Detail Action
Claims 2, 6-7,9,11-12,17-19,21,25,31,36-37,39-40,47 and 49-51 submitted on 4/18/2025 are pending.
Applicants’ election on 8/1/2026 without traverse of group I (claims 2,7, 18 -19, 21,25,31,36-37) directed to a method comprising:(i) detecting in a biological sample obtained from a subject at least one RAN protein;(ii) when at least one RAN protein is detected in (i), determining that the at least one RAN protein is not expressed from a C9orf72 or SCA36 locus of the subject; and(iii) identifying the subject has having or being at risk of developing sporadic ALS (sALS) based on the detecting of at least one RAN protein not expressed from a C9orf72 or SCA36 locus of the subject in their response against the restriction requirement of 6/11/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 6,9,11-12,17,39-40,47 and 49-51 comprise non elected subject matters are withdrawn. Claims 2,7,18-19,21,25,31 and 36-37 are for examination. Election made final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/18/2025 and 4/11/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the IDS statement.
Claim Objection
Claim 2 is objected in reciting RAN protein. RAN is an abbreviated term without fully spell out what ran represents. RAN needs to be fully spell out. Correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected in reciting p62, LC3I subunit, LC3II subunit, TARBP2.
p62, LC3I subunit, LC3II subunit, TARBP2 are abbreviated terms without fully spell out; what they represents. p62, LC3 I subunit, LC3 II subunit, TARBP2 need to be fully spell out. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections: 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 19, 21, 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention
Claim 19 is indefinite in reciting “ small molecule in claim 19(a) .
It is unclear small molecule in claim 19(a)” is that of claim 18 on which claim 19 depends or some other small molecule.
Claim 21 is rejected being indefinite in reciting “Tables 1-4” because the “Tables 1-4” in the claim not reciting what are in the table; because it is not clear what tables 1 -4 comprise.
Correction is required.
Claim 21 is rejected being indefinite in reciting “Table 6” as “Table 6” in the claim not reciting what are in the table because it is not clear what table 6 comprises.
Correction is required.
Claim 25 is rejected being indefinite in reciting “Tables 1-4” as “Tables 1-4” in the claim not reciting what are in the table because it is not clear what tables 1 -4 comprise.
Correction is required.
Claim 25 is rejected being indefinite in reciting “Table 6” as “Table 6” in the claim not reciting what are in the table because it is not clear what table 6 comprises.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections, 35 U.S.C 112(a) 1st Paragraph
Claims 2,7, 18-19, 21,25,31,36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph, as containing subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
It is noted that MPEP 2111.01 states that "[d]uring examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow." In this case, in light of the specification, the examiner has broadly interpreted the claims by reciting “detection of RAN protein which not expressed by C9orf72 or SCA36 of a subject to relate (ii) when at least one RAN protein is detected in (i), determining that the at least one RAN protein is not expressed from a C9orf72 or SCA36 locus of the subject and risk of developing sporadic ALS (sALS comprise detection of any RAN protein having any structure and function having activity for developing a specified disease like sporadic ALS (sALS ). Therefore in light of the specification, claims are broadly interpreted to comprise any of RAN protein which not expressed by C9orf72 or SCA36 of a subject to relate (ii) when at least one RAN protein is detected in (i), determining that the at least one RAN protein is not expressed from a C9orf72 or SCA36 locus of the subject wherein said RAN protein comprise any structure and any function having specified activity.
The Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit has recently held that a "written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, 'requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula [or] chemical name,' of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials." University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 18221, at *23, quoting Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (Fed. Cir. 1993). To fully describe a genus of genetic material, which is a chemical compound, applicants must (1) fully describe at least one species of the claimed genus sufficient to represent said genus whereby a skilled artisan, in view of the prior art, could predict the structure of other species encompassed by the claimed genus and (2) identify the common characteristics of the claimed molecules, e.g., structure, physical and/or chemical characteristics, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or a combination of these (paraphrased from Enzo Biochemical).University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co. (69 USPQ2d 1886 (2004)) specifically points to the applicability of both Lilly and Enzo Biochemical to methods of using products, wherein said products lack adequate written description. While in University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co. the methods were held to lack written description because not a single example of the product used in the claimed methods was described, the same analysis applies wherein the product, used in the claimed methods, must have adequate written description (see Enzo paraphrased above).
