Detailed Action
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In para. [0006]-[0007], “outside flows” should be corrected to say –outside flow--.
In para. [0006]-[0007] and [0068], “is formed between” should be corrected to say –and is formed between--.
Appropriate correction is required.
The Specification appears to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. A substitute specification in proper idiomatic English and in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52(a) and (b) is required. The substitute specification filed must be accompanied by a statement that it contains no new matter.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 12, “is formed” should be corrected to say –and is formed--. On line 13-14, “an outside flows” should be corrected to say –an outside flow--.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 3, “wherein when a side where” should be corrected to say –wherein a side where--. On line 7, “the outer side in the groove” should be corrected to say –an outer side in the groove—because it is not previously claimed.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 3, “route configured to connect the space to an outside” should be corrected to say –route is configured to connect a space to outside--. On lines 5-6, “is possible is formed in the jacket, and the ventilation route is connected to the groove” should be corrected to say –is possible; is formed in the jacket; and is connected to the groove”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (JP-2020106361-A), hereinafter Nakamura (from the Applicant).
As to claim 1, Nakamura teaches a cooling unit for using in a semiconductor device test (fig. 2; abstract; cooling unit 21 used in a semiconductor 2 inspection apparatus), comprising:
a jacket configured to dissipate heat of the semiconductor device (fig. 2; abstract; jacket 31 for radiating heat of the semiconductor device 2),
wherein the jacket includes a central portion, and an outer portion located around the central portion (fig. 1; pg. 5 ln. 53; The jacket 31 has a first surface 31a and a second surface 31b opposite to the first surface 31a),
an opening through which light from the semiconductor device passes is formed in the central portion (fig. 2; abstract; The jacket 31 is provided with an opening 32 that allows light from the semiconductor device 2 to pass therethrough),
the outer portion includes a contact portion that comes into contact with a stage on which the semiconductor device is disposed (fig. 2; pg. 5 ln 53-54; The first surface 31 a is a surface that faces the
semiconductor device 2 and the holding portion 3b when the cooling unit 21 is attached to the stage 3),
a supply flow passage through which a cooling fluid for cooling the semiconductor device flows is formed in the jacket (fig. 2; pg.2 ln. 1; A cooling unit, wherein the jacket is provided with a supply passage 51 through which a fluid supplied to the space flows),
a groove (fig. 8; pg. 6 ln. 10-11; a groove portion (recess) 36) configured so that the cooling fluid flows down from an upper surface (fig. 2; space S1) of the central portion (Fig. 3; pg. 10 ln. 3-4; “The groove 36 is formed on the bottom surface 34a. Accordingly, the fluid 5 flowing in the space S1 can be made turbulent, and the heat of the semiconductor device 2 can be more efficiently transferred to the jacket 31”. Thus, the cooling fluid flows down from space S1) and is formed between the central portion and the outer portion in the jacket (pg. 8 ln. 21-22; “The groove 36 is arranged so that at least a part thereof is exposed in the space S1”. Pg. 11 ln. 1-5; “For example, the bottom surface 34a may have a plurality of annular groove portions arranged side by side in the radial direction. That is, concentric groove portions may be formed on the bottom surface 34a. Alternatively, the bottom surface 34a may be formed with a plurality of convex portions”. Thus, the groove 36 is between the space S1 and the jacket 31),
and a discharge flow passage through which the cooling fluid to be discharged to an outside flow[[s]] (pg. 6 ln. 24-25; Each discharge flow path 52 extends linearly and is open to the outer surface 31 c of the jacket 31 and the bottom surface 35a of the second portion 35) is connected to the groove (pg. 8 ln. 21-22; “The groove 36 is arranged so that at least a part thereof is exposed in the space S1”. Fig. 3; pg. 6 ln. 17-18; “The four discharge flow paths 52 through which the fluid 5 discharged from the space S1 flows”. Thus, the groove 36 is connected to the discharge flow path 52 in order for the fluid 5 to discharge).
Nakamura Fig. 1
Nakamura Fig. 2
Nakamura Fig. 3
Nakamura Fig. 8
As to claim 2, Nakamura teaches the cooling unit according to claim 1, wherein a bridge portion (area of the opening 32) connecting the central portion and the outer portion to each other is formed between the central portion and the outer portion in the jacket (fig. 2; pg. 5 ln. 53- pg. 6 ln. 2; “The jacket 31 is provided with an opening 32 penetrating the jacket 31 along a direction D1 perpendicular to the first surface 31 a. The opening 32 has, for example, a substantially truncated cone shape that widens toward the second surface 31 b side”. Thus, the opening 32 connects the first surface 31a and the second surface 31b to each other and is formed between the surfaces 31a, 31b),
and the supply flow passage (51) is formed to pass through the bridge portion (pg. 6 ln. 17-20; fig. 2; “Each supply channel 51 extends linearly and is open to the outer surface 31 c of the jacket 31 and the inner surface 32a of the opening 32”. Thus, the supply channel 51 is formed to pass through the opening 32).
