DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-17 of copending Application No. 18/8471,294 (hereafter referred to as the reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the line groove of the reference application is the same or at least encompasses the air gap of the present application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18/8471,294.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 1, the reference application claims a ceramic substrate unit comprising:
a ceramic substrate (claim 1, line 2); and
a heat sink bonded to the ceramic substrate (claim 1, line 3),
wherein the ceramic substrate includes:
an upper metal layer formed on an upper surface of a ceramic base and formed so that a semiconductor chip is mounted thereon (claim 1, lines 5-6); and
a lower metal layer formed on a lower surface of the ceramic base and having the heat sink bonded to a lower surface thereof (claim 1, lines 7-8), and
the lower metal layer has a plurality of grooves formed in an upper surface facing the lower surface of the ceramic base, and the plurality of grooves form an air gap between the lower surface of the ceramic base and the upper surface of the lower metal layer (claim 1, lines 9-10).
With respect to claim 2, the reference application (claim 10) claims a volume ratio obtained by dividing a total volume of the upper metal layer by a total volume of the lower metal layer ranges from 0.9 to 1.1.
As to claim 3, though the reference application fails to claim the plurality of grooves are formed by etching a portion of the upper surface of the lower metal layer in a thickness direction, etching is a process limitation in a product claim and therefore not given patentable weight. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In re claim 4, though the reference application fails to claim the plurality of grooves are disposed in an axb matrix (a and b are each a natural number of 2 or more), it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the layout through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Concerning claim 5, though the reference application fails to claim the lower surface of the lower metal layer is provided as a flat surface and bonded to the heat sink without the air gap, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a flat surface in the invention of the reference application because it is conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Pertaining to claim 6, the reference application (claim 11) claims comprising a brazing filter disposed between the upper surface of the ceramic base and a lower surface of the upper metal layer and between the lower surface of the ceramic base and the upper surface of the lower metal layer and bonding the upper metal layer and the lower metal layer to the ceramic base.
In claim 7, though the reference application fails to claim the brazing filler is disposed in an area of the upper surface of the lower metal layer excluding the plurality of grooves, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use this brazing filler layout in the invention of the reference application because it is conventionally known and used in the art because the grooves do not touch the ceramic substrate so there is no need to coat it. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 8, the reference application claims a method of manufacturing a ceramic substrate unit, the method comprising:
preparing a ceramic base (claim 12, line 2);
preparing an upper metal layer formed so that a semiconductor chip is mounted (claim 12, line 3);
preparing a lower metal layer having a plurality of grooves formed in an upper surface thereof (claim 12, lines 4-5);
bonding the upper metal layer to an upper surface of the ceramic base and bonding the lower metal layer to a lower surface of the ceramic base (claim 12, lines 6-7); and
bonding a heat sink to a lower surface of the lower metal layer (claim 12, line 8),
wherein the plurality of grooves form an air gap between the lower surface of the ceramic base and an upper surface of the lower metal layer (claim 12, lines 4-5).
With respect to claim 8, the reference application (claim 15) claims the preparing of the lower metal layer includes forming the plurality of grooves so that a volume ratio obtained by dividing a total volume of the upper metal layer by a total volume of the lower metal layer ranges from 0.9 to 1.1.
As to claim 10, though the reference application fails to claim the preparing of the lower metal layer includes forming the plurality of grooves by etching a portion of the upper surface of the lower metal layer in a thickness direction, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use etching in the invention of the reference application because etching is conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
In re claim 11, though the reference application fails to claim in the preparing of the lower metal layer, the plurality of grooves are disposed in an axb matrix (a and b are each a natural number of 2 or more), it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the layout through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Concerning claim 12, the reference application (claim 16) claims the bonding of the upper metal layer to the upper surface of the ceramic base and bonding of the lower metal layer to the lower surface of the ceramic base includes: arranging a brazing filler between the upper surface of the ceramic base and a lower surface of the upper metal layer and between the lower surface of the ceramic base and the upper surface of the lower metal layer; and melting and brazing the brazing filler.
Pertaining to claim 13, the reference application (claim 17) claims the arranging of the brazing filler includes arranging the brazing filler having a thickness of 5 prn or more and 100 prn or less in any one method of paste application, foil attachment, and a P-filler.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 7, 8, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being clearly anticipated by Takayuki, JP 2003133662.
