DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 23 August 2024, 03 July 2025, 18 September 2025, 21 October 2025 and 06 January 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 31-42 and 45-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a((2) as being anticipated by . US Patent Application Publication No. 20210385635 (Johansson et al).
Regarding claim 31, Johansson et al. discloses: “a method for subscription profile download and installation (FIG. 7: 206b; [0114]: “S206b (optional): The profile provisioning server 200 selects one of the available subscription profiles for download”; ([0067]: “Each wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N performs a profile download process with the SM-DP+ 300 to download the 3GPP profile (procedure: “Profile download” and messages “Profile installed (info)” and “Enable profile”)”)), the method obtaining download and installation data, DID, for the subscription profile, wherein the being performed by a subscriber module, the method comprising: DID identifies an object identifier, OID, of a Subscription Manager Data Preparation, SM-DP+, entity for the subscriber module to use when downloading and installing the subscription profile, and an address of the SM-DP+ ([0193]: “The selected Matching identifier(s) and SM-DP+ address (optional) is returned in response to the MNO entity 200 (message: ‘Matching identifier(s), [SM-DP+ address’)”), and/or an object identifier, OID, of a Subscription Management Discovery Server, SM-DS, entity for the subscriber module to use when downloading and installing the subscription profile, and an SM-DS address of the SM-DS, validating the DID to ensure the DID is acceptable by the subscriber module for use in the subscription profile download and installation ([0067]: “Each wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N performs a profile download process with the SM-DP+ 300 to download the 3GPP profile (procedure: “Profile download” and messages “Profile installed (info)” and “Enable profile”)”; downloading the subscription profile from an SM-DP+ entity, wherein the SM-DP+ entity from which the subscription profile is to be downloaded ([0019]: “The Matching identifier is provided to the SM-DP+ 300 and allows the SM-DP+ 300 to identify the correct profile download order from the MNO entity 200.”) from is either given by the OID identified by the DID when the OID is of the SM-DP+ entity, or is given by an event record received by the subscriber module from the SM-DS entity when the OID identified by the DID is of the SM-DS entity and wherein the SM-DS entity is given by the OID identified by the DID ([0189]: “New entries, one for each profile given by its ICCID, are stored in the database of the SM-DP+ 300 linking together each ICCID with the BID (if available) and an EID value, if such values have been provided. The life-cycle state of each profile entry is set to “allocated” (if EID is not available) or “linked” (if EID is available)”); and installing the subscription profile in the subscriber module” ([0067]: “Each wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N performs a profile download process with the SM-DP+ 300 to download the 3GPP profile (procedure: “Profile download” and messages “Profile installed (info)” and “Enable profile”)”).
With respect to claim 32, Johansson et al. discloses: “storing the DID as part of an internal state in the subscriber module upon having validated the DID and before downloading the subscription profile” ([0189]: “New entries, one for each profile given by its ICCID, are stored in the database of the SM-DP+ 300 linking together each ICCID with the BID (if available) and an EID value, if such values have been provided. The life-cycle state of each profile entry is set to “allocated” (if EID is not available) or “linked” (if EID is available)”).
With respect to claim 33, Johansson et al. discloses: “when the SM-DP+ entity, from which the subscription profile is to be downloaded, is given by the event record received by the subscriber module from the SM-DS entity information from the event record extending the DID with new data for use in the profile download and installation ([0019]: “The Matching identifier is provided to the SM-DP+ 300 and allows the SM-DP+ 300 to identify the correct profile download order from the MNO entity 200”), wherein the information comprises an SM-DP+ address ([0193]: “The selected Matching identifier(s) and SM-DP+ address (optional) is returned in response to the MNO entity 200 (message: ‘Matching identifier(s), [SM-DP+ address’)”), an SM-DP+ OID, a matching identifier linking to the subscription profile prepared for download at the SM-DP+ entity, an indicator of automatic enabling of the subscription profile ([0067]: “Each wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N performs a profile download process with the SM-DP+ 300 to download the 3GPP profile (procedure: “Profile download” and messages “Profile installed (info)” and “Enable profile”)”), an Integrated Circuit Card Identification Number, ICCID, of the subscription profile ([0189]: “each profile given by its ICCID, are stored in the database of the SM-DP+ 300 linking together each ICCID with the BID (if available) and an EID value, if such values have been provided”), and information on a mobile network operator ([0007]: “integrate with the authentication systems (such as HSS) of mobile network operators (MNOs)”) or a communication service provider, wherein the event record is signed by the SM-DS entity, and wherein the method further comprises: verifying the signed event record; and storing, upon successful verification of the signed event record, the information from the event record as part of the internal state in the subscriber module, wherein the information is either stored as a new DID or extends an already stored DID” ([0219]: “The SM-DS searches for events for an iUICC/eUICC of a wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N based on the EID, which it obtains during common mutual authentication with each wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N. The SM-DS thus searches its database for event records for the given EID”).