As to claim 3, Nakamura teaches the cooling unit according to claim 1, wherein a bridge portion (area of the opening 32) connecting the central portion and the outer portion to each other is formed between the central portion and the outer portion in the jacket (fig. 2; pg. 5 ln. 53- pg. 6 ln. 2; “The jacket 31 is provided with an opening 32 penetrating the jacket 31 along a direction D1 perpendicular to the first surface 31 a. The opening 32 has, for example, a substantially truncated cone shape that widens toward the second surface 31 b side”. Thus, the opening 32 connects the first surface 31a and the second surface 31b to each other and is formed between the surfaces 31a, 31b),
and a surface connected to the upper surface (space S1) of the central portion in the bridge portion (area of the opening 32) includes a portion located at a position lower than the upper surface of the central portion (fig. 2; for example, the first surface 31a is connected to space S1 with a portion location at a position lower than the space S1).
As to claim 6, Nakamura teaches the cooling unit according to claim 1, wherein the groove includes a ring-shaped portion surrounding the upper surface when viewed from a direction orthogonal to the upper surface of the central portion (pg. 6 ln. 10-13; fig. 3; “A groove portion (recess) 36 extending in a spiral shape (spiral shape) is formed on the bottom surface 34a of the first portion 34. A pair of placement grooves 37 in which the elastic members 41 and 42 are placed are formed on the bottom surface 35 a of the second portion 35”. “As shown in FIG. 3, the elastic members 41 and 42 are formed in a ring shape, for example”).
As to claim 8, Nakamura teaches an objective lens module (fig. 2; objective lens module 60), comprising:
the cooling unit according to claim 1 (fig. 2; cooling unit 21);
an immersion lens disposed in the opening (fig. 2; pg. 6 ln. 51-56; solid immersion lens unit 61 is held in the opening 32);
and an objective lens facing the immersion lens (fig. 2; pg. 6 ln. 51-56; the objective lens 16 is attached to the solid immersion lens unit 61).
As to claim 9, Nakamura teaches a semiconductor test device (pg. 2 ln. 48-51; a semiconductor inspection apparatus), comprising:
the cooling unit according to claim 1 (pg. 4 ln. 6-9; the cooling unit);
an immersion lens disposed in the opening (fig. 2; pg. 6 ln. 51-56; solid immersion lens unit 61 is held in the opening 3);
a stage on which the semiconductor device is disposed (pg. 4 ln. 6-9; a stage on which a semiconductor device is arranged);
an objective lens facing the immersion lens (pg. 4 ln. 6-9; an objective lens that faces the semiconductor device via a light passage portion, which can be an immersion lens);
and a photodetector configured to detect light from the semiconductor device through the immersion lens and the objective lens (Pg. 8 ln. 44-54; “In the semiconductor inspection method using the semiconductor inspection apparatus 1… the objective lens 16 (objective lens module 60) is moved by the XYZ stage described above, and the cooling unit 21 is attached to the stage 3 so that the opening 32 faces the semiconductor device 2… The contact surface 62a of the solid immersion lens 62 is brought into contact with the semiconductor device 2. Then, the semiconductor device 2 is driven by the signal input device 11 (fourth step). Subsequently, while the fluid 5 is flowing in the spaces S1 to S3, the light that has come from the driving semiconductor device 2 and has passed through the opening 32 is detected by the photodetector 14 (fifth step)”. Thus, the photodetector 14 detects light from the semiconductor device 2 through the solid immersion lens 62 and the objective lens 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of Kusuda et al. (JP-H10135317-A), hereinafter Kusuda (from the IDS).
