DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 15, and 25-48 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 15, and 25-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim al (US20240129711).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Kim discloses a method performed by a first network node operating as a Centralized Unit, CU (¶0423 discloses the central unit may determine that the MUSIM gap is allowed or needs), the method comprising: determining at least one selected gap configuration by the first network node operating as the CU; and sending, to a second network node operating as a Distributed Unit, DU, the at least one selected gap configuration (¶0500 discloses that the base station central unit may transmit the first MUSIM gap to … a base station distributed unit of the base station), the at least one selected gap configuration selected for maintaining a first connection between a user equipment, UE, and a first network associated with a first subscriber identity of the UE while the UE performs actions on a second network associated with a second subscriber identity of the UE (Fig. 23 and discloses an example of MUSIM gap time without leaving an RRC connected state in a first network. A wireless device (multi-USIM device) may operate at least two universal subscriber identity modules. For example, a first USIM of the wireless device may be associated with a first network. A second USIM of the wireless device may be associated with a second network).
Regarding claim 15, the cited reference Kim discloses a method performed by a second network node operating as a Distributed Unit, DU (¶0432 discloses the base station distributed unit may determine a MUSIM gap), the method performs substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is drawn to a first network node operating as a Centralized Unit, CU performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 26, the cited reference Kim further discloses adapted to receive at least one preferred gap configuration from the UE, wherein the first network node is adapted to communicate with the second network node to configure the selected gap configuration in response to receiving the at least one preferred gap configuration from the UE (¶0500 discloses that a base station central unit of a base station may determine a first MUSIM gap based on preferred MUSIM gap information received from a wireless device. The base station central unit may transmit the first MUSIM gap to the wireless device and a base station distributed unit of the base station. Based on receiving the first MUSIM gap, the base station distributed unit may take into the first MUSIM gap account when transmitting data to the wireless device).
Regarding claim 27, the cited reference Kim further discloses wherein when receiving the at least one preferred gap configuration from the UE the first network node receives a list of a plurality of preferred gap configurations from the UE, and the first network node is adapted to: choose, from the plurality of preferred gap configurations received from the UE, the at least one selected gap configuration to send to the second network node operating as the DU (¶0500 discloses that a MUSIM gap determined by a base station central unit. A base station central unit of a base station may determine a first MUSIM gap based on preferred MUSIM gap information received from a wireless device. The base station central unit may transmit the first MUSIM gap to the wireless device and a base station distributed unit of the base station. ¶0395 discloses that a multi-USIM device may signal the network a preference to be kept in an RRC connected state in Network A while temporarily switching to network B, this may be indicated by a preference of a MUSIM gap. This preference may include a gap information for setup or release of gaps for MUSIM. ¶0396 For example, the network may configure at most 3 gap patterns for multi-USIM purpose: two periodic gaps and a single aperiodic gap. ¶0403 discloses a wireless device may be allowed to transmit an RRC message comprising MUSIM gap information, for setup or release or modify of gaps, which the wireless device prefers. ¶0422 discloses that a wireless device may transmit to a base station an RRC message comprising a MUSIM gap request list for setup or release or modify of gaps. The MUSIM gap request list may comprise one of more preferred MUSIM gap information which the wireless device prefers. ¶0423 discloses that the central unit may determine whether to allow a MUSIM gap or whether a MUSIM gap needs. The central unit may determine that the MUSIM gap is allowed or needs. The central unit may transmit an RRC reconfiguration message comprising a MUSIM configuration. The MUSIM configuration may comprise the (determined) MUSIM gap).
Regarding claim 28, the cited reference Kim further discloses wherein choosing the at least one selected gap configuration from the plurality of preferred gap configurations received from the UE is based on a configuration and/or policy of the first network node operating as the CU (¶0432 discloses that based on receiving the assistance information for the MUSIM gap (e.g., the preferred MUSIM gap information), the base station distributed unit may determine a MUSIM gap. the base station distributed unit may transmit the determined MUSIM gap to the base station central unit. The base station central unit may transmit the determined MUSIM gap to the wireless device. Based on the assistance information for the MUSIM gap, the base station distributed unit may determine an appropriate MSUM gap).
Regarding claim 29, the cited reference Kim further discloses wherein the at least one selected gap configuration chosen by the first network node operating as the CU comprises a single gap configuration (See Fig. 28).
Regarding claim 30, the cited reference Kim further discloses wherein the single gap configuration matches a preferred gap configuration in the list of preferred gap configurations from the UE (¶0422 and ¶0423 disclose that a wireless device may transmit to a base station an RRC message comprising a MUSIM gap request list for setup…of gaps. The MUSIM gap request list may comprise one of more preferred MUSIM gap information which the wireless device prefers) … a central unit of the base station may receive the RRC message. The central unit may determine whether to allow a MUSIM gap or whether a MUSIM gap needs. The central unit may determine that the MUSIM gap is allowed or needs. The central unit may transmit an RRC reconfiguration message comprising a MUSIM configuration. The MUSIM configuration may comprise the (determined) MUSIM gap).
