DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 36-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 36, the phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purpose of examination, limitations following “optionally” will not be considered required by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 36, 37, and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marks (US 4619244 A), hereinafter Marks.
Regarding claim 36, Marks discloses a cookstove system, the system comprising a stove body including a shell defining an interior cook space with a side-opening access aperture opening into the interior cook space and a door movable from an opened position to a closed position selectively blocking the side-opening access aperture (“chamber 14 has a insulated door 15, which may be opened with the handle 16. The door may be removable or on a hinge” column 1, line 54), a sunlight concentration module coupled to the stove body and configured to concentrate sunlight admitted into the interior cook space onto a focal point, thereby cooking food within the interior cook space and/or heating of the stove body (“Sun energy is focused through an orifice 41 to a sealed first cavity 18 within the chamber 14. The first cavity 18 is sealed from the second cavity 17 by a separator plate 33. Sun energy heats the walls of the cavity 18 and a separator plate 33, which reradiates the sun energy into the chamber 17” column 1, line 67 and “The Fresnel lens 31 is supported on the mounting frame 37” column 2, line 47), and optionally, an electrical system in heat transfer with the stove body, the electrical system configured to generate electrical energy from heat withdrawn from the stove body.
Regarding claim 37, Marks discloses the system of claim 36, wherein the sunlight concentration module includes (i) a concentrator made of Fresnel lens configured to concentrate light at a focal point at a certain distance from an outgoing surface of the Fresnel lens and (ii) a light orientation unit configured to reorient rays of sunlight so as to enter the Fresnel lens at an angle generally perpendicular to an incoming surface of the Fresnel lens (“A photosensor 55 may be employed to keep the axis of the Fresnel lens parallel to the suns rays. Signals are sent via 3 wire leads 56 to the servomotor 53 via leads 54 to position the Fresnel lens so that it focuses the suns energy through the cavity aperture 41 at all times” column 4, line 1).
Regarding claim 51, Marks discloses the system of claim 37, wherein the light orientation unit includes an adjustable mount that supports the Fresnel lens for movement relative to the stove body so as to allow the Fresnel lens to be positioned at a selected critical angle suitable rays of sunlight to enter the Fresnel lens at an angle generally perpendicular to the incoming surface of the Fresnel lens (“The angle .phi. is adjusted by turn buckle 36 connected between the support frame 37 on the Fresnel lens 31” column 2, line 28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 38 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marks, in view of Campbell (US 20100006088 A1), hereinafter Campbell.
Regarding claims 38 and 39, Marks discloses the system of claim 37.
Marks does not disclose:
wherein the light orientation unit includes a top Risley prism arranged to interact with sunlight entering the light orientation unit and a bottom Risley prism arranged to interact with sunlight exiting the top Risley prism before the sunlight enters the Fresnel lens;
wherein the top Risley Prism and the bottom Risley prism are mounted for rotation relative to the stove body and relative to one another.
However, Campbell teaches:
wherein the light orientation unit includes a top Risley prism arranged to interact with sunlight entering the light orientation unit (“A bender 33 initially receives incoming rays of light 14 and redirects the incoming rays of light for acceptance by multi-element IOA 32''” paragraph [0203]) and a bottom Risley prism (“bender 234” paragraph [0203]) arranged to interact with sunlight exiting the top Risley prism before the sunlight enters the Fresnel lens (“Fresnel lens 235” paragraph [0203]);
wherein the top Risley Prism and the bottom Risley prism are mounted for rotation relative to the body and relative to one another (“bender 33 and IOA 32'' are both supported for rotation about optical axis 47” paragraph [0203]).
Marks does not disclose the claimed structure for orienting the light to the Fresnel lens surface. Campbell teaches the claimed structure for orienting the light to the Fresnel lens surface. The substitution of one known element (the positioning system of Marks) for another (the rotating prism system of Campbell) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the structure taught in Campbell would have yielded predictable results, namely, means for orienting the incoming sunlight to be focused by a Fresnel lens Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Claims 38 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marks, in view of Campbell, and further in view of Ding (CN 110829964 A), hereinafter Ding.
Regarding claim 40, Marks, as modified by Campbell, discloses the system of claim 39.
Marks, as modified by Campbell, does not disclose a mobile communication device, the mobile communication device configured to run an application that indicates to a user the optimal orientation of the top Risley prism and the bottom Risley prism for use in the sunlight concentrator based on at least one of geographic location, time of year, and time of day.
