DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is in response to preliminary amendments filed 08/21/2024. Claims 1-13 are pending.
Priority
The applicant’s claim for priority as a 371 of PCT/EP2023/051304, filed 20 January, 2023, and to Finland Patent Application No. 20225154, filed 21 February, 2022, is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2025/0071817), hereinafter “Zhang”.
Regarding claims 1, 13, Zhang teaches:
An apparatus comprising at least one processor (see Zhang, Fig. 12, par. [0240]: the apparatus 1200 may include at least one transmitter 1202, at least one receiver 1204, and at least one processor 1206); and at least one memory (see Zhang, par. [0241]: the apparatus 1200 may further include an input device, a memory, and/or other components) including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform (see Zhang, Fig. 12, par. [0245]: an embodiment of the present application provides an apparatus for PRACH repetition, including a processor and a memory. Computer programmable instructions for implementing a method for PRACH repetition are stored in the memory, and the processor is configured to perform the computer programmable instructions to implement the method for PRACH repetition), or a method comprising:
receiving, from a network node in a radio access network, at least one random access configuration for the apparatus to access to the radio access network, wherein the at least one random access configuration comprises a mapping between a set of synchronization signal blocks and one or more preambles in at least one physical random access channel occasion according to one or more features (see Zhang, par. [0087]: the BS may configure a plurality of ROs for transmitting the preamble, and the RO in step 201 may be determined from the plurality of ROs. For example, the BS may configure a subset of slots in a PRACH configuration period. Within the subset of slots, there may be one or more ROs, wherein each RO may cover multiple consecutive resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain, and see Figs. 3A and 3B, par. [0114]: the UE may also receive configuration information configuring the association between SSB and RO (e.g., the association may be 1-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3A, N-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3B, or 1-to-N association as shown in FIG. 3C) from the BS, and see par. [0127]: the UE may obtain a plurality of preambles for PRACH repetitions based on network's configuration, e.g., the UE may receive configuration information indicating a plurality of preambles for PRACH repetitions from the BS, and see par. [0105]; embodiments of the present application propose solutions for PRACH repetition, which can at least solve the above technical problems for implementing the PRACH repetition, thereby improving the coverage of the PRACH; in this case, configuration is received for RACH occasions for transmitting preambles and association between SSBs and ROs, corresponding to a configuration with a mapping between SSBs and preambles in PRACH occasions. The configuration includes specific associations and configurations regarding PRACH repetitions for improving coverage, corresponding to the configuration according to one or more features);
determining, based on at least one of the one or more features, at least one preamble of the one or more preambles in a physical random access channel occasion corresponding to at least one synchronization signal block in the set of synchronization signal blocks (see Zhang, par. [0087]: the BS may configure a plurality of ROs for transmitting the preamble, and the RO in step 201 may be determined from the plurality of ROs. For example, the BS may configure a subset of slots in a PRACH configuration period. Within the subset of slots, there may be one or more ROs, wherein each RO may cover multiple consecutive resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain, and see par. [0115]: the UE may determine the set of ROs from the plurality of ROs based on the determined SSB pattern. Specifically, an RO of the plurality of ROs is in the set of ROs for repetition if the RO is associated with the determined SSB pattern (e.g., associated with an SSB in the determined SSB pattern), wherein the association between SSB and RO is configured by the BS. For example, it is assumed that the determined SSB pattern is {1,3,5,7}, the ROs for PRACH repetitions are RO #0 to RO #8 as shown in FIG. 2A, and the association between SSB and RO is 1-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 2A, then UE may determine that the set of ROs includes RO #1, RO #3, RO #5, and RO #7, and see par. [0105]; embodiments of the present application propose solutions for PRACH repetition, which can at least solve the above technical problems for implementing the PRACH repetition, thereby improving the coverage of the PRACH; in this case, determining ROs for transmitting the preamble based on SSB pattern corresponds to determining preambles in a PRACH occasion corresponding to a SSB. This is performed using the association between SSBs and ROs and based on configuration for PRACH repetition, corresponding to based on the one or more features); and
