DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 08/26/2024 and 02/04/2026 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on 08/21/2024 as modified by the preliminary amendment filed on 08/21/2024. Claims 1-8, 11-17, 20-22, and 28-29 have been amended. Claims 9-10, 18-19, 23-27, and 30-34 have been canceled. Claims 1-8, 11-17, 20-22, 28-29 are now pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 11-17, 20-22, 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (US 2016/0072691 A1 herein Xu).
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a method performed by a management node for handling communication resources allocated to one or more logical groups in a set of logical groups in a wireless communications network (read as bandwidth management on the inroute can be performed by bandwidth manager 22 that can perform throughput management of individual TGs throughout an entire satellite network 10, which may contain a plurality of IGMs) (Xu – [0046]), which one or more logical groups are controlled by a controller node associated to a control facility, one or more wireless devices being associated to each logical group (read as IGMs 18a-18n can perform throughput management via bandwidth allocation for terminals 14a-14f of multiple TGs that share inroutes managed by IGMs 18a-18n; the group of terminals and inroutes managed by an IGM when performing bandwidth management can be referred to as an IGM Sub-System) (Xu – [0046]), the method comprising:
allocating a communication resource to each one or more logical groups in the set of logical groups (read as bandwidth management on the inroute can be performed by bandwidth manager 22 that can perform throughput management of individual TGs throughout an entire satellite network 10, which may contain a plurality of IGMs) (Xu – [0046]), wherein each wireless device is being associated to at least one logical group in the set of logical groups (read as satellite network 100 can include multiple satellites 12a and 12b, remote terminals 14a-14f, radio frequency terminals 16a and 16b, multiple IGMs 18a, 18b, . . .18n, SGW 19, IPGWs 20, and a bandwidth manager 22; satellite network may be shared access broadband network) (Xu – see Figure 1, [0002], [0039]-[0040]), and wherein each logical group is associated with an operational process in the control facility (read as logically grouped based on the business type, policy, service agreement, and so on; such a group of terminals may be an enterprise with terminals in multiple geographic locations) (Xu – [0002]);
monitoring the allocated communication resource, by monitoring an available communication resource, a communication resource currently used, and/or a communication resource required by one or more of the logical groups to perform the operational process associated with the respective logical group (read as monitoring at an IGM over time, bandwidth usage and backlog within each TG of a plurality of TGs communicating over inroutes of a plurality of IGs managed by the IGM; bandwidth manager can monitor bandwidth usage for each TG across multiple IGMs, and determine whether or not the bandwidth usage remains within the parameters/limits of the subscription rate plan associated with each TG) (Xu – [0007], [0037], [0049]);
receiving from the controller node, a first indication, which first indication is related to a first action performed by the controller node (read as centralized-distribution feedback control mechanism may be achieved for managing bandwidth; IGM can report this tracked throughput information/bandwidth usage to a centralized bandwidth manager wherein the tracking is the first action and the reporting is the first indication) (Xu – [0034], [0037]); and
performing a second action taking the received first indication and the monitored communication resource into account, for handling communication resources allocated to the one or more logical groups (read as bandwidth manager can instruct the IGM managing the IG with which the TG is associated, to throttle down on bandwidth consumption until the subscription rate plan limits can be met or are no longer exceeded; IGM can react to bandwidth manager control when need via a scaling factor in order to remain within the bandwidth usage parameters of a TGs subscription rate plan) (Xu – [0037]).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Xu further teaches the method further comprising: sending to the controller node, a second indication, which second indication indicates to the controller node to perform the first action (read as generation of scaling factors to be used by the IGM based upon information reported by the IGM, results in a feedback control loop; bandwidth manager can indirectly control throughput while the IGM can directly address thoughput in accordance with QoS constraints/requirements) (Xu – [0051]).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 2, Xu further teaches further comprising: detecting that communication resources used by one or more logical groups is above a threshold; and wherein the second indication further indicates the one or more logical groups (read as determine whether or not the bandwidth usage remains within the parameters/limits of the subscription rate plan associated with each TG; throughput limit such as maximum throughput rate, bandwidth manager 22 can dynamically manage the spectrum resources of the inroute so that bandwidth can be efficiently utilized, while the quality of service and throughput requirements of each TG can be fairly satisfied such as allocation of bandwidth to a TG is proportional relative to its maximum throughput rate/pre-assigned weighting) (Xu – [0037], [0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 2, Xu further teaches wherein the second indication comprises a report related to available communication resources associated to the one or more logical groups, which report is based on the monitored allocated communication resource (read as IGM can report tracked throughput information/bandwidth usage to a centralized bandwidth manager; by way of IGM reporting, the bandwidth manager is also aware of how much bandwidth each terminal/TG is consuming within each applicable IGM and across multiple IGMs) (Xu – [0037]-[0038]); and wherein the second action and the first action comprises performing a negotiation between the management node and the controller node related to the resource allocation for the one or more logical groups (read as bandwidth management on the inroute can be performed by bandwidth manager 22 that can perform throughput management on individual TGs throughout satellite network 10 which may contain a plurality of IGM; IGMs 18a-18n can perform throughput management via bandwidth allocation for terminals 14a-14f of multiple TGs that share inroute managed by IGMs 18a-18n) (Xu – [0046]).