CTNF 18/841,255 CTNF 85606 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/23/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA 3. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 4. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 5. Claim 13 line 2 recites “and/or.” For the purposes of examination, Examiner chooses “or.” Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 6. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 7. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA 8. Claim(s) 1-8, 14-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2020/0266871 A1 by Song et al. (hereafter referred to as Song) . Regarding claim 1, Song teaches A method for controlling beamforming of an antenna system comprising at least first and second antenna panels mounted in non-parallel planes, wherein each of the antenna panels is configured for beamforming transmission (see at least Fig. 12; Lower Panel Beam, Upper Panel Beam ) , the method comprising: determining a first beam for transmission from the first antenna panel (see at least Fig. 12 and ¶ [0073]-[0075]; “For example, at different times, the upper and lower antenna panels can be used to provide different coverage over the cell sector at different time intervals.”) ; controlling the first antenna panel to use the first beam to transmit a first instantiation of a radio frequency signal (see at least Fig. 12 and ¶ [0073]-[0075]; “For example, at different times, the upper and lower antenna panels can be used to provide different coverage over the cell sector at different time intervals.”) ; and controlling the second antenna panel to use a second beam to transmit a second instantiation of the radio frequency signal simultaneously with the first beam transmission (see at least Fig. 12 and ¶ [0073]-[0075]; “The two antenna panels can transmit in a time division multiplex manner or simultaneously. Alternatively, the two antenna panels can be transmitted in a frequency domain multiplex (FDM) manner or at the same frequency.”) , wherein the second beam is configured to provide a spatial overlap between the first and second beams (see at least ¶ [0073]; “there is an overlap of coverage by an upper panel beam and lower panel beam) . Regarding claim 2, Song teaches the method of claim 1. In addition, Song teaches wherein the first and second antenna panels are mounted adjacently to each other (see at least Fig. 12) . Regarding claim 3, Song teaches the method of claim 1. In addition, Song teaches wherein the non-parallel planes are slanted relative each other by a mounting angle (see at least Fig. 12) . Regarding claim 4, Song teaches the method of claim 1. In addition, Song teaches wherein the spatial overlap between the first second beams comprises a geographical overlap between coverage areas of the first and second beams (see at least Fig. 12) . Regarding claim 5, Song teaches the method of claim 1. In addition, Song teaches wherein the second beam is configured to cause the first and second instantiations of the radio frequency signal to combine within the spatial overlap (see at least ¶ [0073]; diversity gain) . Regarding claim 6, Song teaches the method of claim 5. In addition, Song teaches wherein the second beam is configured to cause the first and second instantiations of the radio frequency signal to combine constructively in at least a third direction (see at least ¶ [0073]; diversity gain) . Regarding claim 7, Song teaches the method of claim 1. In addition, Song teaches wherein the first beam has a first direction that differs by a first angle from boresight of the first antenna panel and the second beam has a second direction that differs by a second angle from boresight of the second antenna panel, and wherein the second direction is configured to cause the spatial overlap between the first and second beams (see at least Fig. 12 and ¶ [0073]; “there is an overlap of coverage by an upper panel beam and lower panel beam) . Regarding claim 8, Song teaches the method of claim 7. In addition, Song teaches wherein the second angle is configured to cause a difference between the first and second directions to fulfill a beam combining condition (see at least Fig. 12 and ¶ [0073]; “FIG. 12 shows a configuration in which there is an overlap of coverage by an upper panel beam and lower panel beam. In this manner, the two panels can provide MIMO in the outer cell region, where the multiple output antennas include some combination of antennas from the upper and lower panels. The multiple output antennas of the upper panel and lower panel together can thus provide for increased diversity gain, multiplexing gain, and/or array gain.”) . Regarding claim 14, Song teaches the method of claim 1. In addition, Song teaches wherein - for each of the first and second antenna panels - an angular spacing between possible beams becomes denser with increasing angle from boresight (see at least Fig. 12) . Regarding claim 15, Song teaches the method of claim 1. In addition, Song teaches wherein the first and second antenna panels are controlled by individual control signals (see at least Figs. 13 and 14) . Regarding claim 18, Song teaches the method of claim 1. In addition, Song teaches wherein the first and second antenna panels are identical, each having a first edge, and wherein the first and second antenna panels are mounted to let the first edge of the first antenna panel be adjacent to the first edge of the second antenna panel (see at least Fig. 12) . Regarding claim 19, Song teaches A computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium, having thereon a computer program comprising program instructions, the computer program being loadable into a data processing unit and configured to cause execution of a method for controlling beamforming of an