transmitting, to the network node, the at least one preamble (see Zhang, pars. [0146-0147]: After determining a set of preambles associated with each SSB pattern of the set of SSB patterns (the set of SSB patterns includes the determined SSB pattern) associated with each RO of the set of ROs, the UE may select a preamble from a set of preambles associated with the determined SSB pattern. In some embodiments of the present application, the UE may transmit the preamble in each RO of the set of ROs).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches the apparatus. Zhang further teaches:
wherein the one or more features comprise at least one of: coverage enhancement, network slicing, reduced capability, and small data transmission (see Zhang, par. [0097]: the PRACH overage enhancement may be obtained by PRACH repetitions. The PRACH repetitions may refer to repeated PRACH preamble transmissions or transmitting the preamble in more than one RO, wherein each preamble transmission or transmitting the preamble in an RO may referred to a PRACH repetition. A PRACH repetition may also be referred to as a preamble repetition, and see par. [0105]: embodiments of the present application propose solutions for PRACH repetition, which can at least solve the above technical problems for implementing the PRACH repetition, thereby improving the coverage of the PRACH).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches the apparatus. Zhang further teaches:
wherein the mapping comprises:
an indication of a starting physical random access channel occasion (see Zhang, pars. [0114-0115]: the UE may also receive configuration information configuring the association between SSB and RO (e.g., the association may be 1-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3A, N-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3B, or 1-to-N association as shown in FIG. 3C) from the BS. Then, the UE may determine the set of ROs from the plurality of ROs based on the determined SSB pattern, and see par. [0116]: the set of ROs are determined from a start of an SSB to RO mapping cycle, or from a start of an SSB to RO association period, or from a start of an SSB to RO association pattern period; in this case, based on configured association between SSB and RO, the set of ROs are determined, corresponding to the mapping indicating a starting PRACH occasion) and a number of times that the set of synchronization signal blocks are to be mapped to at least one preamble of the one or more preambles in different physical random access channel occasions (see Zhang, par. [0087]: the BS may configure a plurality of ROs for transmitting the preamble, and the RO in step 201 may be determined from the plurality of ROs. For example, the BS may configure a subset of slots in a PRACH configuration period. Within the subset of slots, there may be one or more ROs, wherein each RO may cover multiple consecutive resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain, and see Figs. 3A and 3B, par. [0114]: the UE may also receive configuration information configuring the association between SSB and RO (e.g., the association may be 1-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3A, N-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3B, or 1-to-N association as shown in FIG. 3C) from the BS, and see par. [0127]: the UE may obtain a plurality of preambles for PRACH repetitions based on network's configuration, e.g., the UE may receive configuration information indicating a plurality of preambles for PRACH repetitions from the BS; in this case, the association between SSB and RO for transmitting preambles including an association ratio corresponds to a number of times SSBs are mapped to preambles of the PRACH occasions).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches the apparatus. Zhang further teaches:
wherein the mapping comprises:
a number of preambles (see Zhang, par. [0087]: the BS may configure a plurality of ROs for transmitting the preamble, and the RO in step 201 may be determined from the plurality of ROs. For example, the BS may configure a subset of slots in a PRACH configuration period. Within the subset of slots, there may be one or more ROs, wherein each RO may cover multiple consecutive resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain, and see Figs. 3A and 3B, par. [0114]: the UE may also receive configuration information configuring the association between SSB and RO (e.g., the association may be 1-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3A, N-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3B, or 1-to-N association as shown in FIG. 3C) from the BS, and see par. [0127]: the UE may obtain a plurality of preambles for PRACH repetitions based on network's configuration, e.g., the UE may receive configuration information indicating a plurality of preambles for PRACH repetitions from the BS) and a number of times that the set of synchronization signal blocks are to be mapped to at least one preamble of the one or more preambles in different physical random access channel occasions (see Zhang, par. [0087]: the BS may configure a plurality of ROs for transmitting the preamble, and the RO in step 201 may be determined