DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 5/20/2026 have been entered.
Claims 2, and 17 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/20/2026 have been fully considered but not persuasive.
Applicant 1st argument
Double Patenting
Examiner response to 1st argument:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Double patenting rejection can be given with obviousness as stated in MPEP {Definition of Double Patenting 804 R-07.2022}. Please see section B Nonstatutory Double Patenting “A rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the right to exclude granted by a patent. In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969); In re White, 405 F.2d 904, 160 USPQ 417 (CCPA 1969); In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968); In re Sarett, 327 F.2d 1005, 140 USPQ 474 (CCPA 1964). A double patenting rejection also serves public policy interests by preventing the possibility of multiple suits against an accused infringer by different assignees of patents claiming patentably indistinct variations of the same invention. In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 944-48, 214 USPQ 761, 767-70 (CCPA 1982).
A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In determining whether a nonstatutory basis exists for a double patenting rejection, the first question to be asked is: Is any invention claimed in the application anticipated by, or an obvious variation of, an invention claimed in the patent? If the answer is yes, then a nonstatutory double patenting rejection may be appropriate. To decide the question above, the examiner should first construe the claim(s) in the application under examination and the claim(s) in the reference application or patent to determine what are the differences. Then the examiner should determine whether those differences render the claims patentably distinct using an anticipation analysis and/or an obviousness analysis. See Pfizer, Inc. v. Teva Pharms. USA, Inc., 518 F.3d 1353, 1363, 86 USPQ2d 1001, 1008 (Fed. Cir. 2008)”
Applicant 2nd argument
Claims 1, and 12
Examiner response to 2nd argument:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that Ozturk does not teach the subject matter “for the service request to be applied to all wireless devices served by the plurality of second NF nodes” without providing additional details in the claim language, however as presented here Ozturk teach this subject matter ([0021-0031] the one or more service producer entities comprise at least one of: one or more network functions, which are configured to produce a service in or for the service-based access network, one or more microservices, which are configured to produce a service in or for the service-based access network, one or more communication control entity units, which are configured to produce a service for one or more cells, such as one or more distributed units of a base station entity, and one or more cells, which are configured to produce a service for one or more user equipment entities, such as a base transceiver or radio entity, and/or one or more sectors of at least one cell and/or one or more beams of at least one cell).
Applicant 3rd argument
Claim 2 and claim 6.
Examiner response to 3rd argument:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that Ozturk does not teach the subject matter “HTTP header” and first and second HTTP header, without providing additional details in the claims, however Ozturk teaches that the API are based on HTTPS ([0008] 5GC SBA Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) are based on the HTTP(S) protocol. A Network Function (NF) service is one type of capability exposed by an NF (NF service producer entity) to another authorized NF (NF service consumer entity) through a service-based interface (SBI). A Network Function (NF) may expose one or more NF services. NF services may communicate directly between NF service consumer entities and NF service producer entities, or indirectly via a Service Communication Proxy (SCP).). It is known for an ordinary skilled in the art that the communication between different nodes through HTTPS protocol would have different header with different source and destination addresses in the header of the HTTPs.
Applicant 4th argument
Claim 7.
Examiner response to 4th argument:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that Krishan does not teach this subject matter in claim 7 “whether the service request is complete or partially complete” without providing additional details in the claim about the completion or partially completion. Examiner is required to provide an art for one of the situation (completed or partially completed). As presented here, Krishan teaches this subject matter when doing the discovery ([0087-0094] Fig. 8, SCP forward responses coming from producers to the NF consumer, whether it is completed or unhealthy). The discovery process teaches whether the profiles of NF are reachable or unreachable.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). An examiner must construe claim terms in the broadest reasonable manner during prosecution as is reasonably allowed in an effort to establish a clear record of what applicant intends to claim. Thus, the Office does not interpret claims in the same manner as the courts. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1028 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321-22, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1321-22 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment." Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See also Liebel-Flarsheim Co. v. Medrad Inc., 358 F.3d 898, 906, 69 USPQ2d 1801, 1807 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Applicant is reminded that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See in re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR international Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Double Patenting
Application 18840819 and US Patent 12069126
Claim 1 is non provisionally (Obviousness) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 12069126.
Limitation “A method for handling a service request in a network, wherein the method is performed by a first network function (NF) node of a service consumer, the method comprising:
initiating transmission of a service request towards a first service communication proxy (SCP) node that is configured to operate as an SCP between the first NF node and a plurality of second NF nodes of one or more service producers, wherein the service request is for a service requested by the first NF node, and the service request comprises an indication that the service request is to be transmitted to one or more second NF nodes of the plurality of second NF nodes ” of claim 1 of the instant application and limitations “A method for handling a service request in a network, wherein the method is performed by a first service communication proxy, SCP, node that is configured to operate as an SCP between a first network function, NF, node of a service consumer and a second NF node of a service producer in the network, the method comprising: initiating transmission of information towards the first NF node if no response is received from the second NF node to a first request transmitted towards the second NF node via the first SCP node, wherein the first request is for the second NF node to execute a service requested by the first NF node and the information is indicative that no response is received from the second NF node to the first request” of claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126 have a similar subject matter.