antenna system comprising at least first and second antenna panels mounted in non-parallel planes, wherein each of the antenna panels is configured for beamforming transmission (see at least Fig. 12), the method comprising: determining a first beam for transmission from the first antenna panel (see at least Fig. 12 and ¶ [0073]-[0075]; “For example, at different times, the upper and lower antenna panels can be used to provide different coverage over the cell sector at different time intervals.”) ; controlling the first antenna panel to use the first beam to transmit a first instantiation of a radio frequency signal (see at least Fig. 12 and ¶ [0073]-[0075]; “For example, at different times, the upper and lower antenna panels can be used to provide different coverage over the cell sector at different time intervals.”) ; and controlling the second antenna panel to use a second beam to transmit a second instantiation of the radio frequency signal simultaneously with the first beam transmission (see at least Fig. 12 and ¶ [0073]-[0075]; “The two antenna panels can transmit in a time division multiplex manner or simultaneously. Alternatively, the two antenna panels can be transmitted in a frequency domain multiplex (FDM) manner or at the same frequency.”) , wherein the second beam is configured to provide a spatial overlap between the first and second beams (see at least ¶ [0073]; “there is an overlap of coverage by an upper panel beam and lower panel beam) . Regarding claim 20, Song teaches An apparatus for controlling beamforming of an antenna system (see at least Figs. 12 and 17) comprising at least first and second antenna panels mounted in non-parallel planes, wherein each of the antenna panels is configured for beamforming transmission (see at least Fig. 12) , the apparatus comprising: a memory (see at least Fig. 17 ) ; and controlling circuitry coupled to the memory (see at least Fig. 17 ) , wherein the apparatus is configured to: determine a first beam for transmission from the first antenna panel (see at least Fig. 12 and ¶ [0073]-[0075]; “For example, at different times, the upper and lower antenna panels can be used to provide different coverage over the cell sector at different time intervals.”) ; control the first antenna panel to use the first beam to transmit a first instantiation of a radio frequency signal (see at least Fig. 12 and ¶ [0073]-[0075]; “For example, at different times, the upper and lower antenna panels can be used to provide different coverage over the cell sector at different time intervals.”) ; and control the second antenna panel to use a second beam to transmit a second instantiation of the radio frequency signal simultaneously with the first beam transmission (see at least Fig. 12 and ¶ [0073]-[0075]; “The two antenna panels can transmit in a time division multiplex manner or simultaneously. Alternatively, the two antenna panels can be transmitted in a frequency domain multiplex (FDM) manner or at the same frequency.”) , wherein the second beam is configured to provide a spatial overlap between the first and second beams (see at least ¶ [0073]; “there is an overlap of coverage by an upper panel beam and lower panel beam) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 9. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-23-aia AIA 10. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA 11. Claim (s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US 2009/0221369 A1 by Riopelle . Regarding claim 16. Song teaches the method of claim 1. Song does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the first and second antenna panels are controlled by a single control signal . In the same field of endeavor, Riopelle teaches wherein the first and second antenna panels are controlled by a single control signal (see at least ¶ [0246]; “A single control signal generated by controller 54 may be generated as a function of multiple beams 15, such as to package more than one trigger event onto a single serial control line carrying the control signals.”) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the beams of Song with the beams taught by Riopelle in order to reduce workload. Regarding claim 17, Song in view of Riopelle teaches the method of claim 16. In addition, Riopelle teaches wherein the first and second instantiations of the radio frequency signal are provided to the first and second antenna panels as a single radio frequency signal (see at least ¶ [0246]; “A single control signal generated by controller 54 may be generated as a function of multiple beams 15, such as to package more than one trigger event onto a single serial control line carrying the control signals.”) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the beams of Song with the beams taught by Riopelle in order to reduce workload . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 12. Claim s 9-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 13. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NATASHA W COSME whose telephone number is (571)270-7225. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-4. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/841,255 Page 2 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/841,255 Page 3 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/841,255 Page 4 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/841,255 Page 5 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/841,255 Page 6 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/841,255 Page 7 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/841,255 Page 8 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/841,255 Page 9 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/841,255 Page 10 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/841,255 Page 11 Art Unit: 2465