Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kallmark (WO 2018054462) in view of Myhre et al. (WO 2019151914).
Reg. Cl. 9, Kallmark discloses: A heat sink comprising: a base having a surface
and a central longitudinal axis, the surface comprising a first portion and a second portion disposed along the central longitudinal axis; a first plurality of projecting members (3, Fig. 8) extending from the first portion of the surface and a second plurality of projecting members (3, Fig. 8) extending from the second portion of the surface, disposed with a transverse axis boundary between the first and second plurality of projecting members, and wherein projecting members from the first plurality of projecting members are elongated fully throughout the first portion along the surface parallel to one another and to the central longitudinal axis, and wherein the first plurality of projecting members are uniformly spaced along the first portion; and wherein at least parts or some projecting members of the second plurality of projecting members are straightly elongated along the surface and arranged angled relative to the first plurality of projecting members (Fig. 8).
Kallmark fails to disclose the following limitations. However, Myhre et al. teaches, a plurality of projecting members with a plurality of channels that divide the plurality of projecting members into portions (Figs. 6B, 9B-D, 9F, 9H).
Reg. Cl. 10 Kallmark fails to disclose the following limitations. However, Myhre
et al. teaches: wherein the channels are formed through cuts in at least some projecting members of the second plurality of projecting members (Figs. 6B, 9B-D, 9F, 9H).
Reg. Cl. 11, Kallmark fails to disclose the following limitations. However, Myhre
et al. teaches: wherein the plurality of channels extend along an axis forming an acute angle relative to the central longitudinal axis (Figs. 9B-D, 9F, 9H).
Reg. Cl. 12, Kallmark fails to disclose the following limitations. However, Myhre
et al. teaches: wherein one or more channels of the plurality of channels are arranged in a trapezoidal shape such that a lower part is more narrow than an upper part of the one or more channels (Figs. 9B-D, 9F, 9H).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kallmark's invention with Myhre et al's teachings of the second portion has a plurality of channels that divide the second plurality of projecting members into portions; wherein the channels are formed through cuts in at least some projecting members of the second plurality of projecting members; wherein the plurality of channels extend along an axis forming an acute angle relative to the central longitudinal axis; and wherein one or more channels of the plurality of channels are arranged in a trapezoidal shape such that a lower part is more narrow than an upper part of the one or more channels.
Doing so would provide an alternative heatsink fin structure for efficiency cooling heat generated devices
4 Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kallmark (WO 2018054462) in view of Myhre et al. (WO 2019151914), as applied to claims above, and further in view of Hayashi et al. (JP -11330753).
Reg. Cl. 13, Kallmark’s invention as modified by Myhre et al., shows but does not
explicitly disclose the following limitations. However, Hayashi et al. teaches: wherein the first portion for cooling analog components is arranged on a first side of a part of the transverse axis boundary and the second portion is arranged on a second side of the transverse axis boundary (Figs. 2, 4, 6).
Reg. Cl. 14, Kallmark’s invention as modified by Myhre et al., shows but does not
explicitly disclose the following limitations. However, Hayashi et al. teaches: wherein: the second portion of the surface comprises a third portion and a fourth portion, and the second plurality of projecting members comprise a third plurality of projecting members extending from the third portion of the second surface and a fourth plurality of projecting members extending from the fourth portion of the second surface, wherein the third plurality of projecting members and the fourth plurality of projecting members are inwardly and upwardly angled relative to one another (Figs. 2, 4, 6).
Reg. Cl. 15, Kallmark’s invention as modified by Myhre et al., teaches the
following limitations. wherein the plurality of channels comprise a central channel extending between the third plurality of projecting members and the fourth plurality of projecting members.
Reg. Cl. 16, Kallmark’s invention fails to disclose the following limitations.
However, Myhre et al. teaches: wherein the central channel has an axis coinciding with the central longitudinal axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kallmark’s heatsink with Hayashi et al’s teachings of first, second, third and fourth portions containing projecting members with the above mentioned limitations. Doing so would provide design portions to the heatsink structure for cooling heat generating devices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Applicant is advised to review prior art cited on the PTO-892.
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632