Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 39-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahin et al. (US 20200166623 A1) in view of Lomnitz et al. (US 20190227161 A1).
Regarding claim 39, Sahin discloses [Note: what Sahin fails to disclose is strike-through]
A method of operation by a mobile communication device, to support use of the device for (see pg. 1, paragraph 0005, “In some embodiments, the techniques disclose a method of coordinated beam scanning that can be used for both detecting proximity to personnel in addition to detecting objects for three-dimensional object reconstructions.”):
acquiring radar data by performing full-duplex transmission of a radar signal and corresponding reception of a return signal (see pg. 2, paragraph 0038, “Using coordinated beam scanning, the transmission and reception beams can be simultaneously directed to the same location in three-dimensional space by application of weights (i.e., suitable phase difference between the antenna elements and suitable transmission and reception power settings).”), based on:
transmitting the radar signal from a first subset of antenna elements in an antenna array of the device that is used for communication-signal transmission and reception (see Fig. 9, transmit antennas 908-1 and transmission beam 910);
receiving the return signal via a second subset of antenna elements in the same or another antenna array of the device, the second subset being spatially separated from the first subset (see Fig. 9, antenna elements in bottom right corner and reception beam 912); and
applying a set of beamforming coefficients for the first or second subset of antenna elements (see Fig. 3; pg. 4, paragraph 0051, “FIG. 3 three depicts a main lobe 314 and side lobes 316 emitting from an antenna array 306. Beamforming is a signal processing technique used in sensor arrays for directional signal transmission or reception. This is achieved by combining elements in an antenna array in such a way that signals at particular angles experience constructive interference while others experience destructive interference. Beamforming can be used at both the transmitting and receiving ends in order to achieve spatial selectivity. The improvement compared with omnidirectional reception/transmission is known as the directivity of the array.”), the beamforming coefficients defining per-element signal weights that create a signal null in a direction of the other subset (see Figs. 3-7; pg. 4, paragraph 0052, nulls in the radiation pattern lobes).
Lomnitz discloses
performing a Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) scan (see pg. 1, paragraphs 0006-0011, radio frequency radar imaging and SAR imaging techniques),
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Lomnitz into the invention of Sahin. Both Sahin and Lomnitz are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose radar imaging systems and methods performed by mobile devices. Sahin discloses acquiring radar data with full-duplex transmission and reception, transmitting signals from a first subset of antenna elements, receiving signals with a second subset of antenna elements, and applying beamforming coefficients to create null signals. Sahin further discloses mmWave radar (see Title) and creating images from the radar data (see pg. 1, paragraph 0010, “In various embodiments, the techniques can also include generating an image of the object using results”); however, Sahin fails to disclose using specifically synthetic aperture radar, or SAR, imaging techniques. This feature is disclosed by Lomnitz where known techniques in the art such as SAR can be applied to the radar imaging device and process. The combination of Sahin and Lomnitz would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to achieve radar imaging with the SAR technique that is commonly known in the art with the antenna structure of common mobile devices, making radar imaging move convenient and portable for consumers.
Regarding claim 40, Lomnitz discloses
The method according to claim 39, wherein performance of the SAR scan depends on the device being moved in a scanning motion, while the device acquires the radar data (see Fig. 1D; pg. 7, paragraph 0127, “In an exemplary operation the device 140 is interfaced or held in close proximity to the wall (typically less than quarter of a wavelength, e.g. lcm for the UWB frequency range) and moved along the wall during a scanning process to image the external and internal parts of the wall.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Lomnitz into the invention of Sahin. Sahin fails to disclose the SAR scan depending on the device being moved in a scanning motion. This feature is disclosed by Lomnitz where the device can be moved in a scanning motion to perform the radar imaging process. The combination of Sahin and Lomnitz would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve power efficiency by having the device scan only when in a scanning motion, as opposed to constantly scanning even while not in use.
