DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II (Claims 10-15) in the reply filed on 03/25/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation to be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is “handling means” in claim 10, wherein the disclosure provides the following corresponding structure on pg. 4: “The upper mould sections can be moved using any suitable handling means. In a particularly preferred embodiment of the invention, the mould section handling means comprises a suitable number of cranes, for example any suitable combination of a mobile bridge crane, a ceiling-mounted bridge crane, a gantry crane, a jib crane, etc.”.
Claim Objections
Claims 11-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Examiner respectfully suggests amending “A wind turbine…” in line 1 of claims 11-15” to “the wind turbine…” to clarify that the wind turbine is in reference to the wind turbine recited in claim 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al. (US20190193304), and further in view of De Waal Malefijt et al. (US20170274563) and Schibsbye (US20120251654).
Regarding claim 10, Davis teaches a wind turbine rotor blade mould (moulding apparatus 40 in Figure 3 and [0029] In accordance with an exemplary embodiment of the invention and as illustrated in FIG. 3, a moulding apparatus 40 for forming rotor blades, such as blades 20 described above), comprising
a lower mould (first mould half 42 ; Figure 3) shaped to mould one side of a rotor blade ([0029] first mould half 42 is configured to be used to at least partially form the first shell half 30 of the blade 20); and
a segmented upper mould (second mould half 44 in Figure 3 and [0032] the second mould shell half 54 includes a root mould shell section 80 and a tip mould shell section 82 which mate at a second mould shell interface 84) shaped to mould the other side of the rotor blade ([0029] the second mould half 44 includes a second contoured mould surface 48 generally corresponding to a negative of the contoured surface of the second shell half 32), the segmented upper mould comprising a root end mould section (root mould shell section 80; Figure 3).
While Davis teaches forming an airfoil (see Figure 2A and [0028] The outer shell 22 may be optimally shaped to give the blade 20 the desired aerodynamic properties to generate lift), fails to explicitly teach the segmented upper mould comprises a number of airfoil mould sections. However, Davis does teach the segmented mould may have more than two sections ([0051] it should be recognized that while the mould halves 42, 44 were described as having only two sections, each mould half 42, 44 may have more than two sections), prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related art for various segmented mould configurations.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a wind turbine rotor blade mould, De Waal Malefijt teaches wherein a segmented upper mould comprises a number of airfoil mould sections (see Figure 13 and Figure 15). The segmented upper mould comprising a number of root end mould sections and airfoil mould sections allows for the manufacturing process to be easily adapted for differences in geometry with minor adjustment to supply chain dynamics. Therefore, wind turbine rotor blades with a variety of geometries can be manufactured at a low cost and high speed ([0012]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the segmented upper mould of Davis comprise a number of root end mould sections and airfoil mould sections, as taught by De Waal Malefijt, for the benefit of manufacturing wind turbine rotor blades with a variety of geometries at a low cost and high speed.
Further, Davis teaches each section of the upper mould is configured for handling by a handling means (turner assembly 90; Figure 3) that effects a sideways displacement of an upper mould section during a mould assembly stage and/or a mould disassembly stage ([0035] The moulding apparatus 40 may include a turner assembly 90 to effectuate movement of the second mould half 44 relative to the first mould half 42. The turner assembly 90 may be positioned between the first and second mould halves 42, 44 when in the opened position and includes a hinge or pivot device such that the second mould half 44 is configured to rotate about a pivot axis when moved toward the closed position). However, Davis fails to teach the handling means comprises cranes (see 35 USC 112(f) above).
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a wind turbine rotor blade mould, Schibsbye teaches a handling means adapted to effect a sideways displacement of an upper mould section during a mould assembly stage and/or a mould disassembly stage that comprises cranes ([0025] This in turn allows the full handling of the mould part as a first mould part of the inventive mould assembly including lifting, rotating and positioning by use of two winch systems on a crane gantry; see Figure 3). A crane allows for mould parts to be realized as fully separated mould parts which increases flexibility in using the mould parts and accessibility of the mould parts between scaffolds, walkways, etc… ([0025] Specialized hinge systems connecting the first mould part to a second mould part are then not necessary and the mould parts can be realized as fully separated independent parts. This allows for increasing the distance between the mould parts which in turn increases accessibility of the mould parts for laying fibre stacks into the mould opening. Due to the increased distance and the missing hinge mechanism it becomes possible to provide for scaffolds, walkways, etc. between the mould parts of a mould assembly. This increases the flexibility in using the mould parts and its also cost-effective).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modify the handling means of Davis modified with De Waal Malefijt with the crane of Schibsbye, for the benefit of realizing fully separated mould parts with increased flexibility in their use and accessibility of the mould parts between scaffolds, walkways, etc.
