DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13-15 of copending Application No. 18/838,655 (reference application) Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other (See mapping below).
Regarding claim 1(Instant Application), the combination of claims 1 and 13 (Co-Pending Application 18/838,650) substantially discloses the corresponding claim limitations as highlighted in the table below.
As can be seen, the light difference is that the instant claim recites “comprises receiving” in lieu of “further comprises receiving” recited in claims of the Co-Pending Application 18/838,650.
The minor difference would be obvious to one skilled in the art since each of the respective elements perform the same function. The obvious variation in the wording does not change claim scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
18/841,050 (instant)
18/838,655 (co-pending)
1. (Currently amended) A computer implemented method performed in a network node, the method comprising configuring an advanced antenna system, AAS, of the network node to generate a relay antenna beam associated with transmission to and from a repeater node of the network node,
wherein configuring the AAS of the network node comprises receiving information related to the repeater node, determining a configuration of the relay antenna beam associated with transmission to and from the repeater node of the network node based on the information, and storing the configuration of the relay antenna beam together with its associated repeater node.
1. A computer implemented method performed in a network node, the method comprising configuring an advanced antenna system, AAS, of the network node to generate a relay antenna beam associated with transmission to and from a repeater node of the network node, the method further comprising generating at least two different first synchronization signals, and transmitting the at least two different first synchronization signals via the relay antenna beam towards the repeater node.
13. The method according to claim 1, wherein configuring the AAS of the network node further comprises receiving information related to the repeater node, determining a configuration of the relay antenna beam associated with transmission to and from the repeater node of the network node, and storing the configuration of the relay antenna beam together with its associated repeater node.
Regarding claim 2 (Instant Application), claim 14 (Co-Pending Application Co-Pending Application 18/838,655) substantially discloses the corresponding claim limitations.
Regarding claim 3 (Instant Application), claim 15 (Co-Pending Application Co-Pending Application 18/838,655) substantially discloses the corresponding claim limitations.
Regarding claim 4 (Instant Application), claim 15 (Co-Pending Application Co-Pending Application 18/838,655) substantially discloses the corresponding claim limitations.
Regarding claim 5 (Instant Application), claim 15 (Co-Pending Application Co-Pending Application 18/838,655) substantially discloses the corresponding claim limitations.
Regarding claim 6 (Instant Application), claims 15 (Co-Pending Application Co-Pending Application 18/838,655) substantially discloses the corresponding claim limitations.
Regarding claim 7 (Instant Application), claims 15 (Co-Pending Application Co-Pending Application 18/838,655) substantially discloses the corresponding claim limitations.
-----Claims 13-14 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 and 31 of copending Application No. 18/838,655 in view of Echigo et al (US 20250047365 A1).
Claims 13 and 31 of the co-pending application ( 18/838,655) do not teach processing circuitry; a network interface coupled to the processing circuitry; and a storage medium coupled to the processing circuitry, wherein the medium comprises machine readable computer program instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry, causes the network node (see mapping below).
Echigo et al teaches processing circuitry (see fig.9 element 1001); a network interface coupled to the processing circuitry (see para [0162] for…. The processor 1001 may include a central processing unit (CPU) including an interface with a peripheral apparatus, a control apparatus, a calculation apparatus, a register, etc); and a storage medium (see fig.9 element 1002) coupled to the processing circuitry, wherein the medium comprises machine readable computer program instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry, causes the network node (see para [0164] for….The storage device 1002 is a computer-readable recording medium, and may include at least one of a ROM (Read Only Memory), an EPROM (Erasable Programmable ROM), an EEPROM (Electrically Erasable Programmable ROM), a RAM (Random Access Memory)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the claims of the co-pending application to include processing circuitry; a network interface coupled to the processing circuitry; and a storage medium coupled to the processing circuitry in order to perform an operation by reading predetermined software, control communication of a communication device and also control at least one of reading or writing of data in the storage device. Such modification would enhance the network node to receive and transmit various types of information from different external devices and further enable identification of the communication destination at the time of receiving control information indicating the behavior of the external devices.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
18/841,050 (instant)
18/838,655 (co-pending)
13. (Currently Amended) A network node arranged to configure an advanced antenna system, AAS, of the network node to generate a relay antenna beam associated with transmission to and from a repeater node of the network node, where the network node comprises: processing circuitry; a network interface coupled to the processing circuitry; and a storage medium coupled to the processing circuitry, wherein the medium comprises machine readable computer program instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry, causes the network node to: receive information related to a repeater node , determine a configuration of a relay antenna beam of the network node associated with transmission to and from the repeater node of the network node based on the information, and store the configuration of the relay antenna beam together with its associated repeater node.