Regarding claim 41, Sahin further discloses
The method according to claim 39, wherein the first and second subsets of antenna elements are predefined, with that predefinition dictating a scanning direction relative to the orientation of the device, to be used for the SAR scan (see pg. 7, paragraph 0078, “Beams can be formed by shifting the phase of the signal emitted from each radiating element, to provide constructive/destructive interference so as to steer the beams in the desired direction.”; pg. 7, paragraph 0079, “The transmission beam 410 can be generated with a specific frequency, polarization (e.g., horizontal polarization or vertical polarization), phase reference, angular direction (e.g., by performing beamforming techniques using multiple antenna elements 1008 or via a directional antenna), and so forth.”).
Regarding claim 42, Sahin further discloses
The method according to claim 41, wherein the device provides a fixed or dynamically-generated indication of the scanning direction to be used for the SAR scan (see pg. 7, paragraph 0079, “The transmission beam 410 can be generated with a specific frequency, polarization (e.g., horizontal polarization or vertical polarization), phase reference, angular direction (e.g., by performing beamforming techniques using multiple antenna elements 1008 or via a directional antenna), and so forth.”).
Regarding claim 43, Sahin further discloses
The method according to claim 39, further comprising determining a scanning direction of the SAR scan and selecting the first and second subsets of antenna elements based on the scanning direction (see pg. 7, paragraph 0078, “The first antenna array can include multiple antenna array elements. The first antenna array can be composed of multiple radiating elements each with a phase shifter. Beams can be formed by shifting the phase of the signal emitted from each radiating element, to provide constructive/destructive interference so as to steer the beams in the desired direction.”; pg. 7, paragraph 0080, “The second antenna array can be composed of multiple receiving elements each with a phase shifter. Beams can be formed by shifting the phase of the signal received by each radiating element, to provide constructive/destructive interference so as to steer the beams in the desired direction.”).
Regarding claim 44, Sahin further discloses
The method according to claim 39, wherein applying the set of beamforming coefficients comprises applying the set of beamforming coefficients for the first subset of antenna elements, to perform transmit beamforming of the radar signal, the transmit beamforming creating a signal null towards the second subset of antenna elements (see Figs. 3-7; pg. 7, paragraph 0079, “The transmission beam 410 can be generated with a specific frequency, polarization (e.g., horizontal polarization or vertical polarization), phase reference, angular direction (e.g., by performing beamforming techniques using multiple antenna elements 1008 or via a directional antenna), and so forth.”; pg. 4, paragraph 0052, nulls in the radiation pattern lobes).
Regarding claim 45, Sahin further discloses
The method according to claim 39, wherein applying the set of beamforming coefficients comprises applying the set of beamforming coefficients for the second subset of antenna elements, to perform receive beamforming of the return signal, the receive beamforming creating a signal null towards the first subset of antenna elements (see Figs. 3-7; pg. 4, paragraph 0052, nulls in the radiation pattern lobes; pg. 4, paragraph 0051, “FIG. 3 three depicts a main lobe 314 and side lobes 316 emitting from an antenna array 306. Beamforming is a signal processing technique used in sensor arrays for directional signal transmission or reception. This is achieved by combining elements in an antenna array in such a way that signals at particular angles experience constructive interference while others experience destructive interference. Beamforming can be used at both the transmitting and receiving ends in order to achieve spatial selectivity.”).
Regarding claim 46, Sahin further discloses
The method according to claim 39, wherein the first and second subsets of antenna elements are respective, parallel linear subsets within the antenna array or arrays (see Fig. 9, parallel antenna grids within antenna array 906).
Regarding claim 47, Sahin further discloses
The method according to claim 46, further comprising selecting the respective, parallel linear subsets to be perpendicular to a scanning direction of the device (see Fig. 9 top figure, object 918 is detected with beams that are perpendicular to antennas 124 on device 902).
