DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to application No. 18/840,268, filed on 8/21/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-7, 9-16 and 19-20 have been rejected as follows. Claims 8 and 17-18 are objected to.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
Replacement drawings are required because Figures 1-3 are provided in greyscale.
See MPEP 1.84 “Black and white drawings are normally required. India ink, or its equivalent that secures solid black lines, must be used for drawings”. Thus, greyscale is not permitted. “All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction.” Thus, greyscale is not permitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-10, 14, 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuwabara (US Patent No. 4,923,245).
Regarding claim 1, Kuwabara discloses a roof sunroof assembly (Fig. 1; column 2, lines 54-57), comprising a roof (11, Fig. 1) provided with a window (11a, Fig. 1; column 2, lines 60-64); a connector (12, Fig. 1) integrally formed (interpreted as connected to 11b at bolt) with the roof (11, Fig. 1); and a sunroof (14, Fig. 1) fixed (defined as attached or connected; see applicant’s specification [0037], lines 2-3) at the window (11a, Fig. 1) of the roof (11, Fig. 1) by the connector (12, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Kuwabara further discloses wherein the connector (12, Fig. 1 & 2A) is provided with an insertion slot (Fig. 1 & 2A, see annotated Figure 1 below), the sunroof (14, Fig. 1) is provided with an insertion piece (13, Fig. 1), and the insertion piece (13, Fig. 1) is configured to be fitted in the insertion slot to fix (attach/connect) the sunroof (14, Fig. 1) at the window (11a, Fig. 1) of the roof (11, Fig. 1).
Figure 1:
Regarding claim 5, Kuwabara discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 2 above, and further discloses wherein the insertion slot (see annotated Figure 1 above) comprises an engaging cavity (see annotated Figure 1 above), the insertion piece (13, Fig. 1; see annotated Figure 1 above) is provided with an engaging portion (see annotated Figure 1 above), the engaging portion is fitted in the engaging cavity, and an outer peripheral surface of the engaging portion is configured to be stopped by an inner wall of the engaging cavity to constrain a displacement of the insertion piece in an insertion direction.
Regarding claim 6, Kuwabara further discloses wherein the connector (12, Fig. 1) is provided with a lightening hole (see annotated Figure 2 below) therein.
Figure 2:
Regarding claim 7, Kuwabara further discloses wherein the connector (12, Fig. 1) is provided with a first extending portion (see annotated Figure 1 above) configured to be connected (column 2, line 68 to column 3, line 1) with the roof (11, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Kuwabara further discloses wherein the connector (12, Fig. 1) is provided with a flanging (see annotated Figure 2 above) configured to be closely fitted with the sunroof (14, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Kuwabara discloses a vehicle (column 2, lines 54-57 & 60-61), comprising a roof sunroof assembly (Fig. 1; column 2, lines 54-57) wherein the roof sunroof assembly comprises a roof (11, Fig. 1) provided with a window (11a, Fig. 1; column 2, lines 60-64); a connector (12, Fig. 1) integrally formed (interpreted as connected to 11b at bolt) with the roof (11, Fig. 1); and a sunroof (14, Fig. 1) fixed (defined as attached or connected; see applicant’s specification [0037], lines 2-3) at the window (11a, Fig. 1) of the roof (11, Fig. 1) by the connector (12, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Kuwabara discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 5 above, and further discloses wherein the engaging cavity (see annotated Figure 1 above) is arranged at a bottom of the insertion slot (see annotated Figure 1 above), and a maximum width size (see annotated Figure 1 above) of the engaging cavity is slightly larger than a width size of the rest of the insertion slot; and the engaging portion (see annotated Figure 1 above) is located at a free end of the insertion piece (13, Fig. 1, see annotated Figure 1 above), and a maximum radial size (see annotated Figure 1 above) of the engaging portion is slightly larger than a radial size of the rest of the insertion piece (see annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 16, Kuwabara discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 7 above, and further discloses wherein the first extending portion (see annotated Figure 1 above) is integrally formed (interpreted as connected to 11b at bolt) with the roof (11, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Kuwabara discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 9 above, and further discloses wherein the flanging (see annotated Figure 2 above) is arranged at a slot opening (see annotated Figure 2 above) of an insertion slot (see annotated Figure 2 above).