13. The method according to claim 1, wherein configuring the AAS of the network node further comprises receiving information related to the repeater node, determining a configuration of the relay antenna beam associated with transmission to and from the repeater node of the network node, and storing the configuration of the relay antenna beam together with its associated repeater node.
14. (Currently Amended) A repeater node, comprising: processing circuitry; a network interface coupled to the processing circuitry and a storage medium coupled to the processing circuitry, wherein the medium comprises machine readable computer program instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry, causes the repeater node to: configure an antenna system of the repeater node to receive a radio signal from a network node, evaluate a signal quality metric for at least two candidate antenna beams of the antenna system, and select a preferred antenna beam out of the at least two candidate antenna beams for communication with the network node.
31. A computer implemented method performed in a repeater node, the method comprising configuring an antenna system of the repeater node to receive a radio signal from a network node, evaluating a signal quality metric for at least two candidate antenna beams of the antenna system, and selecting a preferred antenna beam out of the at least two candidate antenna beams for communication with the network node.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 8-11 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 31-33 of copending Application No. 18/838,655 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented. (see mapping below)
18/841,050 (instant)
18/838,655 (co-pending)
8. A computer implemented method performed in a repeater node, the method comprising configuring an antenna system of the repeater node to receive a radio signal from a network node, evaluating a signal quality metric for at least two candidate antenna beams of the antenna system, and selecting a preferred antenna beam out of the at least two candidate antenna beams for communication with the network node.
9.The method according to claim 8, comprising receiving information related to the repeater node, where the antenna system of the repeater node is at least partly configured based on the received information.
10. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 8,comprising evaluating the at least two candidate antenna beams based on a beam management procedure involving a wireless device served via the repeater node.
11. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 8,comprising evaluating the at least two candidate antenna beams based on a received signal power and/or based on a measured signal-to-noise and interference ratio, SINR.
31. A computer implemented method performed in a repeater node, the method comprising configuring an antenna system of the repeater node to receive a radio signal from a network node, evaluating a signal quality metric for at least two candidate antenna beams of the antenna system, and selecting a preferred antenna beam out of the at least two candidate antenna beams for communication with the network node.
32. The method according to claim 31, comprising receiving information related to the repeater node, where the antenna system of the repeater node is at least partly configured based on the received information.
33. The method according to claim 31, wherein the method comprises: evaluating the at least two candidate antenna beams based on a beam management procedure involving a wireless device served via the repeater node;
and/or evaluating the at least two candidate antenna beams based on a received signal power and/or based on a measured signal-to-noise and interference ratio, SINR.
Regarding claim 9 (Instant Application), claim 32 (Co-Pending Application Co-Pending Application 18/838,655) discloses similar claim limitations.
Regarding claim 10 (Instant Application), claim 33 (Co-Pending Application Co-Pending Application 18/838,655) discloses the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 11 (Instant Application), claim 33 (Co-Pending Application Co-Pending Application 18/838,655) discloses the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABEDINI et al (US 20220053433 A1) in view of WIGREN et al (US 20210345277 A1).