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Xu further teaches further comprising: estimating, taking the first indication and the monitored communication resource into account, a guaranteed performance satisfying a criteria (read as determine whether or not the bandwidth usage remains within the parameters/limits of the subscription rate plan associated with each TG; throughput limit such as maximum throughput rate, bandwidth manager 22 can dynamically manage the spectrum resources of the inroute so that bandwidth can be efficiently utilized, while the quality of service and throughput requirements of each TG can be fairly satisfied such as allocation of bandwidth to a TG is proportional relative to its maximum throughput rate/pre-assigned weighting) (Xu – [0037], [0057]-[0058]); generating based on the first indication and the estimated guaranteed performance satisfying the criterium criteria, one or more configurations related to the communication resources allocated to the one or more of the logical groups (read as updating period of bandwidth management for TGs, wherein one updating period can comprise multiple frames; updating period can be a configuration parameter to be set as a multiple of a super frame) (Xu – [0061]); wherein the second action comprises any one out of: determining a configuration out of the one or configurations to apply and applying the determined configuration; and sending to the controller node the one or more configurations indicating to the controller node to determine a configuration based on the one or more configurations to be applied, and receiving a determined configuration from the controller node (read as updating period of bandwidth management for TGs, wherein one updating period can comprise multiple frames; updating period can be a configuration parameter to be set as a multiple of a super frame) (Xu – [0061]).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1, Xu further teaches wherein the first indication indicates any one or more out of: adjusted requirements related to the communication resource allocated to one or more of the logical groups; current requirements related to the communication resources associated to one or more of the logical groups; and predicted future requirements related to the communication resources associated to one or more of the logical groups (read as scaling factor that can be used to adjust the throughput of each terminal in a TG; scaling factor will be applied in backlog-based and periodic bandwidth allocation to limit the maximum scheduled amount and to adjust the scheduling frequency; by adjusting the scaling factors, the actual throughput of a TB can be managed to meet its respective target throughput, achieving the goal of bandwidth management for TGs) (Xu – [0137], [0174]).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1, Xu further teaches wherein the second action comprises any one or more out of: instructing the one or more wireless devices associated to one or more logical groups to operate in idle mode; changing a Quality of Service, QoS, requirement for the one or more wireless devices associated to one or more logical groups; allocating communication resources reserved for redundancy to be used by one or more logical groups; negotiating with the controller node the resource allocation for the one or more logical groups; and applying the determined configuration related to the communication resources allocated to one or more logical groups (read as geographical distribution, channel conditions, and traffic intensity of terminals in each TG may vary over time; bandwidth manager 22 can dynamically manage the spectrum resources of the inroute so that bandwidth can be efficiently utilized, while the quality of service (QoS) and throughput requirements of each TG can be fairly satisfied such as allocation of bandwidth to a TG is proportional to its maximum throughput rate/pre-assigned weighting) (Xu – [0058]).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 1, Xu further teaches wherein the first action comprises any one or more out of: stopping an operational process associated to one or more logical groups; decreasing one or both of a duty cycle and service requirement of an operational process associated to one or more logical groups; accepting an adjusted allocation of communication resources, wherein the adjusted allocation comprises communication resources reserved for redundancy being allocated to be used by associated to one or more logical groups; negotiating with the management node the resource allocation for the one or more logical groups; and determining one or more of adjusted requirements related to the communication resource allocated to one or more of the logical groups, current requirements related to the communication resources associated to one or more of the logical groups and predicted future requirements related to the communication resources associated to one or more of the logical groups (read as scaling factor that can be used to adjust the throughput of each terminal in a TG; scaling factor will be applied in backlog-based and periodic bandwidth allocation to limit the maximum scheduled amount and to adjust the scheduling frequency; by adjusting the scaling factors, the actual throughput of a TB can be managed to meet its respective target throughput, achieving the goal of bandwidth management for TGs) (Xu – [0137], [0174]).