Examiner notes that the structural limitations directed to the wind turbine rotor blade mould of claim 10 have been either taught or suggested by Davis modified with De Waal Malefijt and Schibsbye, and that “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP 2114.II.). Therefore, the limitation regarding the use of the wind turbine rotor blade mould of claim 10 in the method according to claim 1 does not differentiate the claim apparatus from a prior art apparatus.
Regarding claim 11, Davis modified with De Waal Malefijt and Schibsbye teaches a wind turbine rotor blade mould according to the claim 10. Further, Davis teaches wherein the rotor blade mould comprises a support structure adapted to receive the upper mould ([0032] root support structure 76 for supporting the root mould shell section 70 and a tip support structure 78 for supporting the tip mould shell section 72).
Regarding claim 12, Davis modified with De Waal Malefijt and Schibsbye teaches a wind turbine rotor blade mould according to claim 10.
While Davis teaches forming an airfoil (see Figure 2A and [0028] The outer shell 22 may be optimally shaped to give the blade 20 the desired aerodynamic properties to generate lift), fails to explicitly teach the segmented upper mould comprises two or more airfoil mould sections. However, Davis does teach the segmented mould may have more than two sections ([0051] it should be recognized that while the mould halves 42, 44 were described as having only two sections, each mould half 42, 44 may have more than two sections), prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related art for various segmented mould configurations.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a wind turbine rotor blade mould, De Waal Malefijt teaches the upper segmented mould comprises two or more airfoil mould sections (see Figure 13 and Figure 15). The segmented upper mould comprising a number of root end mould sections and airfoil mould sections allows for the manufacturing process to be easily adapted for differences in geometry with minor adjustment to supply chain dynamics. Therefore, wind turbine rotor blades with a variety of geometries can be manufactured at a low cost and high speed ([0012]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the segmented upper mould of Davis modified with De Waal Malefijt and Schibsbye comprise two or more airfoil mould sections, as taught by De Waal Malefijt, for the benefit of manufacturing wind turbine rotor blades with a variety of geometries at a low cost and high speed.
Regarding claim 14, Davis modified with De Waal Malefijt and Schibsbye teaches a wind turbine rotor blade mould according to claim 10. Further, Davis teaches wherein adjacent upper mould sections comprise connection interfaces adapted to be joined during the mould assembly step and released during the mould disassembly step ([0038] It should be realized, however, that the description may also apply to the adjustment devices for the second mould half 44, [0039], and Figure 4).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al. (US20190193304), De Waal Malefijt et al. (US20170274563) and Schibsbye (US 20120251654), and further in view of Borsting et al. (US20220118726).
Regarding claim 13, Davis modified with De Waal Malefijt and Schibsbye teaches a wind turbine rotor blade mould according to claim 10.
However, Davis fails to teach the mould comprising a root end plate for connection to the root end mould section of the upper mould.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a wind turbine rotor blade mould, Borsting teaches a wind turbine rotor blade mould comprising a root end plate (mounting plate 70 in Figure 17- Figure 19). The root end plate allows for bushings to be arranged correctly on fiber layers on the mould ([0033] fastening devices or bushings may be arranged on the mounting plate, and all the bushings may then be arranged correctly on the fibre layers on the mould. This also speeds up the manufacturing process, since all the fastening members may be arranged on the fibre material in one step, and since fibre layup in the mould and the preparation of root end assembly may be prepared in parallel) and ensures the root end of the blade does not deform during storage ([0035] the rigid mounting plate ensures that the root end of the blade does not deform during storage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the wind turbine rotor blade mould of Davis modified with De Waal Malefijt and Schibsbye comprise a root end plate, as taught by Borsting for connection to the root end mould section of the upper mould of Davis modified with De Waal Malefijt and Schibsbye, for the benefit of correctly arranging bushings on fiber layers on the mould and to ensure the root end of the blade does not deform during storage.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al. (US20190193304), De Waal Malefijt et al. (US20170274563) and Schibsbye (US 20120251654), and as evidenced by Merriam Webster’s definition of “jib” (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/jib- accessed 04/14/2026, see attached).
Regarding claim 15, Davis modified with De Waal Malefijt and Schibsbye teaches a wind turbine rotor blade mould according to claim 10. While Schibsbye does not explicitly call its crane a jib crane, Schibsbye shows two hoist systems comprising first arm 22 and second arm 28 projecting from the gantry crane 8 (also see [0050]-[0051]). Further, Merriam Webster defines “jib” as the projecting arm of a crane.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the crane of Schibsbye to be a jib crane, since a jib is defined as the projecting arm of a crane and Schibsbye teaches a crane with two projecting arms.
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743