Regarding claim 48, Lomnitz discloses
The method according to claim 47, further comprising detecting the scanning direction based on at least one of: evaluating signals from an inertial measurement unit (IMU) included in the device, or evaluating images from a camera module included in the device (see Fig. 6, camera 650 included on device 610; pg. 10, paragraph 0170, “FIG. 6 shows a schematic drawing of a mobile device 610 such as a mobile telephone comprising a. sensing module 620 for sensing (e.g. imaging) one or more objects such as object 630 surface e.g. wall), in accordance with embodiments of the invention. The mobile device 610 comprises a sensor such as RF antenna array sensor 640 and an imaging module such as a camera 650. The imaging module can be a CCD or 2D CMOS or other sensors, for example. In some cases the sensor 640 is attached to or placed in proximity to the camera 650 or to a platform which comprises a native camera or may be attached to an external a camera which may be combined or connected externally to the mobile device via an electronic connection such as a USB connection.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Lomnitz into the invention of Sahin. Sahin fails to disclose an IMU or camera module. This feature is disclosed by Lomnitz where the scanning mobile device can include a camera as an imaging module. The combination of Sahin and Lomnitz would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to use existing hardware on the mobile device to assist in scanning and imaging, reducing manufacturing costs by preventing the need for additional hardware or software.
Regarding claim 49, Lomnitz discloses
The method according to claim 46, wherein acquiring the radar data includes selecting a first candidate pairing of parallel subsets of antenna elements running in a first direction within the antenna array, selecting a second candidate pairing of parallel subsets of antenna elements running in a perpendicular second direction within the same or another antenna array, and alternating between use of the first and second candidate pairings for the full-duplex transmission of the radar signal and the corresponding reception of the return signal, to obtain respective first and second sets of radar data, and choosing which set of radar data to use as the results of the SAR scan, based on comparing the respective sets of radar data, wherein use of the first and second candidate pairings includes applying respective sets of beamforming coefficients for creating signal nulls between the respective subsets of antenna elements in each candidate pairing, and wherein the first and second subsets comprise the candidate pairing corresponding to the chosen set of radar data (see Fig. 3, various combinations of subarrays; pgs. 8-9, paragraphs 0155-0164, method and technique for comparing signal measurements from various antenna subset combinations).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Lomnitz into the invention of Sahin. Sahin fails to disclose the limitations of claim 49; these features are disclosed by Lomnitz where different combinations of antenna subsets can be chosen for signal transmission and reception, and their measurements can be compared to determine the best radar measurement result. The combination of Sahin and Lomnitz would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve accuracy of radar measurements by having multiple options of measurements to compare and choose from.
Regarding claim 50, Sahin further discloses
The method according to claim 39, wherein applying the set of beamforming coefficients for the first or second subset of antenna elements comprises applying the set of beamforming coefficients in the analog domain, using analog beamforming circuitry included in the communication circuitry of the device (see Fig. 6; pg. 5, paragraph 0056, analog circuitry for beamforming).
Regarding claim 51, Sahin further discloses
The method according to claim 39, wherein the first subset of antenna elements is separated from the second subset of antenna elements by at least one wavelength of the radar signal (see Fig. 2, distance between antenna subsets; pg. 4, paragraph 0050, “The antenna array elements 208 can comprise a patch antenna. A patch antenna is a type of radio antenna with a low profile, which can be mounted on a flat surface. It consists of a flat rectangular sheet or “patch” of metal, mounted over a larger sheet of metal called a ground plane. The two metal sheets together can form a resonant piece of microstrip transmission line with a length of approximately one-half wavelength of the radio waves.”).
Regarding claim 52, Sahin further discloses
The method according to claim 39, wherein the first subset of antenna elements and the second subset of antenna elements reside in the first antenna array (see Fig. 9, antenna array 906 with subsets 124).
Regarding claims 53, 54, and 56-66, the same cited sections and rationale for claims 39, 40, and 42-52 are applied. The only difference between claims 39-52 and claims 53-66 is that claims 53-66 refer to an apparatus while claims 39-52 refer to a method. The examiner considers Sahin pg. 3, paragraph 0046 (“the wireless transceiver 120 includes circuitry and logic for transmitting and receiving signals via antennas 124”), Fig. 1 and Fig. 11, processor 122 and antennas 124, and pg. 1, paragraph 0004 (“Certain embodiments are directed to techniques (e.g., a device, a method, a memory or non-transitory computer readable medium storing code or instructions executable by one or more processors) for object detection and three-dimensional reconstruction of objects using coordinated beam scanning.”) to show that the radar apparatus performs the radar method of claims 39-52.