As per claim 1, ABEDINI eta l teaches a computer implemented method performed in a network node (see fig.25 element 2500), the method comprising configuring an antenna system (see fig.25 or 29 element 2520 and para [0291] for…. For example, the communication and processing circuitry 2541 may be configured to transmit a respective downlink reference signal (e.g., SSB or CSI-RS) on each of a plurality of downlink beams to the repeater device during a downlink beam sweep via at least one first antenna panel of the antenna array 2520. and para [0293] for….. The communication and processing circuitry 2541 may further be configured to control the antenna array 2520 and transceiver 2510 to generate a plurality of downlink transmit beams during a downlink beam sweep) of the network node (see fig.25 or 29 element 2500 or 2902) to generate a relay antenna beam (see fig.29 element 2904b and para [0349] for…. the network access node 2902 may be configured to generate a plurality of beams) associated with transmission to and from a repeater node (see fig.29 element 2906 and para [0350] for….The first repeater device 2906 may be located between the network access node 2902 and the first UE 2914) of the network node, wherein configuring the antenna system of the network node comprises receiving information related to the repeater node (see fig.12 or 14 element 1212 or 1408 and abstract for…. A network access node may configure a repeater device to transmit multiple synchronization signal blocks using different beams and para [0201-0202] for….. a repeater device may perform directional communication by using beamforming to communicate with the network access node and para [0216] for…..The network access node 1402 and the repeater device 1404 may identify the beams they will use to communicate with each other. In addition, the network access node 1402 and the repeater device 1404 may exchange configuration information, capability information, and other information in some examples and para and para [0233] for….. a repeater device may send beam information to a network access node (e.g., to enable the network access node to better configure the repeater device), determining a configuration of the relay antenna beam associated with transmission to and from the repeater node of the network node based on the information (see fig.25 element 2542 and para [0217] for….. The shared information may include, for example, beam-related information and a required latency for implementing a configuration and para [0297] for……. The beam configuration circuitry 2542 may further be configured to provide the functionality of a means for selecting a beam configuration) and para [0310] for…… the beam configuration circuitry 2542 together with the communication and processing circuitry 2541 and the transceiver 2510, shown and described above in connection with FIG. 25, may receive capability information or configuration information from an MT of the repeater device via a fronthaul link and para [0318] for…. the beam configuration circuitry 2542, shown and described above in connection with FIG. 25, may receive an indication of the at least one beam group from the repeater device, identify the at least one beam group based on configuration information received from the repeater device), and storing the configuration of the relay antenna beam together with its associated repeater node (see fig.25 element 2505 and para [0295] for….The information may include beam information 2515 that may be stored in the memory 2505 and para [0583] for….. wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: receive capability information from the repeater device, estimate a quantity of beams supported by the repeater device based on the capability information, and determine the first quantity of SSBs based on the quantity of beams supported by the repeater device and [0632] for…. wherein the processor and the memory are configured to: receive an indication of a quantity of antenna arrays of a repeater device and a mapping of beam indices to array indices of the antenna arrays, select a first beam configuration for the repeater device based on the indication, and transmit the first beam configuration to the repeater device).
However ABEDINI et al does not explicitly teach that the antenna arrays system is an advanced antenna system, (AAS).
WIGREN et al teaches antenna arrays system is an advanced antenna system (see fig.1 element 23 and para [0003] for… in particular since massive beamforming using the new advanced antenna systems, i.e. Antenna Array Systems (AAS), are becoming widely used also at these lower frequency bands and para [0046] for….. in this case AAS 23 radio transport links).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ABEDINI to include an advanced antenna system in order to increase transmission and reception of signal energy into ever-smaller regions of space. Such modification would facilitate the network node to improve the spectral efficiency and thereby boost the overall system communication capacity.
As per claim 2, ABEDINI and WIGREN in combination would teach obtaining the information related to the repeater node from another network node (see fig.25 or 35 element 2500 or 3500) and/or from a local storage medium of the network node (see ABEDINI fig.35 element 3506 and para [0283] for… the network access node 2500 may be a device configured to wirelessly communicate with a scheduled entity (e.g., a UE, a wireless communication devices) as well as repeater devices and/or IAB nodes and may also be configured to communication with one or more core network nodes and para [0411] for… the network access node 3500 may correspond to any of the network access nodes and para [0414] for…. The processor 3504 is responsible for managing the bus 3502 and general processing, including the execution of software stored on the computer-readable medium 3506) in order to increase and store transmission and reception of signal energy into ever-smaller regions of space. Such modification would facilitate the network node to improve the spectral efficiency and thereby boost the overall system communication capacity.
As per claim 3, ABEDINI and WIGREN in combination would teach determining the configuration of the relay antenna beam at least in part based on a geographical position of the repeater node relative to the network node (see ABEDINI para [0354] for…. The second repeater device 2918 (e.g., an RF repeater device) may be located between the network access node 2902 and the second UE 2926……… That is, the second repeater device 2918, and others of its type, may be implemented to suit a particular geographic location, for example) in order to increase and store transmission and reception of signal energy into ever-smaller regions of space. Such modification would facilitate the network node to improve the spectral efficiency and thereby boost the overall system communication capacity.
As per claim 4, ABEDINI and WIGREN in combination would teach determining the configuration of the relay antenna beam at least in part based on a beam management procedure involving a wireless device served via the repeater node (see ABEDINI para [0142] for……. the network access node may determine the uplink beams either by uplink beam management via an SRS beam sweep with measurement at the network access node or by downlink beam management via an SSB/CSI-RS beam sweep with measurement at the UE) in order to increase and store transmission and reception of signal energy into ever-smaller regions of space. Such modification would facilitate the network node to improve the spectral efficiency and thereby boost the overall system communication capacity.