Limitation “for the service request to be applied to all wireless devices served by the plurality of second NF nodes.” of claim 1 of the instant application which is not explicitly stated in claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126 in view of (“Ozturk”, US 20240334323 A1) in order to have for the service request to be applied to all wireless devices served by the plurality of second NF nodes ([0021-0031] the one or more service producer entities comprise at least one of: one or more network functions, which are configured to produce a service in or for the service-based access network, one or more microservices, which are configured to produce a service in or for the service-based access network, one or more communication control entity units, which are configured to produce a service for one or more cells, such as one or more distributed units of a base station entity, and one or more cells, which are configured to produce a service for one or more user equipment entities, such as a base transceiver or radio entity, and/or one or more sectors of at least one cell and/or one or more beams of at least one cell) because it will help provide energy saving on multiple network devices from base stations to network nodes through certain notification managed by the producers’ entities (Ozturk [0003-0012]).
Claim 2 is non provisionally (Obviousness) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of US Patent 12069126.
Limitation “the service request comprises a first hypertext transfer protocol, (HTTP), header and the first HTTP header comprises the indication.” of claim 2 of the instant application and limitations “the information is a newly created hypertext transfer protocol, HTTP, status code or the information is accompanied by an existing HTTP status code.” of claim 2 in the US Patent 12069126 have a similar subject matter.
Claim 3 is non provisionally (Obviousness) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 12069126.
Limitation “the service request comprises a criterion on the basis of which the one or more second NF nodes are to be selected by the first SCP node.” of claim 3 of the instant application which is not explicitly stated in claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126 in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (“3GPPP TS 23.501 V17.3.0”, AAPR) to select certain second NF nodes by the first SCP node ([0004] NF node of the service consumer can query the NRF node to discover suitable NF nodes of the service producer to which to send the service request. In response to such a query, the NF node of the service consumer can receive an NF profile for one or more NF nodes of the service producer and, based on the received NF profile(s) can select an NF node of the service producer to which to send the service request.) because it would help the proxy node select the nodes based on grouping or services types delivering different services with different profiles (AAPR [0004] NF node of the service consumer can query the NRF node to discover suitable NF nodes of the service producer to which to send the service request. In response to such a query, the NF node of the service consumer can receive an NF profile for one or more NF nodes of the service producer and, based on the received NF profile(s) can select an NF node of the service producer to which to send the service request.).
Claim 4 is non provisionally (Obviousness) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 12069126.
Limitation “the criterion is that the one or more second NF nodes are to comprise: a second NF node that has a predefined group identifier or at least two second NF nodes that have different group identifiers; a second NF node that has a predefined set identifier or at least two second NF nodes that have different set identifiers; and/or a second NF node that has a predefined service set identifier or at least two second NF nodes that have different service set identifiers” of claim 4 of the instant application which is not explicitly stated in claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126 in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (“3GPPP TS 23.501 V17.3.0”, AAPR) to have a certain selection second NF nodes by the first SCP node based on specific condition ([0004] NF node of the service consumer can query the NRF node to discover suitable NF nodes of the service producer to which to send the service request. In response to such a query, the NF node of the service consumer can receive an NF profile for one or more NF nodes of the service producer and, based on the received NF profile(s) can select an NF node of the service producer to which to send the service request.) ([0002-0009] discovery with selection parameter, address, location, capacity, based on service based interface); because it would help the proxy node select the nodes based on grouping or services types delivering different services with different profiles (AAPR [0004] NF node of the service consumer can query the NRF node to discover suitable NF nodes of the service producer to which to send the service request. In response to such a query, the NF node of the service consumer can receive an NF profile for one or more NF nodes of the service producer and, based on the received NF profile(s) can select an NF node of the service producer to which to send the service request.) (AAPR [0002-0009] discovery with selection parameter, address, location, capacity, based on service based interface).
Claim 5 is non provisionally (Obviousness) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 12069126.
Limitation “the criterion is that the one or more second NF nodes are to comprise: a second NF node that has a predefined group identifier or at least two second NF nodes that have different group identifiers; a second NF node that has a predefined set identifier or at least two second NF nodes that have different set identifiers; and/or a second NF node that has a predefined service set identifier or at least two second NF nodes that have different service set identifiers” of claim 5 of the instant application which is not explicitly stated in claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126 in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (“3GPPP TS 23.501 V17.3.0”, AAPR) to have a certain selection of all second NF nodes by the first SCP node based on specific condition ([0004] NF node of the service consumer can query the NRF node to discover suitable NF nodes of the service producer to which to send the service request. In response to such a query, the NF node of the service consumer can receive an NF profile for one or more NF nodes of the service producer and, based on the received NF profile(s) can select an NF node of the service producer to which to send the service request.) ([0002-0009] discovery with selection parameter, address, location, capacity, based on service based interface); because it would help the proxy node select the nodes based on grouping or services types delivering different services with different profiles (AAPR [0004] NF node of the service consumer can query the NRF node to discover suitable NF nodes of the service producer to which to send the service request. In response to such a query, the NF node of the service consumer can receive an NF profile for one or more NF nodes of the service producer and, based on the received NF profile(s) can select an NF node of the service producer to which to send the service request.) (AAPR [0002-0009] discovery with selection parameter, address, location, capacity, based on service based interface);.
