DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 1, “Set comprising” is unclear. Should this be “An apparatus comprising”.
Claim 1, line 7, the phrase “being intended” is unclear. Is it intended? It is suggested to remove this phrase.
Claim 1, line 8, the phrase “sensibly a shape” is unclear. Is sensibly meant to be approximate or essentially?
Claim 1, line 16, the term “soft” lacks basis for comparison.
Claim1, line 17, the term “hard” lacks basis for comparison.
Claim 3, lines 2 and 3, the term “sensibly” both occurrences is unclear. Is sensibly meant to be approximate or essentially?
Claim 4, line 2, the term “soft” lacks basis for comparison.
Claim 5, lines 2, 4, the term “soft” lacks basis for comparison.
Claim 6, line 2, the term “hard” lacks basis for comparison.
Claim 7, lines 4 and 5, “the material” lacks antecedent basis. It is suggested to write this as “a material of the material evaporation device”.
Claim 8, lines 5-7, all occurrences of “the material” lack antecedent basis.
Claim 9, line 2, “the material” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 10, line 2, “the set” is unclear. Should this be “the apparatus”?
Claim 10, line 3, the term “hard” lacks basis for comparison.
Claim 14, line 8, the term “sensibly” is unclear. Is sensibly meant to be approximate or essentially?
Claim 14, line 16, the term “soft” lacks basis for comparison.
Claim 14, line 17, the term “hard” lacks basis for comparison.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chalk (U.S. Pat. 8,702,572).
At the outset the language “configured to be used in a physical vapor deposition machine (10), the physical vapor deposition machine (10) comprising a vacuum container (12), an ion beam gun (19) and a support member (16), the support member (16) comprising at least one hole, the at least one hole being intended to receive a substrate, a shape of the substrate (33) having sensibly a shape of the at least one hole, the ion beam gun (19) being configured to generate an ion beam toward the support member (16),”… “being configured to obstruct a gap (32) between the at least one hole and the substrate (17) when the substrate is placed in the at least one hole and the obstruction device (33) is placed on the substrate (17)” is viewed as intended use for the obstruction and is given no weight.
The remaining structure will be addressed. Specifically Chalk teaches an obstruction device (33) comprising a casing forming an enclosed chamber, the casing being made of a soft and deformable material, the enclosed chamber being filled with hard elements. (Column 1 lines 60-65)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furusato (JP 2013-217962 A) in view of Kurata et al. (JP 2006-267848 A).
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 11:
Furusato teaches a method for coating a substrate (17), the method comprising: a step (601) of placing the substrate (17) in a hole of a support member (16) of a physical vapor deposition machine (10), and a step (603) of generating an ion beam from an ion beam gun (19) located under the support member (16). (Fig. 5, Paragraphs 0020-0027)
The difference between Furusato and claim 11 is that a step (602) of placing an obstruction device (33) on the substrate (17) to obstruct a gap between the hole and the substrate (33) is not discussed.
Regarding a step (602) of placing an obstruction device (33) on the substrate (17) to obstruct a gap between the hole and the substrate (33) (Claim 11), Kurata et al. teach placing an obstruction device (33) on the substrate (17) to obstruct a gap between the hole and the substrate (33). (Fig. 4, See Abstract)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 12:
Regarding claim 12, Furusato teaches the method also comprising: a step (604) of diffusion of a vapor containing a material. (Paragraph 0022)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 13:
Regarding claim 13, Furusato teaches the material being metal oxides and/or silica. (Paragraph 0022)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Kurata is that it allows for reducing time for treating. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Furusato by utilizing the features of Kurata et al. because it allows for reducing time for treating.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 1-10 are allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach the claimed subject matter in combination with “the obstruction device (33) being configured to obstruct a gap (32) between the at least one hole and the substrate when the substrate (17) is placed in the at least one hole and the obstruction device (33) is placed on the substrate (17) the obstruction device (33) comprising a casing forming an enclosed chamber, the casing being made of a soft and deformable material, the enclosed chamber being filled with hard elements.”
Conclusion
/RODNEY G MCDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794
RM
July 18, 2026