However, Ding teaches a mobile communication device, the mobile communication device configured to run an application that indicates to a user the optimal orientation for use in the sunlight collector based on at least one of geographic location, time of year, and time of day (“obtaining the specific position of solar panel mounting locating device of this invention in the box body through the data information of a user of the mobile device receiving positioning device to obtain the time and geographical coordinate information. transmitting the acquired the time and the geographic coordinates to the data analysis, found in the database data is consistent with the time and geographical position of the user on the mobile device, so as to determine the irradiation angle corresponding to the time and the geographic location the sun, find the proper azimuth and reasonable height angle of the solar plate; by controlling the rotation of the motor to control the altitude angle and azimuth angle of the solar energy plate, a sun light to make solar energy plate to absorb more to achieve maximum solar energy photoelectric conversion efficiency, compact structure, low manufacturing cost, simple circuit, and the mechanical structure is simple, the work is reliable, self-formed into a whole based on a mobile device” All citations from the machine translation appended to the foreign reference).
In view of Ding’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a mobile communication device, the mobile communication device configured to run an application that indicates to a user the optimal orientation for use in the sunlight collector based on at least one of geographic location, time of year, and time of day as is taught in Ding, in the system as presently modified because Ding states that the configuration will “make solar energy plate to absorb more to achieve maximum solar energy photoelectric conversion efficiency.” Therefore, including the mobile device of Ding will enable more solar energy collection for maximum efficiency.
Claims 41, 47, 48, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marks, in view of Van Der Sluis (US 20090025703 A1), hereinafter Van Der Sluis.
Regarding claims 41 and 47, Marks discloses the system of claim 36.
Marks does not disclose:
wherein the electrical system includes a thermoelectric generator, a battery, a power outlet, and a multi-mode power converter circuit that electrically connects the thermoelectric generator, the battery, and the power outlet;
wherein the multi-mode power converter circuit is configured to direct the flow of electricity generated by the thermoelectric generator to the battery, the power outlet, or a combination of the battery and power outlet based on battery charge, level of power generation, and/or power demand at the power outlet.
However, Van Der Sluis teaches:
wherein the electrical system includes a thermoelectric generator (“a thermoelectric element 31” paragraph [0035]), a battery (“The electronic control unit 33 includes a rechargeable battery 40” paragraph [0038]), a power outlet (“power output means 60” paragraph [0045]), and a multi-mode power converter circuit that electrically connects the thermoelectric generator, the battery, and the power outlet (“a direct current to direct current DC-DC converter 62, and a voltage comparator 61” paragraph [0045]);
wherein the multi-mode power converter circuit is configured to direct the flow of electricity generated by the thermoelectric generator to the battery, the power outlet, or a combination of the battery and power outlet based on battery charge, level of power generation, and/or power demand at the power outlet (“In this `normal mode`, the battery 40 is fully charged and any excess power generated by the thermoelectric element is directed to the power output means 60. For example, when enough power is available the voltage of the thermoelectric element will rise to above about 3V. This rise is detected by the voltage comparator 61 that enables the DC-DC converter 62. The DC-DC converter then generates the required voltage (or current) at the output 62” paragraphs [0045]-[0046]).
In view of the teachings of Van Der Sluis, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a thermoelectric generator as is taught in Van Der Sluis, in the system disclosed by Marks because Van Der Sluis states “the device may be a mobile phone which can usefully be recharged whilst the stove is operating. This is particularly useful where the availability of a power source for driving or recharging devices is limited” (paragraph [0048]). Therefore, including the thermoelectric generator as taught in Van Der Sluis will increase utility of the system of Marks.
Regarding claim 48, Marks, as modified by Van Der Sluis, discloses the system of claim 47, wherein the multi-mode power converter circuit is configured to operate in (1) a buck mode characterized in that power generated by the thermoelectric generator is directed to charge the battery, (2) a boost mode characterized in that power stored in the battery is directed to the power outlet for use by an accessory, (3) a buck with boost in pass through mode characterized in that power generated by the thermoelectric generator is directed to the power outlet for use by the accessory while the battery is at or near full charge, and/or (4) a buck and boost mode characterized in that that power generated by the thermoelectric generator is directed to the power outlet for use by the accessory while simultaneously being directed to charge the battery (“In this `normal mode`, the battery 40 is fully charged and any excess power generated by the thermoelectric element is directed to the power output means 60. For example, when enough power is available the voltage of the thermoelectric element will rise to above about 3V. This rise is detected by the voltage comparator 61 that enables the DC-DC converter 62. The DC-DC converter then generates the required voltage (or current) at the output 62” paragraphs [0045]-[0046] taught by Van Der Sluis).
Regarding claim 52, Marks discloses the system of claim 36, wherein the shell of the stove body includes a floor that extends under the interior cook space (Bottom of 14), a side wall that extends up from the floor (Sides of 14), and a thermal unit arranged between the interior cook space and the side wall, the thermal unit configured to provide heat storage for heat generated in the interior cook space (“Heat is stored in phase change material 23 which melts at about 180.degree. C. to 200.degree. C. and provides heat to the chamber after sundown to maintain its temperature for many hours” column 1, line 64).
Marks does not disclose conversion to electrical energy by the electrical system.