Claim 6 is non provisionally (Obviousness) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of US Patent 12069126.
Limitation “the service request comprises a second hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) header and the second HTTP header comprises the criterion.” of claim 6 of the instant application and limitations “the information is a newly created hypertext transfer protocol, HTTP, status code or the information is accompanied by an existing HTTP status code.” of claim 2 in the US Patent 12069126 have a similar subject matter.
Claim 7 is non provisionally (Obviousness) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 12069126.
Limitation “receiving a response to the service request from the first SCP node, wherein the response is indicative of whether the service request is complete or partially complete.” of claim 7 of the instant application which is not explicitly stated in claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126 in view of (“US 20220060547 A1”, Krishan) to in order to receive a response whether it has been completed fully or partially ([0087-0094] Fig. 8, SCP forward responses coming from producers to the NF consumer, whether it is completed to unhealthy ) because it will help manage and optimize Network function discovery and routing using NRF and SCP (Krishan [0008-0010]).
Claim 8 is non provisionally (Obviousness) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 12069126.
Limitation “the response is indicative that the service request is complete when every second NF node, towards which transmission of the service request is initiated, has successfully executed the service request; and/or the response is indicative that the service request is partially complete when not every second NF node, towards which transmission of the service request is initiated, has successfully executed the service request” of claim 8 of the instant application which is not explicitly stated in claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126 in view of (“US 20220060547 A1”, Krishan) to in order to receive a response whether it has been completed fully or partially ([0087-0094] Fig. 8, SCP forward responses coming from producers to the NF consumer, whether it is completed to unhealthy ) because it will help manage and optimize Network function discovery and routing using NRF and SCP (Krishan [0008-0010]).
Claim 9 is non provisionally (Obviousness) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 12069126.
Limitation “the response is indicative that the service request is partially complete, and the response comprises an indication of which one or more second NF nodes, towards which transmission of the service request is initiated, have not successfully executed the service request.” of claim 9 of the instant application which is not explicitly stated in claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126 in view of (“US 20220060547 A1”, Krishan) to in order to receive a response whether it has been completed fully or partially ([0087-0094] Fig. 8, SCP forward responses coming from producers to the NF consumer, whether it is completed to unhealthy ) because it will help manage and optimize Network function discovery and routing using NRF and SCP (Krishan [0008-0010]).
Claim 10 is non provisionally (Obviousness) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 12069126.
Limitation “the wireless devices are in a single public land mobile network (PLMN) or a plurality of PLMNs.” of claim 10 of the instant application which is not explicitly stated in claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126 in view of (”US 20220256439 A1”, Casati) to in order to have all wireless devices in one PLMN network ([0008, 0013, 0018] The requested NSSAI comprises one or more single-NSSAIs (S-NSSAIs) subject to a capping number of UEs allowed to access one or more network slices associated with the one or more S-NSSAIs. Each of the one or more S-NSSAIs is supported by a single access and mobility function (AMF) or AMF set in a single public land mobile network (PLMN)) because it will help manage the network slicing and manage certain number of UEs not to exceed the predefined limits of the wireless devices within each slice (Casati [0002]).
Claim 11 is non provisionally (Obviousness) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 12069126.
Limitation “the service is a service that provides a notification to the first NF node of a change to an international mobile equipment identity (IMEI) or a permanent equipment identifier (PEI) for any of the wireless devices; or the service is a service that provides a notification to the first NF node of any of the wireless devices moving to a different public land mobile network (PLMN).” of claim 11 of the instant application which is not explicitly stated in claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126 in view of (”US 20220256439 A1”, Casati) to in order to notify network nodes when one wireless device is moving between different PLMN networks ([0054] In roaming cases, the NSSF of the visited Public Land Mobile Network (VPLMN) can be configured per S-NSSAI of home Public Land Mobile Network (HPLMN) to report to the HPLMN NSSF when a user joins or leaves the S-NSSAI)([0077] . In such roaming cases, the NSSF of a visited Public Land Mobile Network (VPLMN) can be configured per S-NSSAI of home Public Land Mobile Network (HPLMN) to report to the HPLMN NSSF when a user equipment joins or leaves the S-NSSAI) because it will help manage the network slicing and manage certain number of UEs not to exceed the predefined limits of the wireless devices within each slice (Casati [0002]).
