DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention
Claim 2 (claims 3 and 10-16) recites the limitation “the lens”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because it is unclear whether “the lens” relates back to “a plurality of lenses” recited in line 4 of claim 1 or to set forth an additional lens.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0070532 to Masuda et al. (hereinafter Masuda).
With respect to claim 1, Masuda discloses an imaging device (Masuda, Figs. 1-2, ¶0002, ¶0018-¶0048), comprising:
a light receiving section (e.g., pixel region comprising a plurality of pixels 12 including photodiodes) (Masuda, Figs. 1-2, ¶0022-¶0026) provided with a plurality of pixels (12) including photoelectric converters (e.g., photodiodes) that photoelectrically convert light; and
a plurality of lenses (e.g., lens unit 20 including a plurality of lenses 21a/21b/21c) (Masuda, Figs. 1-2, ¶0027-¶0029) provided on a whole surface of the light receiving section,
wherein each of the plurality of lenses (21a/21b/21c) (Masuda, Figs. 1-2, ¶0028) is provided with respect to at least two of the plurality of pixels (12) and faces four of the plurality of lenses.
Regarding claim 2, Masuda discloses the imaging device according to claim 1. Further, Masuda discloses the imaging device, wherein the lens (e.g., 21a/21b/21c) (Masuda, Fig. 2, ¶0028, ¶0039) is, in plan view, provided over at least two of the photoelectric converters (e.g., photodiodes of adjacent pixels 12).
Regarding claim 3, Masuda discloses the imaging device according to claim 1. Further, Masuda discloses the imaging device, wherein the lens (e.g., 21a/21b/21c, lens of hexagonal configuration) (Masuda, Fig. 2, ¶0028, ¶0039) includes, in plan view, two upper sides, two lower sides, one left side, and one right side.
Regarding claim 4, Masuda discloses the imaging device according to claim 3. Further, Masuda discloses the imaging device, wherein the two upper sides and the two lower sides are each straight (e.g., 21a/21b/21c, lens of hexagonal configuration) (Masuda, Fig. 2, ¶0028, ¶0039).
Regarding claim 9, Masuda discloses the imaging device according to claim 1. Further, Masuda discloses the imaging device, wherein each of the plurality of lenses (e.g., 21a/21b/21c, lens of hexagonal configuration) (Masuda, Fig. 2, ¶0028, ¶0039) is provided facing six of the plurality of lenses.
Regarding claim 10, Masuda discloses the imaging device according to claim 1. Further, Masuda discloses the imaging device, wherein the lens (e.g., 21a/21b/21c, lens of hexagonal configuration) (Masuda, Fig. 2, ¶0028, ¶0039) has a hexagonal shape in plan view.
Regarding claim 11, Masuda discloses the imaging device according to claim 1. Further, Masuda discloses the imaging device, wherein the lens (e.g., 21a/21b/21c, lens of hexagonal configuration) (Masuda, Fig. 2, ¶0028, ¶0039) is provided over four of the plurality of pixels.
Regarding claim 12, Masuda discloses the imaging device according to claim 1. Further, Masuda discloses the imaging device, wherein the lens (e.g., 21a/21b/21c, lens of hexagonal configuration) (Masuda, Fig. 2, ¶0028, ¶0039) is provided over five of the plurality of pixels.
Regarding claim 13, Masuda discloses the imaging device according to claim 1. Further, Masuda discloses the imaging device, wherein the lens (e.g., 21a/21b/21c, lens of hexagonal configuration) (Masuda, Fig. 2, ¶0028, ¶0039) is provided over six of the plurality of pixels.
Regarding claim 14, Masuda discloses the imaging device according to claim 1. Further, Masuda discloses the imaging device, wherein the lens (e.g., 21a/21b/21c, lens of hexagonal configuration) (Masuda, Fig. 2, ¶0028, ¶0039) is provided over seven of the plurality of pixels.
Regarding claim 15, Masuda discloses the imaging device according to claim 1. Further, Masuda discloses the imaging device, wherein in a direction (e.g., Y-direction) orthogonal to a stacking direction of the lens and the photoelectric converter that photoelectrically converts light having penetrated the lens, the lens has a width (L1) (Masuda, Fig. 2, ¶0042, ¶0044) wider than a pixel pitch (p1).
Regarding claim 16, Masuda discloses the imaging device according to claim 1. Further, Masuda discloses the imaging device, wherein in a direction (e.g., Y-direction) orthogonal to a stacking direction of the lens and the photoelectric converter that photoelectrically converts light having penetrated the lens, the lens has a width (L1) (Masuda, Fig. 2, ¶0042, ¶0043, ¶0045) wider than a width of the photoelectric converter.
