Detailed Action
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is the initial office action based on the application filed on August 23rd, 2024, which claims 1-9 have been presented for examination.
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-9 are pending in the application, of which claims 1 and 8-9 are in independent form and these claims (1-9) are subject to following rejection(s) and/or objection(s) set forth in the following Office Action below.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 8 objected to because of the following informalities:
As per Claim 8, line 6, recites a “OT” - as acronym is likely to change its meaning over the time, thus, it needs to be spelled out once in the claim. Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to Non-Statutory subject matters.
Per claim 8: Apparatus claim 8 has drawn to program logic itself. Claim 8 for instance recites “An interface mapping apparatus comprising: a microservice to send an open application programming interface (API) description file to a file generator” which expressly indicate that the recited apparatus is nothing more than computer executable instruction or program logic. Program logic can be computer software alone. Data structures, software interfaces, and similar computer software are intangible abstractions with no inherent physical structure. Because they lack physical structure, program logics do not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d at 1035).
Examiner suggests that appropriate amendment to the claim may lead to overcome the rejections. For example, in claim 20,
An interface mapping apparatus comprising: a central processing unit (CPU); ….. - - or
An interface mapping apparatus comprising: a memory coupled to the processing unit ...-
ALLOWABLE DEPENDENT CLAIMS
5. Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon respective rejected base claims but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claim(s). However, if claim 6 is amended; unless necessitated by the other rejections or objections provided in this office action; and/or, any of the currently pending claims are shortened or broaden, and if any new claim(s) are added the office may have right to withdraw the indication of this Allowability provided herewith by this office action.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §102
7. Claims 1-2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhi-bei Hao (CN111427610 A [IDS of record (Translation being provided)] -herein after Hao).
Per claim 1:
Hao disclose:
An interface mapping method (At least see page 2:22-23 - a third-party service integration method) comprising:
converting an open application programming interface (API) description file of a microservice to a first communication standard interface description file (At least see page 2:23-25 - acquiring the description file meets the predetermined service standard of third party service; analyzing the description file to generate a standard service definition); and
mapping multiple parameter names in a functional interface in the first communication standard interface description file into a functional block corresponding to the functional interface (At least see page 3:1-3 - collecting service information of the third party service comprising: collecting service name of the third party service, the service IP, service version, the schema information of the operation information of the path, operating parameters and service design).
Per claim 2:
Hao disclose:
first communication standard interface comprises an information technology (IT) domain interface (At least see page 5:6-8 - ERP system is short for enterprise resource planning (Enterprise Resource Planning), that is established on the basis of information technology, information collecting technology and advanced management idea so as to manage the idea of systematic).
Per claim 9:
Limitations in this independent claim are as similar as claim 1 above; and therefore, rejected based on same rational.
8. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gungabeesoon et al. (US 20210124576 A1 -herein after Gungabeesoon).
Per claim 8:
Gungabeesoon disclose:
An interface mapping apparatus (At least see [0008] - a system and method to automatically generate source code for microservices delivery and deployment) comprising:
a microservice to send an open application programming interface (API) description file to a file generator (At least see [0021] - a microservice interface specification review pipeline operable to receive a microservice interface specification defining the software microservice);
the file generator to convert an open API description file of a microservice to a first communication standard interface description file and send the first communication standard interface description file to an OT domain parser (At least see [0038] - microservice can be regarded as software modules with well-defined interface operations (i.e. functions), referred to as application programming interfaces (“APIs”), for use within a computing environment. The APIs can conform to the well-known representational state transfer software architecture style and may be referred to as a REST or RESTful API); and
the OT domain parser to map multiple parameter names in at least one functional interface in the first communication standard interface description file into a functional block corresponding to the functional interface (At least see [0107] - handlers component 340 is a configuration handler used to provide transparent read/write of metadata during the microservice generation procedure. A repository handler component provides transparent access to the data storage such as the SCM server 262 (e.g. for retrieving microservice configuration information and saving the generated shell and integration projects). A dynamic source code processor component is included to provide shared source code parsing and modification function).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §103
9. Claims 3-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhi-bei Hao (CN111427610 A [IDS of record (Translation being provided)] -herein after Hao) in view of Gungabeesoon et al. (US 2021/0124576 A1 -herein after Gungabeesoon).
Per claim 3:
Hao sufficiently discloses the method as set forth above, but Hao does not explicitly disclose: first communication standard comprises at least one of: RESTful, Modbus, PROFINET, or OPC UA.
However, Gungabeesoon disclose:
first communication standard comprises at least one of: RESTful, Modbus, PROFINET, or OPC UA (At least see [0038] - APIs can conform to the well-known representational state transfer software architecture style and may be referred to as a REST or RESTful API).
It would have been would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gungabeesoon into Hao because Gungabeesoon teaching would provide automatically generate a software microservice operable in a computing environment, the method includes providing a configuration specification defining the software microservice; selecting at least one pattern template for the software microservice defined by the configuration specification; outputting a first set of source code for a first software project corresponding to a first aspect of the software microservice using the selected at least one pattern template; and outputting a second set of source code for a second software project corresponding to a second aspect of the software microservice (please see [0009]).
