DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 13-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Miyazaki et al. (hereinafter Miyazaki, US 10,734,911 B2).
For claim 1, Miyazaki discloses a clamping circuit for a power module (Fig. 3A of Miyazaki discloses a clamping circuit (QM1, QM4) for a power module 2 – see Miyazaki, Fig. 3A, col. 7, line 62 through col. 8, line 11), wherein the power module comprises one or more semiconductor switches connected in parallel (Figs. 3A and 17 of Miyazaki disclose the power module 2 comprises one or more semiconductor switches (Q1, Q4) connected in parallel – see Miyazaki, Figs. 3A and 17, col. 7, lines 51-61 and col. 19, lines 55-60) and a plurality of terminals for an input current and an output current (Figs. 3A and 17 of Miyazaki disclose a plurality of terminals (P(D1), N(S4), O(D4), O(S1), GT1, GT4, MGT1, MGT4) for an input current and an output current – see Miyazaki, Figs. 3A and 17, col. 7, line 62 through col. 8, line 5; col. 8, lines 41-52; and col. 19, line 61 through col. 20, line 5), and a plurality of signal pins (GT1, GT4, MGT1, MGT4) for transmitting control signals generated by a driver module to the power module (see Miyazaki, Fig. 3A, col. 8, lines 28-40), wherein the semiconductor switches (Q1, Q4), terminals, and signal pins in the power module form a module circuit (see Miyazaki, Figs. 3A and 5, col. 7, line 40 through col. 8, line 27), wherein the clamping circuit (QM1, QM4) comprises:
a clamping switch between a gate terminal and a reference potential terminal on a semiconductor switch of the one or more semiconductor switches, wherein the clamping switch is integrated in the module circuit in the power module (Fig. 3A of Miyazaki discloses a clamping switch QM1, (QM4) between a gate terminal GT1 (GT4) and a reference potential terminal SST1 (SST4) on a semiconductor switch Q1 (Q4) of the one or more semiconductor switches (Q1, Q4), wherein the clamping switch QM1 (QM4) is integrated in the module circuit 2 in the power module 2 – see Miyazaki, Fig. 3A, col. 7, line 62 through col. 8, line 11).
For claim 2, Miyazaki discloses the clamping circuit according to claim 1, wherein a first signal pin for the power module is dedicated to the clamping switch to transmit a clamping signal generated by a control unit spatially separated from the power module to the clamping switch (Figs. 5 and 23 of Miyazaki disclose a first signal pin MGT1 (MGT4) for the power module is dedicated to the clamping switch QM1 (QM4) to transmit a clamping signal generated by a control unit 3 spatially separated from the power module 4 to the clamping switch QM1 (QM4) – see Miyazaki, Figs. 5 and 23, col. 8, lines 41-52 and col. 25, lines 6-14).
For claim 3, Miyazaki discloses the clamping circuit according to claim 2, wherein the first signal pin extends from a clamping switch terminal on the clamping switch to the control unit (Figs. 3A, 19 and 23 of Miyazaki disclose the first signal pin MG (MGT1, MGT4) which extends from a clamping switch terminal on the clamping switch (QM1, QM4) to the control unit 3 via resistors MR1, MR4 – see Miyazaki, Figs. 3A, 19 and 23).
For claims 4, and 13, Miyazaki discloses the clamping circuit according to claim 3 or claim 2, wherein the control unit is integrated in the driver module, and wherein the driver module is spaced apart from the power module (Figs. 3A, 19, 24 and 35 of Miyazaki disclose the control unit 3/180 which is integrated in the driver module 3/180, and wherein the driver module 3 is spaced apart from the power module 4/200 – see Miyazaki, Figs. 3A, 19, 24 and 35, col. 23, lines 15-43 and col. 30, lines 52-59).
For claims 5 and 14, Miyazaki discloses the clamping circuit according to claim 2 or claim 13, comprising:
a capacitor between the clamping switch and the gate terminal or the reference potential terminal on the semiconductor switch (Figs. 6-7 of Miyazaki disclose a capacitor CG1/CG4 between the clamping switch QM1/QM4 and the gate terminal SS1/SS4 or the reference potential terminal on the semiconductor switch Q1/Q4 – see Miyazaki, Figs. 6-7, col. 13, lines 44-64).
