DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed February 25, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 – 5, 7, 8, 11 – 16, 18 – 22 and 38 are pending in the application with claims 6, 9, 10, 17, 23 – 37 and 39 – 57 being cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jin et al. (CN 110447408A – herein after Jin).
In reference to claim 1, Jin discloses a drive module (motor module) for a pump system (“for a pump system” being an intended use; see MPEP 2111.02 II), the drive module configured to power movement of a fluid displacer (fan 240; see fig. 19) to cause the fluid displacer to pump a fluid (gas/air), the drive module comprising:
an electric motor (“motor”; see ¶82 of translation: “..a cylindrical outer cover 12 that covers the motor..”);
a handle (formed by components 1+2) mounted to a motor housing (motor housing formed by components 12+6; see ¶82-¶83 of translation: handle is considered to be “mounted to” component 6 of the motor housing) of the electric motor, the handle including a first housing part (2; see fig. 3) and a second housing part (1; see figs. 1-2) that are assembled together and define a channel (“space”, as evident from figs. 2-4), wherein a plurality of ribs (241, 243, 244; see figs. 2-3 and 11 and ¶58 of translation) are disposed within the handle, the plurality of ribs defining the channel; and
a cord (33; see figs. 1 and 4) extending through a portion of the handle (1+2) and into the motor housing (as evident from figs. 1, 3 and 5; note the lead lines of the cord shown as being coupled rear/left side of component 344 which is covered by the motor housing in view of the assembled state of the apparatus seen in fig. 1; thus, the cord is considered to be extending “into” the motor housing), the cord electrically connected with the electric motor (inherent feature), the cord extending within the channel and held by the plurality of ribs (as evident from figs. 4, 11 and disclosure in ¶58 of translation);
wherein a first subset of ribs (241; see fig. 11) of the plurality of ribs is formed on the first housing part (2) and a second subset of ribs (243, 244; see fig. 3) of the plurality of ribs is formed on the second housing part (1); and
wherein the first subset of ribs (241) extend partially around the cord (see fig. 4 and ¶58 of translation).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bowerman et al. (US 5,329,666 – herein after Bowerman).
In reference to claim 22, Bowerman discloses a drive module (motor module) for a pump system (“for a pump system” being an intended use; see MPEP 2111.02 II), the drive module configured to power movement of a fluid displacer (fan 240; see fig. 19) to cause the fluid displacer to pump a fluid (gas/air), the drive module comprising:
an electric motor (24, see fig. 19) having a stator (200, see fig. 20) and a rotor (referred as “armature”; see col. 17, lines 61-62) configured to rotate on a rotational axis (rotational axis being in ↨ direction in view of fig. 20);
a handle (14, see fig. 19) mounted to a motor housing (26, see fig. 19 or see fig. A below) of the electric motor, the handle including a first aperture (see fig. A below: labeled “o1”) spaced away from the stator (200) in a first axial direction (in ← direction; in view of fig. A below) along the rotational axis (labeled “R.A”; in view of fig. A below), a second aperture (see fig. A below: labeled “o2”) spaced away from the stator (200) in a second axial direction (in → direction; in view of fig. A below) along the rotational axis (labeled “R.A”; in view of fig. A below) opposite the first axial direction (in ← direction; in view of fig. A below), and a channel (“space”, as evident from assembled state of parts 28 and 30 seen in fig. 1) extending between the first aperture and the second aperture; and
a cord (20, see fig. 1 and fig. 20) extending through the channel and into the motor housing through the first aperture (as evident from fig. A below), the cord projecting out of the handle through the second aperture (as evident from fig. A below), and the cord electrically connected with the electric motor (as evident from fig. A below);
wherein the first aperture (see fig. A below: labeled “o1”) is oriented normal to a plane (see fig. A below: plane being into and out of the page) extending along the rotational axis (“R.A”) of the electric motor such that the cord extends through the first aperture and towards the plane (cord extending in ↓ direction towards the plane in view of fig. A below), and wherein the second aperture (see fig. A below: labeled “o1”) is oriented axially relative to the rotational axis of the electric motor (the horizontal centerline corresponding the second aperture is in axial direction relative to the rotational axis “R.A”; see fig. A below).
Fig. A: Edited fig. 20 of Bowerman to show claim interpretation.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Franek Josef (GB 2107424A – herein after Franek).