With respect to claim 34, Johansson et al. discloses: “the subscriber module verifies that information received from the SM-DP+ entity in conjunction with downloading the subscription profile ([0219]: “The LPApr/LPAd then uses the iUICC/eUICC to verify the SM-DS signature”), and information received by a communication device in which the subscriber module resides and to be provided to the SM-DP+ entity in conjunction with downloading the subscription profile, matches the DID” ([0216]: “Since EID values are known to the SM-DP+ 300 at this point the SM-DP+ 300 might use the received Matching identifier (either common Matching identifier for the whole set of wireless devices 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N or individual per device)”).
Regarding claim 35, Johansson et al. discloses: “the subscriber module verifies that information received from the SM-DP+ entity matches the DID during authentication of the SM-DP+ entity” ([0019]: “The Matching identifier is provided to the SM-DP+ 300 and allows the SM-DP+ 300 to identify the correct profile download order from the MNO entity 200.”).
With respect to claim 36, Johansson et al. discloses: “the subscriber module verifies, in conjunction with downloading the subscription profile, that information received from the SM-DS entity and information received by a communication device in which the subscriber module resides and to be provided to the SM-DS entity matches the DID” ([0021]: “SM-DS event: As part of ordering and preparing profile download or other profile management operation, an event is registered by the SM-DP+ 300 at an Subscription Manager-Discovery Server (SM-DS) server that a profile management operation (e.g. profile download) is due for a specific wireless device 500a. The eUICC/iUICC identifier (EID) is used to identify the wireless device 500a”; “The event identifier (EventID) obtained from the SM-DS is in this case used as Matching identifier to be able to locate the correct profile download order at the SM-DP+ 300. The address of the SM-DP+ 300 is also obtained from the event”).
Regarding claim 37, Johansson et al. discloses: “the subscriber module verifies that information received from the SM-DS entity matches the DID during authentication of the SM-DS entity” ([0219]: “The SM-DS searches for events for an iUICC/eUICC of a wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N based on the EID, which it obtains during common mutual authentication with each wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N”).
With respect to claim 38, Johansson et al. discloses: “enabling the subscription profile in the subscriber module upon having installed the subscription profile” ([0067]: “Each wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N performs a profile download process with the SM-DP+ 300 to download the 3GPP profile (procedure: “Profile download” and messages “Profile installed (info)” and “Enable profile”)”).
Regarding claim 39, Johansson et al. discloses: “the DID identifies the OID by the OID being part of the DID” ([0193]: “SM-DP+ 300 selects a common Matching identifier or a range of Matching identifiers, depending on the embodiment (procedure: “Generate Matching identifier(s)”). The SM-DP+ 300 then populates the profile database entries related to the batch with Matching identifier(s) and EIDs and Confirmation Code”).
With respect to claim 40, Johansson et al. discloses: “the DID is obtained by being received from a managing entity” ([ABSTRACT]: “There is provided mechanisms for handling subscription profiles for a set of wireless devices. A method is performed by an MNO entity”).