Regarding claim 20, Kuwabara discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 9 above, and further discloses wherein the flanging (see annotated Figure 2 above) is arranged at a top of the connector (12, Fig. 1), and is folded towards an upper side of the connector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 10 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (CN 215398120).
Regarding claim 1, Chen et al discloses a roof sunroof assembly (skylight assembly; see abstract), comprising a roof (top & 3, Fig. 1; see annotated Figure 3 below) provided with a window (page 3, para. 3, “opening area…light transmission area…”); and; a connector (1, Fig. 1 & 2) integrally formed (interpreted as connected to top roof) with the roof (top, Fig. 1; see annotated Figure 3 below).
Chen et al does not expressly disclose a sunroof fixed at the window of the roof by the connector. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the vehicle skylight of Chen et al would have a sunroof connected at the window since it is essential that a skylight as disclosed would integrate a sunroof at the roof’s connector points. A fixed glass roof acts as a structural extension of a car’s window fusing light and visibility into the cabin.
Figure 3:
Regarding claim 2, Chen et al further discloses wherein the connector (1, Fig. 1 & 2) is provided with an insertion slot (see annotated Figure 3 above), thus the sunroof would be provided with an insertion piece configured to be fitted in the insertion slot to fix the sunroof at the window of the roof (see annotated Figure 3 above). The sunroof would fundamentally have a mating insertion piece or end of the sunroof fitted into the insertion slot of the connector to fix the sunroof at the window in order to function as a sunroof/skylight assembly. A functional, moving, and weather-exposed roof assembly necessitates secure physical mating connection.
Regarding claim 6, Chen et al further discloses wherein the connector (1, Fig. 1 & 2) is provided with a lightening hole (see annotated Figure 3 above) therein.
Regarding claim 7, Chen et al further discloses wherein the connector (1, Fig. 1 & 2) is provided with a first extending portion (see annotated Figure 3 above) configured to be connected with the roof (top, Fig. 1; see annotated Figure 3 above).
Regarding claim 10, Chen et al discloses a vehicle (page 5, para. 1), comprising a roof sunroof assembly (skylight assembly; see abstract) wherein the roof sunroof assembly comprises a roof (top & 3, Fig. 1; see annotated Figure 3 below) provided with a window (page 3, para. 3, “opening area…light transmission area…”); and a connector (1, Fig. 1 & 2) integrally formed (interpreted as connected to top roof) with the roof (top, Fig. 1; see annotated Figure 3 below).
Chen et al does not expressly disclose a sunroof fixed at the window of the roof by the connector. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the vehicle skylight of Chen et al would have a sunroof connected at the window since it is essential that a skylight as disclosed would integrate a sunroof at the roof’s connector points. A fixed glass roof acts as a structural extension of a car’s window fusing light and visibility into the cabin.
Regarding claim 15, Chen et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 7 above, and further discloses wherein an extending direction of the first extending portion (see annotated Figure 3 above) is opposite to an orientation of a slot opening of an insertion slot (see annotated Figure 3 above) of the connector (1, Fig. 1 & 2; see annotated Figure 3 above).
Regarding claim 16, Chen et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 7 above, and further discloses wherein the first extending portion (see annotated Figure 3 above) is integrally formed (interpreted as connected to top roof section) with the roof (see annotated Figure 3 above).
Claims 3-4 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwabara (US Patent No. 4,923,245) or Chen et al (CN 215398120) in view of Huang et al (CN 209634252).