Franek discloses a drive module (module viewed as being formed by 1+2; see fig. 1) for a pump system (“for a pump system” being an intended use; see MPEP 2111.02 II), the drive module configured to power movement of a fluid displacer (71) to cause the fluid displacer to pump a fluid (air), the drive module comprising:
an electric motor (45) including a motor housing (2) and an electromagnetic portion formed by a stator (inherent feature) and a rotor (inherent feature) configured to rotate on a rotational axis (rotational axis being in ↨ direction in view of fig. 1), the electromagnetic portion disposed within the motor housing (2);
a handle (3) mounted to the motor housing (2), the handle radially overlapping (in ↔ direction in view of fig. 1) with at least a portion of the electromagnetic portion (formed by stator) of the electric motor (45), a first end (end 63, see fig. 1) of the handle extending into the motor housing (2) to axially overlap (overlap in ↔ direction) with the electromagnetic portion (formed by stator) of the electric motor (45); and
a cord (74) extending through a portion of the handle (3) and into the motor housing (2), the cord electrically connected with the electric motor (as evident from fig. 1: see wire(s) 83 of the cord connected with the motor 45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5, 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowerman et al. (US 5,329,666 – herein after Bowerman) in view of Jin et al. (CN 110447408A – herein after Jin).
In reference to claim 1, Bowerman teaches a drive module (motor module) for a pump system (“for a pump system” being an intended use; see MPEP 2111.02 II), the drive module configured to power movement of a fluid displacer (fan 240; see fig. 19) to cause the fluid displacer to pump a fluid (gas/air), the drive module comprising:
an electric motor (24, see fig. 19);
a handle (14, see fig. 19) mounted to a motor housing (26, see fig. 19) of the electric motor, the handle including a first housing part (part 28, see fig. 19; this part 28 forms half portion of the handle 14) and a second housing part (part 30, see fig. 19; this part 30 forms other half portion of the handle 14) that are assembled together and define a channel (“space”, as evident from assembled state of parts 28 and 30 seen in fig. 1), wherein a plurality of ribs (“ribs” feature are evident from figs. 18 and 19) are disposed within the handle, the plurality of ribs defining the channel; and
a cord (20, see fig. 1 and fig. 20) extending through a portion of the handle (14) and into the motor housing (26), the cord electrically connected with the electric motor (24), the cord extending within the channel (inherent feature in view of fig. 1).
Bowerman remains silent on the handle, wherein the cord is held by the plurality of ribs, wherein a first subset of ribs of the plurality of ribs is formed on the first housing part and a second subset of ribs of the plurality of ribs is formed on the second housing part; and wherein the first subset of ribs extend partially around the cord.
However, Jin teaches a handle, wherein the cord (33; see figs. 1 and 4) extending within the channel and held by the plurality of ribs (as evident from figs. 4, 11 and disclosure in ¶58 of translation), wherein a first subset of ribs (241; see fig. 11) of the plurality of ribs is formed on the first housing part (2) and a second subset of ribs (243, 244; see fig. 3) of the plurality of ribs is formed on the second housing part (1); and wherein the first subset of ribs (241) extend partially around the cord (see fig. 4 and ¶58 of translation).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first and second housing parts of the handle in the drive module of Bowerman for provision of a first subset of ribs of the plurality of ribs on the first housing part that extend partially around the cord and a second subset of ribs of the plurality of ribs on the second housing part as taught by Jin for the purpose of firmly locking the power cord, as recognized by Jin (see ¶59 of translation).
In reference to claim 2, Bowerman teaches the drive module, wherein:
the cord (20) extends out of the handle (14) through a first aperture (see fig. A above) and into the motor housing (26), the first aperture disposed within the motor housing (as evident from fig. 20 or fig. A above); and
the cord (72+82) extends out of the handle through a second aperture (see fig. A above) and to a location outside of the motor housing (26).
In reference to claim 3, Bowerman teaches the drive module (see fig. A above), wherein a portion of the cord (20) extending through the first aperture is disposed at an angle to a portion of the cord (20) extending through the second aperture.
Bowerman remains silent on the portion of the cord extending through the first aperture is disposed “orthogonal” to a portion of the cord extending through the second aperture.
It has been held that a change in shape in an obvious matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed subject matter was significant. See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. Since applicant in the instant application has not disclosed any criticality associated with claimed “orthogonal” relationship (for instance, see ¶51 of pg. pub of the instant application), it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have made the handle and/or portions of the cord of Bowerman of any configuration that was suitable for the intended use or for a particular purpose/application. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Bowerman’s drive module to perform equally well with claimed orthogonal relationship between the portion of the cord extending through the first aperture and the portion of the cord extending through the second aperture.
In reference to claim 4, Bowerman teaches the drive module, wherein the first aperture (see fig. A above) is oriented (see directional arrow labeled “o1”) normal to a plane extending along a rotational axis (labeled “R.A” in fig. A above) of the electric motor (24) and the second aperture (see fig. A above) is oriented (see directional arrow labeled “o2”) in inclined manner relative to the rotational axis of the electric motor (24).
