DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1: Claim 1 recites the limitation “clearcoat coating compositions (Ci)i=1,…,n, wherein each clearcoat composition…results in a clearcoat coating layer” however, the original disclosure does not define the metes and bounds of clearcoat. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the term is determined based on the art and as evidenced by US Patent 6,926,972 (hereafter ‘972), a clearcoat coating composition includes tinted clear coating compositions which may be tinted with any pigment, organic or inorganic (see col. 9, lines 1-10).
Thus, it is apparent that a clearcoat can comprise a pigment that provides a color to the clearcoat and a pigmented semitransparent coating reads on the limitation “clearcoat coating composition”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102 & 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, & 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Go Paint By Numbers (Go Paint By Numbers, Learn Paint By Numbers In 6 Easy Steps 🎨Painting By Numbers Beginner's Guide No Experience Needed; found at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EH1GoM-PxVQ, 10/2/2020; hereafter Paint by Numbers).
Claim 1: Paint by Numbers is directed towards a process of preparing an object comprising a plurality of target areas (a canvas with numbered areas), at least part of the plurality of target areas having a different set of properties (the numbered areas are different shaped and intended for different colors depending on the numbering), and being coated with at least two coatings layers having adjustable properties (sections to be coated with semitransparent paints are first coated with white out to cover up the number, i.e. coated with white out followed by paint, see 5:52-7:00), said process comprising:
identifying at least two target areas (the various areas are numbered and thus more than 2 target areas are identified) and the set of properties associated with each identified target areas (relationship between transparent paints and the numbering system is determined, 3:26-5:47 & 6:57; note #7 & #13 represent semitransparent paint – i.e. clearcoat coating composition), wherein at least two target areas have a different set of properties (#7 & #13 require different paint and thus have different sets of properties),
providing at least two different clearcoat coating compositions wherein each clearcoat coating composition results in a clearcoat coating layer having properties matching a different set of properties identified in step (a) (white out and the 20 paints; #7 & #13 are semitransparent coatings which read on clearcoat coating compositions), and
applying each clearcoat coating composition provided in step (b) onto the target areas associated with the matching set of parameters (6:52-9:03).
If however, it is determined that the level of pigment does not read on a clearcoat coating composition, it is noted that concentration of pigment is a result effective variable based on the desired opacity of the dried paint and it is prima facie obvious to optimize result-effective variables to obtain desired results. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
Additionally, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 2: Each provided clearcoat coating composition is a liquid solvent or water-based coating composition.
Claim 3: The coating compositions have different colors and thus different pigments and thus inherently have different chemical resistance based on the pigment and thus one can be termed to have a high chemical resistance and the second can be termed to have a low chemical resistance.
Claim 6: The desired results in Paint by Numbers are obtained by painting the picture desired and thus it is apparent that the steps are performed.
Claim 7: Solvent is mixed with the supplied paint to obtain the desired paint for application and the desired result is obtained when finished (see 4:20-5:00). Thus it is apparent the required properties are determined and mixing rations are selected to achieve the identified properties.
Claim 8: Different colors of tinted clearcoats are used with mixing the supplied compositions with solvent and thus it is apparent the claimed steps are met (4:20-5:00 & 6:52-9:03).
Claims 10 & 11: As discussed above, Paint by Numbers teaches adding water to the paint prior to use.
Paint by Numbers does not teach if it is done with the brush or prior to placing the brush in the paint.
The Examiner notes that adding solvent to a paint can be done either by wetting the brush and mixing the brush in to the paint or by pour water into the paint and mixing prior to inserting the brush in the paint.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to choose either using the brush to add water or to add water prior to insertion of the brush because they are art recognized alternatives and it is prima facie obvious to choose between art recognized alternatives that would have predictably provided the same desired result.
Claim 12: Each provided clearcoat coating composition is applied onto all target areas having the same set of properties (see 6:52-9:03).
Claim 13: The process further includes a step of curing (see 6:52-9:03).
Claim 14: The target areas have different orientations relative to each other (the orientation of the target areas are relative to the frame of reference and given that the center can be chosen as the point from which orientation can be determined it is apparent that the target areas have different orientations relative to each other as located at different radial orientation from each other).