Regarding claim 3, Kuwabara or Chen et al disclose all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 2 above and wherein the connector has an annular shape, is arranged at the window, and extends and closes along an opening edge of the window (see annotated Figure 1 & Figure 3 above). However, Kuwabara or Chen et al do not expressly disclose that the connector is provided with a plurality of insertion slots arranged at intervals along a circumferential direction of the connector, the sunroof is provided with a plurality of insertion pieces, and the plurality of insertion pieces are fitted in a one-to-one correspondence in the plurality of insertion slots of the connector.
Regarding claim 4, Kuwabara or Chen et al disclose all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 2 above. However, Kuwabara or Chen et al do not expressly disclose wherein a plurality of connectors are provided at the window and arranged at intervals along an opening edge of the window, the sunroof is provided with a plurality of insertion pieces, and the plurality of insertion pieces are fitted in a one-to-one correspondence in the insertion slots of the plurality of connectors.
Huang et al teaches a sunroof assembly (automobile skylight, see abstract) with a plurality of connectors (4, Fig. 1 & 4) provided at the window and arranged at intervals (Fig. 1-2) along an opening edge of the window having a plurality of insertion pieces (44, Fig. 4) fitted in a one-to-one correspondence (4, Fig. 4) in the insertion slots (46, Fig. 4) of a plurality of connectors (4, Fig. 4) in the analogous field of the claimed invention of vehicle sunroof assemblies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sunroof of Kuwabara or Chen et al to include the type of plurality of connectors fitted in a one-to-one correspondence as taught by Huang et al. Doing so would provide convenient assembly and disassembly as well as connector stability (page 4, para. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Kuwabara or Chen et al in view of Huang et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 3 above, and Huang et al further discloses wherein the connector (4, Fig. 4) is an integral structure, and a shape of the connector (4, Fig. 1-2) matches with a shape of the window (sides 1, Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 12, Kuwabara or Chen et al in view of Huang et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 3 above, and Huang et al further discloses wherein each of the plurality of insertion pieces (44, Fig. 4) is embedded on a side wall of the sunroof (sides 1, Fig. 1-2), and the plurality of insertion pieces (44, Fig. 4) are evenly arranged at intervals (4, Fig. 1-2) along a circumferential direction of the sunroof (sides 1, Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, Kuwabara or Chen et al in view of Huang et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 4 above, and Huang et al further discloses wherein the plurality of connectors (4, Fig. 1-2) are arranged at equal intervals (4, Fig. 1-2) along the opening edge of the window, each connector (4, Fig. 4) is provided with only one insertion slot (46, Fig. 4), and the plurality of insertion pieces (44, Fig. 4) are arranged at an outer peripheral side of the sunroof (sides 1, Fig. 1-2), and are arranged at intervals (4, Fig. 1-2) along a circumferential direction of the sunroof (sides 1, Fig. 1-2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter in claim 8 is the additional features further defining the connector to include the second and third extending portions defining a fitting groove embedding a fitting portion provided on the sunroof. These limitations are encompassed by the recitation of “a second extending portion and a third extending portion arranged in intervals, a fitting groove is defined between the second extending portion and the third extending portion, the sunroof is provided with a fitting portion, and the fitting portion is configured to be embedded into the fitting groove to enhance an assembling stability of the connector.” The closest prior art of Kuwabara (US Patent No. 4,923,245) or Chen et al (CN 215398120) disclose sunroof panel connectors as discussed in the rejections above; however neither of these references disclose the connector having second and third extending portions defining a fitting groove embedding a fitting portion provided on the sunroof. Applicant’s structure improves the assembling stability of the connector by enhanced anchoring of it to the roof. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. Claims 17-18 contain allowable subject matter by virtue of dependency as they depend from claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prouteau et al (US Patent No. 4,934,098) in Figure 2, Ichinohe et al (US Patent No. 5,577,798) in Figure 3, and Inzerillo et al (US 2021/0213809) in Figure 1 disclose vehicle sunroof assembly mounting devices with connectors having an insertion slot mated with an insertion piece. Heo et al (US 2012/0153685) discloses a plurality of vehicle roof connectors (Fig. 1) spaced at intervals along a roof opening.
/D.L.E./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612