Regarding claim 41, Johansson et al. discloses: “the DID is signed by a private key of the managing entity, wherein the subscriber module has access to a public key of the managing entity, and wherein the DID is validated by the subscriber module verifying the signed DID by using the public key of the managing entity” ([ABSTRACT]: “There is provided mechanisms for handling subscription profiles for a set of wireless devices. A method is performed by an MNO entity”; [0219]: “The SM-DS thus searches its database for event records for the given EID. If any events are available, these events are signed using the SM-DS private key and passed to the LPApr/LPAd. The LPApr/LPAd then uses the iUICC/eUICC to verify the SM-DS signature”).
With respect to claim 42, Johansson et al. discloses: “the subscriber module (FIG. 18: 500a; [0249]: “FIG. 18 schematically illustrates, in terms of a number of functional units, the components of a wireless device 500a”) comprises an internal storage (FIG. 18: 530), wherein the internal storage is pre-configured with default SM- DP+ ([0067]: “Each wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N performs a profile download process with the SM-DP+ 300 to download the 3GPP profile (procedure: “Profile download” and messages “Profile installed (info)” and “Enable profile”)”)) and/or SM-DS information comprising an OID of the SM-DP+/SM-DS, and wherein the DID identifies the OID by the DID comprising an indicator to use the OID ([0125]: “If an SM-DS event is used, the BID can be used as device identifier (instead of EID). That is, according to some examples the batch identifier is used as device identifier during registration of the event with the SM-DS”) as stored in the internal storage of the subscriber module” (FIG. 18: 500a, 530).
Regarding claim 45, Johansson et al. discloses: “the DID further comprises an indicator of automatic enabling of the subscription profile” ([0067]: “Each wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N performs a profile download process with the SM-DP+ 300 to download the 3GPP profile (procedure: “Profile download” and messages “Profile installed (info)” and “Enable profile”)”).
With respect to claim 46, Johansson et al. discloses: “the indicator is a flag that when set, and upon successful validation of the DID, results in a flag being stored in the internal state of the subscriber module ([0193]: “the release flag is set to true, the life-cycle state of each profile is set to released. If the release flag is set to false, the life-cycle state may be updated to “linked” if EID values are provided”) indicating and granting automatic enabling until the subscription profile has been enabled in the subscriber module” ([0067]: “Each wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N performs a profile download process with the SM-DP+ 300 to download the 3GPP profile (procedure: “Profile download” and messages “Profile installed (info)” and “Enable profile”)”).
Regarding claim 47, Johansson et al. discloses: “a method for enabling subscription profile download and installation to a subscriber module, the method being performed by a Subscription Management Discovery Server, SM-DS, entity ([0021]: “SM-DS event: As part of ordering and preparing profile download or other profile management operation, an event is registered by the SM-DP+ 300 at an Subscription Manager-Discovery Server (SM-DS) server”), the method comprising: performing mutual authentication with the subscriber module ([0219]: “The SM-DS searches for events for an iUICC/eUICC of a wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N based on the EID, which it obtains during common mutual authentication with each wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N”); and sending, towards the subscriber module, an event record ([0219]: “The SM-DS thus searches its database for event records for the given EID. If any events are available, these events are signed using the SM-DS private key and passed to the LPApr/LPAd”), wherein the event record is signed by the SM-DS entity ([0219]: “If any events are available, these events are signed using the SM-DS private key and passed to the LPApr/LPAd”) and comprises an object identifier, OID, of a Subscription Manager Data Preparation, SM-DP+, entity for the subscriber module to use when downloading and installing the subscription profile ([0021]: “The event identifier (EventID) obtained from the SM-DS is in this case used as Matching identifier to be able to locate the correct profile download order at the SM-DP+ 300. The address of the SM-DP+ 300 is also obtained from the event”), and an address of the SM-DP+” ([0193]: “The selected Matching identifier(s) and SM-DP+ address (optional) is returned in response to the MNO entity 200 (message: ‘Matching identifier(s), [SM-DP+ address]’)”).
With respect to claim 48, Johansson et al. discloses: “performing the mutual authentication with the subscriber module ([0219]: “The SM-DS searches for events for an iUICC/eUICC of a wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N based on the EID, which it obtains during common mutual authentication with each wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N”) comprises the SM-DS entity to use a private key of the SM-DS entity, and wherein the event record is signed by the private key” ([0219]: “If any events are available, these events are signed using the SM-DS private key and passed to the LPApr/LPAd”).