There is no structure-function correlation with regard to the members of the genus of RAN protein which not expressed by C9orf72 or SCA36 of a subject to relate (ii) when at least one RAN protein is detected in (i), determining that the at least one RAN protein is not expressed from a C9orf72 or SCA36 locus of the subject wherein said RAN protein comprise any structure and any function having specified activity recited in the claims. Therefore one of skill in the art would not recognize from the disclosure that applicants were in possession of the claimed invention.
The genus of RAN protein which not expressed by C9orf72 or SCA36 of a subject that detected in the method having specific activity required in the claimed invention is an extremely large structurally and functionally variable genus. An argument can be made that any or more of the Ran Protein comprising SEQ ID NO: 1-4 can be used to find appropriate RAN and their variants. However, the art clearly teaches there is a practical limits to predict function of a polypeptide based structural homology:
A. Devos et al., (Proteins: Structure, Function and Genetics, 2000, Vol. 41: 98-107), teach that the results obtained by analyzing a significant number of true sequence similarities, derived directly from structural alignments, point to the complexity of function prediction. Different aspects of protein function, including (i) enzymatic function classification, (ii) functional annotations in the form of key words, (iii) classes of cellular function, and conservation of binding sites can only be reliably transferred between similar sequences to a modest degree. The reason for this difficulty is a combination of the unavoidable database inaccuracies and plasticity of proteins (Abstract, page 98) and the analysis poses interesting questions about the reliability of current function prediction exercises and the intrinsic limitation of protein function prediction (Column 1, paragraph 3, page 99) and conclude that "Despite widespread use of database searching techniques followed by function inference as standard procedures in Bioinformatics, the results presented here illustrate that transfer of function between similar sequences involves more difficulties than commonly believed. Our data show that even true pair-wise sequence relations, identified by their structural similarity, correspond in many cases to different functions (column 2, paragraph 2, and page 105).
B. Whisstock et al., (Quarterly Reviews of Biophysics 2003, Vol. 36 (3): 307-340,) also highlight the difficulties associated with "Prediction of protein function from protein sequence and structure": "To reason from sequence and structure to function is to step onto much shakier ground", closely related proteins can change function, either through divergence to a related function or by recruitment for a very different function, in such cases, assignment of function on the basis of homology, in the absence of direct experimental evidence, will give the wrong answer (page 309, paragraph 4), it is difficult to state criteria for successful prediction of function, since function is in principle a fuzzy concept. Given three sequences, it is possible to decide which of the three possible pairs is most closely related. Given three structures, methods are also available to measure and compare similarity of the pairs. However, in many cases, given three protein functions, it would be more difficult to choose the pair with most similar function, although it is possible to define metrics for quantitative comparisons of different protein sequences and structures, this is more difficult for proteins of different functions (page 312, paragraph 5), in families of closely related proteins, mutations usually conserve function but modulate specificity i.e., mutations tend to leave the backbone conformation of the pocket unchanged but to affect the shape and charge of its lining, altering specificity (page 313, paragraph 4), although the hope is that highly similar proteins will share similar functions, substitutions of a single, critically placed amino acid in an active-site residue may be sufficient to alter a protein's role fundamentally (page 323, paragraph 1).
C. This finding is reinforced in the following scientific teachings for specific proteins in the art that suggest, even highly structurally homologous polypeptides do not necessarily share the same function and many functionally similar proteins will have little or no structural homology to disclosed proteins. For example, proteins having similar structure have different activities (structure does not always correlate to function); Witkowski et al., (Biochemistry 38:11643-11650, 1999) teaches that one conservative amino acid substitution transforms a beta -ketoacyl synthase into a malonyl decarboxylase and completely eliminates beta-ketoacyl synthase activity. The art also teaches that functionally similar molecules have different structures; Kisselev L., (Structure, 2002, Vol. 10: 8-9) teach that polypeptide release factors in prokaryotes and eukaryotes have same function but different structures.