Bowerman remains silent on the drive module, wherein the second aperture is oriented “axially” relative to the rotational axis of the electric motor.
It has been held that a change in shape in an obvious matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed subject matter was significant. See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. Since applicant in the instant application has not disclosed any criticality associated with claimed “axial” orientation for the second aperture relative to the rotational axis of the electric motor (for instance, see ¶50-¶51 of pg. pub of the instant application), it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have made the handle and/or apertures of the handle of Bowerman of any configuration that was suitable for the intended use or for a particular purpose/application. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Bowerman’s drive module to perform equally well with claimed axial orientation of the second aperture.
In reference to claim 5, Bowerman teaches the drive module, wherein (rotate fig. A above by 90° in clockwise direction) the first aperture is oriented horizontally (see direction/orientation labeled “o1” in fig. A above) and the second aperture is oriented (see direction/orientation labeled “o2” in fig. A above).
Bowerman remains silent on the second aperture being oriented “vertically”.
It has been held that a change in shape in an obvious matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed subject matter was significant. See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. Since applicant in the instant application has not disclosed any criticality associated with claimed “vertical” orientation for the second aperture (for instance, see ¶50 of pg. pub of the instant application), it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have made the handle and/or apertures of the handle of Bowerman of any configuration that was suitable for the intended use or for a particular purpose/application. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Bowerman’s drive module to perform equally well with claimed vertical orientation of the second aperture.
In reference to claim 7, Bowerman teaches the drive module, wherein the handle (14) is oriented vertically [in view of frame of reference obtained by rotating fig. B above by 90° in clockwise direction: handle 14 is oriented in vertical (↨) direction].
In reference to claim 15, Bowerman teaches the drive module, wherein a grip aperture (labeled “g.a.” in fig. A above) is formed between the handle (14) and the motor housing (26).
Claims 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowerman in view of Jin and Wheeler, Roger D. (US 5,332,156 – herein after Wheeler).
Regarding claim 18,
Bowerman teaches the drive module, wherein the first housing part (28) is secured to the second housing part (30).
Bower remains silent on the drive module, wherein the first housing part is secured to the second housing part by a plurality of clips.
However, Wheeler teaches a handle (17; see figs. 1-2) formed from first and second housing parts (12, 13) and wherein the first housing part is secured to the second housing part by a plurality of clips (spring clips 44, 45).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further secure the first and second housing parts in the drive module of Bowerman using a plurality of clips as taught by Wheeler for the purpose of eliminating the need for screws to secure the first and second housing parts, while facilitating removal of the first and second housing parts for maintenance reasons, as recognized by Wheeler (see col. 3, lines 59-65).
Regarding claim 19,
Bowerman, as modified, remains silent on the drive module, wherein a first clip of the plurality of clips (using the teaching of Wheeler) engages the handle (modified handle 14 of Bowerman) from an outer side (top side in view of fig. B above) of the handle oriented away (↑, in view of fig. B above) from the motor housing (26), and wherein a second clip of the plurality of clips (using the teaching of Wheeler) engages the handle (modified handle 14 of Bowerman) from an inner side (bottom side in view of fig. B above) of the handle oriented towards (↓, in view of fig. B above) the motor housing (26).
Since applicant in the instant application has not disclosed any criticality associated with claimed “engagement of clips from a particular side of the handle” (for instance, see ¶76 of pg. pub of the instant application), it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a first clip of the plurality of clips engages the handle from an outer side of the handle oriented away from the motor housing, and wherein a second clip of the plurality of clips engages the handle from an inner side of the handle oriented towards the motor housing in the modified Bowerman’s drive module as a matter of design choice. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the modified Bowerman’s drive module to perform equally well with claimed engagement of clips from a particular side of the handle.
Regarding claim 20,
Bowerman, as modified, teaches the drive module, wherein (in view of figs. 2 and 6 – 8 of Wheeler) each clip (clips 44 and 45) of the plurality of clips extends only partially around the handle (in its assembled state with the handle).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 15, 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sigel et al. (GB 2303972A – herein after Sigel) in view of Jin et al. (CN 110447408A – herein after Jin).
In reference to claim 1, Sigel teaches a drive module (see fig. 3) for a pump system (system made of motor and pump), the drive module configured to power movement of a fluid displacer (of barrel pump, see page 6, lines 4-25) to cause the fluid displacer to pump a fluid, the drive module comprising:
an electric motor (10);
a handle (68) mounted to a motor housing (12+14+34) of the electric motor; and
a cord (70) extending through a portion of the handle (68) and into the motor housing (12+14+34), the cord electrically connected with the electric motor (as evident from fig. 3).