Claim 12 is non provisionally (Obviousness) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 12069126.
Limitation “A method for handling a service request in a network, wherein the method is performed by a first service communication proxy (SCP) node that is configured to operate as an SCP between a first network function (NF) node of a service consumer and a plurality of second NF nodes of one or more service producers, the method comprising: selecting one or more second NF nodes of the plurality of second NF nodes to which to transmit a service request received from the first NF node, wherein the service request is for a service requested by the first NF node, and the service request comprises an indication that the service request is to be transmitted to one or more second NF nodes of the plurality of second NF nodes” of claim 12 of the instant application and limitations “A method for handling a service request in a network, wherein the method is performed by a first service communication proxy, SCP, node that is configured to operate as an SCP between a first network function, NF, node of a service consumer and a second NF node of a service producer in the network, the method comprising: initiating transmission of information towards the first NF node if no response is received from the second NF node to a first request transmitted towards the second NF node via the first SCP node, wherein the first request is for the second NF node to execute a service requested by the first NF node and the information is indicative that no response is received from the second NF node to the first request” of claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126 have a similar subject matter.
Limitation “for the service request to be applied to all wireless devices served by the plurality of second NF nodes.” of claim 1 of the instant application which is not explicitly stated in claim 12 in the US Patent 12069126. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126 in view of (“Ozturk”, US 20240334323 A1) in order to have for the service request to be applied to all wireless devices served by the plurality of second NF nodes ([0021-0031] the one or more service producer entities comprise at least one of: one or more network functions, which are configured to produce a service in or for the service-based access network, one or more microservices, which are configured to produce a service in or for the service-based access network, one or more communication control entity units, which are configured to produce a service for one or more cells, such as one or more distributed units of a base station entity, and one or more cells, which are configured to produce a service for one or more user equipment entities, such as a base transceiver or radio entity, and/or one or more sectors of at least one cell and/or one or more beams of at least one cell) because it will help provide energy saving on multiple network devices from base stations to network nodes through certain notification managed by the producers’ entities (Ozturk [0003-0012]).
Claim 14 is non provisionally (Obviousness) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 12069126.
Limitation “the service request comprises a criterion on the basis of which the one or more second NF nodes are to be selected by the first SCP node; and selecting the one or more second NF nodes comprises selecting the one or more second NF nodes based on the criterion.” of claim 14 of the instant application which is not explicitly stated in claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126 in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (“3GPPP TS 23.501 V17.3.0”, AAPR) to select certain second NF nodes by the first SCP node ([0004] NF node of the service consumer can query the NRF node to discover suitable NF nodes of the service producer to which to send the service request. In response to such a query, the NF node of the service consumer can receive an NF profile for one or more NF nodes of the service producer and, based on the received NF profile(s) can select an NF node of the service producer to which to send the service request.) because it would help the proxy node select the nodes based on grouping or services types delivering different services with different profiles (AAPR [0004] NF node of the service consumer can query the NRF node to discover suitable NF nodes of the service producer to which to send the service request. In response to such a query, the NF node of the service consumer can receive an NF profile for one or more NF nodes of the service producer and, based on the received NF profile(s) can select an NF node of the service producer to which to send the service request.).
Claim 15 is non provisionally (Obviousness) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of Patent US 12069126.
Limitation “the criterion is that the one or more second NF nodes are to comprise a second NF node that has a predefined group identifier and selecting the one or more second NF nodes comprises selecting a second NF node that has the predefined group identifier, or the criterion is that the one or more second NF nodes are to comprise at least two second NF nodes that have different group identifiers and selecting the one or more second NF nodes comprises selecting at least two second NF nodes that have different group identifiers; the criterion is that the one or more second NF nodes are to comprise a second NF node that has a predefined set identifier and selecting the one or more second NF nodes comprises selecting a second NF node that has the predefined set identifier, or the criterion is that the one or more second NF nodes are to comprise at least two second NF nodes that have different set identifiers and selecting the one or more second NF nodes comprises selecting at least two second NF nodes that have different set identifiers; and/or the criterion is that the one or more second NF nodes are to comprise a second NF node that has a predefined service set identifier and selecting the one or more second NF nodes comprises selecting a second NF node that has the predefined service set identifier, or the criterion is that the one or more second NF nodes are to comprise at least two second NF nodes that have different service set identifiers and selecting the one or more second NF nodes comprises selecting at least two second NF nodes that have different service set identifiers” of claim 15 of the instant application which is not explicitly stated in claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126 in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (“3GPPP TS 23.501 V17.3.0”, AAPR) to have a certain selection second NF nodes by the first SCP node based on specific condition ([0004] NF node of the service consumer can query the NRF node to discover suitable NF nodes of the service producer to which to send the service request. In response to such a query, the NF node of the service consumer can receive an NF profile for one or more NF nodes of the service producer and, based on the received NF profile(s) can select an NF node of the service producer to which to send the service request.) ([0002-0009] discovery with selection parameter, address, location, capacity, based on service based interface); because it would help the proxy node select the nodes based on grouping or services types delivering different services with different profiles (AAPR [0004] NF node of the service consumer can query the NRF node to discover suitable NF nodes of the service producer to which to send the service request. In response to such a query, the NF node of the service consumer can receive an NF profile for one or more NF nodes of the service producer and, based on the received NF profile(s) can select an NF node of the service producer to which to send the service request.) (AAPR [0002-0009] discovery with selection parameter, address, location, capacity, based on service based interface);.