As stated above, no information beyond the characterization of a few species; such as Ran Protein comprising SEQ ID NO: 1-4 has been provided by the applicants’, which would indicate that they had any RAN protein which not expressed by C9orf72 or SCA36 of a subject to relate (ii) when at least one RAN protein is detected in (i), determining that the at least one RAN protein is not expressed from a C9orf72 or SCA36 locus of the subject and risk of developing sporadic ALS (sALS ) . The claimed genera of genus of Ran proteins have widely variable structures and associated functions. As it is discussed above, a minor changes in structure may result in changes affecting function, since, the specification provided no additional information (species/variant/mutant) correlating structure with function, one skilled in the art cannot reasonably conclude that applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the instant application was filed. Furthermore, "Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed ,genus or how to identify their common structural features" (See University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927, 69 USPQ2d at 1895). A definition by function, as we have previously indicated, does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the .gene does (function), rather what it is (structure), see University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1938, thus above claims lack adequate written description.
Applicants' are referred to the revised guidelines concerning compliance with the written description requirement of U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, published in the Official Gazette and also available at www.uspto.gov
Claims 7, 18 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph, as containing subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7, 18 and 36-37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112, first paragraph, as the disclosure is not enabling for any therapeutic agent comprising any small molecule, interfering nucleic acid, DNA aptamer, RNA aptamer, protein, or antibody to treating any sALS related diseases comprising any amount of said therapeutic agent.
Factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required, are summarized in re Wands 858 F.2d 731, 8 USPQ2nd 1400 (Fed. Cir, 1988) [ Ex parte Forman [230 USPQ 546 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1986)]. The Wands factors are: (a) the quantity of experimentation necessary, (b) the amount of direction or guidance presented, (c) the presence or absence of working example, (d) the nature of the invention, (e) the state of the prior art, (f) the relative skill of those in the art, (g) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and (h) the breadth of the claim.
It is neither taught nor any data is provided for using administering to the mammal any therapeutically effective amount of any small molecule, interfering nucleic acid, DNA aptamer, RNA aptamer, protein, or antibody for treating any sALS. There is no evidence presented that any small molecule, interfering nucleic acid, DNA aptamer, RNA aptamer, protein, or antibody is associated with any of the known diseases or sALS deaseas and using of any amount. Without such a data or evidence, claims to ang composition comprising therapeutically effective amount of any small molecule, interfering nucleic acid, DNA aptamer, RNA aptamer, protein, or antibody would amount to a composition or potential drug for treatment for sALS is not enabled. Given the lack of direction or guidance and the nature of the invention, obtaining such therapeutically effective composition comprising any small molecule, interfering nucleic acid, DNA aptamer, RNA aptamer, protein, or antibody for one of skill in the art would be highly unpredictable. This is because the polypeptide like RAN protein, or antibody, protein kinase R (PKR), p62, LC3 I subunit, LC3 II subunit, TARBP2, or Toll-like receptor 3 (TLR3) ; nucleic acid , DNA aptamer, RNA aptamer when associated with a particular disease or disorder would be expressed differentially. Manipulating or controlling these levels depends upon the disease or disorder and may not always be controlled by supplementing with such a composition. Further, no guidance in provided, pertaining to the fate of the administrated polypeptide or nucleic acids in vivo.
Since it is not routine in the art to engage in de novo experimentation to prepare numerous compositions where the expectation "of success is unpredictable", the skilled artisan would require additional guidance, specific to individual disorder or disease, in order to make and use any therapeutically effective compositions in a manner reasonably commensurate with the scope of the claims. Without such guidance, the experimentation left to those skilled in the art is undue.