In claim 1, Takayuki (see marked up figure 1 below) teaches a ceramic substrate unit comprising:
a ceramic substrate 2; and
a heat sink 6 bonded to the ceramic substrate 2,
wherein the ceramic substrate 2 includes:
an upper metal layer 3 formed on an upper surface of a ceramic base 2 and formed so that a semiconductor chip 7 is mounted thereon; and
a lower metal layer 4 formed on a lower surface of the ceramic base 2 and having the heat sink 6 bonded to a lower surface thereof, and
the lower metal layer 4 has a plurality of grooves 9 formed in an upper surface facing the lower surface of the ceramic base 2, and the plurality of grooves 9 form an air gap between the lower surface of the ceramic base 2 and the upper surface of the lower metal layer 4.
Regarding claim 3, though Takayuki fails to teach the plurality of grooves are formed by etching a portion of the upper surface of the lower metal layer in a thickness direction, etching is a process limitation in a product claim and therefore isn’t given any patentable weight. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
With respect to claim 6, Takayuki (page 8 of the translation) teaches a brazing filler disposed between the upper surface of the ceramic base and a lower surface of the upper metal layer and between the lower surface of the ceramic base and the upper surface of the lower metal layer and bonding the upper metal layer and the lower metal layer to the ceramic base.
As to claim 7, Takayuki (page 8 of the translation) teaches the brazing is patterned) teaches the brazing filler is disposed in an area of the upper surface of the lower metal layer excluding the plurality of grooves.
In re claim 8, Takayuki (see marked up figure 1 above) teaches a method of manufacturing a ceramic substrate unit, the method comprising:
preparing a ceramic base 2;
preparing an upper metal layer 3 formed so that a semiconductor chip 7 is mounted;
preparing a lower metal layer 4 having a plurality of grooves 9 formed in an upper surface thereof;
bonding the upper metal layer 3 to an upper surface of the ceramic base 2 and bonding the lower metal layer 4 to a lower surface of the ceramic base 2; and
bonding a heat sink 6 to a lower surface of the lower metal layer 4,
wherein the plurality of grooves 9 form an air gap between the lower surface of the ceramic base 2 and an upper surface of the lower metal layer 4.
Concerning claim 10, though Takayuki fails to teach the preparing of the lower metal layer includes forming the plurality of grooves by etching a portion of the upper surface of the lower metal layer in a thickness direction, etching is a process limitation in a product claim and therefore not given patentable weight. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Pertaining to claim 12, Takayuki (page 8 of the translation) teaches the bonding of the upper metal layer to the upper surface of the ceramic base and bonding of the lower metal layer to the lower surface of the ceramic base includes: arranging a brazing filler between the upper surface of the ceramic base and a lower surface of the upper metal layer and between the lower surface of the ceramic base and the upper surface of the lower metal layer; and melting and brazing the brazing filler.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 5, 9, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takayuki, JP 2003133662 as applied to claims 1 and 8 above.
In claims 2 and 9, though Takayuki fails to teach the preparing of the lower metal layer includes forming the plurality of grooves so that a volume ratio obtained by dividing a total volume of the upper metal layer by a total volume of the lower metal layer ranges from 0.9 to 1.1, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the volume ratio through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, though Takayuki fails to teach in the preparing of the lower metal layer, the plurality of grooves are disposed in an axb matrix (a and b are each a natural number of 2 or more) though the reference application fails to claim in the preparing of the lower metal layer, the plurality of grooves are disposed in an axb matrix (a and b are each a natural number of 2 or more), it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the layout through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
With respect to claim 5, though Takayuki fails to teach the lower surface of the lower metal layer is provided as a flat surface and bonded to the heat sink without the air gap, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a flat surface in the invention of the reference application because it is conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
As to claim 13, though Takayuki fails to teach the arranging of the brazing filler includes arranging the brazing filler having a thickness of 5 um or more and 100 um or less in any one method of paste application, foil attachment, and a P-filler, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the thickness through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art teach the state of the art.
/DAVID A ZARNEKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 9/20/26