Claim 16 is non provisionally (Obviousness) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 12069126.
Limitation “the criterion is that the one or more second NF nodes are to comprise all second NF nodes of the plurality of second NF nodes; and selecting the one or more second NF nodes comprises selecting all second NF nodes of the plurality of second NF nodes” of claim 16 of the instant application which is not explicitly stated in claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify claim 1 in the US Patent 12069126 in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (“3GPPP TS 23.501 V17.3.0”, AAPR) to have a certain selection of all second NF nodes by the first SCP node based on specific condition ([0004] NF node of the service consumer can query the NRF node to discover suitable NF nodes of the service producer to which to send the service request. In response to such a query, the NF node of the service consumer can receive an NF profile for one or more NF nodes of the service producer and, based on the received NF profile(s) can select an NF node of the service producer to which to send the service request.) ([0002-0009] discovery with selection parameter, address, location, capacity, based on service based interface); because it would help the proxy node select the nodes based on grouping or services types delivering different services with different profiles (AAPR [0004] NF node of the service consumer can query the NRF node to discover suitable NF nodes of the service producer to which to send the service request. In response to such a query, the NF node of the service consumer can receive an NF profile for one or more NF nodes of the service producer and, based on the received NF profile(s) can select an NF node of the service producer to which to send the service request.) (AAPR [0002-0009] discovery with selection parameter, address, location, capacity, based on service based interface);.
Claim 17 is non provisionally (Obviousness) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of US Patent 12069126.
Limitation “the service request comprises a second hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) header and the second HTTP header comprises the criterion.” of claim 17 of the instant application and limitations “the information is a newly created hypertext transfer protocol, HTTP, status code or the information is accompanied by an existing HTTP status code.” of claim 2 in the US Patent 12069126 have a similar subject matter.
Claim 27: claim 27 is rejected with the same double patenting reasoning as claim 1 of the instant application.
Claim 29: claim 29 is rejected with the same double patenting reasoning as claim 12 of the instant application.
Claim 32: claim 32 is rejected with the same double patenting reasoning as claim 1 of the instant application.
Claim 34: claim 34 is rejected with the same double patenting reasoning as claim 12 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 12, 14-17, 27, 29, 32, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Applicant Admitted Prior Art (“3GPPP TS 23.501 V17.3.0”, AAPR) hereinafter AAPR, in view of Ozturk et al. (“Ozturk”, US 20240334323 A1) hereinafter Ozturk.
Regarding claim 1, AAPR teaches a method for handling a service request in a network, wherein the method is performed by a first network function (NF) node of a service consumer ([0002-0009] Figs. 1A, 1B, 1C, 1D, consumer node in all figures 1A-1D), the method comprising:
initiating transmission of a service request towards a first service communication proxy (SCP) ([0002-0009] Figs. 1C, 1D, consumer node in all figures 1A-1D, SCP in figures 1C, 1D) node that is configured to operate as an SCP between the first NF node and a plurality of second NF nodes of one or more service producers ([0002-0009] the NRF node is not used and instead the NF node of the service consumer may be configured with the NF profile(s) of the NF node(s) of the service producer, a service request is sent indirectly from the NF node of the service consumer to the NF node of the service producer via a service communication proxy (SCP) node), wherein
the service request is for a service requested by the first NF node ([0002-0009] the NRF node is not used and instead the NF node of the service consumer may be configured with the NF profile(s) of the NF node(s) of the service producer, a service request is sent indirectly from the NF node of the service consumer to the NF node of the service producer via a service communication proxy (SCP) node), and
the service request comprises an indication that the service request is to be transmitted to one or more second NF nodes of the plurality of second NF nodes ([0002-0009] the NRF node is not used and instead the NF node of the service consumer may be configured with the NF profile(s) of the NF node(s) of the service producer, a service request is sent indirectly from the NF node of the service consumer to the NF node of the service producer via a service communication proxy (SCP) node),
AAPR does not explicitly teach, but Rajput teaches
for the service request to be applied to all wireless devices served by the plurality of second NF nodes ([0021-0031] the one or more service producer entities comprise at least one of: one or more network functions, which are configured to produce a service in or for the service-based access network, one or more microservices, which are configured to produce a service in or for the service-based access network, one or more communication control entity units, which are configured to produce a service for one or more cells, such as one or more distributed units of a base station entity, and one or more cells, which are configured to produce a service for one or more user equipment entities, such as a base transceiver or radio entity, and/or one or more sectors of at least one cell and/or one or more beams of at least one cell).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify AAPR in view of Ozturk in order to have apply a service request coming from consumer to multiple producers based on certain discovery procedure because it will help provide energy saving on multiple network devices from base stations to network nodes through certain notification managed by the producers’ entities (Ozturk [0003-0012]).