Regarding claim 31, the cited reference Kim further discloses wherein the single gap configuration differs from a preferred gap configuration in the list of preferred gap configurations from the UE (See Fig. 27 and ¶0497 discloses that the base station central unit may transmit to the base station distributed unit the first MUSIM gap via a message. The message may be a context setup request message or a context modification request message. The base station distributed unit may transmit to the base station central unit the second MUSIM gap via a response message).
Regarding claim 32, the cited reference Kim further discloses wherein the first network node is adapted to send, to the second network node operating as the DU, an indication that the second network node is to use the single gap configuration chosen by the first network node operating as the CU (See Fig. 27 and ¶0495 discloses that based on receiving the first MUSIM gap, the base station distributed unit may transmit a second MUSIM gap to the base station central unit. Based on receiving the second MUSIM gap, the base station central unit may transmit the second MUSIM gap to the wireless device).
Regarding claim 33, the cited reference Kim further discloses wherein the first network node is adapted to send, to the second network node operating as the DU, an indication that the second network node is to further select a final preferred gap configuration from the at least one selected gap configuration received from the first network node operating as the CU (See Fig. 27 and ¶0495 discloses that based on receiving the first MUSIM gap, the base station distributed unit may transmit a second MUSIM gap to the base station central unit. Based on receiving the second MUSIM gap, the base station central unit may transmit the second MUSIM gap to the wireless device).
Regarding claim 34, the cited reference Kim further discloses wherein the first network node is adapted to send, to the second network node operating as the DU, an indication that the second network node is to further select a final preferred gap configuration from the at least one selected gap configuration received from the first network node operating as the CU (See Fig. 27 shown above).
Regarding claim 35, the cited reference Kim further discloses wherein the first network node is adapted to: receive, from the second network node operating as the DU, the final preferred gap configuration; and send the final preferred gap configuration to the UE (See Fig. 27).
Regarding claim 36, the cited reference Kim further discloses wherein the first network node is adapted to communicate the at least one selected gap configuration to the UE (Fig. 25).
Regarding claim 37, the cited reference Kim further discloses wherein the at least one selected gap configuration comprises at least one selected Multiple Universal Subscriber Identity Module, MUSIM, gap (¶0452 discloses that the gap may be a MUSIM gap).
Regarding claim 38, the cited reference Kim further discloses wherein the at least one
selected gap configuration indicates at least one of the following: a gap length, a gap periodicity, a starting point, and an offset (¶0399 discloses that the MUSIM gap information may comprise a gap starting position, a gap length, and a gap repetition period).
Regarding claim 39, the cited reference Kim discloses a second network node operating as a Distributed Unit, DU (¶0432 discloses base station distributed unit), adapted to performs substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 40, the cited reference Kim further discloses adapted to determine, based on a configuration and/or policy, whether the second network node operating as the DU accepts the at least one selected gap configuration from the first network node operating as the CU (¶0432 discloses that the base station distributed unit may determine whether the MUSIM gap is allowed or the MUSIM needs. The base station distributed unit may indicate the determining to the base station central unit).
Regarding claim 41, the cited reference Kim further discloses wherein: the at least one selected gap configuration is used by the second network node operating as the DU when the second network node accepts the at least one selected gap configuration from the first network node operating as the CU, or the final preferred gap configuration is transmitted to the first network node operating as the CU when the second network node determines not to accept the at least one selected gap configuration from the first network node (¶0432 discloses that the base station distributed unit may determine whether the MUSIM gap is allowed or the MUSIM needs. The base station distributed unit may indicate the determining to the base station central unit… The base station central unit may indicate the determining to the wireless device).
Regarding claim 42, the cited reference Kim further discloses wherein the at least one selected gap configuration from the first network node operating as the CU comprises at least one of: at least one preferred gap configuration of the UE, information indicating one or more supported gap configurations of the UE, and information indicating one or more supported gap configurations of the first network node operating as the CU (See Fig. 28).
Regarding claim 43, the cited reference Kim discloses the second network performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 29. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 29.
Regarding claim 44, the cited reference Kim discloses the second network performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 30. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 30.
Regarding claim 45, the cited reference Kim discloses the second network performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 32. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 32.
Regarding claim 46, the cited reference Kim discloses the second network performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 33. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 33.
Regarding claim 47, the cited reference Kim discloses the second network performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 37. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 37.
Regarding claim 48, the cited reference Kim discloses the second network performing
substantially the same features of the method of claim 38. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 38.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Respectfully submitted,
/ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462