Claim Rejections: 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
According to MPEP 2143:"Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictableresults;(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;(E) "Obvious to try" - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.Note that the list of rationales provided is not intended to be an all-inclusive list. Other rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness may be relied upon by Office personnel."
Claims 2,7, 18 -19, 21,25,31,36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Univ of Florida ( US2020/0232925A1, 23-07-2020 , Pat 12504380,here after UFRF) in view of Castelli et al. (Biochem Soc Trans. 30 April 2021, Vol 49, No 2, Pages 775- 792.IDS).
UFRF discloses(Especially para [0003], [0007], [0069], claims 1, 2, 19) a method comprising: (i) obtaining a biological sample from a subject (ii) detecting in the biological sample obtained from the subject at least one RAN protein : "A method comprising detecting in a biological sample (e.g., a blood sample) obtained from a subject one or more RAN proteins using an electrochemiluminescence-based immunoassay.. The method of claim 1, wherein the biological sample is a blood sample or a tissue sample, optionally wherein the tissue sample is a CNS tissue sample"). UFRF further discloses that the step of detecting comprises performing an assay on the biological sample (see claims 1, 8).
However, UFRF does not disclose (iii) when at least one RAN protein is detected in (ii), determining that the at least one RAN protein is not expressed from a C9orf72 or SCA36 locus of the subject.
Castelli disclose ( Especially pg 776-778 Table 1, pg 779 para 5 continued to pg 780 para 1.) that (iii) when at least one RAN protein is detected in (ii), determining that the at least one RAN protein is not expressed from a C9orf72 or SCA36 locus of the subject (pg 779 para 5 continued to pg 780 para 1; "RAN-translated poly-alanine proteins driven from ATXN8 CAG-repeat transcripts were also characterized in SCA8 mice and human brain tissue. Interestingly, the poly-alanine repeat proteins can also be produced by RAN translation of the 5' UTR-sense ATXN8OS CUG-repeat transcripts in transfected cells"; also see other loci indicated in pg 776-778 Table 1). An artisan of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that RAN proteins have been detected at a number of gene loci, other than C9orf72 or SCA36, as disclosed by Castelli. Consequently, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention is filled to combine claim limitations (i) and (ii), as disclosed by UFRF, with claim limitation (iii), as disclosed by Castelli, because it would have enabled a means of identifying genetic loci generating RAN protein(s). UFRF discloses a method comprising detecting in a biological sample obtained from a subject at least one RAN protein (ii) when at least one RAN protein is detected in (i) (claims 1, 2). Furthermore, UFRF, in view of Castelli further disclose(iii) identifying the subject has having or being at risk of developing sporadic ALS (sALS) based on the detecting of at least one RAN protein (UFRF para [0003]; "Immunoassays that are capable of sensitively measuring levels of one or more repeat associated non-ATG translation proteins (also referred to as RAN proteins) from cells or tissues of subjects, e.g., subjects having or suspected of having ALS/FTD") not expressed from a C9orf72 or SCA36 locus of the subject (Castelli; pg 779 para 5 continued to pg 780 para 1). Additionally, it was well-known in the art that nearly all cases of ALS are of sporadic origin. (i) detecting in a second biological sample obtained from a subject that has been administered a therapeutic regimen for C9-sALS a level of (claim 19; "(ii) detecting in a second biological sample (e.g., blood sample) obtained from a subject one or more RAN proteins using an electrochemiluminescence-based immunoassay, wherein the second biological sample is obtained after administration of a therapeutic agent to the subject") one or more poly(GR), poly(GP), poly(GA), and/or poly(PR) repeat-associated non-ATG (RAN) protein(s) (para [0007]; "In some embodiments, one or more RAN proteins detected in a sample (e.g., a biological sample) is selected from poly(GP), poly(GR), poly(PR), and poly(PA). In some embodiments, two, three or four RAN proteins are detected in a sample"); (ii) comparing the level of one or more RAN proteins detected in (i) to a level of the same RAN protein(s) in a first biological sample obtained from the subject prior to being administered the therapeutic regimen (claim 19; (iii) determining that administration of the therapeutic agent to the subject results in a change in one or more RAN protein levels in the subject if the amount of RAN proteins detected in the second biological sample is less than the amount of RAN proteins detected in the first biological sample"); and (iii) continuing to administer the therapeutic regimen for C9- sALS when the level of the one or more RAN protein(s) in the second biological sample is reduced compared to the level of the first biological sample (claim 19; (iii) determining that administration of the therapeutic agent to the subject results in a change in one or more RAN protein levels in the subject if the amount of RAN proteins detected in the second biological sample is less than the amount of RAN proteins detected in the first biological sample"); wherein the first biological sample and/or the second biological sample is blood (claim 19; "blood sample").
