiver) in a network.), the method comprising:
detecting whether the received pulse timing signal is in abnormal status (see at least paragraph [0031], determine that timing reference signal (interpreted as pulse timing signal) in a fault condition.);
generating and providing a normal pulse timing signal to a synchronization unit of the network device within a predetermined time period in response to detecting the received pulse timing signal to be in abnormal status (see at least paragraphs [0029]-0031] and Fig. 4, when the RVSC 408 determines that the timing reference signal (e.g., a 1 PPS signal) from the primary timing reference source is unavailable or otherwise in a fault condition (interpreted as abnormal status), the RVSC can automatically select a backup timing reference source. The selected backup timing reference is then used as a source of a timing reference signal to be communicated to the PI loop 409 (interpreted as synchronization unit).); and
providing the received pulse timing signal to the synchronization unit in response to detecting the received pulse timing signal to be not in abnormal status (see at least paragraphs [0029]-[0031], when a timing reference signal (e.g., a 1 PPS signal) is available (interpreted as not in abnormal status) from the primary timing reference source (e.g., from GPS receiver 402), the RVSC 408 will communicate such primary timing reference signal to the phase error counter 410 in the PI loop 409 (interpreted as synchronization unit).).
As to claim 19: Carlson discloses the method according to claim 18. Carlson further discloses wherein the abnormal status is a status where the received pulse timing signal is in outage (see at least paragraphs [0029]-0031] and Fig. 4, when the RVSC 408 determines that the timing reference signal (e.g., a 1 PPS signal) from the primary timing reference source is unavailable or otherwise in a fault condition (interpreted as abnormal status), the RVSC can automatically select a backup timing reference source. The selected backup timing reference is then used as a source of a timing reference signal to be communicated to the PI loop 409 (interpreted as synchronization unit).); and wherein the method further comprises: detecting whether the received pulse timing signal is recovered to be normal when the predetermined time period has elapsed (see at least paragraph [0038], in other scenarios a decision to switch timing reference at 508 may be based on a determination that a previously unavailable or faulty timing reference (e.g., GPS receiver 402) has once again become available, and/or is no longer experiencing a fault condition.); and triggering a first predetermined remedial operation when detecting the received pulse timing signal to be not recovered (see at least paragraph [0039], when a transition occurs from the first timing reference source to the second timing reference source, there will usually be a step timing change in the timing reference signal that is communicated to the PI loop. This step timing change represents the timing difference between the first timing reference source and the second timing reference source. Most often this step timing change will occur when reverting to a primary reference source such as GPS receiver 402 after a holdover period.).
As to claim 20: Carlson discloses the method according to claim 19. Carlson further discloses wherein the first predetermined remedial operation comprises: a PTP holdover; or a switching to a backup clock source (see at least paragraph [0039], when a transition occurs from the first timing reference source to the second timing reference source, there will usually be a step timing change in the timing reference signal that is communicated to the PI loop. This step timing change represents the timing difference between the first timing reference source and the second timing reference source. Most often this step timing change will occur when reverting to a primary reference source such as GPS receiver 402 after a holdover period.).
As to claim 23: Carlson discloses the method according to claim 19. Carlson further discloses further comprising: providing the received pulse timing signal to the synchronization unit when detecting the received pulse timing signal to be recovered (see at least paragraphs [0029]-[0031], when a timing reference signal (e.g., a 1 PPS signal) is available (interpreted as not in abnormal status) from the primary timing reference source (e.g., from GPS receiver 402), the RVSC 408 will communicate such primary timing reference signal to the phase error counter 410 in the PI loop 409 (interpreted as synchronization unit).).
As to claim 29: Carlson discloses the method according to claim 18. Carlson further discloses wherein the synchronization unit is a PLL or a DPLL (see at least paragraphs [0029]-[0031], PI loop.).
As to claim 30: Carlson discloses the method according to claim 18. Carlson further discloses wherein the pulse timing signal is a one pulse per second, 1PPS, signal (see at least paragraphs [0029]-0031] and Fig. 4, timing reference signal (e.g., a 1 PPS signal).).
As to claim 32: Carlson discloses a network device capable of acting as a precision time protocol, PTP, master, the network device comprising or connectable with a global navigation satellite system, GNSS, receiver for receiving a pulse timing signal (see at least paragraphs [003] and [0012], a time reference system that utilizes a computer network precision time protocol (PTP) to propagate a precision time reference signal (e.g., a 1 PPS signal from a GPS receiver or GNSS receiver) in a network.), the network device comprising:
at least one processor (see at least paragraph [0007], a computer network includes a processor); and
at least one memory (see at least paragraph [0007], a computer network includes a memory), the at least one memory containing instructions executable by the at least one processor, whereby the network device is operative to:
detect whether the received pulse timing signal is in abnormal status (see at least paragraph [0031], determine that timing reference signal (interpreted as pulse timing signal) in a fault condition.);
generate and provide a normal pulse timing signal to a synchronization unit of the network device within a predetermined time period in response to detecting the received pulse timing signal to be in abnormal status (see at least paragraphs [0029]-0031] and Fig. 4, when the RVSC 408 determines that the timing reference signal (e.g., a 1 PPS signal) from the primary timing reference source is unavailable or otherwise in a fault condition (interpreted as abnormal status), the RVSC can automatically select a backup timing reference source. The selected backup timing reference is then used as a source of a timing reference signal to be communicated to the PI loop 409 (interpreted as synchronization unit).); and
provide the received pulse timing signal to the synchronization unit in response to detecting the received pulse timing signal to be not in abnormal status (see at least paragraphs [0029]-[0031], when a timing reference signal (e.g., a 1 PPS signal) is available (interpreted as not in abnormal status) from the primary timing reference source (e.g., from GPS receiver 402), the RVSC 408 will communicate such primary timing reference signal to the phase error counter 410 in the PI loop 409 (interpreted as synchronization unit).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson et al. (EP 3745597, Carlson hereinafter, cited on IDS dated 12/23/2025) in view of Coulter, Robert (US 20190379474, Coulter hereinafter).
As to claim 31: Carlson discloses the method according to claim 18. Carlson does not explicitly disclose wherein the network device acts as one of: a telecom grandmaster, T-GM; a telecom boundary clock, T-BC; and an assisted partial-support telecom boundary clock, T-BC-A.
However Coulter discloses wherein the network device acts as one of: a telecom grandmaster, T-GM; a telecom boundary clock, T-BC; and an assisted partial-support telecom boundary clock, T-BC-A (see paragraph [0029], system 700 functions as a Telecom Boundary Clock (TBC).)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Telecom Boundary Clock, as taught by Coulter, into the invention of Carlson in order to improve timing synchronization of the system (see Coulter, paragraph [0003]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-22 and 24-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mimura et al. (US 20090232197) discloses Pulse Modulated Wireless Communication Device.
BIEDERMAN, Daniel Christian (US 20160080138) discloses Method And Apparatus For Timing Synchronization In A Distributed Timing System.
Armstrong, Greg (US 11108400) discloses Hitless switching by resetting multi-modulus feedback divider.
/K. J./
Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464