DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on August 3, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected system, method, and apparatus, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 3. 2026.
Claim Status
The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendments stands as follows:
Pending claims:
1-15
Withdrawn claims:
7-15
Claims currently under consideration:
1-6
Currently rejected claims:
1-6
Allowed claims:
None
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "2" and "3" have both been used to designate the extruder on p. 7, l. 24 and 27. The extruder in Fig. 1 is designated as reference character 2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Add a colon following “steps” in line 2;
Add “and” after the end of step b);
Amend “pro-tein” to “protein” in step c).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance:
Claim 2 recites the broad recitation “from 30-90 wt.-%”, and the claim also recites “preferably 40-70 wt.-%, especially preferred 50-60 wt.-%” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 3 recites the broad recitation “5-30 wt.-%”, and the claim also recites “preferably 10-25 wt.-%, especially preferred 10-20 wt.-%” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 4 recites the broad recitation “a monitoring step”, and the claim also recites “preferably an in-line monitoring step” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 6 recites the broad recitation “a plant protein”, and the claim also recites “preferably selected from the group consisting of soy protein and pulse protein” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For the purposes of examination, the broader recitations will be used.
Claim 5 is rejected due to dependency on claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kivela (US 2017/0105428 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kivela teaches a method of manufacturing a texturized food product comprising preparing a slurry that comprises legume protein (i.e., a protein from a protein source) and extruding it to form a texturized food product (i.e., protein containing product)(Abstract). Kivela also teaches that after mixing the slurry, the slurry is fed into an extruder (i.e., inserted; [0082]).
Regarding claim 2, Kivela also teaches that the slurry comprises water (i.e., has a moisture content) of preferably 30-40% by weight (Abstract; [0014]), which falls within the claimed range of “30-90 wt.-%”.
Regarding claim 3, Kivela teaches an embodiment where the slurry comprises 30% water content (i.e., moisture content; [0078]; [0079]), which lies within the claimed range of “5-30 wt.-%”.
Regarding claim 6, Kivela teaches that the protein used is a legume protein (Abstract) and that the legume protein can include protein from soybeans (i.e., soy protein; [0067]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kivela (US 2017/0105428 A1).
Regarding claim 4, although Kivela does not explicitly disclose a monitoring step prior inserting the slurry into the extruder, Kivela discloses examples that were adjusted to a specific moisture content of 30% ([0078]-[0081]). One of ordinary skill would recognize that the disclosure of such a specific amount of water implicitly discloses a monitoring step in which the moisture content of the slurry was measured prior to extrusion.
Alternatively, one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to perform the step of monitoring the moisture content of the slurry prior to introduction into the extruder. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to monitor the moisture content because Kivela discloses that when the extruded material comes through the die, water evaporates and the form expands to form the structure of the food ([0044]). Thus, one of ordinary skill would want to control the water content to control the final shape of the food product.
Regarding claim 5, Kivela teaches that water feed rate during extrusion are selected based on the desired thickness of the end product ([0028]) and that when the extruded material comes through the die, water evaporates and the form expands to form the structure of the food ([0044]). Thus, one of ordinary skill would conclude that the amount of water added during extrusion is based on the starting moisture content of the slurry that would be measured.
Conclusion
/A.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1793
/EMILY M LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793