However, Van Der Sluis teaches conversion to electrical energy by the electrical system (“In this `normal mode`, the battery 40 is fully charged and any excess power generated by the thermoelectric element is directed to the power output means 60. For example, when enough power is available the voltage of the thermoelectric element will rise to above about 3V. This rise is detected by the voltage comparator 61 that enables the DC-DC converter 62. The DC-DC converter then generates the required voltage (or current) at the output 62” paragraphs [0045]-[0046]).
In view of the teachings of Van Der Sluis, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a thermoelectric generator as is taught in Van Der Sluis, in the system disclosed by Marks because Van Der Sluis states “the device may be a mobile phone which can usefully be recharged whilst the stove is operating. This is particularly useful where the availability of a power source for driving or recharging devices is limited” (paragraph [0048]). Therefore, including the thermoelectric generator as taught in Van Der Sluis will increase utility of the system of Marks.
Claims 42-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marks, in view of Van Der Sluis, and further in view of Cedar (US 20100083946 A1), hereinafter Cedar.
Regarding claims 42-44, Marks, as modified by Van Der Sluis, discloses the system of claim 41, wherein:
the door of the stove body is removable from the shell (“chamber 14 has a insulated door 15, which may be opened with the handle 16. The door may be removable or on a hinge” column 1, line 54);
the door of the stove body includes a closure panel shaped to selectively block the side-opening access aperture (15) and a handle coupled to the closure panel, the handle being arranged outside the interior cook space when the door is in the closed position to provide a grip spaced from the shell of the stove body for a user to hold when moving the door to the opened position (16);
the thermoelectric generator is mounted to be in heat transfer with the shell of the stove body (Taught by Van Der Sluis).
Marks, as modified by Van Der Sluis, does not disclose:
the electrical system is integrated with the door of the stove body so that the electrical system may be used remote from the stove body;
wherein the thermoelectric generator is mounted in the closure panel of the door to be in heat transfer when the door is in the closed position.
However, Cedar teaches:
the electrical system is integrated with a removable panel of the stove body so that the electrical system may be used remote from the stove body;
wherein the thermoelectric generator is mounted in the panel to be in heat transfer when the panel is attached (“the TEG unit can be an integral section of the combustion chamber, and can be removed with that section of the chamber itself. Such permanent or semi-permanent fixing can be achieved by forming the TEG housing integrally or unitarily with the associated combustion device or applying it to a wall of the device using fasteners” paragraph [0038]).
In view of Cedar’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include:
the electrical system is integrated with a removable panel of the stove body so that the electrical system may be used remote from the stove body;
wherein the thermoelectric generator is mounted in the panel to be in heat transfer when the panel is attached as is taught in Cedar, in the system as presently modified because the court has held that if it is considered desirable for any reason to make separable, it would be obvious to make separable for that purpose In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). In this case, Marks discloses a separable door panel, but does not disclose that the thermoelectric generator is integral to the removable panel. Cedar teaches making the thermoelectric generator integral to a removable panel of the stove body. It would be desirable to include wherein the thermoelectric generator is removable with the removable panel to facilitate replacement or maintenance.
Claims 49 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marks, in view of Van Der Sluis, in view of Cedar, and further in view of Man (US 20170245686 A1), hereinafter Man.
Regarding claim 46, Marks, as modified by Van Der Sluis and Cedar, discloses the system of claim 43, comprising a pot tray holder (21), the pot tray holder being arranged inside the interior cook space when the door is in the closed position to provide surface on which a pot or tray containing food can be supported in the interior cook space for removal (22).
Marks, as modified by Van Der Sluis and Cedar, does not disclose wherein the door includes the pot tray holder coupled to the closure panel, the pot tray holder being arranged for removal upon motion of the door from the closed position to the opened position.
However, Man teaches wherein the door includes the pot tray holder (35) coupled to the closure panel (26), the pot tray holder being arranged for removal upon motion of the door from the closed position to the opened position (Figure 5).
In view of Man’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include integrated construction of the pot tray holder and door as is taught in Man, in the system disclosed by Marks because the court has held that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the prior art would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). In the present case, integrating the pot tray holder and door simplifies removal of food by reducing the number of steps necessary to remove food.
Claims 49 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marks, in view of Young (US 4434787 A), hereinafter Young.
Regarding claims 49 and 50, Marks discloses the system of claim 37.
Marks does not disclose:
wherein the light orientation unit includes at least one mirror arranged to redirect rays of sunlight to enter the Fresnel lens at an angle generally perpendicular to the incoming surface of the Fresnel lens;
wherein the at least one mirror is mounted to move relative to the Fresnel lens to allow the at least one mirror to be repositioned to a selected critical angle suitable for redirecting rays of sunlight so as to enter the Fresnel lens at an angle generally perpendicular to the incoming surface of the Fresnel lens.