Regarding claim 2, AAPR and Ozturk teach the method of claim 1, wherein:
AARP does not explicitly teach, but Ozturk teaches
the service request comprises a first hypertext transfer protocol, (HTTP), header and the first HTTP header comprises the indication ([0008] 5GC SBA Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) are based on the HTTP(S) protocol. A Network Function (NF) service is one type of capability exposed by an NF (NF service producer entity) to another authorized NF (NF service consumer entity) through a service-based interface (SBI). A Network Function (NF) may expose one or more NF services. NF services may communicate directly between NF service consumer entities and NF service producer entities, or indirectly via a Service Communication Proxy (SCP).).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify AAPR in view of Ozturk in order to have apply a service request coming from consumer to multiple producers based on certain discovery procedure because it will help provide energy saving on multiple network devices from base stations to network nodes through certain notification managed by the producers’ entities (Ozturk [0003-0012]).
Regarding claim 3, AAPR and Ozturk teach the method of claim 1, wherein:
AARP teaches the service request comprises a criterion on the basis of which the one or more second NF nodes are to be selected by the first SCP node ([0004] NF node of the service consumer can query the NRF node to discover suitable NF nodes of the service producer to which to send the service request. In response to such a query, the NF node of the service consumer can receive an NF profile for one or more NF nodes of the service producer and, based on the received NF profile(s) can select an NF node of the service producer to which to send the service request.).
Regarding claim 4, AAPR and Ozturk teach the method of claim 3, wherein:
AAPR teaches
the criterion is that the one or more second NF nodes are to comprise:
a second NF node that has a predefined group identifier or at least two second NF nodes that have different group identifiers;
a second NF node that has a predefined set identifier or at least two second NF nodes that have different set identifiers ([0002-0009] discovery with selection parameter, address, location, capacity, based on service based interface); and/or
a second NF node that has a predefined service set identifier or at least two second NF nodes that have different service set identifiers.
Regarding claim 5, AAPR and Ozturk teach the method of claim 3, wherein:
AAPR teaches the criterion is that the one or more second NF nodes are to comprise all second NF nodes of the plurality of second NF nodes ([0002-0009] discovery with selection parameter, address, location, capacity, based on service based interface, the NF node of the service consumer can receive an NF profile for one or more NF nodes of the service producer and, based on the received NF profile(s) can select an NF node of the service producer to which to send the service request);.
Regarding claim 6, AAPR and Ozturk teach the method of claim 3, wherein:
AARP does not explicitly teach, but Ozturk teaches
the service request comprises a second hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) header and the second HTTP header comprises the criterion ([0008] 5GC SBA Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) are based on the HTTP(S) protocol. A Network Function (NF) service is one type of capability exposed by an NF (NF service producer entity) to another authorized NF (NF service consumer entity) through a service-based interface (SBI). A Network Function (NF) may expose one or more NF services. NF services may communicate directly between NF service consumer entities and NF service producer entities, or indirectly via a Service Communication Proxy (SCP).).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify AAPR in view of Ozturk in order to have apply a service request coming from consumer to multiple producers based on certain discovery procedure because it will help provide energy saving on multiple network devices from base stations to network nodes through certain notification managed by the producers’ entities (Ozturk [0003-0012]).
Regarding claim 12, AAPR teaches a method for handling a service request in a network, wherein the method is performed by a first service communication proxy (SCP) node that is configured to operate as an SCP between a first network function (NF) node of a service consumer and a plurality of second NF nodes of one or more service producers ([0002-0009] Figs. 1C, 1D, consumer node in all figures 1A-1D, SCP in figures 1C, 1D) ([0002-0009] Figs. 1A, 1B, 1C, 1D, consumer node in all figures 1A-1D, producer node or plurality of produce nodes), the method comprising:
selecting one or more second NF nodes of the plurality of second NF nodes to which to transmit a service request received from the first NF node ([0002-0009] Figs 1A, 1B, 1C, and 1D the NRF node is not used and instead the NF node of the service consumer may be configured with the NF profile(s) of the NF node(s) of the service producer, a service request is sent indirectly from the NF node of the service consumer to the NF node of the service producer via a service communication proxy (SCP) node),, wherein
the service request is for a service requested by the first NF node ([0002-0009] the NRF node is not used and instead the NF node of the service consumer may be configured with the NF profile(s) of the NF node(s) of the service producer, a service request is sent indirectly from the NF node of the service consumer to the NF node of the service producer via a service communication proxy (SCP) node), and
the service request comprises an indication that the service request is to be transmitted to one or more second NF nodes of the plurality of second NF nodes ([0002-0009] the NRF node is not used and instead the NF node of the service consumer may be configured with the NF profile(s) of the NF node(s) of the service producer, a service request is sent indirectly from the NF node of the service consumer to the NF node of the service producer via a service communication proxy (SCP) node),.
