Notice of Non-Final Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210277509 A1 by Takai et al (Takai).
Referring to claim 1 Takai teaches: A method for manufacturing a member for a plasma processing apparatus (See abstract, claim 1), the method comprising:
(a) a step of preparing a base material used for the member for a plasma processing apparatus; ( see abstract where Takai teaches plasma spraying on a base material).
(b) a step of preparing a first suspension liquid containing a fluorine-containing solvent, a plurality of yttrium fluoride particles, and a plurality of yttrium oxyfluoride particles (See paragraph [0039] where Takai teaches preparing suspension liquid slurry for plasma flame using the rare earth fluorides and rare-earth oxyfluorides); and
(c) a step of forming a coating film on the base material by a suspension plasma spraying method using the first suspension liquid (See abstract and paragraphs [0039], [0040]).
But, regarding the base material Takai is silent.
However, abstract suggests that plasma spraying is stably formed on the base material (abstract).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before filing the instant application to incorporate the plasma spraying/ coating a stable rare earth compound coating on to a base material/substrate in atmosphere for excellent corrosion resistance to halogen based gas plasma. (See abstract).
Referring to claim 2 modified reference of Takai teaches the method for manufacturing a member for a plasma processing apparatus according to claim 1, but silent on wherein the solvent is a fluorocarbon liquid. However, Takai abstract, and paragraph [0039] and claim 1 suggests it uses water and organic solvents. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of instant application to incorporate the teachings of using water and organic solvents and use fluorocarbon liquid for plasma spray method.
Referring to claim 3 modified reference of Takai teaches the method for manufacturing a member for a plasma processing apparatus according to claim 1, but Takai is silent on wherein the solvent is made of any one of CFC, FC, HCFC, or HFC, or is made of a mixed liquid of two or more of CFC, FC, 54 HCFC, and HFC. However, Takai abstract, and paragraph [0039] and claim 1 suggests it uses water and organic solvents. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of instant application to incorporate the teachings of using water and organic solvents and use fluorocarbon liquid for plasma spray method.
Referring to claim 4 modified reference of Takai teaches the method for manufacturing a member for a plasma processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the solvent is made of any one of an ammonium fluoride aqueous solution, a potassium fluoride aqueous solution, or a sodium fluoride aqueous solution, or is made of a mixed liquid of two or more of the ammonium fluoride aqueous solution, the potassium fluoride aqueous solution, and the sodium fluoride aqueous solution. (See paragraphs [0027]).
Referring to claim 5 modified reference of Takai teaches the method for manufacturing a member for a plasma processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the ammonium fluoride aqueous solution and the potassium fluoride aqueous solution each have a concentration of 5% by weight or more and 50% by weight or less. (See paragraph [0016] and steps 1-3 and paragraph [0024])
Referring to claim 6 modified reference of Takai teaches the method for manufacturing a member for a plasma processing apparatus according to claim 4, but silent on wherein a concentration of the sodium fluoride aqueous solution is 4% by weight or less. However, Takai teaches using water and organic solvents (See paragraphs [0024] [0030] using soluble organic solvents) with water. Hence, It would have been obvious to person with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of instant application to use sodium fluoride aqueous solution 4% by weight or less for stable coatings on base material.
Referring to claim 7 modified reference of Takai teaches the method for manufacturing a member for a plasma processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein an average particle diameter of the plurality of yttrium fluoride particles and an average particle diameter of the plurality of yttrium oxyfluoride particles each are 0.05 pm or more and 50 pm or less. (See abstract and paragraph [0034]).
Referring to claim 8 modified reference of Takai teaches the method for manufacturing a member for a plasma processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the member for a plasma processing apparatus is disposed in a processing chamber of a plasma processing apparatus, and the coating film is exposed to plasma when the plasma processing apparatus is in operation. (See abstract and paragraph [0016] –[0018])
Referring to claim 9 modified reference of Takai teaches the method for manufacturing a member for a plasma processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a content of yttrium oxide in the coating film is 9% by weight or less (See Table 1-3 and paragraph [0029]) .
Referring to claim 10 modified reference of Takai teaches the method for manufacturing a member for a plasma processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a content of yttrium oxide in the coating film is 5% by weight or less. (See paragraph [0029]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected.
Claims 12-14 are allowed.
Referring to claim 12 the closest prior art of record teaches or reasonably suggest that a member for a plasma processing apparatus, the member comprising: a base material; and a coating film formed on the base material, wherein the coating film includes an yttrium fluoride phase and an yttrium oxyfluoride phase, an average size of crystallites in the yttrium fluoride phase and an average size of crystallites in the yttrium fluoride phase are each 50 nm or less, and a content of yttrium oxide in the coating film is 5% by weight or less. Hence, claim 12 and depending claims 13, and 14 are allowed.
Conclusion
Claims 1-10 are rejected.
Claim 11 is objected
Claims 12-14 are allowed.
/SRINIVAS SATHIRAJU/ 07/11/2026
SRINIVAS . SATHIRAJU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845