Per claim 4:
Hao sufficiently discloses the method as set forth above, but Hao does not explicitly disclose: the first communication standard interface is a Restful interface; and the multiple parameter names comprise: method, path, filter, execution state code semantics, and returned result semantics.
However, Gungabeesoon disclose:
the first communication standard interface is a Restful interface (At least see [0038] - APIs can conform to the well-known representational state transfer software architecture style and may be referred to as a REST or RESTful API); and
the multiple parameter names comprise: method (At least see [0069] -API gateway 272 is able to dispatch a client's API call to an appropriate microservice instance), path, filter, execution state code semantics (At least see [0077] -upon completion of a given process, an internal indicator may be switched from a first state to a second state to indicate the completion), and returned result semantics (At least see [0009] -outputting a first set of source code for a first software project corresponding to a first aspect of the software microservice using the selected at least one pattern template).
It would have been would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gungabeesoon into Hao because Gungabeesoon teaching would provide automatically generate a software microservice operable in a computing environment, the method includes providing a configuration specification defining the software microservice; selecting at least one pattern template for the software microservice defined by the configuration specification; outputting a first set of source code for a first software project corresponding to a first aspect of the software microservice using the selected at least one pattern template; and outputting a second set of source code for a second software project corresponding to a second aspect of the software microservice (please see [0009]).
Per claim 7:
Hao sufficiently discloses the method as set forth above, but Hao does not explicitly disclose: adding first data comprises adding first data with identifier as a name; adding of second data comprises adding second data with filter as a name; and adding of a first event comprises adding a first event with result as a name.
However, Gungabeesoon disclose:
adding first data comprises adding first data with identifier as a name (At least see [0064] - microservice identification data such as the name of the microservice development project);
adding of second data comprises adding second data with filter as a name (At least see [0064] - the name of the microservice definition, service version and description; microservice API interface definitions (e.g. as provided in Swagger™); information about the definition of each REST API operation such as API name); and
adding of a first event comprises adding a first event with result as a name (At least see [0064]- information about the definition of each REST API operation such as API name, universal resource identifier (URI), hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) method, request and response message schema types, and HTTP return code(s); microservice operation configuration parameters such as the desired service integration patterns to follow ).
It would have been would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gungabeesoon into Hao because Gungabeesoon teaching would provide automatically generate a software microservice operable in a computing environment, the method includes providing a configuration specification defining the software microservice; selecting at least one pattern template for the software microservice defined by the configuration specification; outputting a first set of source code for a first software project corresponding to a first aspect of the software microservice using the selected at least one pattern template; and outputting a second set of source code for a second software project corresponding to a second aspect of the software microservice (please see [0009]).
10. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhi-bei Hao (CN111427610 A [IDS of record (Translation being provided)] -herein after Hao) in view of Douglas et al. (US 2020/0401465 A1 -herein after Douglas).
Per claim 5:
Hao disclose:
after mapping multiple parameter names in at least one functional interface in the first communication standard interface description file into a functional block corresponding to the functional interface:
generating a functional block interface description file (At least see page 6:4-6 - generating a standard service description file, 1.2, integrated third party service does not meet the standard, recording according to the template).
Hao sufficiently discloses the method as set forth above, but Hao does not explicitly disclose: generating a workflow description file containing the functional block according to the functional block interface description file; and running the workflow description file, and calling a first communication standard interface to control the execution of a function corresponding to at least one functional interface.
However, Douglas discloses:
generating a workflow description file containing the functional block according to the functional block interface description file (At least see [0052] One or more workflow integration microservices may be configured to permit users of the core application to create one or more workflows comprised of sequential steps); and
running the workflow description file, and calling a first communication standard interface to control the execution of a function corresponding to at least one functional interface (At least see [0085] - A workflow description 1320 may be provided to identify the selected workflow. In the workflow illustrated by FIG. 13, a total of four operations 1330a-1330d are provided in the workflow 1330).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Douglas into Hao because Douglas provides a unique and flexible solution to the problem of data interoperability. Solutions consistent with the present disclosure provide the ability to connect disparate systems together, thereby allowing for an extremely efficient and intuitive way to create complex integrations without the need for code or even technical knowledge, and providing an intuitive user interface (UI) presented to a user which allows the user to create an integration, workflow, and/or workflow step without requiring custom coding. Artificial Intelligence (AI) may be used to assist in creating integrations (please see [0010]).
CONCLUSION
Status information for published applications may be obtained from Patent Public Search tool (for all users) – A link to the Patent Public Search Tool is available at www. Uspto.gov/PatentPublicSearch. To find a U.S. patent or U.S. patent application publication, open the Patent Public Search tool by selecting “Start search”. Type the U.S. patent or U.S. patent application publication number in the “Search” panel without any punctuation and followed by an”.pn.”.
Should you have questions on access to the system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ZIAUL A CHOWDHURY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2192
09/05/2026