As per claim 13, ABEDINI et al teaches a network node arranged to configure an antenna arrays system, of the network node to generate a relay antenna beam associated with transmission to and from a repeater node of the network node, where the network node comprises: processing circuitry (see fig.35 element 3504); a network interface (see fig.35 element 3530) coupled to the processing circuitry; and a storage medium (see fig.35 element 3506) coupled to the processing circuitry, wherein the medium comprises machine readable computer program instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry (see para [0411] for… the network access node 3500 may correspond to any of the network access nodes and para [0412] for…. The processing system 3514 may include one or more processors 3504. The processing system 3514 may be substantially the same as the processing system 2514 illustrated in FIG. 25 (or the processing system 2114 illustrated in FIG. 21), including a bus interface 3508, a bus 3502, memory 3505, a processor 3504, and a computer-readable medium 3506.) and claim 13 is rejected under the same rational as described in claim 1 above.
As per claim 17, ABEDINI and WIGREN in combination would teach a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions which when executed by processing circuitry of the network node causes the network node to perform the computer implemented method (see ABEDINI para [0246] for….The computer-readable medium 2106 may be a non-transitory computer-readable medium) in order to increase and store transmission and reception of signal energy into ever-smaller regions of space. Such modification would facilitate the network node to improve the spectral efficiency and thereby boost the overall system communication capacity.
-----Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABEDINI et al (US 20220053433 A1) in view of WIGREN et al (US 20210345277 A1) and in further view of Black et al (US 20210376912 A1).
As per claim 5, ABEDINI and WIGREN in combination do not explicitly teach comprising determining the configuration of the relay antenna beam at least in part based on computer simulation involving a digital twin structure adapted to model at least a part of a wireless access network comprising the network node and the repeater node.
Black et al teaches configuration of the relay antenna beam at least in part based on computer simulation involving a digital twin structure adapted to model at least a part of a wireless access network comprising the network node and the repeater node (see fig.4C element 434 and para [0118] for… Also, machine learning may be employed to automatically generate a network model that corresponds to the arrangement of the RF signal repeater device as one of a service unit or a donor unit and node relationships to other elements in the network that would be defined by a number of degrees of association. Next, the process flows to block 434 where a virtual digital twin of each RF signal repeater is generated based on the RF signal repeater model and network model corresponding to an actual RF signal repeater registered on the wireless network.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ABEDINI and WIGREN to include configuration of the relay antenna beam at least in part based on computer simulation involving a digital twin structure in order to manage air interface communications between network node, repeater and wireless device. Such a repeater would be able to receive a signal distorted by transmission losses and to regenerate or replicate the signal. Furthermore the repeater would include a donor antenna that would communicate with a base station, a coverage antenna that would communicate with wireless device. Such modification would facilitate the network node to improve the spectral efficiency and thereby boost the overall system communication capacity.
-----Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABEDINI et al (US 20220053433 A1) in view of WIGREN et al (US 20210345277 A1) and in further view of Ali et al (US 20240012095 A1).
As per claim 6, ABEDINI and WIGREN in combination do not explicitly teach comprising determining the configuration of the relay antenna beam at least in part based on radar operation involving the network node.
Ali et al teaches configuration of the relay antenna beam at least in part based on radar operation involving the network node (see fig.3 or 6 and para [0080] for…The gNB 310 sends a DL data signal 355 and also sends a DL radar signal 360 using a multiple beams (e.g., utilizing multiple narrow beams). and para [0113] for….each UE is configured to send the radar-sensing RS in number of PRBs of an UL slot. Here, the gNB defines the area for scanning and configures the UEs to direct their UL beams to cover that area, as illustrated in FIG. 6. Note that the radar-sensing RS may be a radar pulse).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ABEDINI and WIGREN to include configuration of the relay antenna beam at least in part based on radar operation involving the network node in order to manage air interface communications between network node, repeater and wireless device. Such a repeater would be able to receive a signal distorted by transmission losses and to regenerate or replicate the signal. Furthermore the repeater would include a donor antenna that would communicate with a base station, a coverage antenna that would communicate with wireless device. Such modification would facilitate the network node to improve the spectral efficiency and thereby boost the overall system communication capacity.