Claims 1-9 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2013/0161774 to Okigawa.
With respect to claim 1, Okigawa discloses an imaging device (Okigawa, Figs. 1, 7, ¶0008-¶0010, ¶0044-¶0048, ¶0076), comprising:
a light receiving section (e.g., pixel region comprising a plurality of pixels 12/13 including photodiodes 11) (Okigawa, Figs. 1, 7, ¶0044-¶0045) provided with a plurality of pixels (12/13) including photoelectric converters (e.g., photodiodes 11) that photoelectrically convert light; and
a plurality of lenses (e.g., 74) (Okigawa, Figs. 1, 7, ¶0076) provided on a whole surface of the light receiving section (e.g., light-receiving areas 42a of PDs 11) (Okigawa, Figs. 1, 7, ¶0065),
wherein each of the plurality of lenses (74) (Okigawa, Figs. 1, 7, ¶0076) is provided with respect to at least two of the plurality of pixels (12/13) and faces four of the plurality of lenses (74).
Regarding claim 2, Okigawa discloses the imaging device according to claim 1. Further, Okigawa discloses the imaging device, wherein the lens (74) (Okigawa, Figs. 1, 7, ¶0076) is, in plan view, provided over at least two of the photoelectric converters (e.g., photodiodes 11 of adjacent pixels 12 and 13).
Regarding claim 3, Okigawa discloses the imaging device according to claim 1. Further, Okigawa discloses the imaging device, wherein the lens (e.g., 74) (Okigawa, Fig. 7, ¶0076) includes, in plan view, two upper sides (e.g., along two longer upper sides of the lens 74 forming a diagonal 2A), two lower sides (e.g., along two longer lower sides of the lens 74 forming a diagonal 2A), one left side (e.g., a curved shorter side along left/right side of the pixel 13/12), and one right side (e.g., a curved shorter side along right/left side of the pixel 12/13).
Regarding claim 4, Okigawa discloses the imaging device according to claim 3. Further, Okigawa discloses the imaging device, wherein the two upper sides (e.g., along two longer upper sides of the lens 74 forming a diagonal 2A) and the two lower sides (e.g., along two longer lower sides of the lens 74 forming a diagonal 2A) are each straight (e.g., 21a/21b/21c, lens of hexagonal configuration) (Okigawa, Fig. 7, ¶0076).
Regarding claim 5, Okigawa discloses the imaging device according to claim 3. Further, Okigawa discloses the imaging device, wherein each of the one left side (e.g., a curved shorter side along left/right side of the pixel 13/12) (Okigawa, Fig. 7, ¶0076) and the one right side (e.g., a curved shorter side along right/left side of the pixel 12/13) has a length shorter than a length of each of the two upper sides (e.g., along two longer upper sides of the lens 74 forming a diagonal 2A), and each of the one left side and the one right side has a length shorter than a length of each of the two lower sides (e.g., along two longer lower sides of the lens 74 forming a diagonal 2A).
Regarding claim 6, Okigawa discloses the imaging device according to claim 3. Further, Okigawa discloses the imaging device, wherein the one left side (e.g., a curved shorter side along left/right side of the pixel 13/12) (Okigawa, Fig. 7, ¶0076) and the one right side (e.g., a curved shorter side along right/left side of the pixel 12/13) are each curved.
Regarding claim 7, Okigawa discloses the imaging device according to claim 1. Further, Okigawa discloses the imaging device, wherein the lens has a quadrangular shape in plan view (Okigawa, Fig. 7, ¶0076).
Regarding claim 8, Okigawa discloses the imaging device according to claim 7. Further, Okigawa discloses the imaging device, wherein the plurality of lenses (74) (Okigawa, Fig. 7, ¶0010, ¶0076) is arranged in a direction (e.g., 45-degree oblique direction) different from an arrangement direction of the pixels (12/13).
Regarding claim 9, Okigawa discloses the imaging device according to claim 1. Further, Okigawa discloses the imaging device, wherein each of the plurality of lenses (74) (Okigawa, Fig. 7, ¶0076) is provided facing six of the plurality of lenses (74).
Regarding claim 15, Okigawa discloses the imaging device according to claim 1. Further, Okigawa discloses the imaging device, wherein in a direction (e.g., a horizontal direction in Figs. 1 and 7) orthogonal to a stacking direction of the lens and the photoelectric converter that photoelectrically converts light having penetrated the lens, the lens (74) (Okigawa, Fig. 7, ¶0044-¶0045, ¶0076) has a width wider than a pixel pitch.