For claim 8, Miyazaki discloses a power module for a converter (Fig. 35 of Miyazaki discloses a power module 200 for a converter 42A – see Miyazaki, Fig. 35, col. 30, lines 52-59), comprising:
one or more semiconductor switches connected in parallel (Figs. 17 and 35 of Miyazaki disclose one or more semiconductor switches Q1-Q6 connected in parallel – see Miyazaki, Figs. 17 and 35; col. 19, lines 55-60 and col. 30, lines 63-67;);
a plurality of terminals on the power module for an input current and an output current (Figs. 3A and 17 of Miyazaki disclose a plurality of terminals (P(D1), N(S4), O(D4), O(S1), GT1, GT4, MGT1, MGT4) for an input current and an output current – see Miyazaki, Figs. 3A and 17, col. 7, line 62 through col. 8, line 5 and col. 19, line 61 through col. 20, line 5); and
a plurality of signal pins (GT1, GT4, MGT1, MGT4) for transmitting control signals generated by a driver module in the converter to the one or more semiconductor switches (see Miyazaki, Figs. 3A and 35, col. 8, lines 28-40),
wherein the one or more semiconductor switches (Q1-Q6), terminals, and signal pins in the power module form a module circuit (see Miyazaki, Figs. 3A, 5 and 35, col. 7, line 40 through col. 8, line 27), which also comprises the clamping circuit switch according to claim 1 (see explanation in claim 1 above).
For claim 9, Miyazaki discloses the clamping circuit according to claim 1,
wherein the power module is insulated with insulation (see Miyazaki, Figs. 30-31, col. 27, lines 47-51 and col. 28, lines 15-57),
wherein the signal pins for the power module extend out of a surface of the insulation see Miyazaki, Fig. 31, col. 28, line 15 through col. 29, line 5), and
wherein the clamping circuit is inside the insulation (see Miyazaki, Fig. 32, col. 29, lines 13-51).
For claim 17, Miyazaki discloses the clamping circuit according to claim 3, comprising:
a capacitor between the clamping switch and the gate terminal or the reference potential terminal on the semiconductor switch (Figs. 6-7 of Miyazaki disclose a capacitor CG1/CG4 between the clamping switch QM1/QM4 and the gate terminal SS1/SS4 or the reference potential terminal on the semiconductor switch Q1/Q4 – see Miyazaki, Figs. 6-7, col. 13, lines 44-64).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki et al. (hereinafter Miyazaki, US 10,734,911 B2) in view of Alam et al. (hereinafter Alam, US 10,505,538 B1).
For claim 10, Miyazaki discloses a converter for powering an electric drive in an electric vehicle or hybrid vehicle (Miyazaki discloses a converter for powering an electric drive (see Miyazaki, Fig. 35, col. 30, lines 52-59) which is silent for disclosing in an electric vehicle or hybrid vehicle. However, given that the reference shows the precise structure claimed by the present invention adds nothing to the claimed structure of the circuit, the phenomena, whether it is used in “an electric vehicle” or “hybrid vehicle” is an intended use of the circuit and that does not carry patentable weight. Since the teaching of Miyazaki for a converter for powering an electric drive which can be used in “an electric vehicle” or “hybrid vehicle”. For supporting Alam discloses a converter for powering an electric drive in an electric vehicle or hybrid vehicle (See Alam, Fig. 1, col. 4, line 59 through col. 5, line 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use Miyazaki’s converter for powering an electric drive in an electric vehicle or hybrid vehicle as taught by Alam for purpose of controlling power of electric/hybrid vehicle efficiently), wherein the converter comprises:
a plurality of phase units and a driver module spatially separated from the plurality of phase units (Figs. 3 and 35 of Miyazaki disclose a plurality of phase units U, V, W and a driver module 2 spatially separated from the plurality of phase units U, V, W),
wherein each of the plurality of phase units is assigned a current phase (see Miyazaki, Figs. 3A, 13-14, 28 and 35; col. 7, line 62 through col. 8, line 5; col. 8, lines 41-52; col. 26, lines 53-61), and
wherein the plurality of phase units each have one or more of the power modules according to claim 1 (same as explanation in claim 1 above).
For claim 11, Miyazaki in view of Alam disclose an electric axle drive for an electric vehicle or hybrid vehicle (Fig. 1 of Alam discloses an electric axle drive 18 for an electric vehicle or hybrid vehicle 10 – see Alam, Fig. 1, col. 4, line 59 through col. 5, line 26) comprising:
an electric motor (Fig. 35 of Miyazaki discloses an electric motor 51; and Fig. 1 of Alam discloses an electric motor 26);
a transmission (Fig. 1 of Alam discloses a transmission 14 – see Alam, Fig. 1, col. 5, lines 19-23); and
the converter according to claim 10 (same as explanation in claim 10 above).
For claim 12, Miyazaki in view of Alam disclose an electric vehicle or hybrid vehicle, comprising:
the electric axle drive according to claim 11 (same as explanation in claim 11 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 15-16 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THAI T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837
July 23, 2026