-----Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABEDINI et al (US 20220053433 A1) in view of WIGREN et al (US 20210345277 A1) and in further view of FAYAZBAKHSH et al (US 20230021768 A1).
As per claim 7, ABEDINI and WIGREN in combination do not explicitly teach comprising determining the configuration of the relay antenna beam at least in part based on reflection of a signal transmitted from the network node towards the repeater node.
FAYAZBAKHSH et al teaches antenna beam at least in part based on reflection (see fig.2 element IRS reflection) of a signal transmitted from the network node (see fig.2 element 206) towards the repeater node (see fig.2 element 204 and para [0047] for…. aggressor node 206 can include a signal forwarding component 224 for forwarding interfering signals to the reflecting node 204 for reflecting or otherwise repeating to the intended receiving node 202and para [0076] for…. the spatial direction between the reflecting node 204 and the aggressor node 206, for receiving the interfering signals from the aggressor node 206, may not be known, and may be discerned based on finding or training a beam/reflection configuration. Where the reflecting direction between the reflecting node 204 and the intended receiving node 202 is known or determined, configuring component 354 can perform the beam training procedure with the reflecting node 204, where the reflecting node 204 can receive interfering signals from the aggressor node 206 in multiple receive beam directions (toward the aggressor node 206)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ABEDINI and WIGREN to include configuration of the relay antenna beam at least in part based on reflection of a signal transmitted from the network node towards the repeater node in order to manage air interface communications between network node, repeater and wireless device. Such a repeater would be able to receive a signal distorted by transmission losses and to regenerate or replicate the signal. Furthermore the repeater would include a donor antenna that would communicate with a base station, a coverage antenna that would communicate with wireless device. Such modification would facilitate the network node to improve the spectral efficiency and thereby boost the overall system communication capacity.
-----Claim(s) 8-12, 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TEKGUL et al US (US 20210243622 A1) in view of Oh et al (US 7480486 B1).
As per claim 8, TEKGUL et al teaches a computer implemented method performed in a repeater node (see fig.2 or 4 element 204), the method comprising configuring an antenna system (see fig.2 elements 222 and 224 and para [0041] for…. repeater 204 can include a controller 220 that can control multiple phased arrays 222, 224 (e.g., arrays of antennas))) of the repeater node (see fig.2 element 204 ) to receive a radio signal from a network node (see fig.2 element 102 and para [0038] for….. The base station may also be referred to as a gNB, Node B, evolved Node B (eNB), an access point, a base transceiver station, a radio base station, a radio transceiver and para [0044] for….. repeater 204 can receive an analog signal from a base station 102 and para [0045] for…. for beamforming communications between a base station, one or more repeaters, one or more UEs, etc. A base station 102 can communicate with one or more repeaters 204 using one or more beams (e.g., two beams are shown), which may be determined or selected from a set of multiple possible beams that the base station 102); evaluating a signal quality metric for at least two candidate antenna beams of the antenna system (see fig.4 element 442 and para [0066] for…. parameter determining component 442 can measure the channel quality metric of the one or more transmitted downlink beams received at Block 602….. parameter determining component 442 can measure the channel quality metric of the one or more transmitted downlink beams as a raw measurement, such as SNR, SINR, RSRP, reference signal received quality (RSRQ), etc., or other measurements, such as channel quality) , and selecting an antenna beam out of the at least two candidate antenna beams for communication with the network node (see para [0066] for…. parameter determining component 442 may report the measured channel quality metric for a beam selected for communications between the serving base station and the repeater 204).
However TEKGUL et al does not explicitly teach selecting an antenna beam is a preferred antenna beam.
Oh et al teaches selecting an antenna beam is a preferred antenna beam (see col.4, lines 52-59 for….. by continually receiving on the forward link a plurality of air interface beams from a plurality of corresponding base stations or sectors, the repeater may continually determine and compare the signal characteristic of each air interface beam, and dynamically select the most preferable air interface beam to keep active on the reverse link).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify TEKGUL to include selecting a preferred antenna beam in order to manage air interface communications between network node, repeater and wireless device. Such a repeater would be able to receive a signal distorted by transmission losses and to regenerate or replicate the signal. Furthermore the repeater would include a donor antenna that would communicate with a base station, a coverage antenna that would communicate with wireless device. Such modification would facilitate the network node to improve the spectral efficiency and thereby boost the overall system communication capacity.
