DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the amendments/remarks filed on 09/23/2026. Claims 1-3, 5-11, 16-19 are pending; claims 1, 11 have been amended; claims 4, 12-15 are canceled.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding the term "part"; “portion” in the various claims, applicant does not have provide any specification definition of the phrase in the specification. Therefore, the phrase should be given its ordinary meaning, which is "a section or portion of a whole structure".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grauss (DE 102019118500 A1) in view of Maxwell (US 6360853)
Claim 1: Grauss discloses a multi-piston disengagement system (17; Fig.1) for a braking device (1, Fig.1) of a motor vehicle (¶[0037]), having an annular housing (4,6,22),
the annular housing (4,6,22) comprising a main axis (H), the main axis (H) defining an axial direction (AR), the annular housing (4,6,22) comprising a plurality of housing portions (sections of 22/see annotated Fig below), a plurality of pressure chambers (24a) that can be filled or are filled with a fluid (¶[0045]) and a flow channel (33),
a one of the plurality of pressure chambers (24a) being arranged in each housing portion (sections of 22), the pressure chambers (24a) being fluidically connected to one another by means of the flow channel (33; Fig.3a-3b) (¶[0052]),
comprising a plurality of hydraulic actuation assemblies (18,19), a one of the plurality of housing portions (sections of 22) being associated with (e.g. the term “associated with” does not have any definition in the specification. The term is given its ordinary meaning as link, relate to. In this case, as portion of 22 is section of housing body of either 18, and 19. Thereof, sections of 22 are related to 18,19.) each actuation assembly (18,19), each actuation assembly comprising a piston unit having a piston (23),
the piston (23) being arranged in the pressure chamber (24, 24b) so as to be movable in the axial direction and, upon application of a hydraulic pressure, being able to carry out an actuation stroke for introducing an actuation force into the brake device (¶[0045],[0047]),
wherein the annular housing (4,6,22) is formed in two parts in the axial direction with a main housing (22,6-as 22, 6 is main structural carrier for the piston assemblies) and a housing cover (4-as 4 has cup-shaped outer body acts as cover that encloses the brake components.).
GRAUSS does not disclose the flow channel is formed as a circumferential, closed ring and is arranged to be concentric or coaxial to the main axis.
Maxwell teaches a brake assembly (30; Fig.3) having cylinders (32-44) connects to flow channel (48); the flow channel (48) is formed as a circumferential, closed ring (see col.4 ll. 60-62) and is arranged to be concentric (as shown in fig.3, element 48 forms a large circular in the center)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace channel 33 of GRAUSS with the flow channel is formed as a circumferential, closed ring and is arranged to be concentric to main axis as taught by Maxwell in order to achieve uniform pressure distribution and simultaneous piston actuation.
Claim 2: GRAUSS as modified by Maxwell discloses the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 1, wherein the housing portions (sections of 22) and the flow channel (48-as taught by Maxwell) are arranged
Claim 5: GRAUSS as modified by Maxwell discloses the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 1, wherein the main housing (22, 6) comprises a plurality of axial bores (34a. As 34a is part of 22), wherein the axial bores (34a in Fig.3a-3b) fluidically connect the flow channel (48-Maxwell) to the pressure chambers (24a).
Claim 9: GRAUSS as modified by Maxwell discloses the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 1, wherein the main housing (22, 6) and the housing cover (4) are connected to one another in a form-fitting 1 (¶[0039] “the housing cover 6 is screwed to the front of the housing section 4.” Note: the specification does not have definition of “form-fitting manner”. Thereof, the term is given their ordinary meaning as is a geometric connection where two mating parts physically interlock. In this case, screw connection relies on shape engagement between mating thread profiles. Thus screw connection constitutes a form fitting connection under BRI)
Claim 10: GRAUSS as modified by Maxwell discloses a braking device (1,Fig.1) for a transmission assembly of a motor vehicle having a brake device (11) and having the multi-piston disengagement system (17; Fig.1) according to claim 1, wherein the multi-piston disengagement system (17) forms an activator device for actuating the brake device (11) (¶[0043]).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 11,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 20210396286 A1) in view of Maxwell (US 6360853)
Claim 1: Davis discloses a multi-piston disengagement system (12; Fig.2-7a) for a braking device (12, Fig.2-7a) of a motor vehicle (¶[0003]), having an annular housing (20, 22, 24, 26),
the annular housing (20, 22, 24, 26) comprising a main axis (rotational axis), the main axis (rotational axis) defining an axial direction, the annular housing (20, 22, 24, 26) comprising a plurality of housing portions (20, 22, 24, 26), a plurality of pressure chambers (80) that can be filled or are filled with a fluid (¶[0036]) and a flow path (130),
a one of the plurality of pressure chambers (80) being arranged in each housing portion (portion of 22), the pressure chambers (80) being fluidically connected to one another by means of the flow channel (130)
comprising a plurality of hydraulic actuation assemblies (200), a one of the plurality of housing portions (portions of 22) being associated with (e.g. the term “associated with” does not have any definition in the specification. The term is given its ordinary meaning as link, relate to. In this case, “the service brake actuator 200 includes three first pistons 202 positioned within the three first chambers 80 of the cage portion 22.”, ¶[0046].) each actuation assembly (200), each actuation assembly comprising a piston unit having a piston (202),
the piston (202) being arranged in the pressure chamber (80) so as to be movable in the axial direction and, upon application of a hydraulic pressure, being able to carry out an actuation stroke for introducing an actuation force into the brake device (¶[0046]),
wherein the annular housing (20, 22, 24, 26) is formed in two parts in the axial direction with a main housing (24,26) and a housing cover (22,20).