Regarding claim 16, Okigawa discloses the imaging device according to claim 1. Further, Okigawa discloses the imaging device, wherein in a direction (e.g., a horizontal direction in Figs. 1 and 7) orthogonal to a stacking direction of the lens and the photoelectric converter that photoelectrically converts light having penetrated the lens, the lens (74) (Okigawa, Fig. 7, ¶0044-¶0045, ¶0076) has a width wider than a width of the photoelectric converter (11).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0070532 to Masuda in view of Okigawa (US 2013/0161774).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Masuda discloses the imaging device according to claim 3. Further, Masuda does not specifically disclose the imaging device, wherein each of the one left side and the one right side has a length shorter than a length of each of the two upper sides, and each of the one left side and the one right side has a length shorter than a length of each of the two lower sides (as claimed in claim 5); wherein the one left side and the one right side are each curved (as claimed in claim 6).
However, Okigawa discloses the imaging device comprising a plurality of lenses (74) (Okigawa, Fig. 7, ¶0044-¶0052, ¶0076) provided with respect to at least two of the plurality of pixels (12 and 13) and faces four of the plurality of lenses (74), wherein the lens (74) (Okigawa, Fig. 7, ¶0076) has a substantially square size and includes, in plan view, two upper sides (e.g., along two longer upper sides of the lens 74 forming a diagonal 2A), two lower sides (e.g., along two longer lower sides of the lens 74 forming a diagonal 2A), one left side (e.g., a curved shorter side along left/right side of the pixel 13/12), and one right side (e.g., a curved shorter side along right/left side of the pixel 12/13), each of the one left side and the one right side has a length shorter than a length of each of the two upper sides, and each of the one left side and the one right side has a length shorter than a length of each of the two lower sides, and wherein the one left side and the one right side are each curved, to provide pixels with improved sensitivity.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the imaging device of Masuda by forming a plurality of lenses each covering a plurality of pixels and arranged in oblique direction with respect to the plurality of pixels as taught by Okigawa, wherein each lens has a substantially square size with curved shorter sides along right/left side of the pixels to have the imaging device, wherein each of the one left side and the one right side has a length shorter than a length of each of the two upper sides, and each of the one left side and the one right side has a length shorter than a length of each of the two lower sides (as claimed in claim 5); wherein the one left side and the one right side are each curved (as claimed in claim 6), in order to provide pixels with improved sensitivity (Okigawa, ¶0008-¶0010, ¶0076).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Masuda discloses the imaging device according to claim 1. Further, Masuda does not specifically disclose the imaging device, wherein the lens has a quadrangular shape in plan view (as claimed in claim 7); wherein the plurality of lenses is arranged in a direction different from an arrangement direction of the pixels (as claimed in claim 8).
However, Okigawa discloses the imaging device comprising a plurality of lenses (74) (Okigawa, Fig. 7, ¶0044-¶0052, ¶0076) provided with respect to at least two of the plurality of pixels (12 and 13) and faces four of the plurality of lenses (74), wherein the plurality of lenses (74) (Okigawa, Fig. 7, ¶0010, ¶0076) is arranged in 45-degree oblique direction with respect to the plurality of pixels, and each lens (74) has a substantially square size and includes, in plan view, two upper sides (e.g., along two longer upper sides of the lens 74 forming a diagonal 2A), two lower sides (e.g., along two longer lower sides of the lens 74 forming a diagonal 2A), one left side (e.g., a curved shorter side along left/right side of the pixel 13/12), and one right side (e.g., a curved shorter side along right/left side of the pixel 12/13), each of the one left side and the one right side has a length shorter than a length of each of the two upper sides, and each of the one left side and the one right side has a length shorter than a length of each of the two lower sides, and wherein the one left side and the one right side are each curved, to provide pixels with improved sensitivity.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the imaging device of Masuda by forming a plurality of lenses each covering a plurality of pixels and arranged in oblique direction with respect to the plurality of pixels as taught by Okigawa, wherein each lens has a substantially square size with curved shorter sides along right/left side of the pixels to have the imaging device, wherein the lens has a quadrangular shape in plan view (as claimed in claim 7); wherein the plurality of lenses is arranged in a direction different from an arrangement direction of the pixels (as claimed in claim 8), in order to provide pixels with improved sensitivity (Okigawa, ¶0008-¶0010, ¶0076).
Conclusion
/NATALIA A GONDARENKO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891