As per claim 9, TEKGUL and Oh in combination would teach receiving (Sd0) information related to the repeater node, where the antenna system of the repeater node is at least partly configured based on the received information (see TEKGUI para [0045] for…. A base station 102 can communicate with one or more repeaters 204 using one or more beams (e.g., two beams are shown), which may be determined or selected from a set of multiple possible beams that the base station 102)) in order to manage air interface communications between network node, repeater and wireless device. Such a repeater would be able to receive a signal distorted by transmission losses and to regenerate or replicate the signal. Furthermore the repeater would include a donor antenna that would communicate with a base station, a coverage antenna that would communicate with wireless device. Such modification would facilitate the network node to improve the spectral efficiency and thereby boost the overall system communication capacity.
As per claim 10, TEKGUL and Oh in combination would teach comprising evaluating the at least two candidate antenna beams based on a beam management procedure (see TEKGUL para [0043] for…. For example, the nodes can perform a beam management procedure) involving a wireless device (see fig.1 element 104 and para [0038] for….The UE 104 may also be referred to,….. a wireless device) served via the repeater node in order to manage air interface communications between network node, repeater and wireless device. Such a repeater would be able to receive a signal distorted by transmission losses and to regenerate or replicate the signal. Furthermore the repeater would include a donor antenna that would communicate with a base station, a coverage antenna that would communicate with wireless device. Such modification would facilitate the network node to improve the spectral efficiency and thereby boost the overall system communication capacity.
As per claim 11, TEKGUL and Oh in combination would teach comprising evaluating (Sd22) the at least two candidate antenna beams (540) based on a received signal power and/or based on a measured signal-to-noise and interference ratio, SINR (see TEKGUL para [0066] for….. parameter determining component 442 can measure the channel quality metric of the one or more transmitted downlink beams as a raw measurement, such as SNR, SINR, RSRP, reference signal received quality (RSRQ), etc., or other measurements, such as channel quality) in order to manage air interface communications between network node, repeater and wireless device. Such a repeater would be able to receive a signal distorted by transmission losses and to regenerate or replicate the signal. Furthermore the repeater would include a donor antenna that would communicate with a base station, a coverage antenna that would communicate with wireless device. Such modification would facilitate the network node to improve the spectral efficiency and thereby boost the overall system communication capacity.
As per claim 12, TEKGUL and Oh in combination would teach comprising performing a random access procedure (see TEKGUL para [0050] for…. Memory 416 can include any type of computer-readable medium usable by a computer or at least one processor 412, such random access memory (RAM)) with respect to the network node in order to manage air interface communications between network node, repeater and wireless device. Such a repeater would be able to receive a signal distorted by transmission losses and to regenerate or replicate the signal. Furthermore the repeater would include a donor antenna that would communicate with a base station, a coverage antenna that would communicate with wireless device. Such modification would facilitate the network node to improve the spectral efficiency and thereby boost the overall system communication capacity.
As per claim 14, TEKGUL et al teaches a network node arranged to configure an antenna arrays system, of the network node to generate a relay antenna beam associated with transmission to and from a repeater node of the network node, where the network node comprises: processing circuitry (see fig.4 element 412); a network interface (see fig.2 element 228) coupled to the processing circuitry; and a storage medium (see fig.4 element 416) coupled to the processing circuitry, wherein the medium comprises machine readable computer program instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry (see para [0050] for… memory 416 may be a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores one or more computer-executable codes defining communicating component 242 and/or one or more of its subcomponents, and/or data associated therewith, when repeater 204 is operating at least one processor 412) and claim 14 is rejected under the same rational as described in claim 8 above.
As per claim 18, TEKGUL and Oh in combination would teach a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions which when executed by processing circuitry of the repeater node causes the repeater node to perform the computer implemented method (see TEKGUL para [0050] for…. memory 416 may be a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores one or more computer-executable codes defining communicating component 242 and/or one or more of its subcomponents, and/or data associated therewith, when repeater 204 is operating at least one processor 412) in order to manage air interface communications between network node, repeater and wireless device. Such a repeater would be able to receive a signal distorted by transmission losses and to regenerate or replicate the signal. Furthermore the repeater would include a donor antenna that would communicate with a base station, a coverage antenna that would communicate with wireless device. Such modification would facilitate the network node to improve the spectral efficiency and thereby boost the overall system communication capacity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240364414 A1 or US 20210075474 A.
/EMMANUEL BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633