DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed 5/11/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the outstanding objection and rejections under 112(b). The outstanding 102 rejections remain.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “driving means”, “braking means”, “main control unit”, and “sub control unit” in claims 1-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al (US2021/0269018A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches travel control device for a vehicle (Figures 6-10), the vehicle including driving means for driving front and rear wheels on left and right (Paragraphs 0060, 0107-0108) and braking means (Paragraphs 0032, 0039, 0070, 0089-0092, etc.) for independently braking the front and rear wheels on the left and right and being capable of driving and braking the front and rear wheels on the left and right by the driving means and the braking means, the travel control device comprising: a main control unit ("electronic device", or "whole vehicle controller" in Figure 6, or "vehicle stability control device" in Figure 8, 9, or 10; or more specifically the portion of the "vehicle stability control device" in annotated Figure 8 below that excludes the "sub control unit") that calculates a requested driving force of the vehicle (See "initial torque" values) based on a driver request and a vehicle behavior (Paragraphs 0030, 0032, 0106, 0138-0139, 0179, 0208 etc.); and a sub control unit (See annotated Figure 8 below) which is provided to the driving means and the braking means downstream the main control unit and which controls each of the driving means and the braking means based on the requested driving force (Paragraphs 0179-0180), wherein the main control unit includes: a target reference wheel speed calculating part that calculates a target reference wheel speed that is a target rotation speed set as a reference of the wheels (See wheel/longitudinal vehicle speed calculation referenced throughout); and a target slip rate calculating part that calculates a target slip rate of the wheels which is set relative to the target reference wheel speed, the main control unit calculates the requested driving force based on the target slip rate (See target slip ratio box in Figure 8; Paragraphs 0155-0178, 0203-0214, and 0233-0241), and the sub control unit includes: an actual slip rate calculating part that calculates an actual slip rate of the wheels; and a slip rate control part that corrects the requested driving force in a manner that the actual slip rate turns to the target slip rate to control the driving means or the braking means (See "sub control unit" in annotated Figure 8 below; Paragraphs 0027-0029, 0042, 0117, 0134-0137, 0165-0178, 0202-0214, and 0240-0241).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, and Liu teaches that the target reference wheel speed calculating part calculates the target reference wheel speed (wi(t) where "i" designates which wheel as noted in paragraph 0102) for each of the wheels (Paragraphs 0028, 0122, 0123, 0135, 0136, 0152-0153, etc.), and the target slip rate calculating part calculates the target slip rate for each of the wheels (See front axis and rear axis target slip ratios in Paragraphs 0155-0178 and 0203-0214).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, and Liu teaches that the target reference wheel speed calculating part calculates the target reference wheel speed to be set as a value common to the front and rear wheels on the left and right (See previously cited sections [the wheel speeds in Liu may naturally become equal during normal operation of the vehicle]), and the target slip rate calculating part calculates the target slip rate for each of the wheels (See previously cited front and rear target slip ratios).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, and Liu teaches that the target reference wheel speed calculating part calculates the target reference wheel speed for each of the wheels, and the target slip rate calculating part calculates the target slip rate to be set as a value common to the front and rear wheels on the left and right (See previously cited sections [the wheel speeds and target ratios in Liu may naturally become equal during normal operation of the vehicle]).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses the invention of claim 2 as discussed above, and Liu teaches a target yaw rate calculating part that calculates a target yaw rate of the vehicle based on at least a steering angle of the vehicle (See "target yawing angular velocity..." block in Figure 8); and a yaw rate detecting part that detects an actual yaw rate of the vehicle (See "actual yawing angular velocity" input from "data processing" in Figure 8), wherein the target slip rate calculating part changes the target slip rate for each of the wheels based on the target yaw rate or a difference between the target yaw rate and the actual yaw rate (See flow of data from the "target yawing angular velocity..." block and "actual yawing angular velocity" input from "data processing", to the "front-axis target slip ratio and rear-axis target slip ratio" block, in Figure 8).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, and Liu teaches that the driving means and the braking means include: a first electric motor that drives the front wheels of the vehicle; a second electric motor that drives the rear wheels of the vehicle; and a braking device which is provided to each of the front and rear wheels on the left and right of the vehicle and which is capable of applying a mutually different braking force to each of the wheels (See previously cited sections and Figures).
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses the invention of claim 3 as discussed above, and Liu teaches a target yaw rate calculating part that calculates a target yaw rate of the vehicle based on at least a steering angle of the vehicle (See "target yawing angular velocity..." block in Figure 8); and a yaw rate detecting part that detects an actual yaw rate of the vehicle (See "actual yawing angular velocity" input from "data processing" in Figure 8), wherein the target slip rate calculating part changes the target slip rate for each of the wheels based on the target yaw rate or a difference between the target yaw rate and the actual yaw rate (See flow of data from the "target yawing angular velocity..." block and "actual yawing angular velocity" input from "data processing", to the "front-axis target slip ratio and rear-axis target slip ratio" block, in Figure 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments presume that the claimed invention necessarily includes split up physical controller structures in the manner argued. However, the “units” in the claim are interpreted under 112(f), which broadens the interpretation to the disclosed supporting structure and equivalents. In the current case, 1) the rejection has cited the functions recited in the claim in the single controller of the reference, with the corresponding functional flow (“downstream” flow indicated by the cited illustration) thus providing equivalent structure in that the recited functions are performed; and 2) a person having ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that it is well-understood for either a single or multiple physical controller structures to perform the same set of different functions in a system, and functions may be arbitrarily split up between single or multiple controllers. Further, Paragraphs 0242-0243 or Liu actually explicitly describe splitting the functional units into various physical controller structures, stating that “It should be noted that the module division in the embodiments of this application is an example, and is merely logical function division, and there may be other division manners in actual implementation. In addition, functional units in the embodiments of this application may be integrated into one processing unit, or each of the units may exist alone physically, or at least two units may be integrated into one unit. The integrated unit may be implemented in a form of hardware, or may be implemented in a form of a software functional unit.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN R STECKBAUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747