UFRF does not disclose a C9orf72 negative sporadic amyotrophic lateral sclerosis. However, Castelli discloses C9orf72 negative sporadic amyotrophic lateral sclerosis discloses (pg 779 para 5 continued to pg 780 para 1; "RAN-translated poly-alanine proteins driven from ATXN8 CAG-repeat transcripts were also characterized in SCA8 mice and human brain tissue. Interestingly, the poly-alanine repeat proteins can also be produced by RAN translation of the 5' UTR-sense ATXN8OS CUG-repeat transcripts in transfected cells"; also see other loci indicated in pg 776-778 Table 1). Consequently, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention is filled to combine all claim elements, with the exception of C9orf72 negative sporadic amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, as disclosed by UFRF, with C9orf72 negative sporadic amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, as disclosed by Castelli, because it would have enabled monitoring a C9orf72 negative sporadic amyotrophic lateral sclerosis therapeutic regimen.
UFRF discloses the therapeutic agent is a small molecule, interfering nucleic acid, DNA aptamer, RNA aptamer (para [0069]; a therapeutic agent can be a small molecule (e.g., metformin or a metformin derivative), an interfering RNA (e.g., dsRNA, siRNA, miRNA, amiRNA, ASO, aptamer, etc.)") that reduces expression (para [0033]; "A "therapeutic agent candidate" generally refers to an agent (e.g., small molecule, interfering RNA, protein, peptide, etc.) that is being tested for the ability to reduce or inhibit RAN protein translation in a cell or subject") of one or more poly(GR), poly(GP), poly(GA), and/or poly(PR) repeat-associated non-ATG (RAN) protein(s) (para [0007]; "In some embodiments, one or more RAN proteins detected in a sample (e.g., a biological sample) is selected from poly(GP), poly(GR), poly(PR), and poly(PA)"). UFRF does not disclose C9orf72 negative sporadic amyotrophic lateral sclerosis. However, Castelli discloses C9orf72 negative sporadic amyotrophic lateral sclerosis discloses (pg 779 para 5 continued to pg 780 para 1; "RAN-translated poly-alanine proteins driven from ATXN8 CAG-repeat transcripts were also characterized in SCA8 mice and human brain tissue. Interestingly, the poly-alanine repeat proteins can also be produced by RAN translation of the 5' UTR-sense ATXN8OS CUG-repeat transcripts in transfected cells"; also see other loci indicated in pg 776-778 Table 1).
Consequently, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention is filled to combine all claim elements, with the exception of C9orf72 negative sporadic amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, as disclosed by UFRF, with C9orf72 negative sporadic amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, as disclosed by Castelli, because it would have enabled monitoring a C9orf72 negative sporadic amyotrophic lateral sclerosis therapeutic regimen.
Conclusion
Claims 2,7, 18 -19, 21,25,31,36-37 are rejected and no claim is allowable.
examiner should be directed to Mohammad Meah whose telephone number is 571-272-
1261. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:30-5PM.
supervisor, Robert Mondesi can be reached on 4089187584. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for
published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should
you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system.
/MOHAMMAD Y MEAH/Examiner, Art Unit 1652