from the plurality of ROs. For example, the BS may configure a subset of slots in a PRACH configuration period. Within the subset of slots, there may be one or more ROs, wherein each RO may cover multiple consecutive resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain, and see Figs. 3A and 3B, par. [0114]: the UE may also receive configuration information configuring the association between SSB and RO (e.g., the association may be 1-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3A, N-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3B, or 1-to-N association as shown in FIG. 3C) from the BS, and see par. [0127]: the UE may obtain a plurality of preambles for PRACH repetitions based on network's configuration, e.g., the UE may receive configuration information indicating a plurality of preambles for PRACH repetitions from the BS; in this case, the association between SSB and RO for transmitting preambles including an association ratio corresponds to a number of times SSBs are mapped to preambles of the PRACH occasions).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches the apparatus. Zhang further teaches:
wherein the mapping comprises a mask indicative of at least one physical random access channel occasion for the apparatus (see Zhang, par. [0087]: the BS may configure a plurality of ROs for transmitting the preamble, and the RO in step 201 may be determined from the plurality of ROs. For example, the BS may configure a subset of slots in a PRACH configuration period. Within the subset of slots, there may be one or more ROs, wherein each RO may cover multiple consecutive resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain; in this case, a configuration of ROs for transmitting the preamble corresponds to a mask indicating PRACH occasions).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches the apparatus. Zhang further teaches:
wherein the mapping comprises an indication that the mapping between the set of synchronization signal blocks and at least one preamble of the one or more preambles in the at least one physical random access channel occasion is to be applied after applying the mask (see Zhang, Fig. 4, pars. [0112-0113]: In step 404, the UE may determine a set of ROs for PRACH repetition based on the determined SSB pattern. In such embodiments, before determining the set of ROs, the UE may receive configuration information configuring a plurality of ROs for PRACH repetitions from the BS (in other words, the BS may configure a plurality of ROs for PRACH repetitions). In some embodiments, the plurality of ROs may be separately configured (e.g., dedicated for PRACH repetitions); in this case, the configuration of ROs for PRACH repetitions is received before further determining SSB patterns and associated preambles, corresponding to the configuration of ROs being applied before the mapping between SSBs and preambles (i.e. mapping after applying the mask)).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches:
An apparatus comprising at least one processor (see Zhang, Fig. 12, par. [0240]: the apparatus 1200 may include at least one transmitter 1202, at least one receiver 1204, and at least one processor 1206); and at least one memory (see Zhang, par. [0241]: the apparatus 1200 may further include an input device, a memory, and/or other components) including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform (see Zhang, Fig. 12, par. [0245]: an embodiment of the present application provides an apparatus for PRACH repetition, including a processor and a memory. Computer programmable instructions for implementing a method for PRACH repetition are stored in the memory, and the processor is configured to perform the computer programmable instructions to implement the method for PRACH repetition) at least:
transmitting, to a user equipment, at least one random access configuration for the user equipment to access to a radio access network, wherein the at least one random access configuration comprises a mapping between a set of synchronization signal blocks and one or more preambles in at least one physical random access channel occasion according to one or more features (see Zhang, par. [0087]: the BS may configure a plurality of ROs for transmitting the preamble, and the RO in step 201 may be determined from the plurality of ROs. For example, the BS may configure a subset of slots in a PRACH configuration period. Within the subset of slots, there may be one or more ROs, wherein each RO may cover multiple consecutive resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain, and see Figs. 3A and 3B, par. [0114]: the UE may also receive configuration information configuring the association between SSB and RO (e.g., the association may be 1-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3A, N-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3B, or 1-to-N association as shown in FIG. 3C) from the BS, and see par. [0127]: the UE may obtain a plurality of preambles for PRACH repetitions based on network's configuration, e.g., the UE may receive configuration information indicating a plurality of preambles for PRACH repetitions from the BS, and see par. [0105]; embodiments of the present application propose solutions for PRACH repetition, which can at least solve the above technical problems for implementing the PRACH repetition, thereby improving the coverage of the PRACH; in this case, configuration is transmitted for RACH occasions for transmitting preambles and association between SSBs and ROs, corresponding to a configuration with a mapping between SSBs and preambles in PRACH occasions. The configuration includes specific associations and configurations regarding PRACH repetitions for improving coverage, corresponding to the configuration according to one or more features); and