AAPR does not explicitly teach, but Rajput teaches
for the service request to be applied to all wireless devices served by the plurality of second NF nodes ([0021-0031] the one or more service producer entities comprise at least one of: one or more network functions, which are configured to produce a service in or for the service-based access network, one or more microservices, which are configured to produce a service in or for the service-based access network, one or more communication control entity units, which are configured to produce a service for one or more cells, such as one or more distributed units of a base station entity, and one or more cells, which are configured to produce a service for one or more user equipment entities, such as a base transceiver or radio entity, and/or one or more sectors of at least one cell and/or one or more beams of at least one cell).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify AAPR in view of Ozturk in order to have apply a service request coming from consumer to multiple producers based on certain discovery procedure because it will help provide energy saving on multiple network devices from base stations to network nodes through certain notification managed by the producers’ entities (Ozturk [0003-0012]).
Regarding claim 14, AAPR and Ozturk teach the method of claim 12, wherein:
AAPR teaches
the service request comprises a criterion on the basis of which the one or more second NF nodes are to be selected by the first SCP node ([0004] NF node of the service consumer can query the NRF node to discover suitable NF nodes of the service producer to which to send the service request. In response to such a query, the NF node of the service consumer can receive an NF profile for one or more NF nodes of the service producer and, based on the received NF profile(s) can select an NF node of the service producer to which to send the service request.); and
selecting the one or more second NF nodes comprises selecting the one or more second NF nodes based on the criterion ([0004] NF node of the service consumer can query the NRF node to discover suitable NF nodes of the service producer to which to send the service request. In response to such a query, the NF node of the service consumer can receive an NF profile for one or more NF nodes of the service producer and, based on the received NF profile(s) can select an NF node of the service producer to which to send the service request.).
Regarding claim 15, AAPR and Ozturk teach the method of claim 14, wherein:
AAPR teaches
the criterion is that the one or more second NF nodes are to comprise a second NF node that has a predefined group identifier and selecting the one or more second NF nodes comprises selecting a second NF node that has the predefined group identifier, or the criterion is that the one or more second NF nodes are to comprise at least two second NF nodes that have different group identifiers and selecting the one or more second NF nodes comprises selecting at least two second NF nodes that have different group identifiers;
the criterion is that the one or more second NF nodes are to comprise a second NF node that has a predefined set identifier and selecting the one or more second NF nodes comprises selecting a second NF node that has the predefined set identifier, or the criterion is that the one or more second NF nodes are to comprise at least two second NF nodes that have different set identifiers and selecting the one or more second NF nodes comprises selecting at least two second NF nodes that have different set identifiers; and/or
the criterion is that the one or more second NF nodes are to comprise a second NF node that has a predefined service set identifier and selecting the one or more second NF nodes comprises selecting a second NF node that has the predefined service set identifier ([0002-0009] discovery with selection parameter, address, location, capacity, based on service based interface);, or the criterion is that the one or more second NF nodes are to comprise at least two second NF nodes that have different service set identifiers and selecting the one or more second NF nodes comprises selecting at least two second NF nodes that have different service set identifiers.
Regarding claim 16, AAPR and Ozturk teach the method of claim 14, wherein:
AAPR teaches the criterion is that the one or more second NF nodes are to comprise all second NF nodes of the plurality of second NF nodes([0002-0009] discovery with selection parameter, address, location, capacity, based on service based interface, the NF node of the service consumer can receive an NF profile for one or more NF nodes of the service producer and, based on the received NF profile(s) can select an NF node of the service producer to which to send the service request);.
; and
selecting the one or more second NF nodes comprises selecting all second NF nodes of the plurality of second NF nodes ([0002-0009] discovery with selection parameter, address, location, capacity, based on service based interface, the NF node of the service consumer can receive an NF profile for one or more NF nodes of the service producer and, based on the received NF profile(s) can select an NF node of the service producer to which to send the service request);.
Regarding claim 17, AAPR and Ozturk teach the method of claim 12, wherein:
the service request comprises a second hypertext transfer protocol, (HTTP), header and the second HTTP header comprises the criterion ([0008] 5GC SBA Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) are based on the HTTP(S) protocol. A Network Function (NF) service is one type of capability exposed by an NF (NF service producer entity) to another authorized NF (NF service consumer entity) through a service-based interface (SBI). A Network Function (NF) may expose one or more NF services. NF services may communicate directly between NF service consumer entities and NF service producer entities, or indirectly via a Service Communication Proxy (SCP).).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify AAPR in view of Ozturk in order to have apply a service request coming from consumer to multiple producers based on certain discovery procedure because it will help provide energy saving on multiple network devices from base stations to network nodes through certain notification managed by the producers’ entities (Ozturk [0003-0012]).
