DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Marshall (US PgPub #2013/0229038).
For Claim 1, figures 1-4 of Marshall ‘038 disclose an aircraft seat comprising: a seat pan (4), and a seat cushion, wherein the seat pan is arranged to be fixed to an aircraft seat base and to support the seat cushion of the aircraft seat, wherein: the seat pan comprises a corrugated portion (16) formed of a deformable material, the corrugated portion comprising a plurality of corrugations, the seat pan comprises a planar portion (10) positioned under a front part of the seat cushion, the corrugated portion is positioned further from the front part of the seat cushion than the planar portion, the deformable material is plastically deformable, the corrugated portion is configured to permanently deform under a vertical impact force to absorb energy from the vertical impact force, and the corrugated portion extends from a back edge of the seat pan such that the corrugated portion is positioned at the rear of the aircraft seat.
For Claim 2, figures 1-4 and paragraph [0012] of Marshall ‘038 disclose that the corrugated portion is formed from metal sheet.
For Claim 6, figures 1-4 of Marshall ‘038 disclose that the corrugations of the corrugated portion extend from a first side to a second side of the seat pan, the first side and the second side extending between a front edge and a back edge of the seat pan.
For Claim 7, figures 1-4 of Marshall ‘038 disclose that each corrugation has a longitudinal axis, wherein a longitudinal axis of each corrugation is parallel to a front edge of the seat cushion when the seat cushion is in position on the seat pan.
For Claim 8, figures 1-4 of Marshall ‘038 disclose that the corrugations are parallel to each other.
For Claim 9, figures 1-4 of Marshall ‘038 disclose that each of the plurality of corrugations comprises vertically extending walls; and a distance between adjacent vertically extending walls of adjacent corrugations is the same or less than the distance between the vertically extending walls of each of the adjacent corrugations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marshall (US PgPub #2013/0229038).
Marshall ‘038 discloses the claimed invention except for the planar portion and the corrugated portion being separable. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the planar and corrugated portions separately and fixed together, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-6, filed 6/1/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Marshall ‘038.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Marshall (US Patent #8266450) is included in the PTO-892 as being the patent of the Marshall ‘038 reference used above in the rejection.
/PHILIP J BONZELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642 7/21/2026