Regarding claim 11, Xu teaches a method performed by a controller node (read as inroute group managers (IGMs) running bandwidth allocation algorithms) (Xu – [0003], [0045]) for assisting a management node in handling communication resources (read as reporting the determined amount of bandwidth being used and available capacity of the IGM to a bandwidth manager; users in a shared access broadband network may be logically grouped based on the business type, policy, service agreement, and so on; a logical group of terminals may be referred to as a terminal group (TG); dynamic allocation of network resources to these TGs; IGMs may assign bandwidth to the remote terminals 14a-14f in the form of inroute and IGs, based in part on bandwidth demand request from the remote terminals 14a-14f) (Xu – [0002], [0007], [0045]) allocated to one or more logical groups in a set of logical groups in wireless communications network (read as bandwidth management on the inroute can be performed by bandwidth manager 22 that can perform throughput management of individual TGs throughout an entire satellite network 10, which may contain a plurality of IGMs) (Xu – [0046]), which one or more logical groups are controlled by the controller node associated to a control facility, one or more wireless devices being associated to each logical group (read as IGMs 18a-18n can perform throughput management via bandwidth allocation for terminals 14a-14f of multiple TGs that share inroutes managed by IGMs 18a-18n; the group of terminals and inroutes managed by an IGM when performing bandwidth management can be referred to as an IGM Sub-System) (Xu – [0046]), the method comprising:
performing a first action, which first action is related to assisting the management node in handling communication resources allocated to the one or more logical groups (read as monitoring at an IGM over time, bandwidth usage and backlog within each TG of a plurality of TGs communicating over inroutes of a plurality of IGs managed by the IGM; bandwidth manager can monitor bandwidth usage for each TG across multiple IGMs, and determine whether or not the bandwidth usage remains within the parameters/limits of the subscription rate plan associated with each TG) (Xu – [0007], [0037], [0049]); and
sending to the management node, a first indication, which first indication is related to the first action performed by the controller node, enabling the management node to perform a second action for handling the communication resources allocated to the one or more logical groups (read as bandwidth manager can instruct the IGM managing the IG with which the TG is associated, to throttle down on bandwidth consumption until the subscription rate plan limits can be met or are no longer exceeded; IGM can react to bandwidth manager control when need via a scaling factor in order to remain within the bandwidth usage parameters of a TGs subscription rate plan) (Xu – [0037]).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 11, Xu further teaches further comprising: receiving from the management node, a second indication, which second indication indicates to the controller node to perform the first action (read as generation of scaling factors to be used by the IGM based upon information reported by the IGM, results in a feedback control loop; bandwidth manager can indirectly control throughput while the IGM can directly address thoughput in accordance with QoS constraints/requirements) (Xu – [0051]).
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 12, Xu further teaches wherein the second indication comprises a report related to available communication resources associated to the one or more logical groups, which report is based on one or more of an available communication resource, a communication resource currently used, and a communication resource required by one or more of the logical groups to perform the operational process associated with the respective logical group monitored by the management node (read as IGM can report tracked throughput information/bandwidth usage to a centralized bandwidth manager; by way of IGM reporting, the bandwidth manager is also aware of how much bandwidth each terminal/TG is consuming within each applicable IGM and across multiple IGMs) (Xu – [0037]-[0038]); and wherein the second action and the first action comprises performing a negotiation between the management node and the controller node related to the resource allocation for the one or more logical groups (read as bandwidth management on the inroute can be performed by bandwidth manager 22 that can perform throughput management on individual TGs throughout satellite network 10 which may contain a plurality of IGM; IGMs 18a-18n can perform throughput management via bandwidth allocation for terminals 14a-14f of multiple TGs that share inroute managed by IGMs 18a-18n) (Xu – [0046]).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 11, Xu further teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving from the management node one or more configurations related to the communication resources allocated to the one or more of the logical groups, which one or more configurations are generated by the management node; determining a configuration based on the indicated configurations to be applied; and sending to the management node the determined configuration, enabling the management node to apply the determined configuration for handling the communication resources allocated to the one or more logical groups (read as updating period of bandwidth management for TGs, wherein one updating period can comprise multiple frames; updating period can be a configuration parameter to be set as a multiple of a super frame) (Xu – [0061]).
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 11, Xu further teaches wherein the first indication indicates any one or more out of: adjusted requirements related to the communication resource allocated to one or more of the logical groups; current requirements related to the communication resources associated to one or more of the logical groups; and predicted future requirements related to the communication resources associated to one or more of the logical groups (read as scaling factor that can be used to adjust the throughput of each terminal in a TG; scaling factor will be applied in backlog-based and periodic bandwidth allocation to limit the maximum scheduled amount and to adjust the scheduling frequency; by adjusting the scaling factors, the actual throughput of a TB can be managed to meet its respective target throughput, achieving the goal of bandwidth management for TGs) (Xu – [0137], [0174]).
