DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by TAMURA et al. (US 2016/0043073), (hereinafter, TAMURA).
RE Claim 1, TAMURA discloses an IGBT is disposed in an IGBT portion, and an FWD “free wheel diode” is disposed in an FWD portion. A p-type base region and an n− - type drift region are alternately exposed in a trench longitudinal direction in a substrate front surface in a mesa portion between neighboring trenches in the IGBT portion. A p-type anode region and the n− - type drift region are alternately exposed in the trench longitudinal direction in the substrate front surface in a mesa portion in the FWD portion, and a repetitive structure is formed with a portion of the n− - type drift region sandwiched between p-type anode regions and one p-type anode region in contact with the portion as one unit region. The proportion occupied by the p-type anode region in one unit region (an anode ratio) (α) is 50% to 100%. TAMURA discloses in FIGS. 1-18 a semiconductor device comprising an RC-IGBT having an IGBT unit 21 and a diode unit 22 “FWD” formed in a single chip, wherein:
a collector electrode layer/cathode electrode layer 13, a diffusion layer “Lp”, a buffer layer 11, a drift layer 1, a body layer 5-1/5-2, an insulating layer 8, and an emitter/anode electrode layer 9 are stacked in the order from a back surface side to a front surface side of the chip, referring to FIG. 2;
the diode unit 22 includes a plurality of trenches 2; and
the plurality of trenches 2 include a region in the presence of the body layer 5-2 between the trenches 2, and a region in the absence of the body layer between the trenches, referring to FIG. 2.
RE Claim 3, TAMURA discloses a semiconductor device, The semiconductor device according to wherein an area of the body layer “anode region” 5-2 is 50% of an area of the cathode electrode layer 12 or smaller in a planar view of the diode unit 22, referring to FIGS. 1 and 2 [abstract, 0036, 0047 and 0052].
RE Claim 4, TAMURA discloses a semiconductor device, The semiconductor device according to wherein the plurality of trenches 2 in the region in the absence of the body layer are arranged at a boundary between the IGBT unit 21 and the diode unit 22, referring to FIGS. 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ARAI et al. (US 2017/0317075), (hereinafter, ARAI) in view of TAMURA et al. (US 2016/0043073), (hereinafter, TAMURA).
RE Claim 5, ARAI discloses in FIG.12 a power conversion device including:
a pair of DC terminals 9 “Vcc”;
AC terminals, the number of which is the same as the number of 3 phases 910/911/912 of an AC output;
switching legs “3-switching legs”, referring to FIG. 12, the number of which is the same as the number of phases of the 3 AC output, the switching leg being connected between the pair of DC terminals 900, and the switching leg including two parallel circuits connected in series , referring to FIG. 12, and each of the two parallel circuits being formed of a switching element IGBT “701/702/703/704/705/706”and a diode “711/712/713/714/715/716” connected reversely in parallel to the switching element, referring to FIG. 12; and
a gate circuit 801-08 for controlling the switching element 701-706, wherein the diode 711-716 and the switching element 701-706 constitute the semiconductor device.
ARAI does not disclose that the gate circuit 801-08 for controlling the switching element 701-706, wherein the diode 711-716 and the switching element 701-706 constitute the semiconductor device according to Claim 1.
However, in the same field of endeavor, TAMURA discloses an integrated IGBT/diode structure on one chip as detailed in Claim 1, referring to Claim 1 rejection above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have a gate circuit 801-08 for controlling the switching element 701-706, wherein the diode 711-716 and the switching element 701-706 constitute the semiconductor device of ARAI, according to TAMURA discloses an integrated IGBT/diode structure 21/22 of Claim 1 above in order to achieve integrated function controlling the overall power conversion device performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/YASSER A ABDELAZIEZ, PhD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898