DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
For Claim 1, the limitation “a corrugated portion formed of a deformable material, the corrugated portion comprising a plurality of corrugations, wherein the deformable material is plastically deformable, and wherein the corrugated portion is configured to permanently deform under a vertical impact force to absorb energy from the vertical impact force” is interpreted in its broadest sense. The claim does not specify any force threshold or material specifics, nor does it exclude elastic behavior at lower load levels. As such any material known to undergo permanent deformation under sufficient loading, including conventional structural materials such as metals or reinforced plastics, is considered to fall within the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hocks (EP #3862221).
For Claim 1, figures 1-5 and paragraphs [0076 and 0103] of Hocks ‘221 disclose a seat pan (1), and a seat cushion (6), wherein the seat pan is arranged to be fixed to an aircraft seat base and to support a seat cushion of the aircraft seat, wherein the seat pan comprises a corrugated portion (2) formed of a deformable material, the corrugated portion comprising a plurality of corrugations, wherein the deformable material (reinforced plastic, metal) is plastically deformable (at some load, per claim interpretation above), and wherein the corrugated portion is configured to permanently deform under a vertical impact force to absorb energy from the vertical impact force.
For Claim 2, figures 1-5 and paragraphs [0046 and 0101] of Hocks ‘221 disclose that the corrugated portion is formed from a metal sheet.
For Claim 3, figures 1-5 and paragraphs [0076 and 0103] of Hocks ‘221 disclose that the seat pan further comprises a planar portion.
For Claim 4, figures 1-5 and paragraphs [0076 and 0103] of Hocks ‘221 disclose that the planar portion is arranged to be positioned under a front part of the seat cushion, and the corrugated portion is arranged to be positioned further from the front part of the seat cushion than the planar portion.
For Claim 5, figures 1-5 and paragraphs [0100-0102] of Hocks ‘221 disclose that the planar portion and the corrugated portion are constructed separately and fixed together to form the seat pan.
For Claim 6, figures 1-5 and paragraphs [0070-0071 and 0076] of Hocks ‘221 disclose that the corrugation of the corrugated portion extend from a first side to a second side of the seat pan, the first side and the second side extending between a front edge and a back edge of the seat pan.
For Claim 7, figures 1-5 and paragraphs [0070-0071 and 0076] of Hocks ‘221 disclose that each corrugation has a longitudinal axis, wherein a longitudinal axis of each corrugation is parallel to a front edge of the seat cushion when the seat cushion is in position on the seat pan.
For Claim 8, figures 1-5 and paragraphs [0070-0071 and 0076] of Hocks ‘221 disclose that the corrugation are parallel to each other.
For Claim 9, figures 1-5 and paragraphs [0076 and 0103] of Hocks ‘221 disclose that each of the plurality of corrugations comprises vertical extending walls; and a distance between the adjacent vertically extending walls of adjacent corrugations is the same as the distance between the vertically extending walls of each of the adjacent corrugations (according).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the argument under 102, that Hocks ‘221 does not disclose that “the deformable material is plastically deformable, and wherein the corrugated portion is configured to permanently deform under a vertical impact force to absorb energy from the vertical impact force”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Per the Claim Interpretation above, there are no structural limitations claimed that the Hocks ‘221 reference discloses. As such at some force with the used reinforced plastics or metal the corrugated portion would plastically deform.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP J BONZELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642 4/22/2026