DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
1. Acknowledgement is made of the preliminary amendment received on 8/20/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 16-20 are new.
Specification
2. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
3. The claims are objected because of the following reasons:
Re claims 11 & 16: delete “claim 7” and insert --claim 8--, because first annular grooves and second annular groove previously claimed in claim 8.
Re claim 15, line 6: in front “each”, delete “the”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 7, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukuoka (US 2021/0104581).
Re claim 1, Fukuoka teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-2, [0079, 0133, 0136], a light-emitting assembly, comprising:
-a base substrate (130) having a first surface and a second surface;
-a color conversion layer (132) disposed on the first surface of the base substrate (130);
-a light-emitting unit (100) disposed on a side of the color conversion layer (132) away from the base substrate (130), wherein the light-emitting unit (100) emits light for exiting the second surface of the base substrate (130) after passing through the color conversion layer (132); and
-a light-shielding structure (133) having a light-shielding region (at region of 1330) and a plurality of first hollowed-out regions (between 1330), wherein an orthographic projection of each of the first hollowed-out regions on the base substrate (130) is at least partially overlapped with a light-emitting region of the light- emitting unit (100), and the first hollowed-out regions is used for the light emitted from the light- emitting unit (100) to transmit, and the light-shielding structure (133) is configured to absorb light irradiating to the light-shielding region (e.g., based on material of 133);
wherein at least one of the first surface and the second surface is provided with a light- dimming portion (e.g., based on thickness of 1330) configured to change a propagation direction of light.
Re claim 7, Fukuoka teaches, Figs. 1, 2, 16B-C & 17, [0218], wherein a groove structure (e.g., recesses) is arranged in at least one of the first surface and the second surface (of 130); wherein the light-dimming portion (133A) is disposed in the groove structure, the light-dimming portion (based on thickness of 133A) is configured to reflect light irradiated to the light-dimming portion to a region where an orthographic projection of the light-emitting region of the light-emitting unit (100) is disposed on the base substrate (100), or the light-dimming portion (based on thickness of 133A) is configured to absorb the light irradiated to the light-dimming portion; and the groove structure (recesses) surrounds the light-emitting region of the light-emitting unit (100).
Re claim 14, Fukuoka teaches, Figs. 1, 2, 13 & 14, [0078, 0105], wherein the light-emitting unit (100) comprises a first electrode (119), a second electrode (125), and a light-emitting layer (123) connected to the first electrode (119) and the second electrode (125); and the light- emitting assembly further comprises a driving unit (including transistors TFT) disposed on a side of a plurality of light- emitting units (100) away from the base substrate (130); wherein the driving unit comprises a third electrode, a fourth electrode (e.g., source, drain, gate), and a driving circuit (TFT), wherein both the third electrode and the fourth electrode are connected to the driving circuit (TFT), and the third electrode is connected to the first electrode (119), and the fourth electrode is connected to the second electrode (125) (within panel 10).
Re claim 15, Fukuoka teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-2, 13 & 14, [0078, 0079, 0133, 0136], a display panel, comprising a display backplane (e.g., substrate 100x with TFTs), and a plurality of light-emitting assemblies (100) that are disposed on a side of the display backplane (100x) and arranged in an array;
wherein the display backplane (100x) is configured to provide a drive signal for the light-emitting assemblies (100) to drive the light-emitting assemblies to emit light; and
the each of the plurality of light-emitting assemblies (100) comprises:
-a base substrate (130) having a first surface and a second surface;
-a color conversion layer (132) disposed on the first surface of the base substrate (130);
-a light-emitting unit (100) disposed on a side of the color conversion layer (132) away from the base substrate (130), wherein the light-emitting unit (100) emits light for exiting the second surface of the base substrate (130) after passing through the color conversion layer (132); and
-a light-shielding structure (133) having a light-shielding region (at region of 1330) and a plurality of first hollowed-out regions (between 1330), wherein an orthographic projection of each of the first hollowed-out regions on the base substrate (130) is at least partially overlapped with a light-emitting region of the light- emitting unit (100), and the first hollowed-out regions is used for the light emitted from the light- emitting unit (100) to transmit, and the light-shielding structure (133) is configured to absorb light irradiating to the light-shielding region (e.g., based on material of 133);
wherein at least one of the first surface and the second surface is provided with a light- dimming portion (e.g., based on thickness of 1330) configured to change a propagation direction of light.
5. Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN 116583156 A, English translation attached).
Re claims 1 & 15, Zhang teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-6, abstract, pages 5-7, a display panel, comprising a display backplane (108, 102), and a plurality of light-emitting assemblies (indicated) that are disposed on a side of the display backplane (102, 108) and arranged in an array;
wherein the display backplane (102, 108) is configured to provide a drive signal for the light-emitting assemblies (indicated) to drive the light-emitting assemblies (indicated) to emit light; and
the each of the plurality of light-emitting assemblies (indicated) comprises:
-a base substrate (top layer, indicated) having a first surface and a second surface;
-a color conversion layer (104/105) disposed on the first surface of the base substrate (indicated);
-a light-emitting unit (103) disposed on a side of the color conversion layer (104/105) away from the base substrate (indicated), wherein the light-emitting unit (103) emits light for exiting the second surface of the base substrate after passing through the color conversion layer (104/105); and
-a light-shielding structure (13/113) having a light-shielding region (at region of 13/113) and a plurality of first hollowed-out regions (between 13/113), wherein an orthographic projection of each of the first hollowed-out regions on the base substrate (indicated) is at least partially overlapped with a light-emitting region of the light- emitting unit (103), and the first hollowed-out regions is used for the light emitted from the light- emitting unit (103) to transmit, and the light-shielding structure (13/113) is configured to absorb light irradiating to the light-shielding region (e.g., based on material of 13/113);
wherein at least one of the first surface and the second surface is provided with a light- dimming portion (e.g., based on thickness of 13/113 or consider 106/107) configured to change a propagation direction of light.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 2-6, 8-10, 12, 13 & 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11 & 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the Claim Objections, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shi et al. (US 2023/0247893, Fig. 6) discloses a color film base plate including black matrices on color film substrate.
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 8/10/26