Davis does not disclose flow channel is formed as a circumferential, closed ring and is arranged to be concentric or coaxial to the main axis.
Maxwell teaches a brake assembly (30; Fig.3) having cylinders (32-44) fluidically connected to one another by means of flow channel (48); the flow channel (48) is formed as a circumferential, closed ring (see col.4 ll. 60-62) and is arranged to be concentric (as shown in fig.3, element 48 forms a large circular in the center)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the flow channel 130 from Davis with flow channel 48 that is formed as a circumferential, closed ring and is arranged to be concentric to main axis as taught by Maxwell in order to achieve uniform pressure distribution and simultaneous piston actuation.
Claim 3: Davis as modified by Maxwell discloses a separating plane (e.g. plane where assembly of 24, 26 meets 22) of main housing (24,26) and the cover (22).
Davis as modified by Maxwell does not disclose wherein the flow channel is arranged in a separating plane of the main housing and the housing cover.
Note: Davis also discloses the separator plate 24 bounds the first and second fluid supply pathways 130, 132 in the second surface 114 of the plate 110 to generally retain hydraulic fluid therein (see ¶[0039]-[0040]). This implies that hydraulic fluid passages form in housing mating surface and closed by housing component.
Thereof, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to relocate the modified flow channel of Davis to the plane between the main housing and cover in order to provide a sealed hydraulic passage. Furthermore, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. See also, In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Claim 11: Davis discloses a multi-piston disengagement system (Fig.2-7a) for a vehicle braking device (12), comprising:
an annular housing (20, 22, 24, 26) formed from a main housing (24,26) and a housing cover (22), each of the main housing (24,26) and the housing cover (22) being annular, the main housing (24,26) and the housing cover (22) being arranged adjacent to one another in an axial direction and defining a separating plane (e.g. plane where 24,26 meet 22, see Fig.7a) therebetween,
the annular housing (20, 22, 24, 26) comprising:
a main axis (rotational axis) defining the axial direction;
a plurality of housing portions (e.g. sections of 24,26) formed in the main housing (24,26);
a plurality of pressure chambers (80), each one arranged in a respective one of the plurality of housing portions (sections of 24,26. As 80 are aligned with bores in 24, 26) and arranged to be filled with a fluid (¶[0036]); and a flow channel (130) fluidically connecting the plurality of pressure chambers (80);
a plurality of hydraulic actuation assemblies (200), each comprising a piston (202): arranged in a respective one of the plurality of pressure chambers (80) and axially movable therein (¶[0046]); and
arranged to displace in an actuation stroke for introducing an actuation force into the vehicle braking device (17) when a hydraulic pressure is applied to the fluid (¶[0046]).
the flow channel (130) being formed in the main housing (26) at the separating plane (e.g. plane where 22 meets 24, 26. As shown ) and a plurality of axial bores (102) formed in the main housing (24 of main housing 24, 26), each one of the plurality of axial bores fluidically connecting the flow channel (130) to a respective one of the plurality of pressure chamber (80).
Davis does not disclose flow channel being form as a circumferential, closed ring arranged concentric or coaxial to the main axis; and flow channel at the separating plane.
Maxwell teaches a brake assembly (30; Fig.3) having cylinders (32-44) fluidically connected to one another by means of flow channel (48); the flow channel (48) is formed as a circumferential, closed ring (see col.4 ll. 60-62) and is arranged to be concentric (as shown in fig.3, element 48 forms a large circular in the center)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a circumferentially closed ring arranged concentric or coaxial to the main axis as taught by Maxwell in order to provide more uniform pressure and improve braking performance.
Note: Davis also discloses the separator plate 24 bounds the first and second fluid supply pathways 130, 132 in the second surface 114 of the plate 110 to generally retain hydraulic fluid therein (see ¶[0039]-[0040]). This implies that hydraulic fluid passages form in housing mating surface and closed by housing component.
Thereof, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to relocate the modified flow channel to the plane between the main housing and cover in order to provide a sealed hydraulic passage.
Claim 19: Davis as modified by Maxwell discloses the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 11, wherein the main housing (24,26) and the housing cover (22) are connected together in 1
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6 and 16, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither discloses nor renders obvious the multi-piston disengagement system; specifically, “a channel seal for sealing the flow channel, wherein the channel seal is an o-ring or a sealing plate”. The closest art is Davis in view of Maxwell as discussed above, the prior art does not suggest any seal for sealing the flow channel. Since the structure from Davis uses bolted plates to bound the pathway 130. Thereof, it is no motivation to add an o-ring to the modified circumferential, closed ring flow channel.
Response to Amendment/Arguments
The previous rejections of claims under 35 USC 102 have been considered and persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made (see rejection above).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Dewald (US 5174420 A) discloses 24 is annular channel.
Schnell (US 7909147 B1) discloses gasket for sealing the main housing and annular channel 21
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERNESTO A SUAREZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/LILLIAN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655a
1 The strikeout limitation is “or” limitation; thus the prior art does not require to satisfy the strikeout limitation to be applicable.