Claims 4 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paint by Numbers in view of Correction Fluid (Correction Fluid, https://www.madehow.com/Volume-4/Correction-Fluid.html, 3/26/2006; found at https://web.archive.org/web/20060326034059/https://www.madehow.com/Volume-4/Correction-Fluid.html) and Winnie’s Picks (Winnie’s Picks, https://winniespicks.com/collections/paint-by-numbers-for-adults?srsltid=AfmBOoqslMAk-mS90FbW-bvOSINt9wN4hsLguCMkeZmLtXIGgqLjpyy_, https://www.google.com/search?q=%22acrylic%22+paint+by+numbers&safe=active&sca_esv=940aa337a8577638&biw=2502&bih=925&tbs=cdr%3A1%2Ccd_max%3A3%2F15%2F2022&ei=9DYvaeexIdi6qtsPpqW7-Ag&ved=0ahUKEwjn-7OCy5-RAxVYnWoFHabSDo84ChDh1QMIEQ&uact=5&oq=%22acrylic%22+paint+by+numbers&gs_lp=Egxnd3Mtd2l6LXNlcnAiGiJhY3J5bGljIiBwYWludCBieSBudW1iZXJzMgoQABiABBhDGIoFMgUQABiABDIFEAAYgAQyBhAAGAcYHjIGEAAYBxgeMgYQABgHGB4yBhAAGAcYHjIGEAAYBxgeMgUQABiABDIEEAAYHkiKKlCYDViZKHABeACQAQCYAUagAY0BqgEBMrgBA8gBAPgBAZgCA6ACmwHCAg0QABiABBiwAxhDGIoFwgIIEAAYgAQYsAPCAgkQABiwAxgHGB6YAwCIBgGQBgqSBwEzoAfxDLIHATK4B5YBwgcFMC4xLjLIBwo&sclient=gws-wiz-serp, 2/20/2018; hereafter Winnie’s Picks).
Claim 4: Paint By Number does not provide the compositions of the white out or paint (which as noted above are semitransparent and read on tinted clearcoat coating compositions).
Winnie’s Picks is directed towards paint by numbers and teaches that acrylic paint is suitable for doing paint by numbers that provides great results (page 2, Winnie’s Picks).
The Examiner notes that acrylic paint can comprise acrylic binder, a pigment, and a solvent.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the teachings of Winnie’s Pick into Paint by Number and use acrylic paint comprised of a binder because it is a well-recognized type of paint suitable for paint by number which would have predictably provided great results.
Correction Fluid is directed towards white out correction fluid (title) and teaches that the composition typical comprises a pigment, binder, and a solvent (page 2, Correction Fluid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a composition as described by Correction Fluid as the particular white out used during process because it is an art recognized composition of white out and would have predictably provided the desired results.
Thus, the combination teaches coating compositions with binders and it is apparent that the binders are either the same or different and therefore read on the limitation.
If however, it is determined that the level of pigment does not read on a clearcoat coating composition, it is noted that concentration of pigment is a result effective variable based on the desired opacity of the dried paint and it is prima facie obvious to optimize result-effective variables to obtain desired results. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
Additionally, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 9: Paint By Number does not provide the compositions of the white out or paint (which as noted above are semitransparent and read on tinted clearcoat coating compositions).
Winnie’s Picks is directed towards paint by numbers and teaches that acrylic paint is suitable for doing paint by numbers that provides great results (page 2, Winnie’s Picks).
The Examiner notes that acrylic paint can comprise acrylic binder, a pigment, and a solvent.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the teachings of Winnie’s Pick into Paint by Number and use acrylic paint comprised of a binder because it is a well-recognized type of paint suitable for paint by number which would have predictably provided great results.
Correction Fluid is directed towards white out correction fluid (title) and teaches that the composition typical comprises a pigment, binder, and a solvent (page 2, Correction Fluid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a composition as described by Correction Fluid as the particular white out used during process because it is an art recognized composition of white out and would have predictably provided the desired results.
Thus, the combination teaches coating compositions comprising a base component and a hardener (the pigment and the binder).
If however, it is determined that the level of pigment does not read on a clearcoat coating composition, it is noted that concentration of pigment is a result effective variable based on the desired opacity of the dried paint and it is prima facie obvious to optimize result-effective variables to obtain desired results. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
Additionally, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to applicant’s argument that the amendment to recite “clearcoat” overcomes the 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) rejection as being anticipated by Paint by Numbers because Paint by Numbers teaches applying semi-transparent paint and not clearcoat layers; the Office does not find this argument convincing because as noted above in the Claim Interpretation section, clearcoat does not have a special meaning in the art but does at least include coatings with pigments which have transparency and thus the semi-transparent paints and process of Paint by Numbers anticipate the claimed process or in the alternative render it obvious if the concentration of said pigment is not inherently anticipatory of the clearcoat limitation because it is prima facie obvious to optimize concentrations and result-effective variables.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James M Mellott/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759