Sigel remains silent on the drive module wherein the handle includes a first housing part and a second housing part that are assembled together and define a channel, wherein a plurality of ribs are disposed within the handle, the plurality of ribs defining the channel, the cord extending within the channel and held by the plurality of ribs, wherein a first subset of ribs of the plurality of ribs is formed on the first housing part and a second subset of ribs of the plurality of ribs is formed on the second housing part; and wherein the first subset of ribs extend partially around the cord.
However, Jin teaches a handle (formed by components 1+2) including a first housing part (2; see fig. 3) and a second housing part (1; see figs. 1-2) that are assembled together and define a channel (“space”, as evident from figs. 2-4), wherein a plurality of ribs (241, 243, 244; see figs. 2-3 and 11 and ¶58 of translation) are disposed within the handle, the plurality of ribs defining the channel; a cord (33; see figs. 1 and 4) extending through a portion of the handle (1+2) and into the motor housing (as evident from figs. 1, 3 and 5; note the lead lines of the cord shown as being coupled rear/left side of component 344 which is covered by the motor housing in view of the assembled state of the apparatus seen in fig. 1; thus, the cord is considered to be extending “into” the motor housing), the cord electrically connected with the electric motor (inherent feature), the cord extending within the channel and held by the plurality of ribs (as evident from figs. 4, 11 and disclosure in ¶58 of translation); wherein a first subset of ribs (241; see fig. 11) of the plurality of ribs is formed on the first housing part (2) and a second subset of ribs (243, 244; see fig. 3) of the plurality of ribs is formed on the second housing part (1); and wherein the first subset of ribs (241) extend partially around the cord (see fig. 4 and ¶58 of translation).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the handle in the drive module of Sigel from two separate housing parts as taught by Jin for the purpose of forming a modularized structure that enhances the assembly efficiency of the components. Furthermore, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlicnrnan, 168 USPQ 177, 179. Additionally, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further provide a first subset of ribs of the plurality of ribs on the first housing part that extend partially around the cord and a second subset of ribs of the plurality of ribs on the second housing part as taught by Jin for the purpose of firmly locking the power cord, as recognized by Jin (see ¶59 of translation).
In reference to claim 2, Sigel teaches the drive module, wherein : the cord (70) extends (see fig. 3) out of the handle through a first aperture (top aperture) and into the motor housing (12+14+34), the first aperture disposed within the motor housing (as evident from fig. 3); and the cord (70) extends out of the handle (68) through a second aperture (bottom aperture) and to a location outside of the motor housing (as evident from fig. 3).
In reference to claim 4, Sigel teaches the drive module (see fig. 3), wherein the first aperture (top aperture) is oriented normal to a plane extending along a rotational axis (↨ axis) of the electric motor (the asserted first aperture in view of its radial direction is oriented perpendicular to a vertical plane extending along the asserted rotational axis) and the second aperture (bottom aperture) is oriented axially relative to the rotational axis of the electric motor (the asserted second aperture in view of its axial direction is oriented parallel to the asserted rotational axis).
In reference to claim 7, Sigel teaches the drive module, wherein the handle (68) is oriented vertically [in view of fig. 3: handle 68 is oriented in vertical (↨) direction].
In reference to claim 8, Sigel teaches the drive module, wherein the cord (70) extends from the handle (68) and into the motor housing (12+14+34) at an interface (labeled “i1” in fig. B below) between a top end of the handle (labeled “t.e.h.” in fig. B below) and a top end of the electric motor (labeled “t.e.m.” in fig. B below), and wherein the handle (68) interfaces with the electric motor (10) at a first interface location (labeled “l1” in fig. B below) between the top end of the handle and the top end of the electric motor and at a second interface location (labeled “l2” in fig. B below) between a bottom end of the handle (labeled “b.e.h.” in fig. B below) and a bottom end of the electric motor (labeled “b.e.m.” in fig. B below).
Fig. B: Edited fig. 3 of Sigel to show claim interpretation.
In reference to claim 15, Sigel teaches the drive module, wherein a grip aperture (labeled “g.a.” in fig. B above) is formed between the handle (68) and the motor housing (12+14+34).
In reference to claim 16, Sigel teaches the drive module, wherein the grip aperture is fully surrounded by the handle and the motor housing (as evident from fig. B above).
