DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter is claimed. Specifically, while the claims recite a use, the claim fails to recite steps (MPEP §2173.05(q)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the recitation “Use of at least one formulation according to claim 1” renders the claims indefinite because there are no active steps recited in the claim.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the recitation “products comprising at least one formulation according to claim 1” renders the claims indefinite. Claim 1 from which claims 13 and 14 depend is directed to a formulation. It is not clear how a product could comprise more than one of the formulation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goury et al. (WO 2019/206708)
Regarding claims 1-3, 7 and 8, Goury et al. disclose a coloring composition comprising a water, carotenoid, a phospholipid emulsifier and a polysorbate (p. 2/L36- p. 3/L3, p. 7/L12-13). Goury et al. disclose the coloring composition may include other ingredients including hydrocolloids, sugar and organic acids (i.e., auxiliary agents -p. 6/L31).
Goury et al. disclose the carotenoids are α-carontein, β-carontene, gamma-carotene, apocarotenals, 8’-apo-beta-carotenoic acid esters such as ethyl ester, canthanxanthin, astaxantin, saffron, lycopene, lutein, zeaxanthin, crocin, bixin, capsanthin, capsorubin, rubixanthin, violaxanthin, rhodoxanthin, cis/trans isomers thereof and combinations thereof (p. 4/C10-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have selected the combination of lutein and zeaxanthin because they are both disclosed as carotenoids to use in the coloring composition.
Goury et al. disclose the total amount of the combination of lutein and zeaxanthin is between 1 to 25% (w/w)(p. 4/L26-29).
Goury et al. disclose the amount of polysorbate in the coloring composition is between 0.5 and 20% (w/w) (p. 6/L9-11).
Goury et al. disclose the amount of water in the coloring composition is between 30 to 80% (w/w)(p. 7/L12-13).
While Goury et al. does not disclose the precisely claimed amount of carotenoid, polysorbate and water, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
While Goury et al. disclose a coloring composition comprising a combination of lutein and zeaxanthin in an amount between 1 to 25% (w/w), the reference is silent with respect to the ratio of lutein to zeaxanthin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have combined lutein and zeaxanthin in any ratio with a reasonable expectation of success. Moreover, when faced with a mixture, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by common sense to select a 1:1 ratio, a ratio that falls within the presently claimed amount, absent evidence of unexpected or surprising results. Case law holds that "[h]aving established that this knowledge was in the art, the examiner could then properly rely... on a conclusion of obviousness, 'from common knowledge and common sense of the person of ordinary skill in the art within any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference.'" In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Regarding claim 4, Goury et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Goury et al. disclose the average particles size (Dv(90)) of the solid carotenoid particles (i.e., lutein and zeaxanthin) is at most 1000 nm (i.e., 0.001 mm or less than 5 mm- p. 4/L34-37).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Goury et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Goury et al. disclose the polysorbate may be polysorbate 20, polysorbate 40, polysorbate 60, polysorbate 65 or polysorbate 80 (i.e., compound of formula (I) -p. 5/L29-32).
Regarding claim 9, Goury et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Goury et al. disclose the coloring composition may comprise antioxidant (p. 6/L37-38), the reference disclose “preservative free” coloring compositions (see p.21-23- Examples 5 and 6)
Regarding claim 10, Goury et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Goury et al. disclose a coloring composition comprising glycerol (p. 21-23-Examples 5 and 6).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Goury et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Goury et al. disclose a food product (i.e., edible products), an animal feed, a cosmetic or a pharmaceutical product comprising the coloring composition of claim 1 (p. 3/L18-20).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Behnam (US 2007/0148193 – IDS filed August 21, 2024) teaches a lutein concentrate comprising lutein, zeaxanthin, polysorbate and water. The composition of Behman comprises polysorbate in an amount of at least 10 times that of the lutein and zeaxanthin content.
ELIZABETH A. GWARTNEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/ELIZABETH GWARTNEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759