Regarding claim 55, Sahin further discloses
The device according to claim 53, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to initiate acquisition of the radar data responsive to an input to the device (see Fig. 13, step 1306; pg. 7, paragraph 0081, “At 1306, the technique attempts to detect an object at the target location in response to detection of reflected signals based on reception associated with the second millimeter wave beam. If the reflected signal is received by the second millimeter wave beam, a detection is indicated. If the reflected signal is not received by the second millimeter wave beam, a missed detection is indicated.”).
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure and may be found on the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
Sheen (US 20140091965 A1); An apparatus for synthetic imaging of an object is disclosed. The apparatus includes a plurality of transmitter elements spaced apart by a first distance in a first column and a plurality of receiver elements spaced apart by a second distance in a second column. The first distance and the second distance are different. The plurality of transmitter elements is a non-integer multiple of the plurality of receiver elements, and the plurality of receiver elements is a non-integer multiple of the plurality of transmitter elements.
Hirvonen et al. (US 20160077202 A1); A portable electronic navigational aid (104) e.g. for the blind (102), comprising a radio frequency, preferably millimeter wave, radar (218) with at least one transmitting (TX) channel and a plurality of receiving (RX) channels, at least one orientation sensor (220) configured to obtain data indicative of the orientation of the radar, and a processing element (210) configured to adaptively control (500, 602) the beamforming of the radar based on the data provided by the orientation sensor. A corresponding method is presented. An accessory, such as a replaceable cover, containing a radio frequency radar for attaching to an electronic host device is presented.
Safavi-Naeini et al. (US 20180196134 A1); The present invention presents a flexible, stepped frequency, radar based, imaging inspection system. The imaging inspection system can be used in airports, seaport sites, borders, postal processing centres, and sensitive sites. It comprises a millimetre-wave Stepped Frequency Continuous Wave (SFCW) radar module (2) connected to a transmitting channel and a receiving channel. The transmitting channel may comprise a frequency upconvertor (8) and the receiving channel may comprise a frequency downconvertor (10). A digital signal processing unit (14) reconstructs a conductivity profile and a permittivity profile of an object under test (OUT) from measurement data collected via a phase-array antenna or a translational stage (18) based on synthetic aperture focusing (SAF).
Hoffman et al. (US 20170033469 A1), included in Applicant’s IDS; A system and methods for RF (Radio Frequency) penetration imaging of one or more objects in a medium, the system comprising: a generation and reception unit configured to generate and receive RF signals; an antenna array configured to transmit/receive the RF signals, the antenna array comprises a plurality of antennas: and a processor in communication with said antenna array, said processor is configured to analyze said RF signals and estimate the distance between the antenna array and the object, and in addition the relative orientation between the antenna array and the medium surface.
Alvarez et al. (ES 2877327 A1); System and method for the generation of electromagnetic images (1) comprising a manually movable device (8) comprising transmission means (2) and reception means (4) that transmit and capture electromagnetic signals (3), a unit radio frequency (5) that generates and measures them, and processing means (7) that generate the electromagnetic images (1) from the information obtained. It also comprises positioning means (5) of the transmission means (2) and of the reception means (4). The method comprises defining an acquisition volume (10), moving the manually movable device (8) arbitrarily, homogenizing the sampling, processing the information to characterize the volume under investigation (11) and processing said characterization to generate electromagnetic images (1). Applicable in sectors that require characterization or inspection of areas that cannot be completed by visual inspection, as well as in the field of safety. (Machine-translation by Google Translate, not legally binding)
Conclusion
ISABELLA A. EDRADA
Examiner
Art Unit 3648
/BERNARR E GREGORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648