In reference to claim 21, Sigel, as modified, teaches a pump assembly (see fig. 3 of Sigel) comprising: a pump module (formed by barrel pump; see page 6, lines 4-25 in Sigel) having the fluid displacer (pumping element) and configured to be supported by a fluid tank (the asserted pump module is capable of being supported by a fluid tank); and the drive module of claim 1 removably mountable to the pump module (in view of quick-action coupling device 27 discussed on page 6, lines 20-23 of Sigel).
Claims 1 and 11 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riddell Arthur et al. (US 1,827,372 – herein after Riddell) in view of Jin et al. (CN 110447408A – herein after Jin).
In reference to claim 1, Riddell teaches a drive module (see fig. 1) for a pump system (“for a pump system” being an intended use; see MPEP 2111.02 II), the drive module configured to power movement of a fluid displacer to cause the fluid displacer to pump a fluid (“drive module” is capable of providing power movement as claimed), the drive module comprising:
an electric motor (11);
a handle (14) mounted to a motor housing (casing surrounding motor components such as stator and rotor) of the electric motor, the handle includes a first housing part (23) and a second housing part (24) that are assembled together and define a channel (space); and
a cord (19) extending through a portion of the handle (14) and into the motor housing (for instance, one of the leads 19 passes through tube 46 into socket member 17 and from member 17 to the motor 11; see lines 77-79: “The other lead 19 passes through a hollow tube 46 of insulation into member 17, thence to the motor 11”), the cord electrically connected with the electric motor (as evident from fig. 3), the cord extending within the channel.
Riddell remains silent on the drive module wherein a plurality of ribs are disposed within the handle, the plurality of ribs defining the channel, the cord held by the plurality of ribs, wherein a first subset of ribs of the plurality of ribs is formed on the first housing part and a second subset of ribs of the plurality of ribs is formed on the second housing part; and wherein the first subset of ribs extend partially around the cord.
However, Jin teaches a handle (formed by components 1+2) wherein a plurality of ribs (241, 243, 244; see figs. 2-3 and 11 and ¶58 of translation) are disposed within the handle, wherein a first subset of ribs (241; see fig. 11) of the plurality of ribs is formed on the first housing part (2; see fig. 3) and a second subset of ribs (243, 244; see fig. 3) of the plurality of ribs is formed on the second housing part (1; see figs. 1-2); and wherein the first subset of ribs (241) extend partially around the cord (see fig. 4 and ¶58 of translation).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first and second housing parts of the handle in the drive module of Riddell for provision of a first subset of ribs of the plurality of ribs on the first housing part that extend partially around the cord and a second subset of ribs of the plurality of ribs on the second housing part as taught by Jin for the purpose of firmly locking the power cord, as recognized by Jin (see ¶59 of translation).
In reference to claim 11, Riddell teaches the drive module, wherein: the handle (14) is mounted to the motor housing (“casing” in fig. C below) at a first bracket (“first bracket” = 28 or 30) and a second bracket (“second bracket” = 46+17); and at least one of the first bracket and the second bracket is mounted to the motor housing by at least one fastener (component 17 of the asserted second bracket is coupled to motor’s casing using a fastener; see lines 87-90: “This pedestal has a circular portion 16 that extends into a socket provided in a member 17 fastened to the bottom of motor 11”).
Fig. C: Edited fig. 1 of Riddell to show claim interpretation.
In reference to claim 12, Riddell teaches the drive module, wherein the first bracket (30) is formed by the motor housing (component 30 is considered to be part of the motor housing, i.e. motor housing = casing around stator and rotor components of the motor + 30) and the second bracket (46+17) is mounted to the motor housing by the at least one fastener (component 17 of the asserted second bracket is coupled to motor’s casing using a fastener; see lines 87-90: “This pedestal has a circular portion 16 that extends into a socket provided in a member 17 fastened to the bottom of motor 11”).
In reference to claim 13, Riddell teaches the drive module, wherein the first bracket (28) includes a projection (38+37) configured to extend into a slot (groove within top potion) of the handle (14).
In reference to claim 14, Riddell teaches the drive module, wherein the first bracket (28) is disposed at a top end of the handle (see fig. C above: labeled “t.e.”) and the second bracket (46+17) is disposed at a bottom end of the handle (see fig. C above: labeled “b.e.”).
Response to Arguments
The following arguments filed February 25, 2026 have been fully considered:
With respect to independent claim 1: The amendment to this independent claim changed the scope of the claim. The arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection presented for this claim over newly found reference of Jin.
With respect to independent claim 22: The amendment to this independent claim changed the scope of the claim. As a result, new ground(s) of rejections have been made over reconsideration of previously cited, but not relied upon, prior art of Bowerman. Thus, the arguments are moot.
With respect to independent claim 38: The arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection presented for this claim over newly found reference of Franek.
Conclusion
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746