As to claim 4, Nakamura teaches the cooling unit according to claim 1, wherein the groove includes a first portion, and a second portion located on a side opposite to the upper surface of the central portion with respect to the first portion in a direction orthogonal to the upper surface of the central portion (fig. 8; groove portion (recess) 36 has an upper portion and a lower portion relative to the jacket 31. The lower portion is located on a side opposite to the space S1),
and the discharge flow passage is connected to the second portion (pg. 6 ln. 24-25; Each discharge flow path 52 extends linearly and is open to the outer surface 31 c of the jacket 31 and the bottom surface 35a of the second portion 35. Pg. 8 ln. 21-22; “The groove 36 is arranged so that at least a part thereof is exposed in the space S1”. Fig. 3; pg. 6 ln. 17-18; “The four discharge flow paths 52 through which the fluid 5 discharged from the space S1 flows”. Thus, the groove 36 is connected to the discharge flow path 52 in order for the fluid 5 to discharge. Therefore, the lower portion of the groove 36 is connected to the discharge flow path 52).
However, Nakamura does not explicitly disclose the second portion is formed to be narrower than the first portion.
Kusuda, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches the second portion is formed to be narrower than the first portion (Kusuda pg. 5 ln. 51-55; annotated fig. 4; the grooves 332, 333, 334 create curved trapezoidal grooves. The first portion is taught by Kusuda as the groove 333. The second portion is taught by Kusuda as the groove 334. The groove 334 is narrower than the groove 333).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Nakamura to incorporate the teachings of Kusuda to include the second portion is formed to be narrower than the first portion; for the advantage of reducing negative pressure (Kusuda pg. 5 ln. 6- pg. 6 ln. 3).
Kusuda annotated Fig. 4
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of Oda et al. (WO-2012132206-A1), hereinafter Oda.
As to claim 5, Nakamura teaches the cooling unit according to claim 1, wherein when a side where the central portion (31a) is located with respect to the outer portion is set as an inner side (fig. 2; 31a is an inner side of the objective lens module), a side where the outer portion (31b) is located with respect to the central portion is set as an outer side (fig. 2; 31b is an outer side of the objective lens module), and a side where the groove (36) is located with respect to the upper surface (S1) of the central portion is set as a lower side (fig. 8; 36 is on a lower side of the space S1).
However, Nakamura does not explicitly disclose an inner surface of the outer side in the groove includes an inclined surface inclined to face the inner side as going toward the lower side.
Oda, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches an inner surface of the outer side in the groove includes an inclined surface inclined to face the inner side as going toward the lower side (Oda fig 1(b); abstract; “The first groove (240) has a first inclined portion (246) in a part of the bottom surface, said part being in contact with the lateral surface of the first groove (240), and the first inclined portion (246) is inclined toward the depth direction of the first groove (240)”. The inner surface is described by Oda as the bottom surface. The includes surface is described by Oda as the first inclined portion 246. Thus, the groove of Nakamura with the groove shape of Oda can include the inclined surface inclined to face the inner side as going toward the lower side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Nakamura to incorporate the teachings of Oda to include an inner surface of the outer side in the groove includes an inclined surface inclined to face the inner side as going toward the lower side; for the advantage of extended semiconductor device lifetime (Oda pg. 8 ln. 54-55).
Oda Fig. 1 (b)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of Nishiyama et al. (JP2012105370A), hereinafter Nishiyama.
As to claim 7, Nakamura teaches the cooling unit according to claim 1 wherein a ventilation route is configured to connect a space to [[an]] outside of the jacket so that air circulation between a space formed when the contact portion comes into contact with the stage and the outside of the jacket is possible (pg. 11 ln. 6-11; “The jacket 31… may be cooled by the coolant 6 made of air. That is, the jacket 31 may be air-cooled instead of liquid-cooled. In this case, a thermostreamer may be used… The fluid 5 may be discharged from, for example, the gap formed between the stage 3 and the jacket 31”. Thus, a ventilation route connects a space (the gap formed between the stage 3 and the jacket 31) to outside of the jacket to circulate air in the gap formed between the stage 3 and the jacket 31).
However, Nakamura does not explicitly disclose wherein a ventilation route is formed in the jacket; and
Nishiyama, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein a ventilation route is formed in the jacket (Nishiyama Claims pg. 1 ln 11-12; The water jacket has an air vent on the other side surface of the housing);
and Nishiyama Claims pg. 1 ln 1-2; “A water jacket that forms a cooling flow path, comprising a housing having a flow channel groove formed on the upper surface”. Pg. 1 ln. 11-12; “The water jacket is disposed so as to be inclined so that the other side surface is higher than the one side surface of the housing, and has an air vent on the other side surface of the housing”. Thus, the air vent and the groove are connected via the water jacket).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Nakamura to incorporate the teachings of Nishiyama to include wherein a ventilation route is formed in the jacket; and
Conclusion
/KEMAYA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877