DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/20/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 13, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takekoshi, US 20080164892
Regarding claim 1, Takekoshi teaches an electrically conductive contact pin having a catch portion (Fig. 3-8; portion 30b, 30c of probe 10 ), wherein the catch portion is compressed and deformed inward in a width direction (See Figs. 3-8; ¶[0047]; 30c is a projecting part, portion 30b has flexibility and elasticity and therefore capable of deformation), inserted into a first side opening of a guide hole of a guide plate (Fig. 3-8; contactor 11 with holes 20), and restored while passing through a second side opening of the guide hole and brought into contact with a surface of the guide plate (Fig. 3-8; probe 10 inserted from one side to the other and portion 30c contacts a surface of contactor 11) so that the electrically conductive contact pin is prevented from being separated in a direction of the first side opening (Fig. 3-8; ¶[0047]; portion 30c is provided to lock the probe 10 in place).
Takekoshi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the catch portion is a lower catch portion and wherein the surface of the guide plate is a lower surface. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to reverse the parts, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. It would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art to provide a lower end catch portion since inserting the conductive pin in the reversed direction would produce the predictable result of securing the pin and catch portion onto the plate. Please note that in the instant application, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 2, Takekoshi teaches wherein the electrically conductive contact pin comprises: a first connection portion; a second connection portion; a support portion extending in a length direction; and an elastic portion connected to at least one of the first connection portion and the second connection portion and elastically deformable along the length direction, wherein the lower catch portion is connected to the support portion (Fig. 5; first and second connection portion being 40, and 40a; middle of support portion 30; elastic portion 30b).
Regarding claim 3, Takekoshi teaches wherein the electrically conductive contact pin comprises: a first connection portion; a second connection portion; a support portion extending in a length direction; and an elastic portion connected to at least one of the first connection portion and the second connection portion and elastically deformable along the length direction, wherein the lower catch portion is connected to the second connection portion (Same reasoning as that of claim 2; all elements are essentially connected).
Regarding claim 4, Takekoshi teaches wherein the lower catch portion comprises an inclined portion inclined inward in the width direction (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Takekoshi teaches wherein the lower catch portion further comprises a shoulder portion extending linearly from an end of the inclined portion, wherein when the lower catch portion is restored while passing through the second side opening of the guide hole, an upper surface of the shoulder portion is brought into contact with the lower surface of the guide plate to prevent the electrically conductive contact pin from being separated in the direction of the first side opening (fig. 3; inherent in securing the catch portion).
Regarding claim 6, Takekoshi teaches wherein the lower catch portion further comprises a shoulder portion protruding inward in the width direction from an end of the inclined portion, wherein when the lower catch portion is restored while passing through the second side opening of the guide hole, an surface of the shoulder portion is brought into contact with a surface of the guide plate to prevent the electrically conductive contact pin from being separated in the direction of the first side opening (Fig. 3; portion 30c having a shoulder portion which contacts contactor 11). Takekoshi is silent in wherein the surface of the shoulder portion is an upper surface and the surface of the guide plate is a lower surface. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to reverse the parts, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. It would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art to provide a lower end catch portion since inserting the conductive pin in the reversed direction would produce the predictable result of securing the pin and catch portion onto the plate.
Regarding claim 7, Takekoshi teaches wherein the upper surface of the shoulder portion is formed as a flat surface (fig. 3; surface of 30c is flat).
Regarding claim 8, Takekoshi teaches wherein the electrically conductive contact pin further comprises: an auxiliary shoulder portion protruding outward in the width direction on at least a part of the support portion in the length direction, wherein when the lower catch portion is restored while passing through the second side opening of the guide hole, a surface of the auxiliary shoulder portion is brought into contact with a surface of the guide plate to prevent the electrically conductive contact pin from being separated in the direction of the first side opening (Fig. 3; portion 30c having a shoulder portion which contacts contactor 11). Takekoshi is silent in wherein the surface of the auxiliary shoulder portion is an upper surface and the surface of the guide plate is a lower surface. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to reverse the parts, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. It would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art to provide a lower end catch portion since inserting the conductive pin in the reversed direction would produce the predictable result of securing the pin and catch portion onto the plate.