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 1.
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 12.
Regarding claim 32, claim 32 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 1.
Regarding claim 34, claim 34 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 12.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Applicant Admitted Prior Art (“3GPPP TS 23.501 V17.3.0”, AAPR) hereinafter AAPR, and Ozturk et al. (“Ozturk”, US 20240334323 A1) hereinafter Ozturk, in view of Krishan (“US 20220060547 A1”, Krishan) hereinafter Krishan.
Regarding claim 7, AAPR and Ozturk teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
AAPR and Ozturk do not teach explicitly, but Krishan teaches
receiving a response to the service request from the first SCP node, wherein the response is indicative of whether the service request is complete or partially complete ([0087-0094] Fig. 8, SCP forward responses coming from producers to the NF consumer, whether it is completed or unhealthy ).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify AAPR and Ozturk in view of Krishan in order to notify the consumer about the unhealthy and the completed services by the NF producers because it will help manage and optimize Network function discovery and routing using NRF and SCP (Krishan [0008-0010]).
Regarding claim 8, AAPR, Ozturk and Krishan teach the method of claim 7, wherein:
AAPR and Ozturk do not teach explicitly, but Krishan teaches
the response is indicative that the service request is complete when every second NF node, towards which transmission of the service request is initiated, has successfully executed the service request ([0087-0094] Fig. 8, SCP forward responses coming from producers to the NF consumer, whether it is completed or unhealthy ).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify AAPR and Ozturk in view of Krishan in order to notify the consumer about the unhealthy and the completed services by the NF producers because it will help manage and optimize Network function discovery and routing using NRF and SCP (Krishan [0008-0010]).
; and/or
the response is indicative that the service request is partially complete when not every second NF node, towards which transmission of the service request is initiated, has successfully executed the service request.
Regarding claim 9, AAPR, Ozturk and Krishan teach the method of claim 7, wherein:
AAPR and Ozturk do not teach explicitly, but Krishan teaches
the response is indicative that the service request is partially complete, and the response comprises an indication of which one or more second NF nodes, towards which transmission of the service request is initiated, have not successfully executed the service request ([0087-0094] Fig. 8, SCP forward responses coming from producers to the NF consumer, whether it is completed or unhealthy ).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify AAPR and Ozturk in view of Krishan in order to notify the consumer about the unhealthy and the completed services by the NF producers because it will help manage and optimize Network function discovery and routing using NRF and SCP (Krishan [0008-0010]).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Applicant Admitted Prior Art (“3GPPP TS 23.501 V17.3.0”, AAPR) hereinafter AAPR, in view of Ozturk et al. (“Ozturk”, US 20240334323 A1) hereinafter Ozturk, in view of Casati et al. (”US 20220256439 A1”, Casati) hereinafter Casati.
Regarding claim 10, AAPR and Ozturk teach the method of claim 1, wherein:
AAPR and Ozturk do not explicitly teach, but Casati teaches
the wireless devices are in a single public land mobile network (PLMN) or a plurality of PLMNs ([0008, 0013, 0018] The requested NSSAI comprises one or more single-NSSAIs (S-NSSAIs) subject to a capping number of UEs allowed to access one or more network slices associated with the one or more S-NSSAIs. Each of the one or more S-NSSAIs is supported by a single access and mobility function (AMF) or AMF set in a single public land mobile network (PLMN)).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify AAPR and Ozturk in view of Casati in order to have wireless devices in a single PLMN because it will help manage the network slicing and manage certain number of UEs not to exceed the predefined limits of the wireless devices within each slice (Casati [0002]).
Regarding claim 11, AAPR and Ozturk teach the method of claim 1, wherein:
AAPR and Ozturk do not explicitly teach, but Casati teaches
the service is a service that provides a notification to the first NF node of a change to an international mobile equipment identity (IMEI) or a permanent equipment identifier (PEI) for any of the wireless devices; or
the service is a service that provides a notification to the first NF node of any of the wireless devices moving to a different public land mobile network (PLMN) ([0054] In roaming cases, the NSSF of the visited Public Land Mobile Network (VPLMN) can be configured per S-NSSAI of home Public Land Mobile Network (HPLMN) to report to the HPLMN NSSF when a user joins or leaves the S-NSSAI)([0077] . In such roaming cases, the NSSF of a visited Public Land Mobile Network (VPLMN) can be configured per S-NSSAI of home Public Land Mobile Network (HPLMN) to report to the HPLMN NSSF when a user equipment joins or leaves the S-NSSAI).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify AAPR and Ozturk in view of Casati in order to have wireless devices in a single PLMN because it will help manage the network slicing and manage certain number of UEs not to exceed the predefined limits of the wireless devices within each slice (Casati [0002]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FADI HAJ SAID whose telephone number is (571)272-2833. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, John Follansbee can be reached on 571-272-3964. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FADI HAJ SAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444