Regarding claim 49, Johansson et al. discloses: “a subscriber module for subscription profile download and installation ([0067]: “Each wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N performs a profile download process with the SM-DP+ 300 to download the 3GPP profile (procedure: “Profile download” and messages “Profile installed (info)” and “Enable profile”)”), the subscriber module comprising processing circuitry (FIG. 18: 510; [0249]: “FIG. 18 schematically illustrates, in terms of a number of functional units, the components of a wireless device 500a according to an embodiment. Processing circuitry 510 is provided using any combination of one or more of a suitable central processing unit CPU”), the processing circuitry being configured to cause the subscriber module to: obtain download and installation data, DID, for the subscription profile, wherein the DID identifies an object identifier, OID, of a Subscription Manager Data Preparation, SM-DP+, entity for the subscriber module to use when downloading and installing the subscription profile, and an address of the SM-DP+ ([0193]: “The selected Matching identifier(s) and SM-DP+ address (optional) is returned in response to the MNO entity 200 (message: ‘Matching identifier(s), [SM-DP+ address’)”), and/or an object identifier, OID, of a Subscription Management Discovery Server, SM-DS, entity for the subscriber module to use when downloading and installing the subscription profile, and an SM-DS address of the SM-DS, validate the DID to ensure the DID is acceptable by the subscriber module for use in the subscription profile download and installation ([0067]: “Each wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N performs a profile download process with the SM-DP+ 300 to download the 3GPP profile (procedure: “Profile download” and messages “Profile installed (info)” and “Enable profile”)”) download the subscription profile from an SM-DP+ entity, wherein the SM-DP+ entity from which the subscription profile is to be downloaded ([0019]: “The Matching identifier is provided to the SM-DP+ 300 and allows the SM-DP+ 300 to identify the correct profile download order from the MNO entity 200.”) from is either given by the OID identified by the DID when the OID is of the SM-DP+ entity, or is given by an event record received by the subscriber module from the SM-DS entity when the OID identified by the DID is of the SM-DS entity and wherein the SM-DS entity is given by the OID identified by the DID ([0189]: “New entries, one for each profile given by its ICCID, are stored in the database of the SM-DP+ 300 linking together each ICCID with the BID (if available) and an EID value, if such values have been provided. The life-cycle state of each profile entry is set to “allocated” (if EID is not available) or “linked” (if EID is available)”); and install the subscription profile in the subscriber module” ([0067]: “Each wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N performs a profile download process with the SM-DP+ 300 to download the 3GPP profile (procedure: “Profile download” and messages “Profile installed (info)” and “Enable profile”)”).
With respect to claim 50, Johansson et al. discloses: “a Subscription Management Discovery Server, SM-DS, entity for enabling subscription profile download and installation to a subscriber module ([0067]: “Each wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N performs a profile download process with the SM-DP+ 300 to download the 3GPP profile (procedure: “Profile download” and messages “Profile installed (info)” and “Enable profile”)”), the SM-DS entity comprising processing circuitry, the processing circuitry being configured to cause the SM-DS entity to: perform mutual authentication with the subscriber module ([0219]: “The SM-DS searches for events for an iUICC/eUICC of a wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N based on the EID, which it obtains during common mutual authentication with each wireless device 500a, 500b, . . . , 500N”); and send, towards the subscriber module, an event record ”;, wherein the event record is signed by the SM-DS entity ([0219]: “The SM-DS thus searches its database for event records for the given EID. If any events are available, these events are signed using the SM-DS private key and passed to the LPApr/LPAd. The LPApr/LPAd then uses the iUICC/eUICC to verify the SM-DS signature”) and comprises an object identifier, OID, of a Subscription Manager Data Preparation, SM-DP+, entity for the subscriber module to use when downloading and installing the subscription profile, and an address of the SM-DP+” ” ([0019]: “The Matching identifier is provided to the SM-DP+ 300 and allows the SM-DP+ 300 to identify the correct profile download order from the MNO entity 200.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 43 and 44 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Myron Wyche/ 05 September 2026
Primary Examiner AU2644