The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 34 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 34 recites an apparatus, but provides no structural limitation. Claim 38 similarly recites an apparatus, without providing any structural limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 25, 30, 34 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US-20120281138-A1 to Choi et al. (“Choi”).
As to claim 1, Choi disclose(s) a method of enriching user plane traffic in a core network domain, CND, of a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
detecting user plane traffic that requires an enrichment with sensual content different from audio content and video content; (Choi; request sensory effect metadata from a sensory effect service provider based on movie, i.e. video/audio media; [0058])
retrieving the sensual content from a first CND database; (Choi; Fig. 7; Sensory effect metadata 704 retrieves from Sensory effect service provider 702; [0086])
and enriching the user plane traffic with the retrieved sensual content. (Choi; Fig. 7; both the media and sensory effect data is transmitted to the service consumer 710; [0086])
As to claim 25, Choi disclose(s) the method of claim 1,wherein the sensual content is configured to control a generator capable of outputting a sensual medium. (Choi; Fig. 3; Sensory effect generator; [0063])
As to claim 30, Choi disclose(s) a method of controlling content provision by a core network domain, CND, of a wireless communication network, the method comprising the following steps being performed in a content recipient domain:
transmitting a control message to the CND, the control message including an indication of a communication channel for reception of sensual content different from audio content and video content; (Choi; request sensory effect metadata from a sensory effect service provider based on movie, i.e. video/audio media; [0058])
and receiving the sensual content via the indicated communication channel. (Choi; Fig. 7; Sensory effect metadata 704 retrieves from Sensory effect service provider 702; [0086])
As to claim 34, Choi disclose(s) an apparatus or apparatus system for enriching user plane traffic in a core network domain, CND, of a wireless communication network, the apparatus or apparatus system being configured to:
detect user plane traffic that requires an enrichment with sensual content different from audio content and video content;
retrieve the sensual content from a first CND database;
and enrich the user plane traffic with the retrieved sensual content.
See similar rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 38, Choi disclose(s) an apparatus for controlling, from a content recipient domain, content provision by a core network domain, CND, of a wireless communication network, the apparatus being configured to:
transmit a control message to the CND, the control message including an indication of a communication channel for reception of sensual content different from audio content and video content;
and receive the sensual content via the indicated communication channel.
See similar rejection to claim 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of U.S. Patent No. / U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US-20140115140-A1 to Jin et al. (“Jin”).
As to claim 2, Choi disclose(s) the method of claim 1,
But does not expressly disclose wherein the user plane traffic originates from a content provider domain, CPD, and wherein the sensual content to be retrieved from the first CND database has been configured by the CND in response to a configuration message from the CPD.
Jin discloses wherein the user plane traffic originates from a content provider domain, CPD, and wherein the sensual content to be retrieved from the first CND database has been configured by the CND in response to a configuration message from the CPD. (Jin; client capability is queried and content is provided if the client device has the capability to present the content; [0014])
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the streaming of content of Choi and the configuration message of Jin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings as both are concerned with streaming content. Using the client capability configuration message of Jin would allow for the streaming of content to be configured by the server as opposed to being requested by the client.
Accordingly, the prior art references teach all of the claimed elements.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings as all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 3, Choi-Jin disclose(s) the method of claim 2, comprising receiving the configuration message from the CPD, the configuration message including at least one of a sensual type identifier, a sensual content identifier, and sensual content. (Choi; Fig. 13; type of effect, targetID, effect information; [0086])
As to claim 5, Choi disclose(s) the method of claim 1,
But does not expressly disclose comprising transmitting a capability disclosure message to a, or the, content provider domain, wherein the capability disclosure message is indicative of the CND supporting user plane traffic enrichment with sensual content as a service.
Jin discloses comprising transmitting a capability disclosure message to a, or the, content provider domain, wherein the capability disclosure message is indicative of the CND supporting user plane traffic enrichment with sensual content as a service. (Jin; client capability is queried and content is provided if the client device has the capability to present the content; [0014])
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the streaming of content of Choi and the capability messages of Jin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings as both are concerned with streaming content. Using the client capability configuration message of Jin would allow for the streaming of content to be configured by the server as opposed to being requested by the client.
Accordingly, the prior art references teach all of the claimed elements.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings as all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi-Jin in view of U.S. Patent No. / U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US-20160171767-A1 to ANDERSON et al. (“ANDERSON”).
As to claim 4, Choi-Jin disclose(s) the method of claim 3,
But does not expressly disclose wherein the configuration message includes the sensual content in association with at least the sensual content identifier, and comprising storing the sensual content in association with the sensual content identifier in the first CND database.
ANDERSON discloses wherein the configuration message includes the sensual content in association with at least the sensual content identifier, and comprising storing the sensual content in association with the sensual content identifier in the first CND database. (ANDERSON; augmented reality database 230; [0025])\
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the augmented reality database of ANDERSON and the sensory content of Choi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings as both are concerned with augmented or sensory content. Using the database of ANDERSON would allow for the sensory content of Choi to stored and retrieved efficiently.
Accordingly, the prior art references teach all of the claimed elements.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings as all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 8, 13, 14 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Choi in view of U.S. Patent No. / U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US-20070258460-A1 to Momtahan et al. (“Momtahan”).
As to claim 8, Choi disclose(s) the method of claim 1,
But does not expressly disclose wherein user plane traffic enrichment with sensual content is supported by the CND as a service on a subscription basis.
Momtahan discloses wherein user plane traffic enrichment with sensual content is supported by the CND as a service on a subscription basis. (Momtahan; subscriber specific content capabilities; [0021];[0039])
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the subscriptions of Momtahan and the streaming content of Choi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings as both are concerned with streaming content. Using the subscription of Momtahan would allow for the content of Choi to be customized to a specific subscriber.
Accordingly, the prior art references teach all of the claimed elements.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings as all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 13, Choi disclose(s) the method of claim 1,
But does not expressly disclose wherein detecting the user plane traffic comprises at least one of:
applying one or more traffic detection rules to the user plane traffic;
performing traffic analytics;
detecting predefined traffic flows.
Momtahan discloses wherein detecting the user plane traffic comprises at least one of:
applying one or more traffic detection rules to the user plane traffic;
performing traffic analytics;
detecting predefined traffic flows.
(Momtahan; traffic shaper, deep packet inspector; [0063])
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the traffic shaping of Momtahan and the streaming of content of Choi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings as both are concerned with streaming content. Using the traffic shaping of Momtahan would allow for streams to be customized to specific requirements.
Accordingly, the prior art references teach all of the claimed elements.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings as all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 14, Choi-Momtahan disclose(s) the method of claim 13, comprising receiving, from at least one of a content provider domain, CPD, and a content recipient domain, CRD, information for generating the one or more traffic detection rules. (Momtahan; QoS policies; [0046])
As to claim 31, Choi disclose(s) the method of claim 30,
But does not expressly disclose wherein the control message is a session establishment message. (Momtahan; establishing content session; [0012])
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sensory content streaming of Choi and the session establishment of Momtahan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings as both are concerned with streaming content. Using the session establishment for streaming content was well known to those of ordinary skill in the at the time of invention.
Accordingly, the prior art references teach all of the claimed elements.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings as all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/BRYAN Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445