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 11, Xu further teaches wherein the second action comprises any one or more out of: instructing the one or more wireless devices associated to one or more logical groups to operate in idle mode; changing a Quality of Service requirement for the one or more wireless devices associated to one or more logical groups; allocating communication resources reserved for redundancy to be used by one or more logical groups; negotiating with the controller node the resource allocation for the one or more logical groups; and applying the determined configuration related to the communication resources allocated to associated to one or more logical groups (read as geographical distribution, channel conditions, and traffic intensity of terminals in each TG may vary over time; bandwidth manager 22 can dynamically manage the spectrum resources of the inroute so that bandwidth can be efficiently utilized, while the quality of service (QoS) and throughput requirements of each TG can be fairly satisfied such as allocation of bandwidth to a TG is proportional to its maximum throughput rate/pre-assigned weighting) (Xu – [0058]).
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 11, Xu further teaches wherein the first action comprises any one or more out of: stopping an operational process associated to one or more logical groups, decrease one or both of a duty cycle and service requirement of an operational process associated to one or more logical groups; accepting an adjusted allocation of communication resources, wherein the adjusted allocation comprises communication resources reserved for redundancy being allocated to be used by one or more logical groups; negotiating with the management node the resource allocation for the one or more logical groups; and determining one or more of adjusted requirements related to the communication resource allocated to one or more of the logical groups, current requirements related to the communication resources associated to one or more of the logical groups and predicted future requirements related to the communication resources associated to one or more of the logical groups (read as scaling factor that can be used to adjust the throughput of each terminal in a TG; scaling factor will be applied in backlog-based and periodic bandwidth allocation to limit the maximum scheduled amount and to adjust the scheduling frequency; by adjusting the scaling factors, the actual throughput of a TB can be managed to meet its respective target throughput, achieving the goal of bandwidth management for TGs) (Xu – [0137], [0174]).
Regarding claim 20, Xu teaches a management node configured to handle communication resources allocated to one or more logical groups in a set of logical groups in wireless communications network (read as bandwidth management on the inroute can be performed by bandwidth manager 22 that can perform throughput management of individual TGs throughout an entire satellite network 10, which may contain a plurality of IGMs) (Xu – [0046]), which one or more logical groups are adapted to be controlled by a controller node adapted to be associated to a control facility, one or more wireless devices being adapted to be associated to each logical group (read as IGMs 18a-18n can perform throughput management via bandwidth allocation for terminals 14a-14f of multiple TGs that share inroutes managed by IGMs 18a-18n; the group of terminals and inroutes managed by an IGM when performing bandwidth management can be referred to as an IGM Sub-System) (Xu – [0046]), the management node further being configured to:
allocate a communication resource to each one or more logical groups in the set of logical groups (read as bandwidth management on the inroute can be performed by bandwidth manager 22 that can perform throughput management of individual TGs throughout an entire satellite network 10, which may contain a plurality of IGMs) (Xu – [0046]), each wireless device being adapted to be associated to at least one logical group in the set of logical groups (read as satellite network 100 can include multiple satellites 12a and 12b, remote terminals 14a-14f, radio frequency terminals 16a and 16b, multiple IGMs 18a, 18b, . . .18n, SGW 19, IPGWs 20, and a bandwidth manager 22; satellite network may be shared access broadband network) (Xu – see Figure 1, [0002], [0039]-[0040]), and each logical group is adapted to be associated with an operational process in the control facility (read as logically grouped based on the business type, policy, service agreement, and so on; such a group of terminals may be an enterprise with terminals in multiple geographic locations) (Xu – [0002]);
monitor the allocated communication resource, by monitoring one or more of an available communication resource, a communication resource currently used, and a communication resource required by one or more of the logical groups to perform the operational process associated with the respective logical group (read as monitoring at an IGM over time, bandwidth usage and backlog within each TG of a plurality of TGs communicating over inroutes of a plurality of IGs managed by the IGM; bandwidth manager can monitor bandwidth usage for each TG across multiple IGMs, and determine whether or not the bandwidth usage remains within the parameters/limits of the subscription rate plan associated with each TG) (Xu – [0007], [0037], [0049]);
receive from the controller node, a first indication, which first indication is adapted to be related to a first action performed by the controller node (read as centralized-distribution feedback control mechanism may be achieved for managing bandwidth; IGM can report this tracked throughput information/bandwidth usage to a centralized bandwidth manager wherein the tracking is the first action and the reporting is the first indication) (Xu – [0034], [0037]); and
perform a second action taking the received first indication and the monitored communication resource into account, to handle communication resources allocated to the one or more logical groups (read as bandwidth manager can instruct the IGM managing the IG with which the TG is associated, to throttle down on bandwidth consumption until the subscription rate plan limits can be met or are no longer exceeded; IGM can react to bandwidth manager control when need via a scaling factor in order to remain within the bandwidth usage parameters of a TGs subscription rate plan) (Xu – [0037]).