receiving, from the user equipment, at least one preamble of the one or more preambles (see Zhang, Fig. 2, par. [0083]: in step 201, a UE may transmit Msg1 in an RO to a BS. The Msg1 may include a preamble selected by the UE, and see pars. [0146-0147]: After determining a set of preambles associated with each SSB pattern of the set of SSB patterns (the set of SSB patterns includes the determined SSB pattern) associated with each RO of the set of ROs, the UE may select a preamble from a set of preambles associated with the determined SSB pattern. In some embodiments of the present application, the UE may transmit the preamble in each RO of the set of ROs).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches the apparatus. Zhang further teaches:
wherein the one or more features comprise at least one of: coverage enhancement, network slicing, reduced capability, and small data transmission (see Zhang, par. [0097]: the PRACH overage enhancement may be obtained by PRACH repetitions. The PRACH repetitions may refer to repeated PRACH preamble transmissions or transmitting the preamble in more than one RO, wherein each preamble transmission or transmitting the preamble in an RO may referred to a PRACH repetition. A PRACH repetition may also be referred to as a preamble repetition, and see par. [0105]: embodiments of the present application propose solutions for PRACH repetition, which can at least solve the above technical problems for implementing the PRACH repetition, thereby improving the coverage of the PRACH).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches the apparatus. Zhang further teaches:
wherein the mapping comprises:
an indication of a starting physical random access channel occasion (see Zhang, pars. [0114-0115]: the UE may also receive configuration information configuring the association between SSB and RO (e.g., the association may be 1-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3A, N-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3B, or 1-to-N association as shown in FIG. 3C) from the BS. Then, the UE may determine the set of ROs from the plurality of ROs based on the determined SSB pattern, and see par. [0116]: the set of ROs are determined from a start of an SSB to RO mapping cycle, or from a start of an SSB to RO association period, or from a start of an SSB to RO association pattern period; in this case, based on configured association between SSB and RO, the set of ROs are determined, corresponding to the mapping indicating a starting PRACH occasion) and a number of times that the set of synchronization signal blocks are to be mapped to at least one preamble of the one or more preambles in different physical random access channel occasions (see Zhang, par. [0087]: the BS may configure a plurality of ROs for transmitting the preamble, and the RO in step 201 may be determined from the plurality of ROs. For example, the BS may configure a subset of slots in a PRACH configuration period. Within the subset of slots, there may be one or more ROs, wherein each RO may cover multiple consecutive resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain, and see Figs. 3A and 3B, par. [0114]: the UE may also receive configuration information configuring the association between SSB and RO (e.g., the association may be 1-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3A, N-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3B, or 1-to-N association as shown in FIG. 3C) from the BS, and see par. [0127]: the UE may obtain a plurality of preambles for PRACH repetitions based on network's configuration, e.g., the UE may receive configuration information indicating a plurality of preambles for PRACH repetitions from the BS; in this case, the association between SSB and RO for transmitting preambles including an association ratio corresponds to a number of times SSBs are mapped to preambles of the PRACH occasions).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches the apparatus. Zhang further teaches:
wherein the mapping comprises:
a number of preambles (see Zhang, par. [0087]: the BS may configure a plurality of ROs for transmitting the preamble, and the RO in step 201 may be determined from the plurality of ROs. For example, the BS may configure a subset of slots in a PRACH configuration period. Within the subset of slots, there may be one or more ROs, wherein each RO may cover multiple consecutive resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain, and see Figs. 3A and 3B, par. [0114]: the UE may also receive configuration information configuring the association between SSB and RO (e.g., the association may be 1-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3A, N-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3B, or 1-to-N association as shown in FIG. 3C) from the BS, and see par. [0127]: the UE may obtain a plurality of preambles for PRACH repetitions based on network's configuration, e.g., the UE may receive configuration information indicating a plurality of preambles for PRACH repetitions from the BS) and a number of times that the set of synchronization signal blocks are to be mapped to at least one preamble of the one or more preambles in different physical random access channel occasions (see Zhang, par. [0087]: the BS may configure a plurality of ROs for transmitting the preamble, and the RO in step 201 may be determined from the plurality of ROs. For example, the BS may configure a subset of slots in a PRACH configuration period. Within the subset of slots, there may be one or more ROs, wherein each RO may cover multiple consecutive resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain, and see Figs. 3A and 3B, par. [0114]: the UE may also receive configuration information configuring the association between SSB and RO (e.g., the association may be 1-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3A, N-to-1 association as shown in FIG. 3B, or 1-to-N association as shown in FIG. 3C) from the BS, and see par. [0127]: the UE may obtain a plurality of preambles for PRACH repetitions based on network's configuration, e.g., the UE may receive configuration information indicating a plurality of preambles for PRACH repetitions from the BS; in this case, the association between SSB and RO for transmitting preambles including an association ratio corresponds to a number of times SSBs are mapped to preambles of the PRACH occasions).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches the apparatus. Zhang further teaches:
wherein the mapping comprises a mask indicative of at least one physical random access channel occasion for the user equipment (see Zhang, par. [0087]: the BS may configure a plurality of ROs for transmitting the preamble, and the RO in step 201 may be determined from the plurality of ROs. For example, the BS may configure a subset of slots in a PRACH configuration period. Within the subset of slots, there may be one or more ROs, wherein each RO may cover multiple consecutive resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain; in this case, a configuration of ROs for transmitting the preamble corresponds to a mask indicating PRACH occasions).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches the apparatus. Zhang further teaches:
wherein the mapping comprises an indication that the mapping between the set of synchronization signal blocks and at least one preamble of the one or more preambles in the at least one physical random access channel occasion is to be applied after applying the mask (see Zhang, Fig. 4, pars. [0112-0113]: In step 404, the UE may determine a set of ROs for PRACH repetition based on the determined SSB pattern. In such embodiments, before determining the set of ROs, the UE may receive configuration information configuring a plurality of ROs for PRACH repetitions from the BS (in other words, the BS may configure a plurality of ROs for PRACH repetitions). In some embodiments, the plurality of ROs may be separately configured (e.g., dedicated for PRACH repetitions); in this case, the configuration of ROs for PRACH repetitions is received before further determining SSB patterns and associated preambles, corresponding to the configuration of ROs being applied before the mapping between SSBs and preambles (i.e. mapping after applying the mask)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lei et al. (US 2023/0074775) teaches a user equipment (UE) having a first capability associated with a lower maximum UE bandwidth than a second capability performs at least a part of initial access based on an initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP) that is shared among UEs having the first capability and UEs having the second capability.
Li et al. (US 2021/0274561) teaches a RA configuration method including: grouping multiple Synchronization Signal Blocks (SSBs) and selecting a primary SSB from each SSB group; sending UE indication information indicating a primary SSB to be sent in an SSB group to be sent; sending at most one SSB in each SSB group to be sent to the UE; and sending the number of SSBs corresponding to preambles in each RA Channel (RACH) Occasion (RO) and the number of ROs under Frequency Division Multiplexing (FDM) to the UE.
Peisa et al. (US 2020/0275479) teaches a method in a wireless device of performing random access comprises receiving a random access configuration.
Ugurlu (US 2024/0107588) teaches a UE receiving RACH occasions including associations between SSBs and ROs.
Wang et al. (WO 2022/156436) teaches a method including determining a target RO and sending a preamble on a target RO.
A. Chakrapani, ("On the Design Details of SS/PBCH, Signal Generation and PRACH in 5G-NR") teaches all the design details associated with initial access channels and signal generation in 5G-NR specifications.
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419