However, Young teaches:
wherein the light orientation unit includes at least one mirror arranged to redirect rays of sunlight to enter the Fresnel lens at an angle generally perpendicular to the incoming surface of the Fresnel lens;
wherein the at least one mirror is mounted to move relative to the Fresnel lens to allow the at least one mirror to be repositioned to a selected critical angle suitable for redirecting rays of sunlight so as to enter the Fresnel lens at an angle generally perpendicular to the incoming surface of the Fresnel lens (“Mounted on a circular trackway and movable ring assembly 30 for movement about the perimeter of the large Fresnel lens 24 is a solar reflector 32 having a mirrored surface 34 which may be flat or curved and which is adjustably positionable about a hinge connection 35 and horizontal axis to reflect sunlight onto the Fresnel lens for concentration and passage through glass plate 22 and onto the metal conductor bars 14, as illustrated by the light ray lines 36 in FIG. 1” column 3, line 26).
Marks does not disclose the claimed structure for orienting the light to the Fresnel lens surface. Young teaches the claimed structure for orienting the light to the Fresnel lens surface. The substitution of one known element (the positioning system of Marks) for another (the mirror of Young) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the structure taught in Young would have yielded predictable results, namely, means for orienting the incoming sunlight to be focused by a Fresnel lens Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Claims 53-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marks, in view of Van Der Sluis, and further in view of Wietrzichowski (DE 4338736 A1), hereinafter Wietrzichowski.
Regarding claims 53-55, Marks, as modified by Van Der Sluis, discloses the system of claim 52, wherein the thermal storage unit includes a heat storage material made of a first material configured to retain heat (“Heat is stored in phase change material 23 which melts at about 180.degree. C. to 200.degree. C. and provides heat to the chamber after sundown to maintain its temperature for many hours” column 1, line 64).
Marks, as modified by Van Der Sluis, does not disclose:
wherein the thermal storage unit includes an insulation material made of a second material configured to resist heat transfer;
wherein the first material has a heat capacity greater than the heat capacity of the second material to store heat;
wherein the second material has a thermal conductivity lower than that of the first material so as not to transmit heat away from the interior cook space.
However, Wietrzichowski teaches:
wherein the thermal storage unit includes an insulation material made of a second material configured to resist heat transfer (“a highly effective insulation 12” All citations are from the machine translation appended to the foreign reference);
wherein the first material has a heat capacity greater than the heat capacity of the second material to store heat (“thermal energy storage takes place in the concrete body 11, which has good thermal energy storage properties”);
wherein the second material has a thermal conductivity lower than that of the first material so as not to transmit heat away from the interior cook space (The second material 12 is insulation).
In view of Wietrzichowski’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include insulation as is taught in Wietrzichowski, in the system disclosed by Marks because including insulation surrounding the thermal storage will improve heat retention in the thermal storage of Marks.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 45 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 45 recites the limitations “wherein the power outlet is arranged on the handle of the door to be outside the interior cook space spaced from the shell of the stove body that may be heated when the door is in the closed position.” No art was found such that further modification of Marks, Van Der Sluis, and Cedar would have rendered the claim obvious. Therefore, these limitations when combined with the limitations of the base and intervening claims, distinguishes claim 45 from the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Way (US 4077391 A) discloses a cookstove system, the system comprising a stove body including a shell defining an interior cook space with a side-opening access aperture opening into the interior cook space and a door movable from an opened position to a closed position selectively blocking the side-opening access aperture, a sunlight concentration module coupled to the stove body and configured to concentrate sunlight admitted into the interior cook space onto a focal point, thereby cooking food within the interior cook space and/or heating of the stove body
Zwern (US 20110021134 A1) “a focusing surface 310 may be achieved conveniently via two-dimensional lens variants such as lenticular lenses and Fresnel lenses” paragraph [0048] and “Each of external mirror 330 and internal mirror 335 may be adjusted via pivot or hinge 340” paragraph [0052]
Wen (US 20120216863 A1) teaches upper and lower prism elements for orienting light to a Fresnel lens
Hoffman (US 20140251314 A1) discloses a cookstove system, the system comprising a stove body including a shell defining an interior cook space with a side-opening access aperture opening into the interior cook space and a door movable from an opened position to a closed position selectively blocking the side-opening access aperture, a sunlight concentration module coupled to the stove body and configured to concentrate sunlight admitted into the interior cook space onto a focal point, thereby cooking food within the interior cook space and/or heating of the stove body
Howieson (WO 2018042163 A1) “the apparatus 10 is configured such that electrical energy is generated by the thermoelectric generator element 98 in response to focussed sunlight reaching the electromagnetic radiation absorption member 82. In use, the apparatus 10 is configured to cause the thermoelectric generator element 98 to generate between 0 W and 100 W of electrical energy. The apparatus 10 includes a power management device (not illustrated)”
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762