Regarding claim 21 as applied to claim 20, Xu further teaches further being configured to: send to the controller node, a second indication, which second indication is adapted to indicate to the controller node to perform the first action (read as generation of scaling factors to be used by the IGM based upon information reported by the IGM, results in a feedback control loop; bandwidth manager can indirectly control throughput while the IGM can directly address thoughput in accordance with QoS constraints/requirements) (Xu – [0051]).
Regarding claim 22 as applied to claim 21, Xu further teaches further being configured to: detect that communication resources used by one or more logical groups is above a threshold; and wherein the second indication further is adapted to indicate the one or more logical groups (read as determine whether or not the bandwidth usage remains within the parameters/limits of the subscription rate plan associated with each TG; throughput limit such as maximum throughput rate, bandwidth manager 22 can dynamically manage the spectrum resources of the inroute so that bandwidth can be efficiently utilized, while the quality of service and throughput requirements of each TG can be fairly satisfied such as allocation of bandwidth to a TG is proportional relative to its maximum throughput rate/pre-assigned weighting) (Xu – [0037], [0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 28, Xu teaches a controller node (read as inroute group managers (IGMs) running bandwidth allocation algorithms) (Xu – [0003], [0045]) configured to assist a management node in handling communication resources (read as reporting the determined amount of bandwidth being used and available capacity of the IGM to a bandwidth manager; users in a shared access broadband network may be logically grouped based on the business type, policy, service agreement, and so on; a logical group of terminals may be referred to as a terminal group (TG); dynamic allocation of network resources to these TGs; IGMs may assign bandwidth to the remote terminals 14a-14f in the form of inroute and IGs, based in part on bandwidth demand request from the remote terminals 14a-14f) (Xu – [0002], [0007], [0045]) adapted to be allocated to one or more logical groups in a set of logical groups in wireless communications network (read as bandwidth management on the inroute can be performed by bandwidth manager 22 that can perform throughput management of individual TGs throughout an entire satellite network 10, which may contain a plurality of IGMs) (Xu – [0046]), which one or more logical groups are adapted to be controlled by the controller node adapted to be associated to a control facility, one or more wireless devices being adapted to be associated to each logical group (read as IGMs 18a-18n can perform throughput management via bandwidth allocation for terminals 14a-14f of multiple TGs that share inroutes managed by IGMs 18a-18n; the group of terminals and inroutes managed by an IGM when performing bandwidth management can be referred to as an IGM Sub-System) (Xu – [0046]), controller node further being configured to:
perform a first action, which first action is adapted to be related to assist the management node in handling communication resources adapted to be allocated to the one or more logical groups (read as monitoring at an IGM over time, bandwidth usage and backlog within each TG of a plurality of TGs communicating over inroutes of a plurality of IGs managed by the IGM; bandwidth manager can monitor bandwidth usage for each TG across multiple IGMs, and determine whether or not the bandwidth usage remains within the parameters/limits of the subscription rate plan associated with each TG) (Xu – [0007], [0037], [0049]); and
send to the management node, a first indication, which first indication is adapted to be related to the first action performed by the controller node, adapted to enable the management node to perform a second action adapted to handle the communication resources adapted to be allocated to the one or more logical groups (read as bandwidth manager can instruct the IGM managing the IG with which the TG is associated, to throttle down on bandwidth consumption until the subscription rate plan limits can be met or are no longer exceeded; IGM can react to bandwidth manager control when need via a scaling factor in order to remain within the bandwidth usage parameters of a TGs subscription rate plan) (Xu – [0037]).
Regarding claim 29 as applied to claim 28, Xu further teaches wherein the controller node is further configured to: receive from the management node, a second indication, which second indication is adapted to indicate to the controller node to perform the first action (read as generation of scaling factors to be used by the IGM based upon information reported by the IGM, results in a feedback control loop; bandwidth manager can indirectly control throughput while the IGM can directly address thoughput in accordance with QoS constraints/requirements) (Xu – [0051]).
Conclusion
/APRIL G GONZALES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648