Regarding claim 9, Takekoshi teaches wherein the electrically conductive contact pin further comprises: an upper catch portion corresponding vertically to the lower catch portion in the length direction, wherein the upper catch portion is connected to the support portion and is formed to protrude outward from the support portion in the width direction (Fig. 5; catch 30a).
Regarding claim 10, Takekoshi teaches wherein the first connection portion comprises: a contact portion; and an upward protrusion (triangle shape of 40a comprises a contact portion considered to be the tip of triangle and the upward protrusion considered a side of the triangle).
Regarding claim 13, Takekoshi teaches the electrically conductive contact pin of claim 2, and wherein the electrically conductive contact pin further comprises: a flange portion connected to at least one of the first connection portion and the elastic portion and provided between the support portion and the elastic portion (portion 30a is a flange and provided between the middle portion and portion 30b).
Regarding claim 15, Takekoshi discloses the electrically conductive contact pin of claim 2, wherein the electrically conductive contact pin further comprises: a stopper portion connected to at least one of the support portion and the elastic portion and extending in the width direction (portion 30c is a stopper).
Regarding claim 16, Takekoshi teaches wherein the electrically conductive contact pin further comprises: a stopper portion formed by a portion recessed inward in the width direction on at least a part of the support portion (fig. 3; portion between 30b and 30c which is slightly recessed inward).
Claim(s) 11-12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takekoshi, US 20080164892 in view of Rikimaru et al., JP 2007218776
Regarding claim 11, Takekoshi teaches the electrically conductive contact pin of claim 2. Takekoshi is silent in wherein the first connection portion comprises: a contact portion; a contact cavity formed in the contact portion; and a contact protrusion extending in the length direction from an upper surface of the contact portion. Rikimaru teaches a first connection portion comprises: a contact portion; a contact cavity formed in the contact portion; and a contact protrusion extending in the length direction from an upper surface of the contact portion (Fig. 2; contact with connection part 25 with opening 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Rikimaru into Takekoshi since the substitution of the contact portion would produce the predictable result of conducting the electrical signal.
Regarding claim 12, Takekoshi teaches the electrically conductive contact pin of claim 2. Takekoshi is silent in wherein the second connection portion comprises: a connection body; a connection cavity formed in the connection body; and at least one pad connection protrusion provided on a lower surface of the connection body. Rikimaru teaches a second connection portion comprises: a connection body; a connection cavity formed in the connection body; and at least one pad connection protrusion provided on a lower surface of the connection body (Fig. 2; contact with connection part 25 with opening 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Rikimaru into Takekoshi since the substitution of the contact portion would produce the predictable result of conducting the electrical signal.
Regarding claim 14, Takekoshi teaches the electrically conductive contact pin of claim 13. Takekoshi is silent in wherein the flange portion extends in the length direction from a lower surface of the first connection portion and is provided between the support portion and the elastic portion. Rikimaru teaches wherein the flange portion extends in the length direction from a lower surface of the first connection portion and is provided between a support portion and the elastic portion (Fig. 10; portion 83b between support 83a and elastic portion 84c). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Rikimaru into Takekoshi since the substitution would still produce the predictable result of conducting current to the test part.
Claim(s) 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takekoshi, US 20080164892 in view of An Yun, KR 20180095315
Regarding claim 17, Takekoshi teaches the electrically conductive contact pin of claim 1. Takekoshi is silent wherein the electrically conductive contact pin is formed by stacking a plurality of metal layers in a thickness direction of the electrically conductive contact pin. An Yun teaches wherein an electrically conductive contact pin is formed by stacking a plurality of metal layers in a thickness direction of the electrically conductive contact pin (Fig. 1; layers 100, 110, 120). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of An Yun into Takekoshi for the benefit of providing stronger and more durable contact.
Regarding claim 18, Takekoshi teaches the electrically conductive contact pin of claim 1. Takekoshi is silent in wherein the electrically conductive contact pin comprises: a plurality of fine trenches provided on a side surface thereof. An Yun teaches an electrically conductive contact pin comprises: a plurality of fine trenches provided on a side surface thereof (Fig.1; spring portion 102 or portions 100, 120all comprise trenches on a side. Note: claim does not provide metes and bounds for “fine trenches”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of An Yun into Takekoshi since including the trenches would provide the benefit of adding stretchability for a more flexible pin.
Conclusion
/FEBA POTHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858