DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “a power source” in line 5, it is unclear if this is the same power source as that already recited in line 3.
Claim 5 recites “the one motor bearing being located on a side axially farther,” it is unclear what is the point of reference being compared to for the one motor bearing being farther from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi et al. (US 2012/0091836 A1). Hayashi discloses a transmission device (fig. 1), comprising:
Re claim 1, an input gear (12b) configured to rotate with a power from a power source (13,14); and a counter gear (15) configured to rotate around an axis parallel to a rotational axis of the input gear (fig. 1), the input gear and the counter gear meshing with each other and being arranged in a transmission case (10), the transmission case including, at a bottom part (bottom of 10) therein, an oil storage storing a gear lubricating oil (par [0072]), wherein the transmission case includes a first oil capturing part (fig. 5A) capable of capturing an oil scattered from the input gear (fig. 1 shows the oil flow path arrow extending from the gear meshing between 12b and 15), and the first oil capturing part includes an oil inlet port (annotated fig. 5A below: 101) located, as viewed from an axial direction of the input gear, on a front side in a forward rotation direction of the input gear on a common tangent line of pitch circles of the input gear and the counter gear (fig. 1), and wherein the transmission case is provided with a lubrication target part (13) to be lubricated with the oil captured by the first oil capturing part (fig. 2).
Re claim 2, wherein the transmission case includes an input gear cover (annotated fig. 5A below: 102) that covers the input gear (fig. 1 shows the cover covers 12b from the top) and that is capable of storing an oil in a lower portion of an inner space (oil is stored in the lower inner space 52) of the input gear cover, and the first oil capturing part is arranged inside the input gear cover (fig. 1).
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kosaka (US 2024/0247713 A1). Kosaka discloses a transmission device (fig. 1), comprising:
Re claim 1, an input gear (23) configured to rotate with a power from a power source (2); and a counter gear (33) configured to rotate around an axis (X2) parallel to a rotational axis (S1) of the input gear (fig. 1), the input gear and the counter gear meshing with each other and being arranged in a transmission case (HS), the transmission case including, at a bottom part (bottom of HS) therein, an oil storage storing a gear lubricating oil (par [0056]), wherein the transmission case includes a first oil capturing part (fig. 14: CT3) capable of capturing an oil scattered from the input gear (fig. 14 shows the oil flow path arrow extending from the gear meshing between 23 and 33), and the first oil capturing part includes an oil inlet port (inlet at 760b shown in fig. 12) located, as viewed from an axial direction of the input gear, on a front side in a forward rotation direction of the input gear on a common tangent line of pitch circles of the input gear and the counter gear (fig. 12), and wherein the transmission case is provided with a lubrication target part (fig. 15 shows CT3 has a passage 98 to lubricate FG) to be lubricated with the oil captured by the first oil capturing part.
Re claim 2, wherein the transmission case includes an input gear cover (720,740,760) that covers the input gear (fig. 3, fig. 11-12) and that is capable of storing an oil in a lower portion of an inner space of the input gear cover (lower portion of 740 stores the oil), and the first oil capturing part is arranged inside the input gear cover (fig. 14).
Re claim 3, wherein, in the transmission case, a final driven gear (FG) configured to rotate around an axis (X1) identical to that of the input gear and transmit a rotational force to a drive shaft (5B) is supported via a pair of final driven gear bearings (B2), wherein one final driven gear bearing is attached to an intermediate case (9) coupled to an inner wall of the transmission case (fig. 2), and wherein the inner wall forms the first oil capturing part together with the intermediate case (fig. 2 and fig. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosaka (US 2024/0247713 A1) in view of Yamazaki (JP 2016008646 A). Kosaka discloses the transmission device (as cited above). Kosaka does not disclose:
Re claim 4, wherein the intermediate case includes a through-hole configured to guide, to the one final driven gear bearing, a portion of the oil captured by the first oil capturing part.
However, Yamazaki teaches a transmission device (fig. 1):
Re claim 4, wherein the intermediate case includes a through-hole (41,42) configured to guide, to the one final driven gear bearing (17), a portion of the oil captured by the first oil capturing part (32).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a guide to a final driven gear bearing, as taught by Yamazaki, to lubricate and extend the life of the bearing.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosaka (US 2024/0247713 A1) in view of Shimizu et al. (US 2012/0286607 A1). Hayashi discloses a power unit (fig. 2), comprising:
Re claim 5, a transmission device (3,4); and a motor (2) serving as the a power source, wherein the transmission device comprises: an input gear (23) configured to rotate with a power from a power source; and a counter gear (33) configured to rotate around an axis (X2) parallel to a rotational axis (X1) of the input gear (fig. 1), the input gear and the counter gear meshing with each other and being arranged in a transmission case (7,8), the transmission case including, at a bottom part (bottom of HS) therein, an oil storage storing a gear lubricating oil (par [0056]), wherein the transmission case includes a first oil capturing part (fig. 14: CT3) capable of capturing an oil scattered from the input gear (fig. 14 shows the oil flow path arrow extending from the gear meshing between 23 and 33), and the first oil capturing part includes an oil inlet port (inlet at 760b shown in fig. 12) located, as viewed from an axial direction of the input gear, on a front side in a forward rotation direction of the input gear on a common tangent line of pitch circles of the input gear and the counter gear (fig. 12), and wherein the transmission case is provided with a lubrication target part (fig. 15 shows CT3 has a passage 98 to lubricate FG) to be lubricated with the oil captured by the first oil capturing part, wherein, in a unit case including a motor case (6) for the motor and the transmission case, a motor output shaft (20) of the motor is rotatably supported via two or more motor bearings (B1) arranged at a distance axially.
Re claim 6, wherein the transmission case includes a second oil capturing part (CT2) on a front side in a forward rotation direction of the counter gear relative to the first oil capturing part (fig. 12), the second oil capturing part being capable of capturing an oil scattered from the counter gear (fig. 11-12 show the oil flow arrow from 33 directed into CT2), and wherein the second oil capturing part communicates with the oil supply passage in the transmission case (CT2 has a passage from 77 to 641, the teaching of the Kosaka in view of Shimizu would communicate the oil in both capturing parts to the motor bearing).
Kosaka does not disclose:
Re claim 5, wherein the unit case includes an oil supply passage configured to supply one motor bearing of the two or more motor bearings with the oil captured by the first oil capturing part, the one motor bearing being located on a side axially farther from the transmission device.
However, Shimizu teaches a power unit (fig. 1) wherein:
Re claim 5, wherein the unit case includes an oil supply passage (66) configured to supply one motor bearing (72) of the two or more motor bearings with the oil captured by the first oil capturing part (64), the one motor bearing being located on a side axially farther from the transmission device (fig. 1.
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ an oil supply passage to the motor bearing, as taught by Shimizu, to lubricate and extend the life of the bearing.
Conclusion
The cited prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Minh Truong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654